Reviews written by anthonw

16 results - showing 1 - 16
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     September 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Good, But Nothing Special

This is based on a bottle from DrinkUpNY. The color is not as green as I would typically expect from a verte, especially given the description on their web site. Unlike many of the others, my first experience with the louche was rather disappointing. I did use tap-temperature water, which might account for very few oil trails and none of the cloud forming I am accustomed to. The aroma was good, but it doesn't fill the room the way some other brands do (I may have to update this later, as I have a cold right now). The taste was very pleasant. There is a certain amount of complexity that is intriguing but not distracting. I would say that if you were new to Absinthe, this might be one of the better ones to start with, as it is simpler, but still a little mysterious. The finish leaves a bit of alcohol on the tongue, but not any more than you'd get from vodka or gin. Overall, I like this absinthe and will keep it stocked.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     August 08, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Not your typical blonde

Although the color of this blanche is perfectly clear, and the louche fairly typical, the aroma and flavor of this brand seem more consistent with the one-dimensional vertes than a typical blanche. The aroma is strong with anise and mint, but certainly nothing complex. As a sweet tooth, however, I found the flavor quite enjoyable. The two dominant flavors overpower the wormwood, but just enough bitterness comes out to give the drink an almost chocolate-flavored finish. So, my overall reaction upon trying this was that it completely missed my expectations, but not in a bad way.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     August 07, 2008
Last updated: September 03, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Great Bottle, Average Drink

I really like the bottle that Trillium ships in, but I did have higher expectations, even after reading some of the other comments. In general, this product isn't bad, but nothing really sticks out. It's aroma is very one-dimensional. The louche appears to be on par with most of the other brands I've tried (although this one seems to linger at the bottom of the glass, almost like it's layered). The taste, however, is probably the most disappointing thing about it. It lacks complexity and simultaneously fails to compensate in its simplicity. In other words, Trillium falls short by offering no dominant flavor (unless you consider alcohol a flavor). Other brands, while simplistic, typically offer a dominant anise flavor that makes the product more enjoyable.



All that said, I am not necessarily disappointed with the brand and it wasn't unpleasant. It merely failed to grace the beauty of the bottle it ships in.



UPDATE: 3 weeks later, I reopen the bottle for a second tasting. Apparently, after a breather, the anise flavor does find its way to the forefront a little more. While still not one of the world's greatest, the flavor is definitely more pronounced and the alcohol flavor more subdued.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     August 06, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Highly Recommended

This is one of my favorites. Although I had to detract some points in the color and louche categories, this product more than makes up for it in flavor. While the color approaches that medicine green you see in a few other brands, it doesn't look artificial (or minimally so). The louche is slightly more sophisticated than average and although the aroma is nice, it doesn't fill the room with a bouquet of scents. The flavor is superior. It is complex, but not overly so. It is rather sweet, with a dominant anise flavor, completed by a subtle bitterness of wormwood. And the finish is very clean. In many ways, it's difficult to even taste the alcohol and no aftertaste is left behind.



All this, and it comes in a really nice bottle. This is one brand I intend to keep stocked.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     July 23, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Too Bitter

While this ranks very well in color and louche, the aroma is nothing special and the flavor too bitter. Even with a sugar cube, I find this challenging to enjoy. The anise flavor is much more subtle and too many other flavors seem to complete for dominance, all of which are bitter. Even the finish leaves a little bit of the bitterness behind. When taste-tested among other brands, I have found the negative aspects of this brand to be more subtle (less offensive). That said, this is not a bad drink; but I don't think its one I would keep in the regular stock.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     July 23, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Simple Flavor

La Fee was a disappointing experience, and I doubt I would purchase it again. The flavor, however, is not as offensive to me as others reported. The color is not unappealing, but definitely fake. The aroma and flavor, however, are the biggest let downs. The aroma is mostly alcohol with a tinge of anise and the flavor starts with anise, is immediately overpowered by alcohol and finishes with a mild burn. In general, I don't mind those brands that have simple or one dimensional bouquets. However, other brands generally compensate for their simplicity with an appealing single-flavor.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     July 23, 2008
Last updated: September 04, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

More Average Than I Would've Thought

After reading some of the other reviews on the site, I was expecting this to be a lot worse, so I suppose I was pleasantly surprised. It did rank low across most categories, but I find it one of the better low end brands. The aroma is simple, but I found the taste/flavor to be pleasant (I really wanted to give flavor a 3.5). Whereas most brands have complex bouquets of flavor, Grande Absente is very two-dimensional with a mix of sweet and bitter. Having read about, but never tried, absinthe for nearly 10 years, this product looked, smelled and tasted exactly like I expected absinthe to taste. So, while the taste is not as interesting as a good absinthe, I did not find it as appalling as several of the other reviewers.



If you have more of a sweet tooth, this product might be acceptable to you. I intend to keep it stocked, in favor of Lucid, for the entry-level comparison brand.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     June 19, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Possibly My Favorite

If you like the Kubler product in the US, I believe you'll enjoy this one as much or even more. It has an aroma and taste that are ever so slightly better, in ways that I cannot describe.



The color is perfectly clear and the louche is patient, translucent, and a very fine combination of rumbling thunder clouds with small oily trails dancing on top. The aroma is complex and fills the room. It is definitely overpowering and non-fans might find it too much. I felt that in spite of its goodness, it wasn't perfect and taste seemed the most appropriate place to take the points away. The taste is very mellow and non-offensive. It is also complex, without any one flavor dominating. All these add up to a slight disappointment because there is almost nothing to talk about.



The finish cleans up well and leaves the mouth feeling like it did before the first sip. But the flavor from the aroma lingers, calling out for the next sip.



This is probably my favorite of all blanches and vertes combined and one I will definitely keep stocked.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     June 18, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Shockingly Great

Mansinthe has been my personal favorite in the verte category. The color looks slightly artificial, but is still pleasant on the eye. The louche seems almost orchestrated. The aroma is probably where Mansinthe is the weakest. The smell of alcohol is far too dominant, which is strange because I find it very well balanced within the flavor and almost no lingering effect in the finish. While Alcohol is definitely detectable, the flavor still maintains a dominate anise start, a little sting in the middle, and a solid wormwood finish that isn't overpowering, but prevents you from forgetting it's there. This is one of the sweeter brands, which is why I liked it; but not so sweet as to coat the tongue. This is one I plan to keep stocked.

Absinthe Substitutes
Reviewed by anthonw     June 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not bad, but I probably won't buy it

I tried this at a bar and asked it prepared with sugar and ice water. As such, I wasn't able to judge the color prior to the louch hitting. The aroma and taste weren't bad, but were less like absinthe than I would have expected. They were very candy-like, more so than Absente. Given that I already have absente at home, and prefer it to the pernod, I probably won't be purchasing any of this product.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     June 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Save Your Money

I gave this a 2 for color because even though it looks totally fake, it's kind of intriguing/different. There is a debate out there (not on this site) on whether this is absinthe or not. It is definitely not. Don't believe any bartender or liquor store clerk tell you otherwise. It has none of the characteristics of even a good synthetic (fake) absinthe. As everyone says, it smells and tastes more like mouth wash. It allegedly contains wormwood, but I couldn't taste it. One reviewer thought this product was all-around pretty comical; he obviously didn't pay for it. I wish I could've tried it first.



If you want an absinthe substitute, go with Absente or Pernod; both are considerably better tasting and at least a little bit like absinthe. I was unable to finish this drink.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     May 12, 2008
Last updated: August 06, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Consider it Vodka

I tried this prepared traditionally and had to sink it. Drunk straight or mixed into cocktails, I find it generally good, but not a valid substitute for the real thing. I would treat the purchase and use of this spirit like any other flavored vodka. The flavor is weak enough to mix well with other flavors and I've made some good drinks using this product. However, I can't say that I would re-purchase the product knowing what I know.

Absinthe Substitutes
Reviewed by anthonw     May 12, 2008
Last updated: August 06, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

As close as it gets

It was this product that piqued my curiosity for absinthe in the first place. And, having had a few of the US-available brands, I still find it pleasant. Unlike real absinthe, Absente has an almost candy-like taste when prepared with a sugar cube. The color looks artificial, but is pleasing to the eye. The louche looks more like a soluability/precipitation exercise from Chemistry class than the traditional cloudiness of Absinthe.



I agree with some of the others who say that you save this for those guests who can't appreciate the real thing. It definitely tastes different from real absinthe, but as a spirit, it is a very good drink. Most people I have given it to have found it enjoyable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     May 12, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Okay, But Not Great

I found Lucid to be okay, but not great. It is not one I would consider stocking regularly. The color and louche are generally average, and nothing really stuck out. The aroma was not at all appealing to me. While it did have some of the complexity of an absinthe, none of the components in that complexity was particularly pleasant. The flavor comes across very similarly. It is as if every flavor in the drink is individually muted and blended instead of stirred. The finish lingers, unfortunately and the bottle just looks kind of silly, compared to any of the better brands. It's almost like some marketing MBA got the design job and felt a bad boy image would be needed to reintroduce Absinthe in the US market.



I've served Lucid at home tasting parties and it generally ranks poorly. Mediocre is really the best word to describe this product.

Reviewed by anthonw     May 12, 2008
Last updated: July 23, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Best Value - Best Flavor

Given the summer 08 market for absinthe in the US, I really can't recommend this brand enough, especially given it's the price/volume. The taste is very mild, but full. It finishes nicely, almost like a good wine. The aroma is very pleasant, but light, almost like there is something more to the drink, but my sense of smell is damaged. This one also has the nicest louche of the US-available brands.



I myself am partial to the blanches, and this ranks up there with La Clandestine. I also would recommend this brand to anyone that is new to absinthe. It's balanced flavor should give you a good feel for whether this drink is for you.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by anthonw     May 12, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Strange, Good, in it's own Class

This is a really strange, but quite good, product. The bottle is beautiful, but the color could use some artificial coloring to hide its jaundiced verte status. The aroma is like an italian dinner and my very first sip was almost a spitter. However, by the time I finished the glass, and on subsequent glasses, I was thoroughly enjoying it. Many people find this to be the most interesting flavor at tasting parties, but enthusiasm for the second glass tends to be lacking. In general, nobody hates it, but people react either indifferently or love it. It is one I plan to stock regularly for the effect.



The louche is similar to most other brands, but nothing special or memorable. The flavor is hard to describe, but oregano or tarragon seems to dominate the palate. The flavor works in cycles more so than any other brand I've tasted. It starts with a slight anise, followed immediately by the oregano, and closure with the wormwood. Other flavors come and go and as far as mystic goes, this brand takes the cake. You will just have to decide whether mystic is all it's cracked up to be. The finish is superb, leaving the entire bouquet on the tongue with a gentle fade. Personally, I found this to be very good and enjoy it fairly regularly, but it is not typical of most absinthes out there.

16 results - showing 1 - 16
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo