Reviews written by josephlabrecque

45 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     November 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
3.0

Oddity

This absinthe pours very light in color - though you can tell it is a verte, distinctly.
I found it holds what I consider a strange louche action - kind of flat...
The louche itself is acceptable - could be a bit thicker but I wouldn't consider it thin.
At 72% I found it can take 5:1 easily. -Good mouthfeel overall but an odd, odd taste is present that I cannot identify. This same taste lingers in the finish making it a bit difficult to finish the glass.
Overall this doesn't really have much of what I look for in an absinthe. Perhaps a good fit for others though.

[sampled as part of a set of 5 absinthe samples from Alandia...]

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     November 17, 2014
Last updated: November 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
2.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
3.0

Not Quite Clear

Neat - it appears almost to be a blanche with a very slight green tint to it. Very, very light.
Takes a bit of time to begin the louche but does so nicely. Lots of trails from which swirling cloudiness emerges. Over a bit quick but that's okay. Resulting white louche is nice and proper.
Taste is a bit one dimensional - but not offensive at all. Just not complex.
Drinkable - yet unremarkable.

[sampled as part of a set of 5 absinthe samples from Alandia... the more you know...]

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     November 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
1.5
Aroma 
 
2.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
0.5
Overall 
 
1.0

Dirty Water

Very clear, neat. With the addition of iced water I kept waiting for it to louche... 1:1 no louche... 2:1 no louche... 3:1 no louche... barely any louche at 4:1 - just terrible. So disappointingly awful. For me - lack of a proper louche is unforgivable.

At 4:1 and then 5:1 was only able to drink an ounce or two... rest went down the drain. One of the worst.

[sampled as part of a set of 5 absinthe samples from Alandia... never again...]

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     November 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Quite Nice!

A very nice green - not too light but not blazing green either.
A dramatic swirling occurs with the addition of iced water. Lots of little trails and then swirling cloudiness.
The resulting louche is medium green and quite thick - a lovely appearance.
At 72% I found it could take quite a bit of tempering as well.
Very good mouthfeel - a slightly peculiar but inoffensive taste is present.
Overall not bad at all. Quite nice!

This was sampled as part of a set of 5 absinthe samples from Alandia. The others are pretty awful - but this one is quite good!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     November 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.5
Overall 
 
2.0

Kinda Gross

Very green in appearance... almost too green.
Louche action is nice - but too quick.
Nice, thick louche when completed. Not thin at all.
Taste is very unbalanced and rough.
Coloring herbs really dominate and overpower everything else.
Overall it is like tasting a thick, rough tea made with absinthe herbs.

[sampled as part of a set of 5 absinthe samples from Alandia... the more you know...]

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

It's Okay...

Not much to say about this one. Have a had the chance to have a couple of glasses and while it wasn't a bad absinthe... nothing really stood out either. Nice middle of the road, introductory offering. *shugs*

(sampled in early 2014)

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Pure Clarity

Solid blanche. I enjoy this a lot more than the verte they also produce. Like many other blanches, the neat color is absolutely clear. It louches well and has a lovely aroma and one of the more flavorful profiles amoung the blanches I have tasted. It has a nice wormwood bite to it - and a bit of alpine freshness. Very, very nice.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.5

Vibrant Biter

The absinthe is bottled in clear glass and is a vibrant green colour - which is a bit odd since I would expect it to go dead leaf pretty quickly store like this. The producer claims it is all natural though and I have no reason to doubt that. The wormwood presence here is very strong and if you like that sort of bite - then this absinthe definitely delivers. I wonder whether some of this may come from the coloring process though... in order to achieve such a green as is present. Overall, this is a slightly unbalanced absinthe that I would say might be "overrefined"... if that is a thing. I believe it to be more suitable for cocktails - though it is quite tasty as a traditional drip as well. While I am tending to point out the idiosyncrasies in this review- it is by no means a bad absinthe. Just a bit on the odd side.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Meow? Kittensinthe.

I enjoyed this little bottle quite a bit. Just like the kitten on the label... the bottle itself is smaller than most... charming. The absinthe inside is what counts though - and it does not disappoint! It reveals itself through color, aroma, and taste as a nicely balanced set of herbs set as a traditional profile with a compelling louche. Everything is very fresh and bright here... and one glass is rarely enough.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Pretty Nice!

Quite a nice absinthe in a unique bottle. Dark brown glass gives the appearance of something medicinal. The contents are a rather traditional absinthe - well crafted and fairly balanced. The most negative aspect is the louche though... you must be gentle with it else it will not become as thick as its potential. It seems to take a bit less water than most as well... so be careful with this one all around. If you are careful... you will be rewarded :)

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Oddball

No question that this is not an absinthe for everyone. The base is quite pushy and it has a much more pronounced anise-bordering-upon-licorice flavour which is not typical of absinthes I enjoy - a real sweetness and a bit of strangeness as well. The louche on this thing is massive... This may be problematic for some... but I enjoy a nice thick louche so cannot complain.

Overall, I do enjoy this absinthe - but not all the time as it is a definite oddball.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Interesting Suisse Verte

This absinthe is distinct from others in the Jade line but not as out in the periphery as Jade NO as it has a much more traditional profile. One aspect which stands out to me is the initial bite present... which then slowly and completely mellows into something much more balanced. It's quite good and the "travelling" aspect of the flavours swinging from this initial sharpness to a delicious calming fullness and back again with another sip is quite an achievement. A wonderful absinthe!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Lovely Floral Jade

As others have noted - this is an absinthe unique amoung the Jade line. The core of the absinthe holds many similarities to its sisters... but that is where the similarities end. Incredibly floral in aroma and taste with a neat color which is much greener than most. Overall - it as an absolutely bright and delicious offering with a wonderful mouthfeel that I'd be happy to have any time.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     October 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Nice Little Oddball

While I am not a huge fan of "spicy" absinthes - this one is very well done and knows where to restrain itself. Appearance is clear and vibrant - louching quite well into a balanced and proper thickness. Aromas and flavors are traditional - with an additional complexity that I cannot even begin to lay out in a review like this. Others have done so much better than I could. The finish is quite nice with the additional flavors lingering some time after... very nice.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     September 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.5

Sweet Kitty

Having enjoyed both Walton Waters and Meadow of Love many times over, this new bottling of Blues Cat provides both familiarity while standing out on its own.

The color is a light hay - more yellow than green and quite light. It definitely smells what you'd expect from Delaware Phoenix, neat. As water is applied - the louche is pronounced, swirling, and fast. Like all the DP absinthes - the louche is nice and thick (and nearly white) when fully prepared. The taste of this absinthe is incredibly sweet. Really almost too sweet (please do not even consider sugaring this). The finish is uncompliced with a good length and it provides some tingling as well.

Overall a nice absinthe - but probably not something I would purchase a full bottle of simply due to the sweetness. I find all of the DP absinthes to be on the sweet side - but this one goes overboard for me. I want to stress that this is a personal preference and if you enjoy sweet absinthes - you will probably LOVE this. Nicely made - just not my cup of "tea" :)

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     August 22, 2014
Last updated: October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

PerFection 1901

So much has been said about this absinthe - and it's really that good. I'd give Eddy a nudge up on the PF for complexity... but she is still a stunner and deserves the 5 star sweep I'm providing. Serious perfection in a glass.

Mid-2013 bottling.

I had the opportunity to have a glass of this alongside ~1900 Pernod Fils and the similarities are spot on. Not exactly the same, of course... Take out the astringency and woodiness from the pre-ban and BOOM. Astounding.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     August 22, 2014
Last updated: October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Favourite - Absolute Stunner

What can I say? This is everything a complex, quality, traditional absinthe should be. Hands-down a "5" across the charts for me.

Reviewed with a 2013 bottle.

It's difficult to not compare this to the Jade PF 1901 - but there are great similarities here. While both absinthes are absolute top-tier... I'd probably choose Eddy over PF for it's additional complexity. Very rich and "stoic"... if an absinthe can be said to possess such qualities. Incredible work.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     August 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Golden Redux

Quite a show. A nice, bright, natural green color as to be expected - the louching process is long and involved... lots of great trails! Serious trails. Fully louched- it appears on the thicker side (not at all thin) and looks marvelous. This absinthe has (what I would consider) a traditional aroma and taste and I really appreciated the full mouthfeel and the lingering flavours after it was gone. Just the right amount of numbing too. Intensely herbal. Really nice work. The one thing I would advise it that the finish is a bit grassy and fresh - the bottle I have could do with some aging (and is resting now).

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     July 02, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

... Louche... What Louche...

Very disappointed in this absinthe... but happy I found a baby (375) bottle to purchase in place of a full 750.

I find this very similar to St. George in the aroma and taste - probably due to both being brandy-based. The flavor profile is strange... I suppose 'savory' would be a good approximation/generalization... hard to detect and isolate the trinity here.

Louche is such a disappointment. Seriously. If you are a fan of big, thick louches like I am... stay far away. This is personal preference to some extent but I am a firm believer that an absinthe should have a solid louche. This has barely anything for show - eve with iced cold water dripped slowly... barely anything happens.

Mouthfeel is thin and watery.

Overall... I may have to mix this with something more substantial to get through it and avoid sinking the bottle. Hate giving terrible reviews but it is what it is...

Sad Louche...
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     April 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Very Enjoyable!

Previous to this Blanche Neige, the only other blanche absinthes I've tasted were Kubler and La Clandestine. I'll say that this is a "full-bodied" blanche with a complexity all its own. Perhaps this is due to the génépi - but I found it quite a bit more aggressive (in a good way) than my previous encounters. Really quite promising - even with my preference for vertes... I enjoyed it thoroughly!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     April 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
2.5
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.0

A Simple Glass

Neat color is very light green. Being an absinthe bottled at 45% - I wouldn't go more than 1:3 and even that is a slight stretch. A bit one-dimensional but not offensive. When louched, appears similar to a blanche, being quite quite pale - close to white. The louche itself is correct and the aroma and taste is good - just very simple. This might be a really good introductory absinthe for beginners.

I expected a bit more from this absinthe - but it remains inexpensive and inoffensive. Not bad.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     April 11, 2014
Last updated: August 22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Not Terrible!

Having never had the previous incarnation of this product - this review is based only upon the "Original Recipe" and my experience with other absinthes.

The neat spirit is quite pale green but seemingly natural. Aromas are correct and even shares similarities with some of the better absinthes out there. It louches up very pale green. A sudden louche... not too thick. I've tried this at a few ratios from 1:3-1:5 but nowhere near the 1:7(!) suggested on the label. Aroma is mostly correct... but there is something else going on aside from the traditional profile. A nice absinthe flavor is there also... but is overpowered by something else. Maybe the nettles? A bit astringent. Finish consists mainly of this which is a shame as you can taste the traditional profile underneath.

A good absinthe with peculiar and wounding aspects. With some corrections - I would enjoy this much more.


UPDATE: 08/22/2014 - I based this review off of the United States bottling. Since many have indicated that perhaps there are two batches... one for the US and one for Europe... I purchased a small bottle of the European bottling as well. Happy to say there is absolutely no difference between the two. Same all around.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     April 10, 2014
Last updated: April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
2.5
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
2.5

Hmmm...

I'll keep it short: color before louche is a dead-leaf which tends to bow to orange-ish. The neat scent is off-putting for me. It's probably due to the brandy base but I'm not entirely sure as there are a LOT of botanicals listed on the label. Louche is great though - nice and thick... billowing cloudbanks with a glass dripper which is a kick to watch. Drip too fast and you'll get a thin louche though! Smell and taste after louche is confusing and off-putting :(

I respect this absinthe for what it represents in American absinthe history - but it just isn't my taste at all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     April 10, 2014
Last updated: April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

Wonderfully Authentic

In enjoy this absinthe quite a bit. Color before louche is a more yellow shade of green and the scent is very much expected from something called "authentique". It louches up nicely and is a bit on the thicker side - but that is my preference. Lots of floral scents blossom from the louche and it is a more lengthy process than some others. The color, when louched, is surprisingly more green than the yellow-green cast upon the spirit when neat. It's very nice. The taste is very, very close to something like Jade PF1901 - this is the closest absinthe I can approximate the taste to. Great, solid mouthfeel with a good amount of numbing - with sensations lingering for some time afterwards. I realy do enjoy this extremely balanced and ultra-traditional absinthe from Emile Pernot!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by josephlabrecque     December 06, 2013
Last updated: October 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Powerful Montana Herbs

I could bask in these aromas all night - floral, powerful, and smooth. Neat color is pretty close to perfect - not too dark... but dark enough to stand out. Louche is glorious and thick - forms a bit quickly with lengthy, oily tentrils which form into heavy cloudbanks. This tastes very similar to how it smells - outstanding. Mouthfeel and finish both present themselves well and are enjoyable. Lots of great flavour and the preparation is difficult to get wrong. Out-standing!

Slightly "medicinal".... rustic... herbal... this is a great American absinthe and one which I expect will always be in my cabinet.

EDIT: There is a bit of menthol in the flavour and aroma which might be strange to some... so I have balanced my scores a bit based upon that. This is most likely from the elecampane used.

45 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo