Reviews written by discosheets

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
 
Reviewed by discosheets     June 14, 2012
Last updated: June 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

let's do the walton waltz!

Wow! The first absinthe from Delaware Phoenix that I tried was Meadow of Love and I was convinced that it would always be my favorite absinthe; however, now that I have tried Walton Waters it is a really hard call. Walton Waters is the whole pacakge of absinthe. For me, every piece was just right. The aroma was inviting, strong and a great indication of the flavor. The louche is unbelievable and the taste is so compelling that you will still be trying to decide what you like best about it until the very last glass. Walton Waters was a true home run for me! 5 stars!

Appearance (4) : I gave Walton Waters a 4 here, only because the bottle I recieved was slightly amber and not the bold green that I have seen in many pictures.
Louche (5) : WOW! So beautiful! I louched each glass slower and slower because I was enthralled with the way the thick cloud looked like it was a big mist of clouds settling over a city. Spectacular.
Aroma (5) : The aroma is fantastic, and one of the few absinthes that I have had where the aroma is a true sneak peak of the flavor. I loved the aroma of this absinthe!
Flavor / Mouthfeel (5) : The flavor is outstanding! The holy trinity is balanced to near perfection, and the other herbs give you an additional level of flavor making it almost impossible to get bored sipping and just letting the flavors rush to every part of your mouth. The mouthfeel is spot on too, not too numb but just numb enough.
Finish (5) : The finish is so good that I found myself not wanting to eat or drink anything else for a while just to keep it around a bit longer.
Overall (5) : WOW! Truly a delicious and inviting absinthe that is sure to please any absinthiste. Try it now!

Reviewed by discosheets     May 27, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

Just gets better and better!

Pacifique is a really great verte absinthe! I have had it two different times now and the one thing I have to say about it is that it will really improve after opening and the flavor is very sensitive to the water ratio, but once you get it right it is quite delicious so don't judge it too harshly based on your first glass.

Appearance (4) : Pacifique comes in a very simple but fancy looking bottle, dark glass that keeps the eerie olive oil green color of the absinthe from fading. More neat looking than inviting, but a 4 nonetheless.
Louche (3.5) : The louche is great, but underwhelming compared the the thick cloudy louche other verte absinthes are capable of. Not disapointing, but could be better.
Aroma (4) : Pacifique smells spicy, inviting and deceptively complex. I personally loved the burning sweet vapor that comes out of the new bottle.
Flavor / Mouthfeel (4) : The flavor is very unique, which I love about quality absinthe. The holy trinity is working its magic, but there is an extra spiciness to the flavor that is exotic and tempting. Very refreshing and numbing.
Finish (4) : The finish is great, and the numbing effect lingers so slightly that it leaves you wanting more. Would have received a 5 if the spicy flavor lingered rather than the bitter.
Overall (4.5) : I had to give Pacifique an overall rating of 4.5 because each category was so close to being a 5. It really is a delicious and unique absinthe that is definitely worth trying, experimenting with, and then trying again.

Reviewed by discosheets     April 06, 2012
Last updated: May 27, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.0

Kubler - Revisited

I am updating my review of Kubler altogether, but only one rating has changed Flavor / Mouthfeel from a 2.5 to 3.5.

Appearance (4) : Kubler is a blanche so it is very clear, but I enjoyed the authentic swiss bottle. Also, the clarity makes the louche that much more exciting!
Louche (4) : The louche is outstanding. I love the louche on a good blanche absinthe because it seems to come out of nowhere like magic, and I just love thinking of absinthe as a little magical.
Aroma (3) : The aroma is slightly strong on the fennel, which tends to be a quality that I don't like but my love of absinthe is quickly changing my feelings about fennel so it still gets a 3 for me.
Flavor / Mouthfeel (3.5) : This is the only changed rating in my updated review because I found a perfect ratio for Kubler that toned down the fennel without sacraficing the numbing effect.
Finish (3.5) : I usually enjoy a strong finish, however with Kubler I was glad that it didn't linger so the weak finish was essentially a good quality for me.
Overall (3) : The only thing keeping me from giving Kubler more than a 3 is the fact that I enjoy other absinthes more that fall in the 4 and 5 range. Kubler is great!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by discosheets     April 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.5

Not bad!

Lucid absinthe was one of the first absinthes I saw on the shelf when the ban was lifted in the U.S. but for some reason I waited a long time to try it. We ended up buying a bottle when it was the best option at a local liquor store. The reviews were not great, so I wasn't expecting much but I thought it was a great absinthe! The color was a little dull, but the louche was beautiful and you could see each drop dance into the glass. The bottle is dark, I assume to block sun light but I think it could have done a better job as the appearance was underwhelming. The aroma is sweet, and strong. The flavor just about matches the aroma having a strong anise and fennel flavor, without the rewarding wormwood kick which is what stopped it from getting a 4 on flavor. Definitely a great absinthe, that is so close to being amazing!

Reviewed by discosheets     April 06, 2012
Last updated: May 27, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Lost in the Meadow of Love!

What a treat! Meadow of Love instantly became my favorite absinthe at the first sip! Meadow of Love is an overwhelmingly (in a good way) fragrant and aromatic absinthe, that has a wonderfully blended mix of classic absinthe herbs that will explode in your mouth, leaving you gagging for more! I really can't express how much I love this absinthe. Meadow of Love was docked .5 for appearance because it was delivered to us, still a lovely verte absinthe, but had maybe had too much sun exposure because it was slightly amber. I also gave it a .5 dock on aroma, only because the aroma doesn't do the flavor justice. Fennel overpowers the aroma, but tasting the absinthe there is such an amazing balance of all the herbs and fennel definitely isn't the overpowering flavor. Not only is this absinthe at the top of my list, but it comes from a small distillery in upstate New York, Cheryl Lins distiller, and sipping on this absinthe gives you the feel that you are sipping it with Cheryl herself. Meadow of Love is a MUST try for any absinthe connoisseur.

Updated 27 May 2012 ---

Appearance (5) : Previously a 4.5, I changed this to a 5 after recieving a BEAUTIFUL green glowing bottle of Meadow of Love. Absolutely the most inviting looking bottle out there, but careful the clear glass lets the color fade really quickly.
Louche (5) : Outstanding, beautiful, thick and glowing. Magical.
Aroma (4.5) : This is now the only non 5 star rating I give meadow of love, and only because it just doesn't do the incredible and dynamic flavor justice.
Flavor / Mouthfeel (5) : Flavor is indescribably delicious, and so well balanced. Mouth is delightfully numb, but just enough so that you can still enjoy the complex and complimentary flavors.
Finish (5) : All the best flavors remain on your tongue and you get such a refreshing cool numbing effect for a few minutes after each sip. It is really amazing.
Overall (5) : Still my favorite absinthe. The flavors are incredibly satisfying and there isn't a single quality about great absinthe that is missing, or lacking here. 5 stars!!

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo