Reviews written by PeterL

12 results - showing 1 - 12
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     August 25, 2008
Last updated: August 30, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Gorgeous - Everything It Should Be - And More

This Review is based upon a blind sample.

Color
Very close to Emerald, absolutely gorgeous and natural looking. It has a lens like clarity making this this Absinthe a real pleasure to behold.

Aroma
Rich and intriguing. It's heady with notes of Licorice from Fennel and Anise. There's something deep and herbal that strikes a nice balance. The heat of alcohol is strong but doesn't compromise the bouquet at all. Tantalizing and fresh. I would have liked some of the more floral or alpine herb notes but this is nit picking - the aroma is excellent.

Louche
Extremely beautiful Louche. Lots of swirling trails of different shades of green from the lightest Peridot to deeper currents of Emerald - all quite beautiful. Nice shimmering Opalescence to the finished Louche which is creamy and delicious looking, dense without being dull - the color is a definite plus. A light green with a few swirling trails of darker green hues that remain until that final stir. Mouth feel is wonderful, creamy and luscious without being milky or sticky.

Flavor
In a word - Delicious. This is not a delicate Absinthe. The Wormwood gnashes at your tongue and the bitterness is quite pronounced even with sugar. There's a gorgeous balance of sweet Fennel and lovely Anise to balance it out quickly and a soft bite at the back of the throat that's refreshing. I was impressed with this Absinthe very much - it's powerhouse of flavor and those initial flavor notes hit you up front and hard. As I finished my glass I could detect lot's of other herbs but I can't think to name them. I can tell you the taste is well rounded, rich and anything but subtle.

The Finish
Not as smooth as I would have expected, the heat of the alcohol has a definitive bite that lingers. But fortunately the delicious sharp taste of the wormwood entwines beautifully with sweeter notes. No peculiar aftertaste just clean and bright.

Final Impression
I loved this Absinthe. It has so many of the characteristics I look for but usually only find one or two in one brand and then others in another brand. The great pleasure for me here was, they were all together. The taste is dramatically bold even at a 4:1 water ratio. I was tempted to add some additional water but didn't want to lose the full throttle flavor. In short this is an Absinthe I could drink regularly without getting bored in the slightest.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     August 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

A Winner From The Windy City

Preparation



A thin stream from a fountain of iced spring water.



Color Before Water



A very pretty deep olive. The color is natural and quite attractive but far to dark for my taste -not the eye popping Peridot or Emerald that are so prized. But nonetheless very pretty and perfectly translucent without even a hint of sediment



Aroma Before Water



Delicious. Albeit unusual in that the Anise, Fennel and "licorice notes" were further back than I'm used to but this was a welcome surprise. The aroma is delightful and mild with wonderfully herbal and floral bouquet. No heat of alcohol whatsoever. Very clean and appetizing. But again, very faint



Louche



The Louche began quite quickly, at first swirling puffs and smokey rolls that filled my glass quickly - not dramatic in the sense of a thunder storm in your glass but very decent. I stopped the water at half way and noticed the color was almost a very light Amber. There was a nice opalescent quality at this point and if I held the glass and swirled it little glimmers of greens could be seen. At full finish the color appeared much closer to what I've been accustomed to, thick and milky with a nice olive green hue. Mouth feel is thinner than the Louche leads you to expect but for me this is a plus.



Aroma After Water



Still just as inviting but very delicate and soft. It reminded me of Martaeu in the way it left me wanting more volume to these unique and fresh new notes. There's something grass like and soothing and what I detected to be a bit floral. In short, crisp, clean and most inviting. Zero odd or off putting scents of any kind or degree.



Flavor



Wow, I expected the flavor to follow the aroma and boy was I wrong. At first there's a real bite of bitter Wormwood that's really delightful and unexpected. I felt it pinch my tongue and give way to more subtle and a bit sweeter notes from the Fennel and Anise. Even with sugar this is much more of a savory drink but that said the harmonious balance between sweet and savory is intriguing and delicious.



The Finish



Nice numbing of the tongue and a lingering grassy taste with delicate hints of something minty and fresh. The finish lingers which is really very nice. There was a bit of cloying residue after it fades.





Final Impression



Exceptional, beautifully complex and satisfying. It packs a punch of Alcohol at the first few sips but this may have more to do with water ratio than anything else. Definitely one of the nicest Absinthes I've tried. I might have liked more of kick from Anise but if I learned anything from this Absinthe it's that Anise and Fennel don't have to bowl you over. They can be part a tapestry of flavors and still bring their unmistakable presence to the table without drowning out everything else.Stop reading and order yourself a bottle.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     August 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Awkward and Odd - Different is an Understatement

Presentation:



This review is based on a blind sample.





Preparation



A thin stream from a fountain of iced spring water.



Color Before Water



More Aquamarine than green, although odd it's very pretty and clear. It doesn't seem to fit into acceptable color ranges. However it's natural and not at all unattractive, just not what I would expect from an Absinthe.



Aroma Before Water



As off beat as the color. But again, not unattractive. What did strike me as odd was the almost non existent scent of Anise and Fennel. There's something sweet and perfume like that was hard for me to place. The more I breathed it in and came back to it after letting the glass alone for a while to open up was an almost over ripe or candied fruit aroma. Pleasant enough with enough heat from the alcohol to keep it from being cloying or overbearing. Still, I found the aroma peculiar for an Absinthe but not offensive or unappetizing - just incredibly different.



Louche



A nice Louche that comes about in attractive trails at first and a following of billowing white that fills the glass with increasing speed. There was a subtle opal like quality towards the end and this remained. The aquamarine had given way to a delicate hint of milky blue green. Not the thickest Louche I've seen or most dramatic but very decent - although it did seem a bit thin and the color a bit off. Mouth feel is thin, no real sense of anything creamy or luscious. I noticed when tipping the glass it left the glass completely clean which I interpret as not having any real body.



Aroma After Water



Somewhat intriguing but hard to place. There's something almost candied about it which made me follow my hunch and not use sugar - at least not at first. I detected no Anise, no Fennel but again this floral, fruity and slightly candied aroma which is pleasant I just would never associate it with Absinthe.



Flavor



Yikes. Let me first say that I'm one of those people who have the "soap taste" reaction to Cilantro. To me even a hint of Cilantro can ruin a dish. Should a single leaf end up in my mouth I'll spend the rest of the evening with the unpleasant taste of soap lingering for hours. I suspect there's some herb or botanical in this Absinthe that has caused the same reaction. At first sip the taste of soap was sharp and unpleasant. I added a sugar cube, a bit more water and tasted again. But to no avail, although I could detect interesting flavors in the back ground the soapy assault was too powerful to even finish the glass.



The Finish



Lingering soapy flavor and something candied and fruit like, chalky and powdery.



Final Impression



This must be a case of my own enzymes reacting to what very well may be a better tasting Absinthe in reality other than my own reaction to the botanicals within. That said, before I was hit with the unexpected soapy taste I did find both the color, Louche and Aroma all falling short of what I've come to expect and relish in an Absinthe.

Reviewed by PeterL     August 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

The Road Less Traveled - In The Wrong Direction

Presentation

The bottle is at best unremarkable if not a bit cheesy. I can forgive the silly label but a thin metal screw of cap? That doesn't exactly say quality at a $60 price point. Nor would it at half the price.

Preparation
A thin stream from a fountain of iced spring water.

Color Before Water
Very attractive and a pleasant surprise. It's a lovely deep, bright Peridot leaning almost towards emerald. Pristine, jewel like and gorgeous an absolute delight.

Aroma Before Water
Odd I knew not to expect a strong nose of Anise, Fennel and the notes of Licorice to be up front. I didn't expect them to be absent. I let the glass breathe for 30 minutes hoping it would open up a bit and become more floral and less awkward and hard to place. But in final assessment the aroma is like a cinnamon flavored gum at the point where little flavor or scent remains. There are fruity tones I can't place which are interesting but left me thinking this was anything but Absinthe.

Louche
Nice Louche which began quickly. I didn't see much in the way of trails and rolling clouds but I was pleased with it nonetheless. The finished color isn't as dense and creamy as other Absinthes I've had but it's attractive in it's own right albeit a bit too thin. No real opalescence to speak of and Mouth feel is a bit too watery for my taste.

Aroma After Water
Still odd and candy like with cloying hints of cinnamon. The aroma strikes me as somewhat muddled I definitely missed the luscious fragrance of Anise and allure of sweet Fennel. The herbal tones could be crisper and for lack of a better word cleaner.

Flavor
Just like the aroma. At first, the flavor struck me as washed out with peculiar notes of herbs that bordered a little on funk, but not terribly so. These issues aside Mata Hari has an acceptable flavor but to me it's pretty far away from what I expect from an Absinthe. If the thinking behind Mata Hari was to tune down the Anise and Fennel to make it a more flexible Absinthe for use in cocktails I have to say I don't see the advantage. For instance in Sazerac you would never know it had been added, and we tried quite a few. Some with an ample 1/2 ounce or more of Mata Harie added directly to the drink as opposed just coating the glass or using an atomizer. It just disappears into the drink not effecting it one way or the other.

The Finish
Clean and smooth with a bit more herbal complexity which was a welcome change from the cinnamon like taste. There was something else too...something borderline unpleasant and hard to pin point.

Final Impression
I can understand tuning down the Licorice notes but I think to make them non existent is a mistake because Absinthe is in itself an Anise flavored drink. If a Gin producer lowered the Juniper in the hopes to win Vodka lovers I doubt there would be much success. Because if you don't like Juniper chances are you're not going to like any gin - even those with a lower Juniper profile. The flavors of Mata Hari do less in the way of presenting the real flavors of Absinthe and lean more towards a drink that may indeed be very enjoyable to some - but I wouldn't consider them a proper representation of Absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     August 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Roquette 1797 - An Unexpected Disappointment

Presentation:



Classic, old world charm. Thick red wax looks great but difficult to remove





Preparation



A thin stream from a fountain of iced spring water.



Color Before Water





Olive leaning towards a light yellow. It's not at all exceptional but totally natural looking. Clear and free of any sediment. Very acceptable and comparable to other brands.





Aroma Before Water



Not overpowering, There's the pronounced heat from alcohol and 150 proof that was expected. The Anise is dominant here and there's little in the way of any floral or herbal tones. The aroma is crisp and clean, but nothing to savor.



Louche



What Louche? Very disappointing. Even after a very slow drip from the fountain all we could coax is a haze. No density, no turbulent roll of clouds or puffy smoke, just a watery opalescent fog. The Mouth feel is as thin as the Louche but to it's credit it's not sticky nor cloying.





Aroma After Water



Watered down and somewhat cooled off. The heat of alcohol is still up front side by side with a nose of Anise and what I can only guess is Fennel. I was unable to detect any other herbs. The aroma is clean and free of any medicinal or off putting aroma.







Flavor



Like the Aroma the flavor is a predictable alcohol and Anise. Period. The Fennel and other flavors don't stand out or above other Absinthes I've had - many at much less of a price per bottle. There's little in the way of complexity here with the exception of a nice grassy taste that chimes in after a few sips.



The Finish



Nice numbing of the tongue, no cloying aftertaste.







Final Impression



Having had high expectations for this Absinthe I was disappointed that it fell so short of what I think are reasonable expectations to have. A fine and lovely aroma, a thick and powerful Louche, these are part in parcel things that to me anyway, add to the enjoyment of drinking Absinthe. But they're lacking here and that's unfortunate. The flavors of Anise and fennel are bold enough to make this a pleasant cocktail. But that's as far as it goes. Enjoyable to a degree but sorry to say, not memorable in the least.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by PeterL     August 09, 2008
Last updated: August 09, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Marteau Verte Classique - Sophisticated Elegance

Presentation:



Elegant dark green bottle, Silver foil, up scale label all very attractive. Nice to see there's a specific warning not to burn on the back, in addition to don't burn sugar sign. Well done.



Preparation

A thin stream from a fountain of iced spring water.



Color Before Water

Perfectly Peridot. The color was an unexpected surprised as I imagined it leaning more towards emerald. But this lovely pale green is spectacular. It has the clarity and translucence of a jewel. Quite dazzling to see, especially in natural sunlight.



Aroma Before Water

Another surprise the Anise isn't overpowering it seems more of a compliment to a wonderfully herbal and fragrant bouquet. I strolled a bit, glass in hand and found the vapors quite beautiful. Floral notes and crisp sweetness made me wish it was heavier and more pronounced. Like a breeze off the sea you wish for more but the very qualities that are so faint and gorgeous may be best enjoyed just as it is.



Louche

Nice trails that start immediately and the Louche follows quite quickly. A dense puffy wave that lifts up and rolls out. Expanding and imploding it makes for a fun turbulent performance.The color was a surprise here to. Not the milky off white I've seen so much of. The Peridot color hangs in there and even at 4 to1 water ratio there's this fabulous, light green opalescence. The final stage of the razor thin line of pure Absinthe above the Louche is something special. Mouth feel is thinner than I expected but for me this would be a trait I seek out. It's not sticky nor does it cling to the tongue or inside the mouth.



Aroma After Water

Still gorgeous and inviting but very, very delicate I did find myself wanting more of it. That said, it's unique and fresh with notes that are herbal and floral, clean and inviting. Absolutely zero medicinal, odd or off putting aroma.



Flavor

Like the Aroma the flavor is smooth, subtle and distinct. There's a nice savory balance to it's natural sweetness which is delightful. After sampling a few glasses with sugar and without, my preference is without. There's a nice bite of Wormwood that's tasty and sharp. Overall the flavor is beautifully complex and wonderfully simple at the same time. It's many things, but never one dimensional. One flavor never really wins out over the others. The harmony is exceptional.





The Finish

A gentle numbing of the tongue and a lingering grassy aftertaste.



Final Impression

Marteau Verte Classique is exquisite. And again it's more delicate than any other Absinthe I've tried. Perhaps this is the reason it's been suggested for use in cocktails because the licorice flavors from Anise and fennel aren't center stage. Although I found myself wishing they were a bit more up front. But this is knit picking - it's a delicious and fascinating drink. My main complaint would be that this Absinthe is to be retired. Hence my two bottles will be used sparingly and I hope to purchase more before the remaining stock is gone forever. A better review or stronger recommendation to treat yourself to a bottle I can't make.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     July 24, 2008
Last updated: July 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

La Muse Verte - A Very Pleasant Surprise

*The bottle pictured here is not the current design. The bottles now have a new label, the same matt finish jet black glass

Preparation
A slow drip from a fountain of ice water.

Color Before Water
olive, not eye popping but it's natural and attractive. I had a tiny bit of sediment with each pour. Others haven't had this issue. My guess is shipping in the dead heat of summer caused erosion to the cork. No points lost.

Aroma Before Water
A lovely herbal and floral nose with the Anise and Fennel not so upfront - there's balance to it. At 136 Proof I expected some real heat from the alcohol but there isn't. A definite plus.

Louche
Impressive. Nice oil trails and a lazy roll of turbulent waves that puff up at the bottom of the glass. It's like watching storm clouds in slow motion - great fun. The color is typical, milky white with the a slight green tint.

Aroma After Water
Delicate and floral with a splendid side of Anise and herbs. It's very clean with zero funk or odd, off putting aroma.

Flavor
Delicious. La Muse has no sugar whatsoever - The Wormwood is sharp and up front. It's savory and more complex than any US available Absinthe I've tried.

The Finish
A gentle numbing of the tongue - no lingering aftertaste. But it ends quickly, leaving you little to savor.

Final Impression
At $65 La Muse Verte provides great value. More sophisticated palates may long for deeper complexity. It's not that La Muse lacks delicate nuances, they're just not as pronounced. La Muse is lovely, crisp and flavorful - I would recommend giving it a try.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     June 18, 2008
Last updated: June 18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Grande Absente - Not Very Grande At All

*Color Before Water*

From reading posts in the forum, I knew before hand that the color was artificial. However seeing a bottle up close and personal, which in itself I find tasteless and silly with it's bloated and comical type fonts. However the color is a bit brighter then expected, perfectly translucent with zero sediment.



*Aroma Before Water*

Weak and one dimensional. The heat of alcohol is strong and up front and there's a vague nose of Anise. This alone seemed strange to me as I usually find Anise and fennel to be up front and bold, regardless of brand. I was hard pressed to detect any Fennel whatsoever. I found no trace of floral and or herbal tones.



*Louche*

Not bad at all, in fact interesting in it's own right. Swirls of trails dance down towards the bottom of the glass and the Louche although not turbulent nor awe inspiring spreads out evenly and dense. The resulting color is a very pale lime green. It lacks the opalescent quality I've seen with other brands and it appears thicker than it actually is. As the mouth feel is more watery than one might expect, considering the density of the completed Louche.



*Aroma After Water*

More heady with Anise and a sweet, slightly medicinal nose. Sadly it stops here. Any herbal or floral characteristics is pretty much non existent. On a positive note there's no "funk" or odd, off putting aroma.



*Flavor*

One dimensional at best and candy sweet. It would be insanity to use sugar with this Absinthe. Unless you were having a glass for desert - or have a ferocious sweet tooth. It is most definitely sticky sweet with absolutely no bite of Wormwood or any bitter tang in the background to offset or balance it's syrup sweet flavor.



*The Finish*

A nice numbing of the tongue but the sticky sweetness lingers - and it lingers too long.



*Final Impression*

Too sweet for me, but others may enjoy it. I think at it's price point of $70 you're better off with any number of US offerings. It's not a bad drink but it does fall terribly short of any delicate nuances, notes and tones of the lovely flavors anyone with a love and respect of fine Absinthe would look for.



At 138 proof, Grande Absente packs quite a punch. To their credit there's an advisory on the back warning to drink it with care and moderation. I experienced no secondary effect whatsoever, just a dull headed buzz and a headache to boot.

Reviewed by PeterL     May 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Kubler - Terrific Absinthe - Great Value

Preparation
Kubler was my first bottle of a Blanche Absinthe and I was most eager to try it, and of course compare it to the many Verte Absinthe brands I've tried to date and for the most part really enjoyed. The open bottle was left to breathe for thirty minutes or so and a carafe of ice water used to dilute the Absinthe and develop the Louche.
Color Before Water
Crystal clear. Absolutely no sediment. There's the slightest viscosity to it, otherwise it looks and pours much like Vodka or any other crystal clear liqueur.
Aroma Before Water
I really love the aroma, but then I adore Fennel and Anise. I found the Anise and Fennel vapors the most strong and prominent. There are lighter notes which I found hard to place and even harder to describe. It's crisp and there's a far away hint of pine, as for the wormwood or any other herbal or botanical aroma I was hard pressed to perceive it. The heat of alcohol didn't seem to be as strong as I expected. All in all a nice scent, pleasant and uncomplicated.

Louche


Talk about a fast Louche! the Louche begins immediately upon the addition of water and expands dramatically fast throughout the glass. Like a thick white smoke it swirls and rolls, getting thicker and more dense until it reaches a milky white color with the faintest - and I mean faintest hint of blue. It does Louche but the speed at which it happens is a bit of draw back, still fun to watch though. Just don't blink your eyes or you'll miss it.
Aroma After Water
The Fennel and Anise still dominate. But those softer undertones of a Pine like scent were absolutely detectable. The aroma may not be dazzling, but it's appetizing and clean with nothing off putting or peculiar about it.
Flavor
Very sweet, but not in an artificial way. Again the Anise and Fennel really lead the pack and pretty much over power anything else. After a few days and a few tries I would roll the Absinthe around my tongue and it was here that I could pick up a bitter bite of Wormwood to offset the sweetness. I would venture to say that if they boosted the Wormwood a bit more up front, the taste would be more like a higher end Absinthe and less like Sambuca.
Kubler is still a very tasty palatable drink, I would avoid the use of sugar, even if this is your first glass of Absinthe as the natural sweetness is more than enough. This aside I find it delicious and the mouth feel that's very pleasant but perhaps a bit thin.
The Finish
Delicious, although the sweetness lingers it does give way to bit more complexity. Kubler is absolutely devoid of any funky or strange aftertastes.The sweetness does fade and leaves a taste of Anise and Fennel on the palate which is really quite nice.
Final Impression
Kubler is a fine Absinthe - is it top shelf? I wouldn't think so. However it's a quality product and makes for a tantalizing, refreshing drink. I would also say it's most reasonable price point of around $50 makes it an excellent buy as well.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     May 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Lucid - Takes a licking and keeps on Kicking

Preparation



Lucid was my first Absinthe and I suppose for that alone it will always have a place in my heart as perhaps not an extraordinary drink, but a damn fine good one. With company we'll break out the fountain. However as an "every day Absinthe" a slow drip from the Poland Springs cooler or carafe of ice water works just dandy.



Color Before Water





Lucid isn't as green as any of the Jades I've tried. It leans more towards a yellow. It's pale and crystal clear - pretty enough but by no means gorgeous nor eye popping. It's also incredibly consistent, I have yet to notice any variance of the slightest shade. And although I find the bottle itself rather silly and unfortunate in the sense it plays to the propaganda of Absinthe, perhaps the use of dark glass keeps the light at bay and from changing the color. Just a theory.



Aroma Before Water



If you love Anise, you're in for a treat.Many a time I've opened a bottle only to find my partner or friends arrive shortly thereafter and announce "I could smell that before I reached your front door" Some people might find the aroma a bit too candy like ~ especially when compared to higher end brands but it suits me just fine. If the bottle is left to breathe, more complex notes will blossom most definitely of Fennel with slight under tones of floral and herbs.



Louche





Lightening fast. But non the less interesting. Appealing strands of oily goodness cascade from the top down and a puffy white cloud forms at the bottom. The Louche becomes turbulent with wonderful movement as it encompasses the elixir within. The final completion is an off white with a very decent opalescent quality. This makes it appear thicker than it actually is ala mouth feel but again, it's very decent and never disappoints.





Aroma After Water





Still heady with Anise but the more complex aromas have a chance to shine through. I would say Lucid shoots from the hip, no odd herbs, no peculiar deviations as with some of the odd ball Absinthes such as the ST George. Purists may find it in fact to direct and too simplified but I would counter and say it's consistency bottle after bottle is a good thing indeed. The heat of alcohol gives way too a more complex fragrance than from the bottle alone. Albeit it never loses the wallop of Anise and Fennel.









Flavor





Perhaps a bit too sweet, I can't imagine using sugar with Lucid. And I do miss the sharp tone of Wormwood and that "bite" of lovely bitterness that I have found with other, more complex and certainly more expensive bottles of Absinthe. But that aside I find it delicious and although a bit thin on mouth feel a very pleasant drink in every way. The after taste can be a bit sticky sweet but there are herbal complexities that shine on.



The Finish





Again a bit too sweet perhaps. But it's absolutely devoid of any funky or strange aftertastes.The Anise and Fennel linger on the palate which isn't at all bad, but I do miss a bit of a bite from the more bitter ingredients which if in tact would balance Lucid out beautifully.





Final Impression





Lucid is a fine "first Absinthe" and an equally decent daily Absinthe to have around the house. I don't hesitate to recommend it ~ silly bottle and all. It was close to what I imagined Absinthe to be. Is it wonderfully complex? no, not really. But it's a lovely drink, it's affordable, available and again consistent. I would say the positives here far outweigh the negatives - There will always be place on my bar for the black bottle with two silly glaring cats eyes.



Peter

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     May 10, 2008
Last updated: May 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

ST George - The Best of Intentions

Preparation
I filled my fountain with ice cold filtered water and ice, I gave the bottle a good half hour to breathe while I set up. I used a very slow drip of about one drop every two seconds. No sugar and I stopped the drip when I had a nice demarcation line of the of the Absinthe green on top. I then sped up the drip a bit until the line was gone, stopped the water and gave a quick stir.

Color Before Water
Murky at best, drab and disappointing. In the video located on the St. George web site - master Distiller Lance Williams says "it was either go for color or go for taste ~ I went for taste" I do admire him as an artist but take issue with his disregard for color. We dine and drink with our eyes as much as our bellies. Now maybe a disregard for the color of a Verte is easier, but easier doesn't mean better.

Aroma Before Water
I was a bit disappointed as it seemed weak and a bit off putting. Any trace of Anise is over shadowed by a "grassy" aroma, kind of like the way the smell of a fresh cut lawn would taste. The brandy base is nice and smooth - but any distinctive aroma seems hidden behind a heavy citrus note and the eclectic and unconventional assortment of herbs.

Louche
Sluggish, dull and in no way awe inspiring.

Aroma After Water
Faint and diluted. It's not offensive by any means but nor is it appetizing. The aroma seems to lack the fragrant bouquet I've found with most every Absinthe I've tried thus far from the Lucid to the Jades both the 1901 and the Edouard

Flavor
In my opinion the lemon balm is a too bright, I think of Absinthe as an Anise based drink but you really have to search your taste buds to find it. Perhaps Star Anise doesn't have the impact needed or perhaps the odd selection of herbs - especially the tarragon and Basil lend to it's unusual and to me anyway, off putting flavor. Mr. Williams attests that he's "not interested in Mass appeal and looks to find a small population of admirers for his new Absinthe" I certainly respect that, and have little doubt he'll find his fan base. What puzzles me is why, given the chance to produce one of the first legal Absinthe in the US one would choose to deviate so far from recipes that have defined Absinthe for centuries.

The Finish
Decent at best, a bit of a peculiar after taste, but the lingering notes of citrus are quite nice actually.An interesting drink no doubt - just not for me.

Final Impression
Great bottle, Great label and web site http://stgeorgespirits.com and although after a while it did grow on me ~ just not to the point I would buy it again. I think St. George will definitely find it's niche. It's a quality, well made product. Made with love and great affection. However it's attributes were lost on me. I'm sure St George will find it's place on the shelves of those who delight in unconventional - even odd offerings. I wish them luck

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by PeterL     May 09, 2008
Last updated: May 09, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Jade PF 1901 - Living up To Expectations

Sadly my two bottles of Jade 1901, now sit bone dry on my shelf. However, the memory lingers and it's a sweet and delicious one. I know the Jades have many reviews, but as my experience is limited I thought I would try my first review here, with the Absinthe I have been, to date - the most impressed with.



Preparation



I filled my fountain with ice cold spring water and the store bought ice, one because I find the ice in my freezer picks up flavors and two, it's quite beautiful in the fountain. After getting the wax off and un corking the bottle I gave the bottle a good half hour to breathe while I set up. I used a very slow drip of about one drop every two seconds. No sugar and I stopped the drip when I had a nice demarcation line of the of the Absinthe green on top. I then sped up the drip a bit until the line was gone, stopped the water and gave a quick stir.



Color Before Water





Like a crow, I'm attracted to pretty shiny things and have to say my first impression of the 1901 was the absolutely spectacular color. Just a gorgeous, crystal clear Peridot, Anyway I digress. Both bottles which in back were labeled 2006 so maybe aging and the dark glass helped to enhance or preserve the color. But out of each bottle poured this exquisite Peridot Green. In fact, I held up an actual Peridot stone and the color was identical. It's clear of any sediment, and sparkled beautifully in the dose reservoir of the glasses.



Aroma Before Water



Not the strong bolt of Anise I find with the Lucid, and at first I was a bit disappointed as it seemed weak and a little washed out. However, given time there was a wonderfully complex perfume of Anise and Fennel. I detected what I can only describe as "flowers" in the background, faint but there ~ and oh so alluring. Inhaling the Peridot elixir, much like a fine brandy I found it made my brain a little fuzzy with delightful and soothing vapors. There's heat from the alcohol but a coolness as well, crisp and luscious with a delectable complexity I had never experienced with the Lucid or St George.



Louche





Now this was interesting, as the water splashed down I could see these wonderfully icy looking trails, at first very subtle and they seemed to spread out like an amoeba from the center out. Totally intriguing. After a few minutes, perhaps five at best, maybe six the Louche formed in a swirl of a puffy white cloud that seemed surprisingly dense and turbulent, just fabulous to watch. When I got to a 2.5 to one ratio, I added a bit more water which made the Louche take hold of any remaining green at the top of the glass. The Louche finished at a beautiful whitish Jade ~ and the texture upon first sip was silky smooth and luscious.



Aroma After Water





It seemed to encompass all the complex and lovely notes I detected prior to adding water but without any real heat at all of alcohol. Like a bouquet the fragrance is layered and subtle. Certainly different from what I've had in the past. I had thought the Aroma was too weak to really fill the room - however my neighbor stopped by and announced "My God you're place smells wonderful" My guess is I had gotten used to the fragrance and really was past the point of detecting just how impressive it was.



Flavor





Simply put gorgeous. An up front dazzle of Anise sweet but by no means candy sweet. a Bite of bitter but nothing you would call sharp or unpleasant by any means. The after taste leaves an herbal and almost floral like complexity of subtle notes and tones. It's a perfect delicate balance of faint flavors and powerful ones without any one flavor blocking out another. Just an absolutely delicious and refreshing drink.



The Finish





Crisp and wonderful. I found no funky or strange aftertaste. The Louche while it looks much thicker than it really is has a nice light body to it and ever so slight of a creamy texture. As I mentioned earlier it's silky and smooth and an absolute delight to drink.





Final Impression





The Jade 1901 was pretty close to what I imagined Absinthe to be. Wonderfully complex without being obtrusive, delicate and yet filled with defiant and so many background notes of flavors I really again, can only describe as floral that it's an absolute pleasure to both prepare and enjoy.



Peter

12 results - showing 1 - 12
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo