Reviews written by Andrew Young

60 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2 3  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Very good, could be even better.

The absinthe pours a nice, rich olive with shots of gold through it. Clear. Before water it smells light and alcoholic. Citrusy, maybe a tad perfumey.

It has a very full and attractive louche. It finishes an opalescent green-white with hints of gold and blue. It meets my ideal for what a louche should be with lots of texture and gradient but without being dishwatery.

The aroma after water is sweet, powdery, and citrusy. Floral wormwood with a less aggressive anise presence than the louche would indicate. EVerything is in a very nice balance.

The flavour is bright and soft at the same time. Very lemony with a hint of grassiness. Anise is nice and full without being obtrusive. Wormwood is both floral and minty. Not a ton of earthiness, more sunny. Maybe a tad overly numbing.

Lemonbalm and anise decay into a classic character during the finish. Wormwood leaves a slight mouth-watering bitterness as the anise fades into an indistinct, fruity character.

I'm pretty happy with this absinthe. I think the loudness of the citrus quality might be obscuring some complexities, which is too bad as it's a very enjoyable absinthe but could be even better.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 20, 2011
Last updated: July 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Nope.

The absinthe has almost no colour at all, very slight greenish tint. Reminds me of absinthes that have been coloured with grande wormwood. Clear but, well, too clear.

Light floral aroma with a lot of heat. Good bit of anise, a tad tart.

lThe louche is profoundly fast and thick, with a slight minty green tint. Flat and chalky. After water it smells primarily of peppermint and anise. Chalky after-dinner mint impression. Perhaps a hint of citrus.

The flavour is extremely lemony with just a bit of floral wormwood and decent anise. Bright and very numbing. Sweet and bitter sensations are balanced, but the overall flavour is completely one-dimensional citrus.

Chalky mouth-feel during the finish, which is medicinal and astringent in the place of having any herbal qualities at all. But at least it's very fleeting.

A strikeout. I'm not sure what the creator was even going for here but I can't imagine that this would fulfill any goal.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Salvageable with a few adjustments.

The colour is a decent green, slightly olive. A tad dark, but clear and sediment free. It smells sweet and star anisey. A little floral. Frankincense, oddly enough.

The louche is instantaneous and very thick. Nice milk jade colour but a bit flat and lacking in subtlety. With water it smells fruitier than star anise normally comes across to me. Wormwood not as evident as before water. Resiny and a tad citrusy.

The flavour definitely reminds me of raw frankincense from the first sip, from the spice to the waxiness. Star anise is numbing but is held in check flavour-wise. Wormwood is unremarkable and laid back. Hard to find much else as the dominant flavours are so overbearing. Mildly bitter.

Wormwoody and spicy, the finish is relatively brief and lacks excitement.

I like what this absinthe is going for, but I just don't think it succeeds. It's not terrible but I wouldn't go out of my way to get my hands on it again.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Good stuff.

The colour is deep, clear fuille morte olive, more green than brown. It smells herbal, floral, and fruity at once. Lemony. Great balance. Absinthey but with a twist.

The louche is slightly thin but with good colour. Soft golden green, well textured. Water brings out the aroma of fruity anise backed with minty wormwood. Earthy, lemony, and foresty.

The flavour is very sweet. Good wormwood profile: woodsy, minty and bright. I started to detect a hint of funk but now I can't find it. Citrusy and slightly grassy. Very crisp and with a light, bitter undertone.

The lemony flavour and anise are prevalent at first in the finish, then the wormwood becomes spicy and weaves with earthy fennel for a lasting impression.

Very nice, very refreshing. I'd drink this any day.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Love the politics, and now on to the absinthe itse

The absinthe pours bright emerald. A tad light, looks natural+, as in it looks like it's had a bit of help. It smells of strong, minty wormwood (or mint and wormwood) upfront. Sweet, nice anise, some perfume.

The louche is slow and a tad weak but not inappropriate. Very good milk jade colour with shades of blue. With water it smells minty, powdery, and sweet. Anise has come forward and is very nice.

Very powerful flavour with lots of wormwood and mint. Anise is present but just can't compete. Very noticeable lemon and spice. Maybe a tad brighter and more acrid than prefered. Very crisp and refreshing. I can see the argument that there's a bit too much pontica but that's something I enjoy.

The finish is cool, minty, and fruity, with an earthy undertone. Long with a bit of the Ricola herbal character I've noticed in a couple of absinthes lately.

This absinthe has a nice, unique character. With a bit of aging I expect it would mellow out nicely but as it is it tastes very new.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 18, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Could use a bit of work.

The absinthe has aged to olive, but it's much brighter than usual for having lost some green. Clear, no debris. The aroma is cologne-like. Floral wormwood, light anise, a tad fruity but more spicy.

The louche is quick but thin. It finishes a golden colour with greenish tones around the edges. It's nice but lacks depth. With water there's much more of an anise aroma, now in balance with wormwood. Sweet and a bit powdery.

It tastes bright and wormwood heavy, a tad bitter. There's a tart off-flavour that would bother me if it were any stronger but it's thankfully very light. Good anise but plays a background role. Dill. Somehow it makes me think of chewing flower petals and stems.

Anise finally blooms over a long, slightly bitter finish, mellowing to an earthy tone.

I'm normally a fan of wormwood-heavy absinthes but I feel like this one has an unfortunate hardness that could be remedied with a much fuller anise profile.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 16, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A few adjustments would make a world of difference

The absinthe is of a gold colour, with maybe just the barest hint of green. Bright and clear. There's a strong grape base aroma, with an after-dinner-mint wedged in there. A bit more like chewing gum than absinthe, but not awful like it sounds.

The louche is quick, thick, and deep. The green comes out with water into a very bright opalescence with hints of yellow in the middle and blue at the edges. The aroma has mellowed but it's now full of mint and chalky. Perhaps a bit rubbery too. Anise is there but doesn't stand out.

However anise comes through on the palate, but it's light and fluffy. The base is very noticeable but not dominating. There's a medicinal astringency underlying everything. Wormwood is there but barely noticeable and it lacks spiciness that could help tie it all together. Citrus notes appear and now it reminds me of Ricola cough drops.

The brandy comes through in full force in the finish, under an intense numbing of the tongue. It rounds out to a raisin-like presence before it's gone.

It's a nice attempt and it's enjoyable to drink but it really needs work to meet its potential. The ingredients seem good but the base is overwhelming (too much of a good thing) and the lack of a clear wormwood profile hurts it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 16, 2011
Last updated: July 16, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Nice.

The colour is a fuille morte olive. More green around the edges and brownish in the middle. Clear with no sediment. It has a very pronounced-smelling wine base. Spicy, but with subdued absinthe herbs.

The louche is quick, thick, and full. Golden with a green sheen, but a tad too dark.
With water it smells primarily of fruity anise and floral wormwood. Cinnamon and lime notes, but foresty.

It has a very sweet and full character. The floral quality of the wormwood stands out immediately but the strongest flavour is the juicy green anise. Not terribly bitter. Complex but difficult to pick out the subtleties. Outside of the anise everything is very well blended.

It's a bit more numbing than appropriate with a very mouth-coating texture. Wormwood comes more to the front during the finish but it isn't as complex or long lasting as hoped.

There are things that can be nit-picked but taken as a whole it's really a very impressive and delightful absinthe. It's foresty and wintry, exactly what I'd want on a cold, dark day. I'm finding it very similar to L'Enjoleuse.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A strangely pudding-like absinthe.

The colour is avery deep, dark olive, almost brown. Clean and clear. It's very sweet-smelling, more fruity and spicy than herbal, a bit like spiced rum. Anise is present but isn't very strong.

The louche is quick, nice, and full without overkill. Very good fuille morte colour. Opalescent caramel with hints of green. With water it smells much more honeylike and mellow. Anise and floral wormwood, but dark. Butterscotch and raisins.

The flavour is floral wormwood upfront, followed by a juicy fruit flavour. Anise is in good balance. Spicy and vegetal, but also confectionary and sweet. Light lemon. Sort of a ringing flavour if that makes any sense.

The finish is fruity and creamy, a bit numbing but not too bad. Spicy and gardeny, less dark than before.

Normally I'm not a big fan of deep, dark (in flavour) absinthes like this, regardless of technical correctness, but I'm finding a tremendous amount of enjoyment here. At times it seems almost like bread pudding with absinthe sauce, except all right there in the glass.

Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Improvement through aging.

As with the aged Perroquet I'm going to review this as a comparison to the original.

The barrel-aged absinthe looks essentially the same as the unaged spirit. It is now very cognac-like, but also has a character that reminds me of Wild Turkey American Honey liqueur. Very little herbal aroma neat. The louche is dentical to the original.

With water it's sweeter than the original with nutmeg-like notes. Orange peel. The herbs are mellower and more blended while the fruitiness is enhanced.

The flavour is much more balanced than the unaged spirit. Powdery and mellow. Less lemon, more leafiness. I think I can taste the oak but it's very subtle. Even though it smells sweeter it tastes dryer.

The finish is very similar to the original, but with the fruity character coming out toward the end rather than the beginning.

I really feel like the aging in oak has improved this one.

Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Aged vs unaged.

I'm going to approach this review as a comparison to the original.

The colour seems a bit deeper than the unaged spirit, but is still bright. No worse or better, just a slightly different shade. It smells very similar to the original, but a bit more subdued. The grape base stands out more and there's a bit more of a purfumey character.

The louche moves along the same lines as the unaged spirit, but finishes a tad deeper and more on the yellow side of green than blue. After water it's more mellow, a bit more honeylike and candied. Soft.

Aging has brought a little more wormwood to the front and it has a corresponding increase in bitterness, but the sweet, fruity anise is still present. Some qualities that I enjoyed in the original are more like subtleties now whereas the base is more present. If there's an oak flavour from the aging I can't find it.

The finish is a bit more numbing but otherwise has the same great balance.

It's a real treat to compare the the absinthe both before and after barrel aging. I prefer it before the barrel aging but it would be interesting to see how both of these fare after some time in bottles.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Excellent and classic.

The absinthe is a bright, spectacular peridot. Clean and clear, it's wonderful. It smells of fruity anise, with a bit of a floral quality. Good balance.

With water the louche stars slow but then erupts, ending in medium in thickness. Excellent milk jade colour with blue around the edges. There's now a great balance of aromatic wormwood and fruity anise. Classic character. A tad earthy from the fennel. Nothing jumps out and nothing is deficient.

The flavour is delightful. Still tremendous balance, not just of herbs but of sweet, bitter, and savoury. Not really inventive but perfectly captures the classic absinthe ideal as I see it. Citrus notes, mint, perhaps a cinnamon-like spice.

The finish is an interplay of bright wormwood with the fruitier aspect of the anise weaving around each other, fading into a soft bitterness. Really hovers on the sides of the tongue.

If someone were to ask me what a classic, no-messing-around absinthe is like, then this is the one I'd suggest. It's a brilliant encapsulation of what absinthe is all about.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Wretched.

This beverage is a deep, dark, artificial blue-green. Mouthwash colour. There's not a lot to smell besides alcohol. Some spice or cola aroma, but it seems fakey.

The louche is surprisingly slow and a thin. Sort of the white-blue-green of Piggly Wiggly watergate salad. Looks artificial but not ugly I suppose. After water some star anise comes forward in the aroma, very sweet. Cotton candy.

It has a star anise oil flavour upfront, followed by macerated wormwood. Very bitter and annoying tasting, like sucking on a penny, yet with no minty or floral qualities. Some lemon notes. Unpleasant and difficult to drink. Numbing.

The finish is nearly non-existent and nothing seems to characterize it besides a bit of fading star anise.

Without a doubt this is the worst Spanish absenta I've ever had. It's a completely unsalvageable wreck.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Nothing offensive about it.

The absinthe pours a deep olive, more yellow than green. Looks nice though. It smells light and perfumey. Sweet with lemon notes.

The louche is nice but a bit on the thin side. Pearly green with textures of gold and blue. Water really brings out the anise and perhaps some powder. Not a very pronounced aroma, but there's some fruitiness.

The flavour is clean and sweet anise, with a layer of mild wormwood beneath. A tad bit of earthy fennel. Mellow and soft with a creamy mouth-feel.

The finish is mostly anise with some lemon. Starts to turn savoury before fading, but no appreciable wormwood emerges.

This is a light, sort of fluffy absinthe that would be good for session drinking. I can't find anything bad about it but nothing really stands out either except the seamlessness of it all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Cool and refreshing.

The colour is almost perfectly clear but has a slight yellow tinge. The aroma is minty, grapey, and sweet-smelling. Anise is a bit acrid.

With water it clouds up very fast, becoming nearly opaque. Milky white with blue and grey texture, slightly chalky. The minty aroma is now full-blown peppermint. Powder and anise in support roles. Still sweet but with wormwood peeking through.

This absinthe is very sweet with significant, minty cooling on the tongue. Star anise is evident but it doesn't bother me like it does in some other absinthes. The wormwood is present but subdued. Chamomile and lemon. Thick mouthfeel but very refreshing, as though an absinthe has been made from combining Sleepytime and peppermint herbal teas. The traditional absinthe flavour is there but it sits beneath all the inventiveness.

The finish is overly numbing and dominated by the herbal tea flavours as opposed to the absinthe herbs. Citrusy, fading to soft powder.

It's definitely an odd one (although I have had a couple of absinthes that bore some similarites) but I like it a lot. It would be improved with the round, fruity flavour of green anise instead of the numbing acridness of star anise, but it's nonetheless one of the better oddities I've had.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Last updated: July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Interesting.

The colour is olivine. Clear, natural, and attractive. Before water it has a bit of a bitter, musty aroma. Leathery, perfumey. Herbal qualities are subdued.

The louche is a medium thick, opalescent green. Brighter than expected. Now the aroma is much more herbal than before. Powedery but till musty and leathery. Honeyed.

The wormwood and anise are in good balance on the palate and there's a medicinal astringency that reminds me of 1940s Chartreuse. More bitter than sweet, but not overkill. Spicy and earthy. Very dark. It's a bit numbing.

The flavour cleans up in the finish and becomes more typically absinthey for a bit, then fades into that astringency with notes of citrus that seems to last forever.

I think that since I taste things more on overall character than bits and pieces I don't get the preban comparison. It does however taste old to me, but it's an old quality that I've tasted in liqueur minis from the 1920s through the 1950s. I enjoy it although it's definitely odd.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

This is a nice surprise.

The colour is darkish olive green but with no sediment or haze. Nice and natural. It smells peppery and honeyed. Citrus. Balance of wormwood and anise but it's mellow.

The louche is quick, resulting in a medium thick, fairly dark, opalescent olive. A tad dingy. With water the anise and wormwood come forward a bit. Bell pepper and some mintiness.

This absinthe is profoundly sweet and lemony upfront. Very anisey. Wormwood is there but plays second fiddle. Flavours of cola, powder, mint. Definitely candylike. There's an underlying cologne character.

It's fairly numbing but not too bad. The sugary anise flavour lingers for a long time but there isn't a lot of complexity to it, other than some lemonbalm.

I'd call this a dessert absinthe. It's the sweetest one I've ever had that didn't have added sugar and the selection of herbs is very refreshing after a meal.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 14, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

New set of strings.

The colour out of the bottle is a perfect peridot with no debris or haze. It smells alcoholic. A bit minty with some anise, some perfume. Grassy.

The louche starts slow and then explodes. Thick, opalescent green. Beautiful. I expected the aroma to really open up with water but it didn't. It's relatively light. Fruity anise with minty wormwood in a good balance. Sweet but earthy.

It has a much stronger flavour than expected. Fruity and almost too bright (jangly in fact), yet creamy in texture. Very numbing. Loads of citrus. Wormwood is hard-hitting but tasty.

I'm not finding the finish as quick to recede as others have, but rather that it's unremarkable and indistinctive. More of the same, just paler and thinner. As it fades the wormwood sort of begins to taste like dill.

I'm enjoying this but it's like playing guitar on a brand new set of strings. Some people like that but I find it irritating, buzzy, and piercing. It's not a deal-breaker but it definitely impacts my ability to enjoy its best attributes.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 14, 2011
Last updated: August 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Simply outstanding.

The absinthe pours a bright peridot.Ideal with no debris or haze. The aroma is minty and fruity. Lots of wormwood, with the anise present but subdued.

The louche is quick to build, but ends just slightly thin. Rich, opalescent, pearly jade, textured with gold and blue. After water the aroma is very balanced and rich. Anise has come forward, wormwood has moved back just a bit. Citrus notes, some spice. Very fresh.

It has a full, sweet flavour with wormwood upfront, followed by a big dose of anise and fennel. Very little bitterness. Surprisingly thick and warm mouth-feel for something so summery and refreshing. A bit spicy but not overdone. Purfumey and minty.

Fruity anise dominates the finish, trailing into fennel with wormwood just pulsing underneath. Mouth-watering and infectious.

This is quite a delightful absinthe, among the best available. Having been out of the loop I had no idea what its reputation was when I tasted it, but I'm not surprised to see how well it's regarded.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 09, 2011
Last updated: July 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

What a delight!

The absinthe is of an olivine colour, clear and without haze. Quite nice. It smells sweet and purfumey. Some licorice root aroma. Spicy with vanilla notes.

The louche is a tad thin, but good. Great colour, opalescent green with the faintest hint of yellow. Much more green than expected from seeing it neat. After water the aroma is candy-like but very herbal. Green tea, fennel. Very sweet.

It's much more absinthe-like in its flavour. Well balanced wormwood and anise. Sweet but not as much so as the aroma suggests. Licorice root flavour blends nicely. Some cinnamon perhaps? Good balance of colouring herb flavour with notes of fresh grass and citrus. Actually nearly ideal flavour, but bright instead of smooth. Very crisp.

The finish is anisey, with a slight bitterness emerging. Long and fruity.

This is fantastic. It's weird but it still tastes like absinthe, which is what too many "adventurous" absinthes fail to do.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Foresty.

The colour is amber with hints of green around the edges. Looks like it has some age to it, which is perfectly fine. It smells dark and purfumey. Trinity is well blended and seems subdued. Powdery.

The louche is pretty thin, but nice colour. Yellow-green with good texture. Wish it were thicker. Water opened the aroma right up. Big wormwood, sweet anise. Earthy, grassy.

However there's not much anise on the palate, but more bitter wormwood. I'm not tasting the floral quality other people are. Lemony and vegetal. I like it but it's incomplete. Mouth-feel is thin.

The finish is wormwoody at first, but the anise finally comes through and the bitterness fades quickly. Sweet, fruity, and lingering.

To me this is an autumny absinthe. It's dark and woodsy. More anise to flesh out the louche and mouthfeel would improve it, but it's very tasty as is.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Awesome.

The absinthe is clear with no sediment or haze. Barest tinge of straw, only detectable against white computer paper. The aroma is wormwood-heavy, with anise beneath. Fruity, round.

The louche is a bit on the thin side, but very nice. Pearly with shades of blue. With water the anise comes forward and balances well with the minty wormwood. Some spice.

The flavour is sweet, wormwoody. Soft. Nice anise. Earthy with citrus notes. A tad powdery in texture, but not in taste. There's a hint of a medicinal flavour that is well matched with the rest of the package.

The finish is fruity and lasting, fading to slight bitterness with fennel peaking through. Leaves a creamy coating on the tongue.

This is a fantastic blanche. Nothing really stands out as unique about it but it's immaculately crafted. As a sheer matter of taste I'd like to bring that great wormwood forward even more, but that's just me.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 08, 2011
Last updated: July 16, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

This is my style.

The colour is clear peridot, very nice. There's a big, minty wormwood aroma with sweet anise underneath. Powdery and earthy.

The louche is very weak. Nice blue-green colour but very thin. With water it smells mostly of strong wormwood with some hyssop. Still earthy.

Powerful flavour, dominated by that minty wormwood. Not much anise, more hyssop. Much sweeter and less bitter than expected based on the herb levels. Screams to be paired with chocolate chip cookies. Very crisp.

There's a bitterness in the finish that rises from the depths and fades as the mintiness lingers.

This is my sort of absinthe, disregarding the louche. More wormwood, less anise. It's not what people think of as the classic absinthe flavour but it's exactly what I enjoy.

Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 08, 2011
Last updated: July 08, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Wow.

Batch 30.

Before water the absinthe is bright, clear peridot. Ideal. The aroma first reminds me of cologne, but with some lemon undertones. Fruity with anise and wormwood beneath.

The louche is a little on the thin side, but it's a very pretty opalescent green with a hint of blue. After water the aroma is absolutely room filling, very fruity. In the glass there's a great balance of absinthe herbs. Ever so slight tartness. Very well constructed.

On the palate there's lots of anise upfront, some powder. Lemon. Wormwood is present but plays a support role. Everything is blended very well. Very bright, crisp, and delightful. It's already fairly mellow so i wonder what a few years of aging would do for it.

The finish is very long and fruity. Not much numbing at all. The balance remains constant instead of playing about.

This is quite an excellent absinthe. It should be a staple on anyone's shelf.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Andrew Young     July 08, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

This one could stand to be more daring.

The absinthe is perfectly clear, with no colour, haze or debris. The aroma is floral wormwood and anise. La bleue-like. A tad minty.

Quick louche, but oddly ends up thin. gains a hint of yellow. With water the aroma is a little weak, mostly anise. Earthy and simple.

The flavour is a pleasant juxtaposition of earthy, minty, and floral. Light with balanced wormwood and anise. Sweet and no bitterness.

The finish is very light and brief, mostly anise.

This is a pleasant, refreshing, simple absinthe, but nothing about it stands out.

60 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2 3  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo