Reviews written by baubel

15 results - showing 1 - 15
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     October 20, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Sweet, but 2 dimensional

Appearance: A natural vegetation green.

Louche: Easily forms and is thick, a light natural green color. Not bad, but not outstanding.

Aroma: The aroma is sweet and floral with anise overtones.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: This is an anisebomb, but the flavor is gone almost as soon as it arrives. This is one of the sweetest absinthes I've tried, and no sugar was added. Sugar would certainly make this absinthe sickeningly sweet. I can taste some wormwood mixed in with the initial flavor, but it's mostly star anise. The progression of flavors to me goes, really sweet, a dash of wormwood and then woody bark star anise on the finish. And then most of the flavor is gone. The mouthfeel is kind of thin to me, and only after a few sips there is a lot of tongue numbing going on.

Finish: I find the finish very lacking in this absinthe. It fades very quickly and when it fades, it's almost all gone. It's kind of like drinking star anise flavored water.

Overall: I do like this absinthe, but as a sweet, dessert like absinthe. It is about what an average absinthe should be considered. I like it more than a lot of the popular average brands like Lucid or Kubler, but it's not a good absinthe like Vilya, Pacifique or Vieux Carre. Not bad, I'd gladly have a glass every now and then when I'm in the mood for a sweet absinthe, but it's not something I would go out of my way to have in my collections on a regular basis.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by baubel     August 06, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Excellent, really really excellent.

I prepared this glass of absinthe at 3:1, without sugar.

The appearance out of the bottle was a light green color, very nice.

The louche on this absinthe builds slowly and steadily. It's a little bit thinner than I would like.

The aroma is very wormwood dominant along with some other absinthe herbs.

The flavor is perfect. I love the flavor on this absinthe. The wormwood is strong but not too much. It isn't astringent or bitter. The sweetness of the anise and fennel compliment this absinthe very nicely. I wish more brands had this level of wormwood flavor.

The finish lasts for quite a while and leaves a pleasant vegetal flavor.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     July 17, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A lot better than what I remember.

I finally got to revisit this absinthe, and it is nowhere near as bitter as I remember. Had I known they had changed the recipe, I would have bought a few bottles before www.duny.com quit carrying them. The dose I revered had a ratio of 4.5 parts water to one part absinthe, without sugar.

The color out of the bottle was dark greenish brown, not exactly green, but not unappealing or very remarkable.
The louche was very quick, thick and long lasting. Something I like in a louche, I didn't have to gently coax it out.
The aroma was very sweet and floral, not much wormwood or anything else.
I like the flavor, it is sweet, floral, I can't really detect a strong wormwood presence. It is incredibly sweet even without sugar, almost like candy. I would really enjoy this on days when I'd be in the mood for an absinthe on the sweeter side. I remember the earlier batch that I had tried was unpleasantly bitter, this newer batch is not like that at all.
The finish is hardly there for me. It fades very quickly and isn't very satisfying. There is some dryness that forms after a while, and a little bit of numbness, but it just isn't what I like in an absinthe.

Overall, I do like La Charlotte, especially considering what the price had been considering the quality, and I am a lot more appreciative of it after the changes, whether they were real or perceived. I would love to see it come back on the market again.

Reviewed by baubel     July 10, 2011
Last updated: July 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Very nice indeed!

I had this glass of absinthe without sugar at 4 parts water to 1 part absinthe.

The color was a very bright emerald green, very surprising considering the age.

The louche was perfect, solid, thick, a jade green color. Very appetizing looking.

The aroma was very wormwood heavy, with some sweet anise/fennel as well.

The flavor was very strong on the wormwood, almost too strong. It was kind of astringent and almost unpleasant after several sips. It definitely could have used some sugar.

The finish was a little too strong and bitter for my preference.

Overall, this was a wonderful absinthe and I'm grateful for the opportunity to try it. I don't think I could finish an entire glass, let alone a full bottle back in the day. I can only imagine how the aging process improved it, and can certainly understand some of the reasons why there are photos of some people using three or more sugar cubes. However unlikely, I hope that some more bottles turn up.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by baubel     July 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An incredible blanche!

I enjoyed my glass of Wormwood Blanche without sugar and at a ratio of 4 parts water to 1 part absinthe.

The color was ideally clear. The louche formed well at about 2:1, but quickly thinned out after that. At 4:1 it's still there, but not as thick as it could be.

The aroma is beautiful, almost all wormwood. There are some other herbs but they're muted and in the background.

The flavor is amazing. Very close to a pleasant aroma of wormwood. I was expecting it to be insanely bitter and astringent, but that is not the case. The wormwood flavor is very solid, but not dominant or unpleasant the way some wormwood bombs can be. I believe all of the attractive qualities of wormwood were captured perfectly, without any of what I would call unappetizing qualities. All of the other herbs are very muted. The spotlight is on the wormwood.

The finish too is very pleasant and refreshing. It doesn't leave my mouth drying out and there's no urge or need to pucker. The finish lasts for a long time, which is also nice.

Aside from the louche, this is a wonderful absinthe, and one of the best blanches I've ever had. I'm usually not too interested in blanches, but this one is indeed, very very nice. If it were readily available I'd be drinking this absinthe just as often as I drink vertes, and that is quite an achievement.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     June 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

The best absinthe rouge I've tried

I watered this dose to one part absinthe to 4.5 parts water, without sugar.
The initial color in the bottle is red, deep like a vine ripened tomato, but transparent.
The louche is amazing, nice oil trails and opaqueness that comes out easily. At about 1:1 the color has shifted from red to more of an orange creamsicle. At 1:4.5 the louche is still alive and the color is more of a rosé peach.
Pre-water aroma is anise and fennel rich, with a lot of alcoholic heat. Once the dose was prepared the aroma was strong on the anise, with few of the other absinthe herbs coming through.
The flavor is very nice if you're into anise-heavy absinthes. There's plenty of wormwood flavor and some other bitter herbs as well, but sweetness and bitterness seem to be dancing together with this absinthe, alternating between the two. It's pleasant and very refreshing.
The finish is a little tart with notes of citrus, but not mouth puckeringly tart. There's some lingering wormwood and anise, but it i very muted on the finish.
I really like this absinthe, it's one of my top favorite absinthe, and certainly my favorite rouge out of the two others that I've tried, "Amerique Rouge" and "La Matriesse". In both brands, they were unpleasantly tart while the louche was picky and needed a lot of coaxing. Absenta Serpis though, is exactly what I had in mind for what an absinthe rouge should be. I was hopefull the final color would have retained more of the vibrant redness from how it looks fresh from the bottle, but that is a tiny thing for me to hold against such a wonderful absinthe.

Reviewed by baubel     June 04, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

One of the best vertes commercially available...(t

This is truly an excellent absinthe and I'm kicking myself for not buying a bottle sooner. It has a lot of really great things going on with it. I didn't use sugar with the class that I'm reviewing now. It's one of the very few commercial absinthes that I think might benefit from a little sugar, if one prefers a sweeter glass of absinthe. It's very good without the sugar if a slightly bitter glass of absinthe is desired. I like that flexibility, as moods and desires can change from day to day.

The color straight from the bottle is a little bit lighter than what I was expecting, it was almost clear. I was surprised by this, and have no idea how long the bottle was sitting on the shelf, so that may have been a factor. After water has been added it's a light cloudy green, just like an excellent absinthe should be.

The louche is excellent, one of the best I've seen and has a beautiful mouthfeel. It is thickest around 3:1, and lightens just a little bit by 4.5:1, but it is still thick enough to prevent me from seeing through the glass.

The pre-water aroma is herbal, but there is some strong alcohol there as well, which quickly disappears once water begins to be added. The resulting aroma is very pleasant and relaxing, very herbal, not strong or harsh, just there in the background.

Pacifique has one of the the best flavor profiles I've tasted in a commercial verte. It's a little wormwood heavy, hence my prior suggestion for adding sugar if a sweeter drink is preferred. The wormwood flavor itself is excellent, leafy and floral, but not too much. The anise, hyssop, melissa and fennel come through supporting the flavor in the back, after the wormwood has done it's bit. This is easily going to be a go-to absinthe for me, and I think based on the flavor alone it's a perfect introductory and standard absinthe for new and experienced absinthe drinkers. Although the flavor is a little bit wormwood heavy, it's not overdone, and the rest of the herbs and spices are very balanced and supportive in all the right ways.

The finish has some melissa and a little wormwood, but it's perfectly harmonious with what an excellent abisnthe should be.

This absinthe rocks. I'm very excited about it and glad it's done so well and see how it can easily continue to do so for quite some time. Excellent work Pacific Distillery!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     June 04, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An excellent absinthe

Straight from the bottle the color is a very natural, deep green color, very leafy, and transparent.

The louche begins with oil trails that are easily visible. It builds out nicely around 1:1 and 2:1. Around 3:1 I noticed it started to thin out and is a little transparent at 4:1 and 4.5:1. It's thinner than I like and that's the only flaw I really have with this absinthe.

Pre-watered aroma is very herbal and clearly an absinthe. It is very reminiscent of the Jades. After water has been added the aroma is more subtle, but notes of wormwood and anise are there. Very nice aroma before and after water.

The flavor is very complex, and suave. Berthe de Joux has a very good wormwood flavor, and the rest of standard absinthe herbs are there was well. I'd call it suave, subtle and reserved. There is some baby powder flavor in this absinthe. It's not over done, but it's noticeable.

There are nice notes of melissa and baby powder on the finish. There are some root like undertones on the finish as well...almost like ginger. Very nice.

This is a very good absinthe, but a little bit reserved. It's very complex and expertly balanced, no flavor really jumps out and dominates more than any others. I think it'd be great everyday, and it's a good standard for defining what absinthe should taste like.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     June 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A very good absinthe verte.

I like this absinthe very much. The affordability of it, the flavor, the base, everything.

Straight from the bottle the color is a very deep green, stemmy or leaf like green-leaves that have been on a tree all summer long type green, dark and aged. Very nice! Clearly a verte when in an absinthe glass.

The louche is quick forming, at about 1:1 ratio. I always get a little weary with quick louches as they seem to dissipate before 4:1 or 5:1 ratios, but this louche holds and is nice and thick, but not too thick.

The straight aroma without water added is nicely alcoholic, like perfume, not harsh, but sweet and aromatic, herbal and grassy. Not like a freshly cut lawn, but like a field after an afternoon rainstorm. After water it is subdued and the sweeter notes open up. Very nice, very refreshing and relaxing!

The flavor is an odd mix. Wormwood, lemon, anise, some vanilla undertones are there, but they're almost all overpowered by a very floral rose like flavor that comes in from the back and dominates the finish. For me, it's very similar to the dominant flavor in Germain-Robin's absinthe blanche. I have no idea what this flavor is, perhaps vanilla, perhaps lemon verbena or rose-geranium. It's a mellowing and very floral flavor. It's almost too much and almost dominates all of the other flavors, and could easily have done so had there been a little more, but it is just enough to be noticed without demanding attention.

The finish begins with the receding mystery floral flavor, and what lingers is a pleasant lemon/wormwood mix. The characteristics of the wormwood are all the right ones, pleasantly tangy but not bitter. The lemony like finish that exists is also nice but not overly acidic. There are some earthy undertones in the back of the mouth that I think are lingering from the mystery floral/rose geranium like flavor.

Overall, this is a great absinthe, great quality and consistency for the price. The flavor is a little unbalanced, but I like that in the occasional absinthe, and the flavor profile of this absinthe is quite nice. I would hardly change it at all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     June 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not bad, but needs improvement

The batch I was sampling was from a bottle purchased in 2010. I've heard the formula has been improved since.

The initial color is a light green color, natural, not bad, but very light green. Not really as vibrant as some other vertes out there, and nowhere near as solid as it could be.

The louche builds slowly at about 1:1, and there are nice oil trails that indicate something is happening, but dies out shortly after that. At 4.5 to 1 the louche is completely gone, and the absinthe is quite clear.

Initial aroma before water is very harsh and alcoholic. Very much like rubbing alcohol, hardly herbal or vegetal at all. Once a small amount of water has been added the bouquet opens up and the aroma is quite pleasant. Alpine, herbal, notes of wormwood, anise and fennel.

The flavor is pretty basic for an absinthe, very standard Pontarlier, very traditional. There is noticeable herbaceous flavors from the wormwood, but it is almost too much and kind of astringent like over-stepped tea. It leaves the mouth dry in an unpleasant way. There is some sweetness from anise and fennel, but not quite enough.

There isn't much finish, but what is there isn't very enjoyable, mostly consisting of bitterness ans astringency from the wormwood. The anise and fennel fades a little too quickly.

Overall, I give it a 3. The flavor itself isn't bad at all, there just needs to be some improvement with the louche, initial aroma and finish. I have not idea what needs to be done to improve it, but I might guess at a little more anise or fennel. I think it's a good absinthe to try, and would take it over a number of other brands out there. It does need a bit of work however.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     November 29, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

One of my favorite vertes of all time.

The color of Ridge Verte is a beautiful all natural green, what I expect a verte to look like, chlorophyll.

The louche is also perfect. It's quick, but not too fast, a beautiful and appetizing light green. Describing it as thick doesn't seem appropriate so I'll use the word 'solid'. Thick would be too much and I think if ther was any more louche it would be too much.

The aroma is spicy, with a little bit of citrus which becomes more apparent with a slow drip. I immediately think of melissa but there is some anise in there as well and while both scents are noticeable, neither are overpowering of unpleasant. Very appetizing!

The flavor is a symphony of herbs, led by some anise up front, but not too much, supported by good wormwood composing most of the body with apparent (but not distracting!) melissa on the finish. Like Ridge Blanche I feel there are other herbs and flavors in this absinthe that I'm missing or not identifying correctly and I like that very much.

The mouthfeel is perfect, not too thick and oily and not thin, but there and satisfying.

The finish is perfect. It's there but I don't feel like I've been chewing on any herbs.

Overall- This is one of my all time favorite vertes. I'd drink it everyday if I could, and next time I have someone who is new to absinthe over I'll start them off with Ridge Verte. It's so refreshing, coupled with the level of craftsmanship and quality it's quite clear to me that this is a marvelous beverage. And I like it quite a bit.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     November 29, 2010
Last updated: July 10, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

An excellent blanche!

Fresh out of the bottle, Ridge Blanche is clear as water, and very aromatic. I slowly dripped water from a partially frozen water bottle and the kitchen was graced with a subtle scent of anise and wormwood. When I finished watering at about 4.5:1.

The louche forms very nicely, and finishes just early enough to make me nervous. Upon tasting a later batch, the louche is quite nice, and thicker than what I remember. (Edit:I recently did a side by side comparison and the flavor is similar, but the louche is vastly improved.I don't know what Team Ridge changed, but it's a hell of an improvement. Thanks!).

The flavor is excellently balanced, very professional. The combination of the herbs blend harmoniously with one another in a bouquet of herbal and alpine wonder. The flavor of the wormwood is very nice, not too minty, not too bitter-but it's there. It doesn't try to dominate the palate, but it is noticeable and blends nicely with notes of anise/fennel and a number of other herbs I can't quite identify. It has elements of branch, leaf, flower and just a tiny little bit of root, so it really does taste like a French or Swiss meadow to me.

To me the finish has less of the wormwood and other alpine flavors, mostly leaving flavors of anise, fennel and melissa.


Overall- I'd recommend this absinthe to anyone interested in absinthe. I think it'd be an excellent starter for anyone who hasn't had it before and I think it would be great for experienced absinthe drinkers. I find it highly refreshing and not lacking at all. It's clear to me by the flavor alone that a lot of time and effort has gone into getting this blanche to where it is today and I really dig that.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     July 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Tangy and Refreshing.

Color- The color looks like a natural dark green and is very appealing.

Louche- I was frustrated by the variability on the louche. I prepared a few doses by pouring water in with a carafe or small pitcher, and the louche was always barely there. I tried slowing down my pouring speed, but it didn't seem to affect the overall louche. I was able to get a better louche on a slow drip from a fountain though, so that's a plus, but I don't like the inconsistency.

Aroma- The aroma is nice, but a little light on the fully prepared dose. During a slow fountain drip there are nice alternating aromas of the wormwood, the spearmint and the anise.

Flavor- I was a little thrown off by the spearmint at first, but the more I've had of the Vieux Carre, without sugar added, I've noticed that the spearmint and wormwood go really well together and are very balanced. Combined with the anise, all three flavors work very well together in a surprising way.

Finish- The finish is nice and light. The wormwood lingers for a little bit, but that's not a problem.

Overall- I really like how well balanced the spearmint and wormwood are. I was surprised at how well they go together with this absinthe. I think if they portions were different, it could result in something very unappetizing, but the Vieux Carre pulls it off.

Reviewed by baubel     July 05, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Very good!

I waited until I was nearly at the end of my first bottle to review it. I believe it to be very balanced, and smoother than when I tried it at the beginning of the bottle. The initial pre-louche aroma still has some hot alcohol to it, but once louched, that vanishes.
I did not add any sugar, and find the balance with the anise and the wormwood to be very good.
Color: I found the color to be very natural and appealing.
Louche: The louche seemed ready and willing, but appropriate at the same time. I louched the review dose to 3.5-4:1, and find that it has a light jade stone look to it. I prepared this dose by pouring from a bottled water bottle with the lid slightly unscrewed, and the louche came out strong.
Aroma: The aroma had some strong alcohol when I initially poured it from the bottle, and during the louche I could smell the aromas as they were released into the air while standing from the glass. The post-louche aroma though, is very light and almost hard to distinguish for me.
Flavor:I like the citrus flavors that come from the lemon balm and the flavors from the violet. I decided to try Meadow of Love before Walton Waters because of the Violet, because the non-traditional aspect intrigued me. I would like to see this brought out some more, but not overdone.
Finish: The finish is good and balanced, not overwhelming, but not terribly weakened. I like the finish. When initially louched the mouth feel was very thick and creamy.
Overall: I like Meadow of Love quite a bit. I'll be trying Walton Waters Next to see how it compares, but It is up there with a select few of the absinthes I will purchase again in the future.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by baubel     October 03, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Edouard-one of my favorites

Edouard was my first absinthe. I have to say, I didn't really like it then either. I thought it was gross, I think because of the fennel. However it's grown on me incredibly in the short span of four months, and I enjoy it when I'm specifically in the mood for it. I must say I think of it as a spicy absinthe since the only other word I can think of to describe it is complex. When I'm in the mood for complexity, let's say when I want to watch the good version of Dune, or listen to any of the good post-rock bands I have I want to drink a glass of the Edouard. I'd suggest it to anyone new to absinthe. Edouard is what I've come to expect from absinthe.

15 results - showing 1 - 15
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo