Reviews written by mthuilli

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Vintage Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     September 04, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Edouard Pernod was definitely the best!

Appearance: yellow/dead leaf with greenish hues (it was perfectly stored I guess)

Aroma (before water): aged wine alcohol (exquisitely woody), and green anise.

Louche: excellent, neither too thick nor too light, one can clearly see that no star anise was used in the recipe.

Aroma (after water): woody again. Typically Edouard Pernod.

Flavor: The green anise - of superb quality - immediately delights the palate accompanied by the wine alcohol aged to perfection (the big strength of Edouard Pernod). Right after come notes of various herbs (grand and petite wormwood, hyssop, etc) with a fruity finish.

Mouth feel: Anise and wine alcohol delight the taste buds forever, absolute bliss…

Conclusion : Once again, I can only observe that Edouard Pernod was a step - if not two - above Pernod Fils, no doubt, this absinthe is exactly the same as its elder sister produced in France before the ban (I would not be surprised if in fact it was distilled in France and then bottled in Spain in 1912/1913). It crushes all competitors.
Such a perfectly mastered absinthe commands respect and proves that they were giving a very high importance to every step, from the base alcohol and the herbs to the distillation, coloration and ageing process.

Note: I don’t know the exact absinthe:water ratio I've used but it was no more than 1:2 to 1:2.5.

Vintage absinthe Edouard Pernod Tarragona 1910's
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     December 18, 2009
Last updated: December 18, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Good for cocktails?

Color: (a bit too) vivid green with some yellowish glances.

Louche: instant! Very milky, you can't see through, internal rims of the glass are very oily, very unusual to see that much oil residues.

Aroma: once passed the very present alcohol, badiane is detected, then anise, something fennelish, and genetically modified wormwood. The final note is minty and slightly lemony.

Flavor: sure there is badiane, a sorta minty anise, and liquorice, yes liquorice that brought back some brown candies to my memories. Then comes a very bitter wormwood, concentrated like in some absentas or some Czech absynths.

Finish: thick and biting, numbs the palate instantly.

Overall: we can't help thinking about Spanish absinthes, but in a more 'intense' way. Once passed the very biting aspect of it, we're left with a rather displeasing bitterness, the palate is so numbed that you can hardly drink anything else after.
May be nice in cocktails, or in summer if diluted enough, who knows...

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     July 19, 2009
Last updated: July 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

unbalanced, bitter but....

Aroma : grande absinthe, angelica and mostly anise

Louche : very(too) quick and opaque

Flavor : the aroma was predicting something excellent but the flavor deceives. We find again the sweetness of the angelica but we mainly find a powerful inopportune bitterness. The Devoille mix of distillates is not correctly apportioned. Moreover, wouldn't the fruity, sweety & round side of this absinthe come from a heavy hand on star anise?

Finish : bitterness and roundness at the same time thanks to the star anise

Overall : Quality/price speaking, we can't say it's a bad product, the herb bill is there, but wrongly assembled, shame because Devoille could have made a very good starter range product, ala François Guy.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     July 11, 2008
Last updated: July 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A bit monotonous...

Color: nice green olive with an amber shade, a little too deep for a modern absinthe imo.



Louche: not opalescent but still nicely formed. But pay attention, you have to stop the water drip quickly, otherwise the louche is ruined (see 'Overall' below).



Aroma: Typical wormwood/green anise from the Emile Pernot distillery in Pontarlier. Then I smell a good fennel hidden behind spiciness. Overall pleasant and floral, Belle Amie strength.



Flavor: This is mainly where I'm disappointed, the flavor doesn't follow the great aroma. Ok it's good but quickly monotonous, a bit one-dimensional.



Finish: good but a little too biting, the coriander takes the podium here.



Overall: I would say "too well balanced", it's missing some punch, a true character, something that would make say "wow! let's have another one".

Also, if you're not tasting it at different louching steps (I've tried many), or if you're used to a higher ratio from your past 'vertes' experiences, then you're taking the risk of drinking an absinthe-perfumed water glass. Start tasting it at 3:1 or just before that, do not wait for the usual undiluted layer to disappear before drinking it!

Vintage Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     July 04, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

One word: wonderful!

Color: Splendid feuille morte with a beautiful orange tint, a forest in autumn.



Louche: Quick and thick, beautiful, the color gets more amber/peachy.



Aroma: Hard to beat such a floral bouquet, a blast! A great panel of fruity and fresh aromas that mainly includes green anise, then angelica, then a bit of A.a. and a few others hard to identify because of the wonderful blend and balance of aromas.



Flavor: Definitely not a Pontarlier style absinthe, a real change and a real explosion for the taste buds, the most unusual vintage absinthe I've ever tasted. That angelica is incredibly fresh and perfumed, I've never felt it that way in any modern or vintage absinthe. And as we needed another bonus, the green anise is as fruity, juicy and biting as the one in the PF 1914 batch.



Finish: it stays forever on your palate, you can only want more. And more...



Overall: What can I add? I've been sniffing the empty sample bottle for days, my body was crying for having more of it.

I was married with the wonderful Pernod Fils from Pontarlier, now I have a mistress from Lyon.



Mthuilli

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     July 01, 2008
Last updated: July 01, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Just for fun...

Color: artificial flashy-green, La Fée-like, not really unattractive though.



Louche: nice opalescent louche that forms quickly. Maybe a bit too quick to be 'clean' but attractive nonetheless.



Aroma: Spanish absenta style. Anise (not green) upfront, then an unnatural candy-like scent, an absinthe for kids?



Flavor: confirms the aromas, it has absenta characteristics with something more in it that reminds of hyssop but with a (kinda) bubblegum taste. It is shortly followed by an unpleasant bitterness coming from, I guess, the convenient wormwood oils.



Finish: ok the candy finish is somewhat pleasant, but that annoying bitterness is rather disturbing.



Overall: As a change, or for a 'teen party', this is the kind of stuff you can drink quickly and easily if you get over the lingering bitterness. To be honest, I was expecting another vile absintH from the east part of Europe, but it's not, it's more reminiscent of a spanish oil mix, or even La Fée for the 'bonbon' taste (and the color).

I didn't sink it, I finished my glass, that says a lot.



Additional note: Absinthion Deluxe won a Silver (Best in Class) medal at the London IWSC 2008.



mthuilli

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     June 27, 2008
Last updated: June 27, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not my cup of tea...

Color: pale green with a slight bluish tint.

Louche: good and honest.

Aroma: hard to define, something weird in it. Primarily it smells wine base Marc. Then a veronica-like scent. And finally some oddities from where you can discern a hint of fennel and star anise (not the star anise I'm used to in pastis though).

Flavor: some bad bitterness here, every herbs are hidden behind that overpowering Marc that leads to some strange fruity flavors. The result is not really savory, just 'odd' for an absinthe.

Finish: biting and dry tongue, there is something unnatural that I dislike and stays forever.

Overall: definitely not my cup of tea, I can appreciate some 'unusual' absinthes for a change, but not that one. It's like Taboo has been distilled as a 'novelty' eau-de-vie, not a 'novelty' absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     June 26, 2008
Last updated: July 01, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Please keep on producing pastis!

Color: that olive color is somewhat attractive, nothing that looks really artificial here, just a bit unusual.



Louche: the louche is too slow to form and does not complete. The result is translucent, a half louche.



Aroma: alcohol comes first, then a citronella candle-like scent, and finally a (kinda) wormwood perfume. All in all, after you get over that strong alcohol nose, you're left with a medicinal aroma, something definitely not absinthe-like.



Taste: I wished the scoring system would include "1/2" because that's all this product deserves. The taste is unpleasantly bitter and chemical, with a melissa flavor but again in a medicinal way. The vervain they macerate must have changed the taste of individual herbs badly. It also bites, but not from a savory and fruity green anise, it just bites...



Finish: It leaves nothing on your palate, except a little lemonish note and bitterness.



Overall: If you've already bought a bottle of that 'thing', better sink it now and drink a cough syrup instead, at least you would know why the taste is medicinal!

The Elie-Arnaud Denoix distillery produces a rather nice Pastis (Pastis des Terres Rouges) and should have better remained in that direction instead of trying to produce a thujone-free 'absinthe'. Sort of like the Domaines de Provence distillery who produces a very good pastis (Henry Bardouin) and a bad 'absinthe' (Absente).



Additional note: E.-A.D. is now sold in the US under the name "MYTHE".



mthuilli

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mthuilli     May 29, 2008
Last updated: May 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A good (Czech) step in the right direction but....

Color : nice dark olive with an amber tint but too deep.

Louche : louches correctly with slow iced water drip and specially with sugar. Quickly overwaters, needs great care. A very light (or almost none) louche without sugar and regular drip. So let's say it does louche decently if carefully prepared (hence the 3 stars).

Aroma : Alcohol is not overpowering, nice floral bouquet (thanks Veronica!), just lacks a little something in the balance, like a rich wormwood or a savory green anise aroma.

Flavor : that's where it hurts. Not unpleasant but clearly shows some flaws. Over-distilled that conducts to a non-existent wormwood flavor and almost non-existent anise and fennel flavors. Over-colored that conducts to overpowering pontica/hyssop/veronica flavors. Result : totally unbalanced.

Finish : ok the veronica leaves a nice finish, but again it lacks something like a nice sweet and biting anise finish.

Overall : It's not a bad product per se, and I'm sure Martin can easily improve it by lightening his distillation method and by having a less heavy hand on the coloration step.

This is the best Czech absinthe I've ever tasted (ok, easy one) and (I hope) soon to be a good absinthe as such.

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo