Reviews written by Amber Peter

58 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2 3  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     March 26, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Plays it safe

Appearance: An average yellow-green, with maybe a touch of haze.

Louche: A pretty color, but a hint too thick. Nice glowing red highlights, and maybe even a bit of purple.

Aroma: The smell is noticeable, but not bursting with aroma. Definitely all three of the trinity are present, but not much else is going on here.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: A decent amount of wormwood up front that comes across nice and peppery, and the flavor isn't overly sweet.

Finish: Any sweetness that was present starts to recede and it becomes fairly tongue-numbing. This goes on for a long time.

Overall: I know that this is a reproduction of an old recipe, but it's really not pushing the envelope or taking many risks here. I like the absinthe quite a bit overall; it's well done and a good one for wormwood fanatics, but it's not particularly sublime or complex.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     March 26, 2013
Last updated: March 26, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

I don't get it.

Appearance: Extra green, without being too dark.

Louche: When louched it's a pretty light green, but it's extremely milky and thick.

Aroma: Hella minty, with a bit of a still scent, and a somewhat masked smell that's redolent of rubber.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Light and creamy in texture, but really, really minty, and something vegetal is coming through on the flavor that I don't particularly like. It ends up fairly bitter in the end.

Finish: The finish is very fuzzy in the mouth and there's some alcohol heat that takes a long time to fade.

Overall: There are some quality aspects of this absinthe, but there are also some pretty disappointing flaws. Maybe this used to be passable in an absinthe, but there's so many better options out there, especially from Pernot.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     March 26, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Lovely summer absinthe

Appearance: The color is a spot-on green, and very clear.

Louche: A good thickness and attractively colored. The colors become very different as you move the glass around into various lighting and the angle vieweed, sometimes near-blanche with blues, a yellowy-green, or a very glowing gold and red.

Aroma: While not huge, the scent is well balanced and inviting, with a light cucumber-like essence.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: The taste is very crisp and fruity, with a decent amount of wormwood presence. It's very creamy and silky on the tongue.

Finish: More of the same, and it's a bit tingley without being tongue-destroying.

Overall: This absinthe is bright and fun. I think it's very fresh and almost "awakening" and refreshing to the senses.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     March 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

Dessert absinthe

Appearance: Very vibrant green-topaz (a bit more on the green side). Quite clean-looking...not at all syrupy or cloudy.

Louche: After louching, Authentique is really beautiful in the glass. It's still super green, with multi-faceted highlights in red, orange, yellow, and light turquoise, and not too thick or thin.

Aroma: Back to the "clean-ness" again. At 1:4, there's no remaining alcohol heat, and what's left is a very sweet and wormwoody scent with some fennel and anise, along with some pleasantly sweet wood-like properties. There's also something reminiscent of baby powder and rose soap.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: There's a definite buttery, pastry-like quality to this absinthe, and it reminds me of when I made absinthe cake with buttercream frosting - all the qualities of absinthe but much more dessert-like. It has a very fresh and light texture.

Finish: Wildly mouthwatering at first, with a softly citrus freshness. There aren't any distinct flavors, just a lingering "ahhhh!" sensation and the desire to drink more of it.

Overall: Really lovely, and quite a treat. I hope it's not just because I've been wading through mediocre brands as of late, but this absinthe is a breath of fresh air. You can tell it's finely crafted, and I think it's really yummy.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     March 06, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Extremely light

Appearance: Standard blanche, clear and uncolored.

Louche: The top has a good deal of oily streaks and beads on the surface of the louched glass. The louche is crazy thick, is quite viscous when swirled around in the glass, and stayed a very white color.

Aroma: The smell isn't particularly strong, but what I can smell is a little sweet and has a rainy mountain essence. It's not obviously an absinthe" odor (it's lacking in the trinity).

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Somewhat tart and sharp, and the more one drinks the more the flavor builds on itself. Sadly, the flavor isn't very apparent, and it's difficult to find enough flavor to discuss the balance or ingredients.

Finish: Somewhat velvety and is inducing some mouth-watering and fuzzy sensations, but there's not much flavor left behind to pair with the feelings.

Overall: It almost felt like I was drinking an absinthe with a cold...the flavors were very distant and muted.

Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Astounding.

Appearance: Damn near green, with a slight topaz hue. There's some slight haziness.

Louche: Translucent fire opal glow, creamy yet reflective. It's still clearly a verte, as the louche maintains a beautiful color.

Aroma: Pre-louched it smells wonderful and near-drinkable. Sweet and sour, vanilla, anise, candied orange zest, wormwood, and mild fennel notes.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: The anise is perfectly bold and spicy, the fennel perfectly balanced, and the wormwood is velvety smooth...there's a tingly euphoric warmth filling my mouth and throat.

Finish: Goes on forever but not long enough...peppery, juicy, warm, a whisper of earthiness, some sort of spice (perhaps allspice?) and candied orange again.

Overall: Mindblowing. Even the best modern reproductions are still a shadow of what this absinthe is.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Not bad.

Appearance: A good peridot, leaning a bit more towards yellow, with a hint of gold. No sediment or haze.

Louche: It has a mildly green (maybe a bit more yellow), impenetrable louche. It's not what I would call very "glowy", either.

Aroma: Wormwood, sweetness, and something that makes my nose tingle. The scent is not particularly big and it takes a good deal of sniffing to figure out what's going on.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Tasting this one's a bit peculiar, the flavor doesn't happen where I expect it to, instead the liquid glides through the mouth and then near the end of the sip, the flavor hits all at once: fennel, anise, and wormwood, all very pronounced.

Finish: Cold and very much like the feeling after brushing my teeth, the wormwood seems to last the longest with a bit of the anise.

Overall: I wish it were a bit rounder in flavor and aroma, and much less crisp and cooling.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Pretty lady.

Appearance: Clear, with no sediment or haze.

Louche: Pure white with red/gold highlights when held up to the light, though it's slightly thicker than I would wish.

Aroma: Smooth and perfumey (somewhat reminiscent of the smell of the makeup remover I use), with candied flowers and wormwood, along with hints of fennel, and perhaps some anise. The fragrance isn't very strong though, I definitely have to really breathe it in.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Very fresh and cool. Really nice balance, hints of spiciness and a wisp of peppery anise that's just right.

Finish: Not too lengthy, but full of juicy, crisp flavors of citrus and anise, and a nice tingle on my tongue without being overly deadening or heated.

Overall: This is a really lovely, very refreshing absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Spicy mystery...

Appearance: Green with a hint of yellow. It's a little pale.

Louche: Pale and milky without being too creamy or thick...it reflects things from far away from the glass, almost like a crystal ball.

Aroma: Sweet and candied, quite soft, with some fennel, violet, and something that reminds me (in a good way) of Play-doh.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Large and peppery spices which are somewhat hiding the absinthe notes. There's also something almost metallic in the flavor.

Finish: The finish is dry, and with prominently bitter (also in a good way) wormwood and citrus, along with more of the metallic feeling from earlier that makes my mouth water.

Overall: Softness in an absinthe is ok, but I don't like how out of balance it is with the spice flavors. It's definitely still likable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Last updated: February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.0

Currently not for me.

Appearance: A bit hazy, deep, olive green.

Louche: Creamy with lots of orange and yellow in the translucent bits. It's what I would consider to be on the heavy-side of just-right.

Aroma: The anise hits like a ton of bricks, backed by wormwood and some green leafiness of the lemon balm.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: It's very "green" flavored, aside from the anise, and I find it a bit difficult to get past. It comes across really bitter and over-flavored to my palette, but I have a really hard time eating things with too much "green" flavor (i.e. veggies). This is definitely not the same kind of over-cooked veggie flavor that occurs when an absinthe contains too many tails, more like the flavor of too much fresh green matter. I wonder if it's because of the coloration herbs, which seems to be a bit heavy and has already started to fade considerably, perhaps also having an effect on the flavor.

Finish: There's a good deal of sweetness on the finish and the lingering tongue feeling from the level of anise being used.

Overall: This is not a good absinthe for my palette, so it's difficult for me to pay attention to other details that may be in the absinthe when faced with such strong flavors. It needs a good deal more balance and I think a lighter hand during coloration, but it shows a lot of promise.

Pre-louche
Fully louched
Current bottle coloration (Feb 2013)
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 14, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Looks, but not a very good personality

Appearance: Very pretty. Definitely hibiscus colored: a deep rosy pink, very lovely and appetizing in the glass.

Louche: Thick like strawberry milk. Practically opaque, but there are some reflections. It's still very pink.

Aroma: Lots of wormwood and (unless I'm mistaken from brain tricks) a bit of a rose underpinning, and some sort of dusty smell. It's very nice and sweet and mouthwatering, though not particularly strong-smelling or "big".

Flavor: There's so much star anise flavor here, it's really a bit sad...I can scare taste anything else. I can tell there's something behind this flavor, but it's not balanced enough to let the other flavors shine as well. Not too dry, which is nice given the hibiscus coloring.

Finish: Once the star anise flavors disappear, I'm left with a fruity and sweet flavor that's really nice...but sadly it has that peppery tongue/throat coating from the anise, as well as the drying effects from the hibiscus.

Overall: This absinthe would be really beautiful if there was a good deal less badiane and a good deal more green anise. Yet again, as far as rouges go I have to give the obligatory apology for flavor, regardless of how pretty the drink.

Fully louched
Pre-louche
Mid-louche
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Unconventional success

Appearance: A topaz-esque green and a little bit faded, but still in the right color family and tone.

Louche: Very lovely green and orange. Just the right thickness, and louched perfectly without much coaxing at all.

Aroma: There's a LOT going on here. Just from mulling over the odors I've noted hints of lemongrass, confection, thyme, something like menthol, coriander, pine resin, and something that reminds me of Christmas spices that makes my nose tingle.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: A lot going on here as well...wormwood, a peppery anise, fresh mown grass, rosemary, clean soil, cardamom, allspice, and a bit of a green tea astringency, all of this definitely leads to a lot of salivation and makes you want to keep drinking.

Finish: At the ratio I mixed the glass at, there's no alcohol heat but my tongue feels a bit like I've been eating peppers, probably from the anise bite, but there's also a sweet and minty length that's numbing the mouth.

Overall: This absinthe is bold and not particularly lady-like (and if I didn't know any better, there's some star anise in here too), and very un-traditional, but it's truly wonderful.

Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Why?

Note: I did this as a before/after with the non-barrel-aged L'Enjôleuse, so may be more comparative than standalone.

Appearance: There isn't a noticeable difference in appearance from the barrel-aging, and it still appears to be a deep fuille morte.

Louche: Yellow-green and overly creamy, but it has some glowing rust and amber reflections that were certainly not present before.

Aroma: There's a bit of pie spice and pleasantness, and it's not overwhelmingly anisey, but it still has some substantial camphor notes punching through.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: To me, this tasted extremely soapy. It had very sour, mentholated flavors and a somewhat dusty taste...still a big anise presence. It certainly FEELS like there's some vanilla flavors present, but it's hard to detect the flavor too well.

Finish: There are some bad throat sensations to go with the juicy/mouthwatering and sour sensations...not in a pleasant way. It's a bit more of a salival assault. There is some hint of oak here, but not much.

Overall: Again, I'm not quite sure why this absinthe is this way...barrel-aging would have me hope for smoothness and some vanilla notes, but this is just more mentholated and harshness.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Creature from the Green Lagoon...

Appearance: A fairly unappealing deep amber fuille morte, with a slight olive cast when held to the light.

Louche: It's a bit on the thick side. The louched color is a somewhat gross yellow mud color, with some deep orange reflections.

Aroma: Smells like absinthe, but it seems like something ominous is lurking under the disguise of absinthe...like a deep, herby monster lurking beneath the surface of the glass.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Reeeeeeeeally bold anise, and a distinct soapy flavor. I can almost describe it as being very prickly and sharp, with the parts of the damsel in distress and the hero being played by wormwood and fennel...sadly the anise-monster steals the show.

Finish: More heat, prickles, and soapiness. My tongue feels pretty spent at this point in time.

Overall: Much like a good deal of B-horror, I guess I'm just not sure WHY an absinthe would be produced like this.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Licorice and candy.

Appearance: I'm not entirely sure how old the absinthe I'm drinking is, but it's a fairly bland-looking fuille morte topaz border on a dark olive...TOO dark.

Louche: Pretty milk and dense when louched...turning an unpleasing color of scrambled eggs that have been cooked too long. There are some orange reflections, but it's not luminous enough to turn the glass into an appealing shade.

Aroma: Smells a bit more like star anise than anything else, although there's some backing musky fennel and some floral elements, along with a candied citrus essence.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Anise-heavy, but I like the candied orange and lemon peel flavors. All the flavors that the absinthe should have are definitely present, but they're not anywhere near being as balanced as I would wish.

Finish: Not a bad finish, slightly perfumed and more citrus, and it's fresh and clean, but my tongue feels a bit abused from the anise onslaught that was so dominant in the flavor.

Overall: I like this one the best of the Paul Devoille absinthes that I have tasted, but I feel like it still could use a little more work.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     February 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.0

Delightful surprise.

Appearance: Barely off from being perfectly clear, but not by much.

Louche: Nicely cloudy without turning into a milk; white with some murkiness that detracts a little bit from what would otherwise be ideal.

Aroma: The fragrance started while louching, into something big and really nice...quite musky sweet, but there's something that hints at a rubbery odor.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: The flavor isn't particularly big and bold, but not at all disappointing. It's quite candied with a really nice wormwood punch. Very fresh and cool, almost like a mint-free mouthwash.

Finish: The lingering flavors and sensations are crisp and tingley, and almost a little dry; pleasantly fresh and flavorful.

Overall: Really pleased with this one. Generally I'm not super excited about blanches but this one is fairly complex and it's hard to find anything to complain about.

Reviewed by Amber Peter     September 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Crown jewel.

Appearance: A slightly older sample, which means it's a bit more olive than green, but it's not at all too light or too dark.

Louche: Once louched this becomes a really pretty glowing green and is just the right thickness.

Aroma: Big, super-balanced, beautiful smell with lots of delicious mysteries.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: The flavor is much less herbal than the smell, and much more cake-like. It's still very balanced though, with a good deal of sweetness and has some slightly citrusy flavors.

Finish: This is very sweet and round, with a tartness and salivation that reminds me of sucking on candy.

Overall: The completeness of this absinthe is pretty near perfect in my book.

Reviewed by Amber Peter     September 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.5

Delicious garden.

Appearance: A fairly light green once it's in the glass, but it's a decently old sample. Once I get a new bottle I may adjust for this.

Louche: Pale, pale green with some almost buttery golds and hints of blues. This is just the right thickness.

Aroma: Floral and sweet, while being fresh, cool, and fragrant. VERY inviting.

Flavor: Cool and smooth, with a "petal"-like taste. Also reminiscent of fresh cut herbs; green and spicy.

Finish: There's a lovely mouth-numbing effect and the diminishing flavors are extremely refreshing.

Overall: This is a really excellent, impressive absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     September 24, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
3.0

Needs some age.

Appearance: A very light green bordering on yellow...definitely could use a bit more coloring.

Louche: Louches slowly, and becomes a pale, nearly white color with some splashes of red and gold. It's not overly creamy, and I think it's slightly on the thin side of translucent.

Aroma: Cool and anisey, and perhaps a too-present fennel scent with some vegetal qualities. Also a hint of a mentholated medicinal astringency.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: Powdery, bold, and with a bitter flavor sweeping quickly into what I would consider to be the territory of the finish. It's like there's not time to experience the taste. I think a thicker texture would help. It clearly tastes like absinthe, but there's not really enough dancing around to be analyzed.

Finish: Sweet and juicy, with a somewhat sour something in the flavor that's out of place that seems to keep the rest of the finish from falling into place. This causes the finish to come to an end a bit too soon.

Overall: Not entirely a bad absinthe, but it lacks a number of qualities that I appreciate in high-end offerings. Instead of choosing a direction (or a flavor) and going for it, it seems to attempt to balance the ingredients, but seems to be missing a roundness bringing the ingredients together. This could definitely use a bit more "oomph". Also, I think a bit of resting has helped this absinthe considerably, as it is much smoother than when first bottled (from what I remember.)

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     September 04, 2012
Last updated: January 01, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Nope.

Appearance: Bright olive with no sediment.

Louche: Upon adding water this forms a thick, unpenetrable louche that's somewhat unattractively colored...it was creepily reminiscent of pleghm.

Aroma: The scent is big and sweet like bubble gum while louching, and is pretty pleasant. Seems like it has a wine base? Once louched, there's something peppery like allspice.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: The anise isn't overwhelming but it's pretty jellybean-like. It's extremely sweet, and peppery without being heated. Swishing it around in my mouth opened up the flavor in a BAD WAY.

Finish: Extremely tongue-numbing, dry, and velvety (although I think the velvety texture is from the sugary-ness).

Overall: If I didn't know any better this absinthe would probably be appealing as it wouldn't completely turn me away from exploring absinthe and it has intriguing aspects...but tasting the breadth of absinthes that I've experienced, this one is not I would want to drink regularly.

ADDENDUM: To confirm my sugar suspicions, this was kept in a sample-sized bottle, and is now CRAWLING with mold. Yuck.

Reviewed by Amber Peter     August 05, 2012
Last updated: August 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Hesitant review...

Appearance: The color is pleasantly mapley and definitely looks like a barrel-aged spirit in color...deep and butterscotch-like.

Louche: There's a lot of dimensions of color including blues, greens, yellows, and oranges. It's not particularly creamy or thick and quite translucent which occurs shortly before a 3:1 dilution, getting thinner and thinner with any higher dilutions.

Aroma: Heavily smoky and almost like a men's cologne, mildly mentholated providing a slight tingle in the nose, with some warm wormwood and violet notes.

Flavor: Extra smokey, and loads of charcoal. There's definitely some wormwood and it's fairly peppery and tickley on the tongue. I feel like perhaps it's just the smokiness, but it's somewhat tobacco-esque.

Finish: Oaky and warm, very lengthy and mouth-watering, which evolves into something slightly fruity.

Overall: It's hard for me to detect much of anything because of the overwhelming smokiness...it even makes it a little difficult to tell that it's absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     June 08, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Finally, fennel!

Appearance: A very nice light citrine color with hints of a apple-y green when viewed in sunlight, but can appear near-peridot in certain light.

Louche: Extremely thick and opaque, and becomes nearly white, while maintaining a greenish glow with some lurking rusty highlights.

Aroma: After adding water the scent expands a good deal, with deep peppery notes and a enticingly big fennel scent.

Flavor: There's definitely a bit more focus on the fennel in this particular absinthe, which is certainly welcome. It doesn't come across as particularly wormwoody or camphorous, and instead has a velvety candied violet and lemon curd-esque citrus that really explodes when swished around.

Finish: The finish is mouth-watering, but clean, with a bit more anise present along with a cucumber-like juicy flavor.

Overall: It's nice to see a different balance of herbs in an absinthe and have fennel get the spotlight for a while. I was also impressed at how Blues Cat is extremely versatile at a number of dilutions, both extremely low and high amounts of water have been interesting, and not at all undrinkable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     May 29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Good in theory.

Appearance: It's obviously a blanche, but there's a barely noticeable yellow tint.

Louche: It doesn't seem to get quite as thick as it should, and not nearly as thick as most blanches. It ends up a with some color post-louche: a light yellow-blue-green huge.

Aroma: The smell is fairly big while louching and juniper is definitely present. Overall is has a cool, evergreen-like, somewhat oceany smell.

Flavor: Not a big flavor. Whispers of wormwood and some other supporting flavors, but not very bold.

Finish: A lot of the dryness I'd associate with a gin, but given that the texture is very thin, it doesn't end up with much of a finish.

Overall: I think this would be a good idea if executed with an excellent gin and an excellent absinthe, but I don't think it achieved it's full potential in this particular absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     May 29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5

The Bleue Standard

Appearance: It always pains me to give full points for a blanche, but it looked as though there wasn't anything in my reservoir glass when I poured it in.

Louche: Quite milky and ever so barely pink-toned, along with iridescent blues.

Aroma: Big smell while louching, peppery and sweet, with a slight musk and soil aroma. Really nice.

Flavor: Creamy and sweet, with a tangy sourness, very fruity fennel, and a sneaky wormwood floralness.

Finish: More tangy sour, and is pleasingly mouth-watering long after sipping.

Overall: Where this absinthe isn't perfect, I think it'd be damn near impossible to improve upon it. I enjoy it a good deal every time I drink it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Amber Peter     May 29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Unexciting

Appearance: A somewhat unappealing olive oil color, not cloudy, but also not particularly clear.

Louche: Stays a green color with deep reds and oranges but it seems a little dingy. I would consider this to be just the right thickness,

Aroma: Sweet, minty, cool and floral, with something medicinal lurking if breathed too deeply...whatever this element may be is very nearly masked.

Flavor: The flavor is somewhat bitter and it seems as though the herbs were old and dusty, particularly the wormwood flavor. There's something flowery here, but it's hidden behind the seemingly poor herb quality.

Finish: EXTRA sour and mouth-watering, and very tingly and warm in the throat.

Overall: I wouldn't say that this absinthe is particularly bad or unpleasant, it's just not very remarkable or nuanced as it could be. I feel like if I had gotten this absinthe as my first, I could have gone either direction when deciding if I should try other absinthes or give up the hunt here.

58 results - showing 1 - 25
1 2 3  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo