Reviews written by Songcatcher

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     January 25, 2013
Last updated: May 28, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.5

No Apocalypse, but a decent absinthe

Absinthe Apocalypse

Appearance: Neat, leaning towards a deep yellow golden green. Very clean appearance.
Fully prepared at 4/1, a light jade with yellow and blue tones. Mostly opaque unless diluted above 5/1

Louche: A perfectly acceptable louche with nice trail action.
Building slowly at first and then exploding to full on opaque. Kind of a yellowish white mint green.

Aroma: Neat is a clean alcohol with lemon and peppermint.
Louched the aroma is anise and fennel, a not unpleasant alcohol, with some powdery aspects along with some nice light florals.

Flavor: The taste is crisp and citrusy. Along with a bit of alcohol but not overpowering. (prepared at 4/1)
Herbal goodness is present in taste and aroma. While the Apocalypse doesn't have the complexity of some of the top tier absinthes, it does have its own character. Nicely balanced and completely drinkable.

Finish: Lemony and dry, lingers for a good while. Pleasant light bitterness and numbing.

Overall: I bought this mostly as a novelty because hey, it's Apocalypse, and it was december 2012. I had to try it. And was pleasantly suprised.
A truly authentic absinthe. No herbal powerhouse, but not bad. A nice absinthe from Phil Fumoux of Muse de France. I have certainly enjoyed it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     November 03, 2012
Last updated: November 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

JL 1901 2012

JL 1901 March 2012 bottling

Appearance neat is a beautiful golden shade of amber green.
Louched it becomes a very antique looking yellow green opaque light jade.
Aroma neat is the smooth base shining through with a hint of vanilla and spices. The addition of ice cold water brings heavy anise and hearty florals. With a minty herbal goodness and a musky scent that cannot be mistaken for anything but a Jade. Powerful and smooth. Superb.
Fully prepared the flavor is an excellent herbal bliss with nice hot pepper and powdery overtones. And something akin to butternut squash with the everdeveloping aroma surrounding it all. A very puntuated and smooth mouthfeel. This is one you can really sink your teeth into.
Couldn't be happier.

The finish is rich and smooth with a lingering 'afterglow' that is pleasant and prickly and fills your senses with a good dose of happy. Slight numbing on the tongue after a minute or so but just enough to remind you that you have more waiting in the glass.

Overall the JL 1901 is a wonderful absinthe that takes you back in time to what i believe absinthe of a hundred years ago would taste like. A very pleasant beverage that I believe most would enjoy.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     October 08, 2012
Last updated: March 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Berthe de Jewel

Appearace was typical of an EP product. Perfect peridot, crystal clear. Very clean and practically inviting the water to come in.

Louche was a beauty to behold in the beginning. Try just a splash from a carafe and watch the show. Interweaved threads swirl slowly back and forth in the light green absinthe for probably close to a minute. Mezmerizing to watch. By 1/1 becomes fully clouded.

Aroma of the Berthe neat is vanilla, anise and powdery with the very nice wine base showing through. With water this absinthe opens up into beautiful herbal bliss. Definitely an Emile Pernot product.

Flavor Is perfectly blended. That punchy Pontarlier wormwood bites you on one cheek and kisses you on the other. With a sweet floral softness close behind. Nice summery absinthe. Seems to my tastes just a little bit lighter absinthe than the Vieux Pontarlier. Very nice though.

Finish is lightly sweet and mouthwateringly pleasant. Like chewing a stick of Wrigley's DoubleMint Gum.

Overall a very drinkable absinthe with all the elements in right proportion. Can't go wrong with Big Bad Berthe. Holds it's own among others. Diluted at 3/1 served me best.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     October 07, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Why yes, Duplais I will

Appearance neat was a beautiful forest green. Very alive. Turning to a perfect example of Jade with the addition of cold water.

Louche erupted as whisps of smoke billowing into an ocean of cotton to an opalescent Jade by 4/1. A translucent beauty of olive, gold and copper with blue green tinges

Aroma neat was spicy hot. At 3/1 suprisingly light. By 4/1 the Duplais verte opened up into a nice strong pleasant minty wormwood
jewel. Very close to awesomeness.

Flavor is Crisp and clean. Reminds me of swimming in the creek in early march. Lots of stout and tasty wormwood blended perfectly with the right amount of herbal goodnesss. Minty,sweet and clean. A robust absinthe favorable to my palate.

Finish lingers like a crisp dry mountain breeze. Very pleasant with a lingering dryness which just make you want to take another sip.

Overall I find the Duplais verte very appealing. Complex and interesting, and very wormwood forward with balance and flair. Would reccomend to anyone who likes the Ridge Verte or Marteau.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     October 07, 2012
Last updated: March 06, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Essai buy a bottle.

Essai #5 from 2009.

Appearance is of course crystal clear neat. With the addition of water, opaque and slightly translucent with gold and amber highlights and the occasional blue tinges around the edges.

Louche layered nicely starting slowly from the bottom with beautiful curling trails with each drip of water.

Aroma Fills the room. Amazingly robust and beautifully floral. I could sit and enjoy the aroma in the glass for hours.

Flavor in this five year old bottle at 4/1 reminded me of lemon cake and hot liquor.
At 5/1 an easy drink that you can savor every sip. Succulent, powerful and delicious.

Finish is quite dry and long lasting.

Overall this is one blanche that stands out in a crowd of monotony and is thoroughly an enjoyable experience.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     July 25, 2012
Last updated: July 25, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

I wish this Cat would stick around

Appearance: Very bright and clean light golden green hues.

Louche: Starting immediately as a low lying fog bank working upwards to fully louched at 1/1. Continuing on all the way to 5/1 to a thickly opaque milky green.

Aroma: Fennel, fennel, and lots of fennel. Crisp and clean anise and a hint of violets maybe? Definitely a Delaware Phoenix product.

Flavor: Sharp at 3/1. More balanced at 4/1. Perfect at 5/1. Like I said, fennel, fennel; and lots of it. Not off putting at all. Very nice Artemesia and a lightly sweet anise. high quality.
A very delicious dryness adds to the flavor.

Mouthfeel: Very smooth clean and light at 5/1. Easy on the tongue. Very refreshing. A slight dryness. Nice balance

Finish: Gets your mind to thinking about the wind in your face on a warm summer day. Nice and tangy. Makes me click my tongue. Sticks to the roof of your mouth like peanut butter for a minute and then fades away making me reach for my glass again.

Overall: A really tasty absinthe from Delaware Phoenix that I wish was a full time offering. A good cross, in my mind, of Meadow of Love and Walton Waters with a little extra "umph".

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     July 19, 2012
Last updated: November 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Unique Carre

Appearance: Amber and olive color neat. No noticeable sediment in the glass. {*edit: About halfway through this bottle I did begin to notice a floating sediment in my glass, black in color. Even after swirling the bottle before pouring. Kinda offputting, making me change appearance score from 4 to 3.*} Very Enticing color.

Louche: Begins with nice trails ending in rolling fog at 2/1. fully louched at 3/1 a golden amber green with a red aura. Beautifully opalescent. Hold it up to a light to see this effect really shine through.

Aroma: Neat it is energetic with a slight asringency.
Louched the aroma is of wormwood, spearment and genepi with a citrus twist. Heres where you can tell its going to get interesting.

Flavor: First thing to come to mind is fresh cucumbers on the vine and jalapeno peppers. Maybe cinnamon. Reminds me of a warm spring day down by the water.

Finish: Lip smacking good. Cooling like after you eat a peppermint. Limes and something like pine nuts. Not overwhelming and doesn't last too long.

Overall: Beautifully unique in character. A nice artisinal style. Refreshing, and different for sure. A unique American absinthe.
This is my second bottle and although the first took a little to get used to, this one is pleasantly familiar and quite enjoyable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     July 13, 2012
Last updated: July 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Possibility is there

Batch 22 Bottle 50/60

Appearance; neat-light gold,white grapes. Louched-milky,maybe a hint of pink edges. Very cream colored.

Louche; thick wispy oil trails clouding from the bottom up. Very thick at 3/1 no translusence at all.

Aroma; Neat- Hibiscus, clean light grain alcohol, vanilla, nice, not harsh.
During louche- Powerful, very absinthy, wormwoody and slightly floral, faint tarragon. Nicely done. Balanced. soft and floral

Flavor; Peppery and floral, dry with a citrus and tarragon bite.
Mouthfeel; very silky, powdery.

Finish; Dry, slightly bitter and lasting with a noticable tingle on the back and sides of the tongue

Overall; well its definitely absinthe. Could do without the tarragon and hibiscus i believe. Wish it was a verte. Doesn't really leave you looking for the next glass but drinkable and not unpleasant. It has possibilities if it wasn't a rouge.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Songcatcher     June 07, 2012
Last updated: June 07, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

Pontarlier Perfectly

The appearance is exactly what I think an absinthe should be. Beautiful to look at and very herby. The louche from my carafe is magical to watch like whisps of smoke and then turns into a fog bank. Aroma, so this is Pontarlier wormwood? You can sure tell a difference. Very organic and earthy. The flavor is stout and deliciously fruity and a little bitter too. Just like I like it. Seems to develop and open up as it warms. Finish lasts a good bit and makes my mouth crave that next sip while savoring the last one. Overall this is my favorite absinthe of the dozen I've had and my only one from the Emile Pernot family so far but will not be my last. For me it goes best at a 4 to 1 ratio and needs no sugar.

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo