Reviews written by tayker

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Reviewed by tayker     October 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Walton Waters

This review was conducted with 1 sugar cube, a 4-to-1 ratio, and per the Absinthe Evaluation Instructions.

Color: Like the Meadow of Love, looking through the side of the glass the color was more noticeable. From the top it seemed a bit thin, but more color than MoL.

Louche: Nice louche, started quickly.

Aroma: Nice aroma with dominant anise tones.

Flavor: More zesty than the MoL.

Finish: Definitely fresh and crisp with slight tongue numbing.

Overall: Definitely zesty like Meadow of Love, but more of a crisp finish. The citrus aspects is also more noticeable at first taste.

Reviewed by tayker     October 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Meadow of Love

This review was conducted with 1 sugar cube, a 4-to-1 ratio, and per the Absinthe Evaluation Instructions.

Color: I don't know if my eyes were playing tricks on me, but looking at the absinthe through the side of the glass the color was there. Looking inside it seemed thin, darker closer to the center.

Louche: Really nice louche that started pretty quickly and didn't get too thick.

Aroma: Nice aroma and noticeable at first whiff.

Flavor: Nice flavor, which seemed different from the aroma. I definitely like the citrus back end.

Finish: It's definitely interesting. I definitely like the citrus feel to it.

Overall: It's one of the first absinthes that has challenged me on picking out the nuances. The flavors are not muddy but very complimentary, which made it a challenge for me to see, for example, which nuance went with the wormwood and which was related to the lemon balm.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by tayker     October 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Vieux Carre'

I agree with Brian that the packaging is pretty nice. This review was conducted with 1 sugar cube, a 4-to-1 ratio, and per the Absinthe Evaluation Instructions.

Color: Although the color wasn't bright, it had a green to golden brown color that gave it an aged feel.

Louche: The louche was a bit thin, didn't start until around the half-way mark, and seemed milky.

Aroma: Was on the weak side. However, what I did notice was nice and pleasant.

Flavor: Bitterness is a little overpowering at first, but the flavors are definitely more noticeable when it starts to subside. Reminds me of Obsello.

Finish: A nice near-clean mouth feel with a slight tingle.

Overall: Definitely acceptable. I think there needs to be some balance so the flavors come out more quickly. I don't think 1 sugar cube is enough, but 2 might be too much. I'd say either 1 and a half cubes or 2 of the smaller sized variety like Domino Dots.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by tayker     December 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Skin Bracer

Color:
The label lists dyes, and the blue is off putting.

Louche:
Limp, and barely noticeable.

Aroma:
Smells like old man's cologne. I seriously thought this was a gag product.

Taste:
Like an old man's cologne. It tastes like it smells, and reinforced my thinking it was a gag product.

Finish:
My palate isn't as refined as others, but I couldn't go past 2 sips.

Overall:
I'm still believing this is a gag gift, and was intended as a cheap man's cologne for people who want to feel like their living dangerously. I wish there was a '0' ratings option.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by tayker     July 06, 2008
Last updated: December 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Average

Color: From what I understand, the color is artificial, but it's also clear, and natural-looking could be debatable. Grande Absente isn't a bright unnatural-looking green that I've seen on higher rated absinthes, like Mansinthe or Duplais. I would put it closer to Eich, which received a '4.'

Louche: The louche was definitely present and had green and faint blue highlights. I don't know if it was the slow drip, sugar cube, or what-have-you, but the louche was interesting. It started out as a thin layer at the bottom, blossomed into a mushroom cloud effect, and then spread somewhat evenly throughout the rest of the glass. The only reason I didn't keep it at 4 is because the deeper green I usually see in the middle of my louches didn't stay, like in my Eich and Amer, making the consistency the same throughout the whole glass.

Flavor: On a regular "1 to 5" scale, I would give this a 3. However, sticking to the Score Sheet, it's unremarkable and I can taste the alcohol, which isn't any more offensive than a margarita with too much tequila.

Finish: Every average alcoholic beverage I've had has some air of alcohol to it, an acceptable taste making it no different than a Jim Beam and Jose Cuervo. I think if a person is willing to drink Jim Beam or Jose Cuervo then they might be willing to make an exception for Grande Absente as well.

Overall: Grande Absente, to me, represents a baseline for an average consumer. Unfortunately it isn't priced like an average absinthe. I put this in the cheap wine category - good enough for a last minute purchase.

Edit 12-26-2008:
I rescind my baseline comment. If this absinthe was priced like Budweiser (~20% lower than the competition) then I think my opinion would stand. However, with cheaper and better absinthes hitting the U.S. market, I'd recommend ignoring this.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by tayker     July 06, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Average and Over-rated

Louche: Nothing grabbed me, but it louched. It's different from the others I've tried because it didn't have that swirly cloud effect, it gradually clouded up equally throughout the glass.



Aroma: Peculiar is fitting, and the aroma matches the flavor.



Flavor: There's definitely a spiciness with a hint of mustiness to it, like an old abandoned house.



Finish: Definitely present, but unremarkable. Not sure if the batch I had was different from the one mentioned in the other thread inquiring if Ted changed the formula, but mine, dated Oct 06, has a prominent alcohol burn - which doesn't compliment the musty flavor and aroma.



Overall: Acceptable, but that rustic taste and aroma isn't for me.

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo