Reviews written by Neorebel

11 results - showing 1 - 11
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     February 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

Balanced and complex after resting

Review notes: Bottle was purchased in 2010, reviewed today 2/10/13. Bottle has "L3410" on it -possibly a date code. Bottle has been open two weeks prior to review.

Appearance: A soft, pale lime green color, a shade lighter than olive oil. Attractive and elegant, like stained glass. No sediment is visible whatsoever.

Louche: This is difficult due to the fact that there were things I liked about the louche, and others I didn't. When slowly dripping the icewater, opalescent ribbons swirled and shimmered within the absinthe. The final color is a lovely pale green, but it seems very thin, despite the fact that the amount of water I added was even less than the norm. It did not have the look of 'billowing clouds' that I love.

Aroma: When neat, the first trait in the nose that jumps out is how noticeable the grape base is. There's that, coupled with the fennel which provides an earthy foundation, complimenting the powdery sweetness and scent of freshly cut flowers.
Louched, everything seems blended well, with a peppery sharpness like the thorn to the rose of the anise and grape scents.

Flavor & mouthfeel: It's flavor is much more potent and powerful than the aroma suggests! It's remarkably complex, but also balanced. As I take each sip, I am enjoying the wormwood and anise side by side in the very first moment. There's also a dualistic undercurrent of herbal spiciness and delicate floral sweets. Although it's a little 'hot,' I would say it's ultimately medium-bodied. This review was written while tasting the absinthe with sugar added, although after having a second glass without it, the taste is similar, it's great either way!

Finish: The finish is dry and reminiscent of sweet red wine, eucalyptus, and a slight hint of menthol. I can't believe I finished the glass already in the midst of my review.

Overall: My favorite so far out of the recent releases of Distillery Emile Pernot. I prefer this to Perroquet and Vieux Pontarlier. Would be interesting to compare to Doubs or Roquette, but It has been a while since I've had those latter two. Looking forward to trying Sauvage next. Emile Pernot retains its status in my eyes as a top brand.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

Everything I love rolled into one...

4/8/12

Appearance: The color is a wonderful olive tone, very natural looking. It may have been closer to a peridot hue in 2010 when this was bottled and purchased, but that is unknown at this point.

Louche: Very milky and cloudy. This builds up quickly when water is added, likely due to a large anise presence. A lack of a dazzling opalescence keeps this from a higher score.

Aroma: A decadent array of anise, powdered sugar, cola, mint and citrus aspects.

Flavor: Incredible, with very sweet anise, and a nice hint of bitter wormwood springs forth as it coats the mouth. Complex subtleties present include fennel, spicy pepper, lemon mint candy, and some sort of earthiness as wel.

Finish: The somewhat soft initial impression becomes warming and drying on the way down. Again some "ricola' candy type of flavor jumps out. A light pull on the palate certainly leaves me wanting more!

Overall: The best absinthe I've had in a while, after a string of unfulfilled expectations. A little of everything I love about absinthe all in one concoction!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 28, 2013
Last updated: January 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Solid absinthe, but some shortcomings

3/17/12

Appearance: A brilliant and clear lime green. Jewel-like with a hint of yellow.

Louche: Glittering ribbons swirl throughout the glass, before the absinthe turns a cloudy jade hue.

Aroma: Fruity, citrus scents are most apparent in the forefront, with a slightly savory and vegetal quality present. Could this be coriander, or perhaps its due to the grape base?

Flavor: Very robust herbs... hot and spicy. White pepper comes to mind. There's some anise sweetness here, but the bitter wormwood overtakes it. Again I am getting a little savory aspect.

Finish: Surprisingly light-bodied for the amount of astringency. Has a mouth feel reminiscent of cognac. Has a nice tingling effect on the tongue.

Overall: Much spicier and bold than the light and soft types of expectations I had for some reason. Could be the name/packaging that put the idea in my head. The vegetal aspect I mentioned is not overt but warrants a small deduction. This would score higher in my book with more complexity in the flavor or aroma.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Quality absinthe at a great value right at home.


Color: An alluring green and yellow-gold. Good, natural coloring, but below my benchmark (Jade Edouard) for a 4-5 score.
Could be because the bottle has been opened for about a month, however.

Louche: Nice opalescence immediately. Lime-colored spots wrestle with the un-louched absinthe from the top view. It shimmers when looking through the glass. Not as opaque as a benchmark absinthe however - it does not appear very 'creamy.' The end result is a pale lime color.

Aroma: I absolutely love the aroma of this absinthe. The mixture of herbs here smells like what I would imagine alpine plants to be like. It's a very 'fresh' scent. Small hint of creamy mint, mixed with fennel & wormwood. Floral notes dominate.


Taste: The taste is just like the aroma, which is great. Some absinthe has a fantastic aroma but the taste is somewhat anti-climactic. Not so with this one. This is very balanced. The absinthe is sweet - I used no sugar and the water ratio is about 3.0. It tastes like a sugared absinthe. I heard this absinthe contains Genepi, so perhaps some of the complexity in the flavor and the sweetness is due to this. I also noticed, as stated in other reviews, that the flavor becomes thin and flat very suddenly with even just a little too much water.

Finish: Good finish - it is not too abrupt and the flavor doesn't just die out. There is a pleasant bit of numbing/tingling on the tongue as it fades out. The tiniest suggestion of ricola. The mouth feel is smooth and light, but not as light as say, l'Italienne.

Overall: My first US distilled absinthe! This is literally what I've been waiting for since Nov. 2007! The price is right at $54.99 as well. The decanter bottle is up there with the best packaging/presentation I've ever seen. Definitely enhances the ritual. It does its namesake justice!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

Difficult to define what makes this so good!

No sugar, 3.5:1 water ratio, absinthe rested in cool, dark place for 6 mos. prior to opening.

Color: Very deep olive green. My bottle has some sediment in it - which is not a big deal.

Louche: The icewater creates trails immediately as it hits the absinthe. The color turns a bit yellow as it is nearing the breaking point. I get the 'line' at the top of green absinthe. Finally, it turns a light green hue, as thick and creamy as they come. Lighter clouds rise up from the bottom of the glass mingling with more stubborn darker green streaks.

Aroma: The aroma has the subtle unidentifiable characteristic of the Paul Devoille absinthe - which I am positive I could call in a blind tasting. I like that aspect - I'll call it wine-like. I think it's the coloring herbs that really create a full aroma of fruit and flowers, although I can tell this is a very strong concoction.

Taste: Its actually a huge challenge for me to review the taste of this. At first, my impression was that this was a pretty darn bitter absinthe with most of the sweetness in the aroma, however, as I continue to sip, I notice it's just that it packs such a punch & has that aforementioned tart wine-like velvety feel. It's so well rounded in my opinion, it's difficult to say which is more forward, the wormwood & anise, or the other sweeter herbs.

Finish: The mouth feel is thick, coating my mouth with an 'classic' anise & wormwood bitterness. It is clear that there is only a little of that spicy/sweet additional herb in the finishing flavor. The alcohol punch & the sweetness in this absinthe seems to be in the beginning, not so much in the end.

Overall: I want to comment about the Paul Devoille aspect that some find off-putting. I mentioned I sensed an aspect present here that is characteristic of his work. What I call the tart and earthy, wine-like characteristic. I guess that's what some are calling 'vegetal.'(or perhaps that aspect coupled with angelica?) I know that Paul Devoille uses a unique method of distilling, and this reviewer is saying that it must only add to the overall quality, because I like this absinthe very much along with BDF & VDF. It is indeed very complex and a pleasure to drink.

Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

I absolutely LOVE IT

Tasted with & without sugar, 3.5:1 water ratio

Color: A few shades darker than lime. A clean green hue, like a gemstone... beautiful.

Louche: Strong point in the perceived oiliness with trails visible right away. Very slow to turn with a visible band. Looking relatively thick at the end. Close to the best but not quite- It seems like the absinthe appears a little less 'milky' than what I would give a 5...

Aroma: Probably the most complex I have ever drawn in my nostrils! I can sense the classic alpine herb bill, a fresh talc scent, and strong citrus. There is something I pick up that is reminiscent of La Coquette & it's the Pdv. quality I like. It smells rich & strong neat. The aroma remains complex after the ice water is added, with the 'fresh' aspect dominating. I can't wait taste this!

Taste: Very balanced - Tastes just like the aroma - perfect! No one thing dominates, such as anise or wormwood, however their presence is noted. I actually prefer to have a little sugar in this one. There's a little heat & punch at the start... a good strong drink! I tried different amounts of water - it doesn't seem possible to ruin it!

Finish: Nice and lasting, very full, great feel. It has a subtle & seductive pull on my palate.

Overall: I approached this tasting with an impartial head - I did not want to have unrealistically high expectations about it just because G. Stone also happens to be the founder of the web's best forum for absinthe education. Group mentality would state that one has to love this absinthe. Well, with that out of the way, I can honestly and safely say I absolutely love it, it's worth every penny, and is one of the absolute best absinthes that I have ever had - that's saying a lot! I look forward to tasting the handiwork of other U.S. craft distillers as well!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Excellent 'everyday' absinthe

with & without sugar, 3.5:1 water ratio

Color: I have no idea how they achieved this coloration naturally - I know there has been some speculation, but the label says natural. It doesn't seem to be of this world - it's like a jewel... perfect.

Louche: Again the color is great - like lime colored opaline, and the louche begins early and strong but dies quickly - doesn't build quite enough, though

Aroma: Very Fresh alpine scent, wormwood and Anise. The un-louched aroma smells strong, but sweet.

Taste: There is a bit of a sharp, alcohol bite present without sugar that I am not fond of. I am spoiled with the more complex Absinthe out there now with more floral/other herbal notes. Looking at the positive side, it is classic tasting and good nevertheless. It's better with sugar in my opinion - adds more balance.

Finish: Medium mouth feel... the taste does not linger - it is pretty basic, but classy.

Overall: I like this Absinthe - I'd put it around the level of Vieux Carre. The color is its most stunning attribute. Great example of a 'first absinthe' suggestion.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Last updated: January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Good, but lacking some depth

with & without sugar - 2.5:1 water ratio

Appearance: Very nice, clear light green that shines like a gemstone. I only wish it was a tiny shade darker - then it would have gotten a perfect score.

Louche: It took a little while to build, which is good, but after that things went rather quickly. There is a lack of "trails."

Aroma: Un-louched - very sweet flavor that initially reminds me of anisette toast cookies. There is a classic absinthe profile that has a bit of that 'alpine freshness' I love. For the first time, I would say I sense a vegetal quality to the nose both from the louched glass that is not particularly pleasant (without sugar added).

Taste: My first impression was that I found this absinthe to be extremely sweet without sugar, and way over the top with it, but later, probably due to the slightly vegetal nose, I went back to the sugar. I don't have a whole lot to say here - It's balanced, and there is no strong alcohol bite. It has the taste I expect from high quality absinthe, but with no interesting complexities or special aspects, save for a dash of spiciness.

Finish: Very thin mouth feel - does not coat the mouth. Light pull on the tongue. The taste dies rather quickly and doesn't bring anything new to the table.

Overall: I was disappointed in this because at the time of purchase it seemed to be held in very high regard. I would say it is not at all on the level of the Doubs Mystique or Roquette offered by the distillery, which are both far more enjoyable to me. I don't want to make it sound like this absinthe is bad in any way, I just wasn't blown away. It is a top shelf absinthe... I guess I am spoiled by things like Marteau and also need to sense some sort of deep complexity in the absinthe to really score it high.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

Top tier absinthe from Matter-Luginbuhl

Jul 2008 Bottle # 294/333 Notes include tastings with and without sugar.

Appearance: A soothing, green peridot hue, second only to Jade Edouard, in my humble opinion. Some sediment present.

Louche: Stubborn, translucent oily trails eventually give way to a milky color change. A wide band of un-louched absinthe seems to hold out for a while.

Aroma: The un-louched aroma fills the room. It's rich, tangy and musky- quite strong, but there does seem to be a veiled delicate side. After the absinthe is louched (not with sugar during this stage) that delicate side shows itself much more. The classic alpine herb trilogy is present, but in this bottle, I get a sense that this is going to pack a punch, and the role of the musky, hemp scent (must be the angelica seed?) is now switched into the background. For my second glass with sugar, the aroma is much more balanced and reminiscent of other great absinthe. Now I can detect the lemon balm as opposed to just overwhelming tangy-ness for example, and I detect the slight mintiness of the melissa mentioned in the product description

Taste: Wow, I was right about it being strong! It begins with an herbal musk, with sweetness in the middle, eventually finishing with bitter wormwood. I think this would benefit from a bit of sugar next time. Second glass with sugar: I definitely prefer it this way, and I think from this particular experience I will start using sugar every time with my absinthe. The sugar takes some of the heat off and leaves me with a more pleasing spiciness with just enough heat. It’s much more balanced and the taste is more intriguing with the subtle aspects showing through without being overpowered.

Finish: It's nice and rich, coating the mouth, something I haven't had in a while and have missed. There is a pulling/numbing sensation as the wormwood lingers on the tongue.

Overall: I really enjoyed this one, especially after I was let down a bit by the Duplais Verte (USA). It may have helped that it was distilled in July 2008 and reviewed when drank a year and a half later. Plus, I reviewed it after the bottle had been open a few days. Promethee is one of my top tier choices along with the Jades, Belle Amie, La Coquette, Eichelberger 68 Limitee, Montmartre.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
5.0

Belle Amie: One of the best commercial offerings

-2nd Distillation 2008 Bottle 558/640 - tasted in Oct 2010 -

Appearance: Goldish-Olive hue, probably due to Feuille Morte since I've aged this bottle over 2 years, and who knows how much the distiller aged it from completion to bottling periods.

Louche: Great louche that builds up with oily trails slowly and completes with billowy effect. Not extremely dense/milky however, which leads me to be careful not to add too much water.

Aroma: Fantastic 'powdery' scent with floral/fresh fruit notes in the forefront with a bitter wormwood spice balanced well in the background. When water is added, things seem even more balanced, with that floral aspect blending in a bit.

Taste: Nearly a perfectly balanced taste, just like the aroma, that leads somewhat with the sweeter notes. I prefer a little sugar in this one, but it is not bad without, either.

Finish: Medium mouth feel with a slight numbing - the final aftertaste is that of the wormwood. I really enjoy the flowery aroma/sweet start and a more herbal bitter finish.

Overall: Definitely in my top 5 and worth the hype. The archetype of what good absinthe tastes like. You can definitely taste a huge difference when going from this to a bottle in a lower price range, like my everyday absinthe choices. Other reviewers have stated quite agreeably that this is one of the best COs out there, with only minor criticisms such as the mouth feel & louche.

Reviewed by Neorebel     January 27, 2013
Last updated: January 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

The next step up in American absinthe distilling

Date: 7/4/11

Appearance: A light crystal green. Slightly yellow, depending on viewing angle... reminds me of green glass and honey.

Louche: Opalescent trails begin the process, as the absinthe begins to turn a cloudy lime color from the bottom up. Good overall, but it could be thicker.

Aroma: A Soapy perfume-like citrus, with an earthy spice dominates before water. After louching, it becomes more balanced as the initial punch fades into the complex nose which contains the expected alpine herb aroma. There is also a hint of white pepper & earthiness in the background.

Flavor: Initial zap of wormwood. Powdery & silky. Overall very balanced and relatively light. It has the taste of a refined absinthe everyone can enjoy.

Finish: Pacifique has a nice dry fade and medium mouth feel. Leaves me wanting more.

Overall: The next step up in American distilled absinthe. This is a more feminine type of flavor. At the top of the mid range/priced absinthe. Lives up to the hype!

11 results - showing 1 - 11
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo