Reviews written by techdiver

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     March 19, 2008
Last updated: October 15, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Great in most respects

The deep olive color appears a bit inappropriate. The louche is very slow in developing, and does eventually reach a three tiered effect, though briefly. Very appealing and inviting aroma with a well balanced and complex taste. Beautiful opalesence, yet has some thinness apparent. Finish is inviting and beckons for more. A most enjoyable absinthe, delicious.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     March 02, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Finding this more enjoyable

It's odd that when I first started on this bottle, I would have rated the flavor as a 3. I now find it quite appealing. Color is a deep green, deeper than one might expect. Louche developed quite nicely, layered with not much opalescence. Whatever was present in the flavor that I found initially as undesirable, has vanished. All in all, an enjoyable absinthe. My original misplaced misgivings have fallen by the wayside.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     March 02, 2008
Last updated: March 02, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

A most enjoyable verte

Very good clear green color. Louche is a bit slow developing and did not retain the layering for very long and appeared a bit thin. Great minty aroma, most inviting. Flavor is well balanced and very enjoyable. Finish leaves one wanting, for more. Overall a most enjoyable absinthe. Clearly one of my favorites.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     February 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

My first Jade, and best absinthe yet

Clear peridot color. Louche develops nicely with some golden opalescence as it progresses. Aroma is balanced, fresh and clean. Not overpowering in any way. Flavor is delectable, balanced and complex, with an enjoyable wormwood finish.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by techdiver     February 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Marteau is a very good verte

Very nice clear green color. Great louche developing slowly and some time to complete. Good opalescence. Aroma shows balance with some citrus notes. Taste is balanced and very enjoyable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     February 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A very pleasant blanche

Clear, bright and colorless. The louche develops nicely as the transparent layer slowly thins; not much opalescence. Great aroma, minty and fresh. Well balanced flavor, very refreshing with a lingering finish.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     February 10, 2008
Last updated: November 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Something annoying here

Bright, clear red color. The louche develops very quickly and is intriguing to watch. The aroma is odd, with an antiseptic smell that put me off a bit. Get past that smell and the taste is acceptable. Heavy on the anise, an acceptable drink. I've had worse, much worse, it's just that the aroma is annoying to me since I can't define it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by techdiver     February 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A pleasant surprise

Clear, bright green color. The louche takes some time to develop, appears it may end thin, but develops well producing hints of gold, green, and blue throughout. Aroma is fresh and clean, with evidence of what the flavor will show. This is very much with the wormwood, no overpowering anise here. A long and complex finish. Very enjoyable.

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo