Reviews written by speedle

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     December 23, 2008
Last updated: December 23, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A top qualty offering all around.

Color:

Very nice clear mid-green tint, neither olive nor atomic. Stays light peridot tinted even after water. Essentially perfect, the precise color a verte should be.

Louche:

Couldn't really be much better I think, using very cold water and getting to my usual dilution of 4:1 faster than I like (anticipation and all ya know), it formed a nice clear layer at the top that lingered and then vanished. I didn't notice the usual "oily trails" business like I usually see though, but that may have been because I was simply rushing it. Once fully louched it's maybe, just maybe a tad on the thin side, but I'm picking nits here.

Aroma:

Before water, very much green anise, with just a hint of wormwood and herbs. No trace of grass or other overly herbaceous things jumping out at you. After water, much more wormwood, much less anise. Minty and sharp, with just a tiny bit of Christmas spice in the background.

Flavor:

No sugar tonight in my absinthe. Not to start anyway. The result is wormwood and mint, with a very crisp refreshing aftertaste. A rounded fruitiness makes itself known as well. This makes it not go well with chocolate (since I don't like mint and chocolate), but did help with the roast for dinner, although the flavor was perhaps not up to the top competition in all respects, it is very clear, very clean, and present.

Finish:

Moderately bitter but smooth, the finish is not so much aromatic as it is cooling. Not numbing though, with less of that than I like, but cooling there is plenty of.

Overall:

Taken as the sum of the parts, I like this absinthe, but only just. Although this bottling is said to be about 6 months old, I wish the flavor had just a little bit more complexity to it, and the mint notes were toned down slightly. Maybe with time. But, what it lacks perhaps in richness, it makes up for in its refreshing qualities and ability to hold its own with other foods.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     July 28, 2008
Last updated: July 28, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A little underwhelming for a verte

Neat, I was surprised to see essentially no color at all. From the bottle, I smelled mostly star anise, a faint hint of what seemed to be cardamom, and perhaps an undertone of green anise but I can't be sure. Along with a little alcohol heat, it reminded me of nothing so much as Ricard pastis.



The louche seemed to happen all at once, after a brief delay that depended greatly on drip speed. Once louched, it seemed too thick by a third, as Dr. Seuss might say. The aroma after water, perhaps this absinthe's strongest point, was interesting, but it stayed in the glass too much.



As for flavor, I would characterize it as just OK, not very complex (somewhat blanche like, in fact), and it did in fact remind me of Kubler. There was still just a bit of heat/alcohol taste at 4:1. The finish was wormwoody-bitter with just a hint of that "Juicy Fruit" taste that marred the Taboo.



Overall I had hoped for more, ostensibly one thinks these smaller "micro-distilleries" are going for the higher end of the market due to all the personal care and attention that can be put into the product. That's all well and good, but a little more experience and practice will help with products like these.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     June 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Good everyday absinthe, an authentic introduction

I haven't had a bottle of Lucid in the house for some time, so I took the occasion of its new local availability to buy some and hence, to review it in the light of some other similarly priced absinthes I've had recently.



Color - Lighter than I remember, but certainly the correct hue for a verte.



Louche - One of the strong points of this absinthe, Lucid produces a substantial louche that rolls like the fog over the bay, just like it should, while leaving a clearly defined green layer just until the very end.



Aroma - Perhaps the weakest aspect of this absinthe, it has an appropriately spicy nose that hits the right fresh herbal notes, marred only by the occasional whiff of something akin to burnt plastic.



Flavor - Ultimately I drink Lucid for the flavor, which as many have said by now, is "Jade-light" in nature. Well balanced and clean, without any surprises for me.



Finish - Dry, light, and, although clean, presents the merest hint of a "funk" that I can easily look past.



Overall, if Jade Edouard represents to me the essence of what an absinthe should be, then Lucid reflects, through it's maker perhaps, enough of that essence to be a good value given it's ready availability.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     June 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

The Guiness of absinthes?

Color - Deep olive. Maybe a tad too dark, but rich.



Louche - Some swirling action, but generally faster than I'd like. Very thick at the end though.



Aroma - Absolutely delightful, easily this absinthe's strong suit. Rich and varied, but Chartreuse and gin-like ultimately.



Flavor - Perhaps the Achilles heal of Sirene, if only slightly so. Overall good, but vegetal and not enough anise for me.



Finish - Very nice. Pleasant bitterness and herbal notes linger long after the last sip.



Overall, I like the Sirene. Not as much as some top shelf products, but enough that I'd drink it regularly alongside my other stand-by, Lucid, if it were readily available. To some, it may stray ever so slightly in the herby-grassy direction of the St. George, but restraint won the day here and the result is a product that my native Chicagoland can be proud of.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     June 21, 2008
Last updated: June 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Just like original Absente, but worse.

Color - Atomic candy-apple green, like Pernod Anis, brighter than the original. Vivid yet spooky.



Louche - Not alot of action here, just seemed to cloud up. And yet, it was still what I would call a thin louche, that took along time to get there.



Aroma - Awful. Alcohol, followed by a little what, star anise maybe? Not at all candy-like or anything, just bad vodka-like.



Flavor - Cheap vodka mixed with a little good n'plenty. Maybe I haven't enough bad absinthe, but this was the worst I've ever tasted.



Finish - Some bitterness stays with you, more so than in the original Absente, of course.



Overall, this is the most awful tasting thing I've ever had the misfortune of drinking. Holds the distinction of being the first absinthe I've ever sinked.

Absinthe Substitutes
Reviewed by speedle     February 25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not much to recommend here.

Looks almost like the real thing, pre and post louche. If you've had real absinthe before, then right before you take the first sip of Absente will be the last time you think it has any resemblance to actual absinthe. It tastes awful, mostly chemicals and dyes, and leaves a fake-ish anise aftertaste that just isn't pleasant.



Better than Pernod by the smallest of whiskers, though.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     February 22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

The answer is in the sugar!

I had fairly high expectations for this bottle when it arrived, and while at first glance (or glass) I was disappointed, I'm more appreciative of the nuances this absinthe offers now.



At first, the aroma was tremendously fruity, almost wine-like. The color was lighter than I'd like, and the louche moderately fast and layered, but not much action.



My mistake was to have that first glass with one sugar cube, as is my custom. I was immediately overwhelmed with Juicy-Fruit gum, sweetness, and very, very little else. I was ready to sink the entire bottle when I thought, duh! Try it without sugar and see.



Well, that's the answer as far as I can tell. Without sugar, and ignoring the still goofy aroma before water, the absinthe is transformed. The louche layers are more defined, although just as fast. Most importantly however, is the change in the flavor. Now instead of fruit being at the fore, it's just a background flavor, although still the foundation of everything that comes after. The majority of the flavor, and the finish, is all traditional absinthe now! Maybe not as complex as some and it seems to come all in one package, but its mostly there the way it ought to be.



Now I can finish my bottle and be happy!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     February 12, 2008
Last updated: June 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Real absinthe, just quirky

Thanks to the generosity of a fellow WS member, I eagerly awaited this absinthe, but was ultimately disappointed. The aroma, while room-filling, was decidedly off-putting, reminding me of dandelions. This aroma has presented itself before in the Matter products, but not to nearly this degree. The color was beautiful though, and the louche was thick but fast and lacking in opalescence. Good wormwood bite in the finish though, perhaps the best thing about this absinthe.



Ultimately I feel that, while clearly a very well made absinthe, the ingredient choices put it beyond even quirky absinthes like the Montemarte and the Eichelberger Verte, into another realm altogether. Just not to my taste at all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by speedle     December 22, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Jade Edouard Nov. 2005 bottling

I have to say that this is what I reach for when I want a truly satisfying glass of absinthe. The rich, yet still peridot color, swirling louche that isn't "instant", refined level of spicyness/flavor and fantastic aroma after water all make for a wonderful and lovely experience.

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo