Reviews written by Miguel

11 results - showing 1 - 11
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     December 11, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

EP scores a hit!

The golden appearance has me conditioned like a russian lab dog.
The louche I had found a bit weak, but when I used my dripper tonight, it was everything the ratings guide says it should be.
The Aroma is where this is King of the Hill, there is the wild Aa like Julie's, but there is something else there (aging, tangernies?) that just makes it awesome.
Flavor and finish have the awesome Aa, the usual herbs in amounts I like, and that tangerine flavor I keep suspecting. Like tangerincello or something. What ever it is, EP hit my happy flavors spot like a sniper.
overall, this a great abinthe, if a bit different from the norm.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     October 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Tasty Grapefruit

The color look a classic peridot green, clear and bright.
good louche
aroma and flavor. I detect something that to my noob tongue tastes like grapefruit. Without sugar it is sinkable for me, but my wife loved it. with sugar it is quite enjoyable, with a nice creamy mouthfeel. The finish is quite nice.
Overall a nice refreshing absinthe, but one that to my taste needs a little help from the sugar. Not really a knock, since I do enjoy the ritual.

Reviewed by Miguel     October 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Awesomeness from Cheryl!

Classic Peridot color, bright and clear
Great louche, even when power louched with 80F water. Opaque on top, translucent at the bottom of the glass.
Nice aroma, with a sweet bit of violet
Flavor is amazing, and complex, with just the right balance of flavors.
Finish is a wonderful cascade of well coordinated notes.

I humbly bow in the direction of NY state, this is truly an outstanding product.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     September 25, 2011
Last updated: October 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A solid absinthe with no faults.

A good absinthe, with solid 4s in all categories, except the louche, where in typical Jade fashion is amazing. The downside to us was that it wasn't great in aroma or flavor, which at this price-point was a bit of a letdown for me. There is a loud bitter note in the flavor, that just doesn't sit right.

Edit: Bumped finish to 5, it is really extra ordinary.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     September 24, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

We love the spicy frog!

This would be a really good absinthe, but the spiciness makes it one of the great absinthes. You gotta be carefull when adding water, not to confuse heat from spice with heat from alcohol. But to drink, and just look at, it is truly a hedonistic pleasure. This is the first absinthe my wife has sampled, where she asked me to purchase a bottle.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     September 23, 2011
Last updated: March 17, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

1901 meets and exceeds the hype and hoopla

kinda pale neat.

Great Louche (must be a Ted thing)

Nice, bold aroma

Delicious flavor, bold, creamy, balanced, and very tasty

Great finish, creamy and complex.

I could have sworn I had tasted this already because of of the great detailed reviews here. It more than lives up to the hype and adoration.

Edited to bump appearance to 4, since it is clear, bright and natural. wish i could give aroma a 4.5, or 4.49. Better than just good, but I've encountered enough abstinthes with a more enticing aroma to give it a 5. Still over all this absinthe is great, and among my favorites.

Gave the aroma a desreved 4.5.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by Miguel     July 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

So that is what good Wormwood tastes like!

I was expecting a horrible wormwood bomb, but I quite liked it with or without sugar.

I could enjoy it on occasion on its own. A wonderful base, on which L'Artisanale builds upon.

there is a unique aroma/flavor that it shares with L'Artisanale. Not bad, but it does stand out.

Reviewed by Miguel     July 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

My favorite absinthe.

Color is a nice peridot

Louche is gorgeous and jewel like.

The neat aroma is balanced herbal and heavenly, louched it is still there but a bit subdued.

Flavor and finish are complex, balanced, and delicious.

overall. This is my favorite absinthe, the one I reach for by default, and the one I buy by the box full. I love the way it looks, smells, and most importantly, I love the flavor and finish on a hot summer day. I prefer it without sugar.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by Miguel     July 12, 2011
Last updated: July 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Tasty Stranger

Color is weak, but natural. Deceiving as to the flavors inside.

Louche. OMG! aggressive and thick. Opalescence shmopalescence.

Aroma, weak neat, but powerful and balanced when louched

Flavor, creamy, complex, and delicious. Some smell/taste that it shares with WW, but not in a bad way.

excellent finish

Over all a great absinthe. To me the color is a minor quibble, aroma, Flavor and finish are awesome.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     July 12, 2011
Last updated: October 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

My first blanche, and I loved it!

Jewel Like Louche, not quite like it's verte brethren, but very correct.

Amazing neat aroma(I could wear this), somewhat subdued after louching.

Surprisingly complex flavor, very refreshing. I do need sugar.

finish is a 4.4

This absinthe has opened my eyes about blanches. It has nothing to apologize to the vertes. I plan to make it a staple.

Edit, after having enjoyed this product for a while, I've learned to enjoy it sans sucre, and to be extra mindful to not over water. When louched just right the flavor and finish become solid 5s in my palate.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Miguel     May 27, 2011
Last updated: July 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

The perfect treat as dessert.

A natural green & dead leaf color, a shade darker than most, but natural.

A Pretty jewel like louche, with impressive trails as soon as the water hits the absinthe.

The VC smells like peppermint and sugarcane. And it tastes like it too. I meant these two as a compliment, as I liked it, and the fact that it is different from other absinthes.

After taste does remind you it's absinthe, but in a nice way, and the sweet pepermint flavor does linger, but not as much as I wished.

Overall a different, but tasty absinthe, and a most welcome addition to my hooch cabinet. Perfect after a meal or with a sweet treat. I do use a bit of sugar. My wife's favorite Verte.

11 results - showing 1 - 11
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo