Reviews written by buddhasynth

13 results - showing 1 - 13
 
 
Retired Brands
Reviewed by buddhasynth     September 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

that's what they call it.

the color is perfectly crystal clear. An easy 5.

the louche is a bit weak, as is to be expected. Still, we have nice opalescence. I give it a 3.

the aroma neat is one of wormwood and alcohol and not much else. Louched, it opens up to wormwood and alcohol with a little teeny bit of anise and fennel. Not balanced, but not unpleasant. 3.

the flavor is not balanced in the traditional sense. The other herbs take a back seat like faceless sidemen in identical suits whilst the wormwood solos. And a long, loud, and brilliant solo it is. A 3 that is actually a 3.5 because of the tradition thing, but I'd give it a 4 myself.

the finish is lengthy and quite pleasant. A wonderful floral fruity dryness permeates, making the nasal exhale so nice. The sweetness comes way later, and I am sure sugar would help it along but I drink it sans sucre. A bit of astringency on the sides of the tongue as well, but not to the point of being a detriment. Technically a 3, personally a 4.

Overall, I give it a 4. A very interesting product that I would like to have a bit of for that special day when I want to be slapped across the face with some wormwood. After tasting a couple of HGs that were extremely wormwood forward I wondered just how far they could push it with the Artemisia. I'd say this is as far as I would want to go with it. Unless you want to call it something other than absinthe...

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 21, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

believe the hype, baby.

The Color is a clear olive, undoubtedly an emeraldy color when fresh and aged into feuille mortification. A 4 that is actually a 4.5.

The Louche is quite readily formed early on. It is quite thick and not quite what I'd call opalescent but I wouldn't call it ugly, as it would be if it were overcolored. Amber highlights around the edge. Another 4 that is really a 4.5.

The Aroma neat is surprisingly floral. Louched, it opens to a well blended, dryish, alpine sort of thing. The floral component is very similar to L'italienne but much more reserved and as I said, alpine. Simply delicious, especially when exhaling through the nose after a drink. 5.

The Flavor is complex but well balanced and seamless enough not to be an academic exercise to drink. A reserved sweetness gives way to a powdery dryish floral sort of thing which is quite refreshing. A bit of tongue numbing is present, but not to the point of coating the tongue. Easily a 5.

The Finish is for the most part a long and smooth fadeout, with the layers showing themselves at the end. The mouthfeel is nice, creamy enough but again, not excessively mouth coating. Wonderful floraly aftertaste. A peppery astringence shows itself at the tail end, especially on the sides of the tongue. That component lingers longest, but not unpleasantly so. Another 4 that is really a 4.5.

Overall, this is a most interesting product. Similarities to L'italienne abound, but they are kept on a much shorter leash. Qualities that in higher proportion made Stefano's product a bit controversial have been reined in considerably and instead help create a distinct, individual, and yet still what I'd call a traditional absinthe. From an artistic standpoint that is an achievement. On a more practical note, I have enjoyed this absinthe at much higher dilutions than I usually go with; I generally make my drinks on the stronger end of the acceptable range and go to 5:1 strictly for inquiry purposes, not casual drinking. I have found Ridge to be quite "stretchy" in that respect and it is quite nice to not have to obsess over the sweet spot when louching up.

A full-on win for Team Ridge. I would unhesitatingly recommend this to anyone who has not had it, absintheur or not. Just don't ask me to give you any of mine.



Retired Brands
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

very nice.

Color is a bit light; pale with a hint of green but mostly dead leaf. Well within the legitimate range but I prefer a bit brighter hue. I give it a 4.

Louche forms (mostly) from the bottom.Well on the way to opacity at 1:1. The thin line at the top finally disappears around 1:5 or so. Thick but not completely opaque. Another 4.

Aroma--Before watering, pretty alcoholic and minty. A bit rough. After adding water it opens up a bit. Very prominent minty wormwood is evident; other factors are present but pretty seamlessly blended to this nose. I chalk this up to 5 years of aging. Exhaling after drinking yields a very nice wormwood flavor. 4.

The flavor is wormwoody as all get-out with a very minty subtext. This is what a wormwood-heavy absinthe is trying to be. Anise and fennel are clearly present, but by no means dominant. There is a bit of burny alcoholic heat. The origin of the base alcohol(grape, grain, whatever) is not evident. Dry and a bit tingly on the tongue. Marked as a 4, but if this thing would let me enter 4.5 that would be more to my liking.

The finish is long, lingering, and pleasant.The tongue tingles with a blunt dryness that somehow works. Not particularly layered, but a nice long smooth fade out to a peppery dry warm tongue. Again, I attribute this to aging. Also, I'd give it a 4.5 if I could.

Overall, an intriguing product. If I had discovered this when I first started drinking absinthe in earnest--back when Doubs Mystique was a frontrunner on my favorites list-- I would have been all over this one. Nowadays my tastes are a bit different(for the most part) but as I grow more knowledgeable about absinthe I am struck by the skill evident in this product and its unique flavour. Not having tasted it when it was fresh I cannot say for certain how well it has aged but it has clearly aged well. An easy 4 across the board.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     September 05, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A Smooth Ride

the Color is right where I like it; a fresh chloryphyll peridot. 5.



the Louche has been called temperamental and I would concur but Slow and Cold are the operative words here. It seemingly cannot be rushed so don't even try. When you do get there it's a fun light green; surprising for how light the color is neat. 4.



the Aroma is interesting without being too right up in your nose--I guess that means subtle--but opening up in a considerably floral vein with water. 4.



the Flavor is nicely melded and heavy on the Wormwood, all to my liking. Smooth without being simple. Because of the options given I give it a 4 but really more like 4.5.



the Finish is long lasting, spicy/floral; a long steady fadeout. 4 but really 4.5 again.



Overall, I really like this stuff; it's great for virtually anytime. If you like a spicier, not-so-creamy in the mouth type Absinthe then this is for you. Another 4 that is really a 4.5.



Absomphe's comparison to dry-hopping is appropos. Definitely not the sweet candy-tasting product some vertes can be. Ths stuff is smooth, like a ride in a really fast train that runs on a cushion of air or reverse magnetism. Enjoy the ride.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     September 02, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Meh...

The Color is not green. At all.



The Louche is pretty quick to form; cuts to the chase a bit. Star Anise, perhaps?



The Aroma is licoricey and alcoholic, not unpleasant but the addition of water doesn't do as much as it should. I'd hoped for a more assertive thing goin' on, but it's just more of the same for me.



The Flavour is sweet overall; there is a really nice opening salvo but not complex at all and the what there is of a follow-through is a disappointment.



The Finish is quick, it recedes quickly and has some klunker note in there I can't identify. Bitterish and Icky.



Overall I would say it's not bad but it's not exceptional either.

Reviewed by buddhasynth     August 14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

This is what I'm talkin' about

COLOR--a vibrant amber Fuille Morte, actually lookin' straight-up Orange in the right light. Crystal clear, an easy 5 out of 5.



LOUCHE--Quick to form but not without subtlety and theatrics, given a nice slow drip. A really nice peachy color when done. I give it a 5 for the color novelty alone.



AROMA-- A pronounced "old books and leather" undertone, opening up considerably with the addition of water. Very nice. I was outside with a breeze going on and had no trouble smelling it. 5.



FLAVOR--A delicious progression of flavors smoothly blended. Well balanced, harmonious across the board. Not so much an arpeggio as a chord. Really nice mouthfeel, creamy without being too heavy. Sticks in the back of the nose. 5.



FINISH--Long and lingering. Strange tongue-numbing mixed with Old BooksTM in the nose for, I kid you not, 3 or more hours. 5.



OVERALL--I knew it got better than PF 1901 but couldn't really picture how until this tasting. If I were to win some cosmic LottoTM tomorrow I would drink nothing else.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     August 13, 2008
Last updated: August 14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

now we're getting somewhere

My gracious thanks for the Sample so generously provided, as it was actually a pleasure to put my tastebuds to work on this one.



the Color is a bit dark.



the Louche is actually pretty nice, given the initial color, but could be a bit nicer if it started a bit lighter.



the Aroma is for me one of the strong suits of this particular offering. A decided citrusy element that is not at all unpleasant and invites additional sniffery. Smells lemony/tangeriney to me; my Wyfe and a friend said Orange Peel so I'll just say Citrus, in a strangely harmonic and not overpowering way.



the Flavor is in keeping with the Aroma (although the citrus element is mostly a nose thing), but maybe a lil' bit more Wormwood would help it along. Got a bit of the Juicy Fruit/Big Red thing, but not enough to put me off. Still quite nice.



the Finish wasn't unplesant, it could have lasted longer though.



Overall, I'd say go out and buy a bottle. It's the first domestic absinthe I've had that actually gets me there without any qualifiers thrown in. A nice traditional product but still individual, and I'm a guy who likes that.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

thanks but no thanks

the Color is lookin' pretty fake to me.

the Louche is there, but not especially intriguing. No opalescence here.

the Aroma is a bit Alcoholic, not a lot going on. After water it opens up a little bit. Faintly herbal, medicinal undertone. Weak.

the Flavor is a bit too sweet for me right off the bat. The more water is added, the more candylike it becomes. All the depth and complexity of a licorice jellybean..

the Finish is like having said jellybean in the back of my nose whilst all else but alcohol fades quickly.

Overall, I'd say it's not as bad as I've heard. On the other hand I wouldn't say this was good.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

the things I do for you people...

Thanks once again for the generous(?) contribution of a sample.

The Color is blue. What gives?

The Louche is thin and neither here nor there.

The Aroma is like Aqua Velva. Or old Spice, whatever.

The Flavor is nothing like any real Absinthe I have tasted,straight-up Wrong. I don't even know where to begin.

The Finish is characterized by a quick receding, but it should be much more quick.

Overall, this drink should be avoided by anyone seeking a pleasant drinking experience. I couldn't even get a quarter of the way through this drink. I simply see no reason to subject myself or anyone else to this.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 07, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not Quite the Cure I was Thinking Of...

I am quite grateful for the sample graciously provided me so as to keep my tastebuds busy, working for you.



The Color is bluey and a bit pale for me. The word is Verte, right? Not incorrect, but seems a bit weak to me.

The Louche is pretty quick to form. I got a lot less blueness than I expected from the color.

The Aroma before water is not unpleasant but a bit alcoholic and medicinal. After water it is actually more so, at least till 2:1.

The Flavor is not as sweet as I had been led to believe, but still....I can see where people are getting the Juicy Fruitâ„¢ flavor, especially in the finish, but I'm not quite there.

The Finish is persistent with a strange over or undertone that I'm not sure I want to identify.

Overall, it's not the fruity onslaught I expected, but that said, it's not really my style either. I am not sure what it is, the magic just ain't there when compared some other vertes I regularly consume.

Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 07, 2008
Last updated: July 07, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

very nice indeed

The Color is crystal clear, an easy 5.

The Louche is quite quick to form, I am assuming because of the lower proof. A fountain helps, but set that drip slow and don't blink.

The Aroma before water is clean, crisp, a bit alcoholic. After water it opened up a bit, not particularly complex.

The Flavor is nice, not too sweet. Not too complex, either. Not that that's a bad thing, this is a definite cold refresher on a summer day.

The Finish is pretty quick. Nice, but pretty quick.

Overall, I like this one. More so than I thought I would. It goes down easy and will definitely see me leaning toward the Blanches this summer. At the price it will definitely be an always-in-stock brand.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     July 05, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Thank You Sir, May I Have Another?

This was the first CO I had the pleasure of sampling, and I have always had at LEAST one unopened bottle in stock since that time. I've loved it since the first taste so hopefully we won't have TOO biased a review.



Color---clear peridot green. A bit of variance from bottle to bottle. Not enough for it to be an issue for me.



Aroma--delicious, the grape base is fairly prominent. After water, opening up and revealing a compelling complexity. Makes the room smell delicious.



Louche--very nice. Fairly quick to form, but still possessed of the theatrical buildup I have come to expect. (Actually this is the stuff that showed me what to expect!) Nice opalescence, green turning to almost white with blue overtones. Amber as well if you look at it right......



Flavor--nicer than very nice. A few things going on, spiciness, floralness, and just a bit of bite. Sweet, but not much like candy--well, not enough to put me off. The aforementioned complexity reaches its full level of compellingness, provoking one to sniff ever deeper. Despite said Complexity, this is one smooth ride. I like to slosh it around in my mouth before swallowing. Nice Mouthfeel, just creamy enough without getting all tonguenumb and heavy.



Finish--long and lingering. Crisp and clean and an invitation to another Glass. I'll have one!



Overall-- This Absinthe is an excellent example of the Distillers' Art. It is like taking a scenic ride in a vintage auto (deusenberg..?) with leather seats and burl wood dashboard thru a verdant valley in full bloom. Buy it, drink it, stockpile it, and then move next to me. In that order.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by buddhasynth     May 16, 2008
Last updated: August 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

better than expected

the Color is nice, but I've seen clearer. Good peridot hue, not too blue or yellow.

the Louche is right there from the word go. I personally like the louche to be pretty substantial but not completely opaque. It comes on a little too quick for my taste but is lots of fun to watch.

the Aroma is nice, but not what I'd call complex.

the Flavor is also quite nice, but once again, Complex is not a word that comes to mind.

the Finish is technically what I like in a Verte, with a semi-crisp semi-peppery bite at the end. I really like this quality but with this brand it seems like a destination without much of a journey.I'm not sure how else to say it.

I must agree with Peridot,the components are there but don't all the way add up. Still, you can bet the farm that I like this better than he does.

I'd keep it around for guests or the occasional once in a while, but I don't think I'll be drinking it as regularly as Mystique, for example.

A good starter absinthe, if you don't like this stuff then don't drink Absinthe. If you do, then prepare for the rest of your life to be a delicious aesthetic adventure.

13 results - showing 1 - 13
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo