Reviews written by mzabsinthe

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Bold and complex - a great change of pace

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Clear, attractive, and natural. In fact, it was the most obviously "natural" color among our samples - there is nothing artificial about its appearance.

Louche - While pleasant enough, Roquette doesn't put on the spectacular show that some of the other samples provided. However, once louched, it was correct in appearance: not too opaque or translucent.

Aroma - This was the point when we knew we had something special. The aroma of the herbs in perfect balance filled the entire room. As soon as the water hit the absinthe, it was as if we had fallen into an herb garden.

Flavor - Extremely interesting. This is not what we had pictured when we thought of "absinthe" (wormwood and anise). This is much more complex with many more colors going on aside from the usual suspects. To be so rich and complex, it is extraordinarily well-balanced. There is nothing that stands out too much and overshadows the other players - everything complements the product as a whole.

Finish - Long-lasting and pleasant herbal finish. It definitely adds to the experience.

Overall - Of our ten samples, this was the favorite. Although it was vastly different than the other absinthes, there was something "extra" with this one. It is definitely not typical or pedestrian, but truly felt artisanal as opposed to a mass produced product. This will definitely have a home in our collection.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
3.5

Ok.

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Very attractive in the glass. A little lighter than the other vertes we sampled, but very pretty.

Louche - Again, very attractive. Not a spectacular "show," but correct: not too thick, not too thin.

Aroma - Pleasant, light, and balanced. Nothing overwhelming.

Flavor - Very easy to drink! Refreshing and light. Very well-balanced.

Finish - Fades very quickly with no outstanding characteristics.

Overall - Very enjoyable. Light, refreshing, extremely easy to drink (more a "chugger" than a "sipper"). It may be a bit "weak" and ordinary, but it is still a good MOR effort. This would make for a good introduction to absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
2.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Alcohol-heavy, but still better than expected

*Received as sample in abinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Very correct and "pretty" in the glass. It isn't overly complex (not a "sit and stare" absinthe), but is it attractive.

Louche - Beautiful. This was the best louche of our ten samples. Quite simply, it puts on the show we hoped for. The opalescent swirls continued well into the 4:1 point and were spectacular to watch.

Aroma - Wow! That's a LOT of alcohol smell. It isn't even that it smells "stout" like Everclear, but rather something like rubbing alcohol with a strong hint of anise.

Flavor - While very well-balanced between wormwood and anise, the alcohol heat and flavor is distracting. Being from Kentucky, I can draw a clear line between the sting of this absinthe and the lesser quality moonshine that makes the rounds at parties. Not the "good stuff" that has just enough burn to make you feel alive - the harsh stuff that feels curiously like sipping a glass of kerosene.

Finish - Still a bit too much alcohol and goes away rather quickly. It feels more like I just drank a shot of herbal vodka than a really good absinthe.

Overall - While Manson's presence made us both hesitant and curious to try the product, neither of us are huge fans of the band. On its own, Mansinthe is suprisingly enjoyable, although we wouldn't say it is everything we thought "traditional" absinthe would be. If the alcohol were tamed down just a bit, this would be a great offering. It's definitely nothing to sneeze at and we wouldn't dissuade anyone from trying it, but the alcohol is definitely a fault.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
2.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Enjoyable, a bit different.

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Very clear, no sediment. It actually appears clearer than water.

Louche - This was the first and only blanche sample we tried, so the quick, unimpressive louche may come with the territory. It definitely doesn't put on much of a "show," but it is neither too opaque or too translucent.

Aroma - Mostly anise with some wormwood and a sweetness from the alcohol...but mostly anise.

Flavor - Very pleasant. We actually ordered the standared Clandestine and the alcool du vin for a side-by-side comparison, but received two of these instead. While we can't compare this to a normal blanche, it is very nice to drink. The absinthe does have a wine "feel" on the tongue and a certain sweetness that is probably more pronounced than in the standard Clandestine.

Finish - The finish is more like a good white wine finish than any of the other absinthes we tried. As the previous review says, it is a bit astringent and dry, but sweet and pleasant.

Overall - We both enjoyed the vertes to a greater extent, but this was definitely appropriate and enjoyable, if not a bit basic. Its similarity to a good white wine might appeal to some, but we didn't find it overly special when compared to some of the other absinthes (or a really good Pinot).

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
2.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Wonderful, straight-forward absinthe

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Very nice to the eye! Extremely clear and natural and one of the few we have sampled that we agreed was "jewel-like" in appearance. Moving it around in the light reveals a virtual kaleidoscope of color, from golds and reds to blues and greens.

Aroma - Strong anise and a bit too much alcohol to the nose. This quickly subsides when water is added, but it was a bit offputting to smell straight in the glass.

Flavor - Excellent. All of the alcohol disappears and reveals a great anise-centric absinthe. The wormwood is definitely there, as are other herbal tones, but anise definitely rules the roost. While it isn't terribly complex, it is incredibly balanced - you can taste everything that is supposed to be there on its own and easily identify the very correct complements in flavors.

Finish - Very good finish, but not overly complex.

Overall - An extremely enjoyable absinthe. We plan on ordering a bottle soon. Of the ten we sampled, this ranked in the top two and was very close to the favorite. For a "traditional abinthe" experience, one could certainly do much worse and, if our samples were any indicator, it would be difficult to do a whole lot better. Excellent!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.5

Something off...

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - Beautiful, clear green. Nothing spectacular, but correct, natural, and attractive.

Louche - Very nice to watch, but a little opaque in comparison to some other offerings.

Aroma - Good balance of herbal notes and anise, but there is something else there that is more difficult to identify. It is definitely a floral scent, but not sure what it is - it seems strangely similar to an artificial citrus (lemon/lime) like that found in sports drinks.

Flavor - While some herbal-centric absinthes seem highly complex and balanced, this one seems a little "off." The wormwood is upfront, but has no direct complements from the other herbs and very little anise (again, this was from a sample, so I'm not sure if the different versions may be coming into play).

Finish - There didn't seem to be much of a finish with this absinthe. First you taste it, then you don't. It goes away very quickly.

Overall - Of the ten sampled absinthes, this fell in the bottom two. While I can see the appeal of a strong wormwood flavor, this one doesn't really do it well in comparison to other, more complex absinthes.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Simple, but highly enjoyable!

*Received as sample in absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - While not breathtaking, FG is definitely clear and natural in appearance. As many have observed, it's nothing completely out of the ordinary, but it is "pretty" in the glass.

Louche - Very nice to watch. The opalescent swirling continues well up to the 3:1 mark.

Aroma - The aroma is mostly the standard anise fare - not overly complex, but pleasant.

Flavor/Mouthfeel - Feels fairly thick on the tongue. Very pleasant taste with far less of an anise overload than is hinted in the aroma. Fairly well-balanced and pleasant. Again, not overly complex, but very enjoyable.

Finish - If absinthe is supposed to be refreshing, FG has that in spades. The finish is light but lingering and adds to the overall positive experience.

Overall - Even having sampled FG without knowledge of its economical advantages, we both really liked this absinthe. While it is simple, it would be a great introduction to absinthe. It is pretty, louches well, smells and tastes lovely, and is extremely easy to drink. I could see this as an "every day" absinthe and, given its incredibly reasonable price tag, an absinthe I would gladly recommend to a friend looking to order a good starter.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by mzabsinthe     February 01, 2013
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
0.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
0.5
Finish 
 
0.5
Overall 
 
1.5

Rough.

*Received as a sample in an absinthe explore set from absinthes.com

Appearance - While clear and natural in appearance, the color is less "golden" and more an offputting shade of yellow (Melinda likened it to a urine sample).

Louche - The louche is very quick. Initially, it was interesting to watch, but was very thick and opaque at around the 2:1 mark.

Aroma - Here is where this effort begins to fail completely. If I could liken the aroma to anything, it would be slightly burned paper removed from a crayon. I didn't get any herbal or alcohol smell, just that of burned crayon paper.

Flavor/Mouthfeel - My suspicions of this absinthe based on "aroma" were confirmed with the first taste. Overwhelming alcohol with an overriding bitterness. The previous review mentioned the "body odor" comparison that Melinda also made upon the first taste. Of the ten absinthes we have tried, this is the first that saw us both unable to finish the glass - the vast majority saw its way down the sink.

Finish - Based on the flavor, this could not be good. Indeed, we both did everything we could to just make it stop.

Overall - This is definitely one to avoid. I am only happy that it wasn't the first sample we tried, or else we wouldn't have been as excited about the experience. If I had ordered a bottle of this, I can't imagine its ever seeing the light of day after the initial tasting. -zb

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo