Reviews written by ShaiHulud

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

What? From Germany and Without an E?

This is definitely an Absinthe and not an absinth by our standards. It is properly made and very well done at that. The color is a deep green and louches beautifully both in the process and final result. The aroma is fantastic, complex, and room filling. The flavor is well balanced, rich, complex and interesting, everything to rate a five on our scale. I found it to be very spicy. Now, typically when I use the word "spicy" in an Absinthe review, I am referring to a warm apple pie type of spice and not a hot/peppery spice. The Eichelberger spiciness, however, is black peppery. This flavor comes at the end and lasts into the finish.



This Absinthe is very well done and one of the best available. It is not my favorite because of the spiciness but I highly recommend it anyway.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

"Jade Lite?" They Could be Right.

Lucid is a great starter Absinthe. It is perfect for showcasing the flavor and aroma of Anise, Fennel, and Wormwood in good balance. It may not be the balance I would choose if I crafted my own but the levels are appropriate and well done if a bit light.



Let's face it, not everyone falls in love with the flavor of Absinthe from the first sip. I started with the Jade Verte Suisse 65 and there were quite a few involuntary shudders in the first few glasses. The Verte Suisse is a powerful and complex Absinthe, sometimes one may want something lighter. Lucid is lighter.



The color is a very pretty green (but lighter than even the PF 1901). The louche is pretty but fast and less complex. There was a sharpness to the aroma that put me off a bit but I believe that had to do with the beet base. The flavor is sharper and lighter than more complex warm spice Absinthes and, in my opinion benefits from sugaring.



Lucid is probably at the top of my list for recommending to a US newbie. It's a solid Absinthe to cut one's teeth on yet allows room to progress into the wide world of the Green Fairy.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

A Jewel of a Jade

It is often said that the crafter of the Jades is attempting to replicate historic Absinthes and Absinthe styles rather than simply crafting a scratch Absinthe for the modern palate. If this is the case, then the PF 1901 is a near masterpiece in my book. Having been lucky enough to sample a pre-ban or two, it is my opinion that no other commercial offering comes closer to the PF 1914.



The color is a beautiful light green that looks as though it could easily age into the dead leaf color of a vintage PF. The louche was the "beauty in a glass" that is expected from all the Jades at this point, wonderful oil trails, good layering, opalescent, etc... The aroma and flavor were very similar to the PF 1914. The flavor components were warm and complex, spicy, floral, minty, with a good strong wormwood finish. Many Absinthes have two to three flavor stages, the PF 1901 has many.



PF 1901 is one of the most solid Absinthes available today. It is not quirky or controversial. Anyone who enjoys Absinthe will like it from the newbie to the Ph.D. Absintheologist.

Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 21, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

What a Treat

What a fantastic experience to be able to taste this rare Absinthe. I was loathe to review this one given my less than Ph.D. tasting chops but, at the same time, I felt the obligation to set down my impressions for posterity.



The color was just what I imagine it should be although I did not see the greenish tint that some describe from their samples. The louche was fantastic and the aroma and flavour were distinct. Both were very floral above almost anything else and I had the impression of it being more strong and bold than delicate. I wish, 1. that I had more to taste (who doesn't) and 2. that it had been my first or second Absinthe of the evening and I had come at it with a "cleaner" palate. The finish was good but brief but overall it was truly, "I'll have another, thank you."

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A Simple Yet Tasty Blanche

The Elixir of the land of the fairies is one of my favorite blanches and has its place in any Absinthe rotation.



While not complex or remarkable in terms of basic herbs like the Blanchette, it is quirky in a very pleasant sort of way. I think that EdPdF tastes like frosting in a glass. It is very sweet even without sugar but when one drips through a cube, hang on to your teeth. I think it makes a perfect second or third glass since a more complex drink won't alter its flavor. I think it may be a bit too anise heavy to use as a "palate cleanser" between more complex Absinthes.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

One Always Remembers One's First

I have often gone back and forth between claiming the Verte Suisse and then the Edouard to be my favorite COs. Then PF1901 came on the scene and really threw a kink into things. The Verte Suisse was my first Absinthe, however, and therefore remains a favorite but it deserves its place on its own merits.



The pre louched color is very nice, a deep green. It louches slowly with beautiful oil trails and good layering. The final color is very thick and green with hints of brown and, therefore, somewhat less appealing than others.



Aroma and flavor are fantastic with the most pronounced "herby" almost "grassy" flavor of any Absinthe I have tasted. It is complex and makes me feel like I just did a face-plant in an alpine meadow. The finish is lingering and strong.



I think the Verte Suisse is fairly distinct in its flavor and therefore will be controversial. Some will really like it and some will not, there will not be much middle of the road.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Edouard is Fantastic

I love the Edouard and the affair began with its color in my glass. Edouard looks like no other naturally colored Absinthe. It is vibrant green with a hint of blue that is just gorgeous. It suits my expectations perfectly and has become the standard against which I compare other vertes. The louche is oil trail-erifficly slow with good, distinct layering and ending in a thick green almost like a glass of green milk (that is a good thing).



I find the aroma and flavor to be very complex with a distinct "herby" profile that brings the wormwood forward and does a little dance on one's tongue. It is crisp, clean, and very refreshing. The Edouard is and has been safely in my top five CO's since its release.

Reviewed by ShaiHulud     September 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Mohawk - Not Just a Silly Hair Style

I was afforded the wonderful opportunity to taste the pre-ban American Absinthe, Mohawk. The tasting conditions were ideal. It was the first glass of the night and I was, therefore able to sample it's aroma with a clean nose (so to speak) and taste it with a fresh palate.



The weakest points of this Absinthe in my opinion were its color and its louche. The color was a light straw yellow and neither Verte nor Blanche. It may have been incorrect or it may be showing a color change over time, then again it may be exactly what the distillers were after, I don't know but for me, personally, it was weak. The louche was very distinct in the beginning as the water created vibrant pearly streaks in the Absinthe but once it began to cloud it was a bit thin and weak in color.



The aroma was fantastic, one of the most room filling ever. It was sweet and warm smelling with just a slight floral peeking through. The flavor was very nice. Again, warm, round, not very complex but well balanced. Sugar made a significant difference throwing the balance off and amplifying the wormwood in the finish to a distinct bitterness that was not present without sugar (I typically sugar my Absinthe).



Overall, I loved it. I wish it were prettier to look at but what it did not do for my eyes, it made up for with my nose and tongue. Not as complex or as floral as the 1914 cash but similar to it in may ways. I found it reminiscent of the PF 1901 and, in a strange way to the Francois Guy, especially in color and louche but also in flavor profile.

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo