Reviews written by Babel

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     August 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
2.0

A Little Better than the Worse

Color: Vibrant lime green, yellowy. Looks like lime cordial. Doesn't look natural

Louche: Starts with a whirlwind of nice trails but then it just gets hazy. No cloudy billowing. Too thin. Color is more natural once water is added. Nice greens with some blue and white.

Aroma: Alcohol, sweet black licorice and water. Faint grass. Simple

Flavor: Candy anise and sugar even though I did not add any sugar. I taste the alcohol. I tried adding water until the alcohol was less present but then it was just way too thin. Some bitterness. Simple and unremarkable

Finish: Mouth feel is thin. Bitterness recedes quickly then you’re left with anise and a numb tongue. The flavor is simple and bland to begin with and therefore there is not much flavor to finish with.

Overall: The label says “Premium” but it is certainly not that. By definition it is not a real absinthe because it contains added sugar. It is cheap and simple. The packaging is misleading and also hypes the thujone content, which for those that know absinthe, is like putting a sticker on the bottle that says “this is crap”. For those that know nothing about absinthe but are curious, I can see why this would be appealing with words like “Premium liqueur”, “bitter absinthe”, “authentic thujone” and “authentic wormwood”. Not a good thing, but if it’s between this, Hills (which doesn't louche and tastes like mouthwash) and Mythe (which has even less anise flavor and also doesn't louche) I would prefer they buy this one. I think beginners could at least find this palatable and hopefully will like it enough to go for something better next time.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     April 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
2.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
3.5
Overall 
 
3.0

A Refreshing Absenta

Reviewed without sugar at about 3-4:1

Color: Translucent. Vibrant lime green with tinges of yellow. Looks natural

Louche: Nice trails and billowing. Vibrant green meniscus until ~1.5-2:1. Multi-toned celery green. Medium dark to cloudy white with some light blue shades around the edges

Aroma: Sweet black licorice with some spice. One-dimensional

Flavor: Anise and bitterness. The taste is mostly black licorice like a good anise candy with bitterness added. Some anise candies taste just like sweet black licorice but others have more of complex anise taste. The anise taste in this absenta is more like the latter. It is tongue-numbing but not as much as I would expect. Also the bitterness is simple. When I taste higher end absinthes the bitterness from the wormwood usually has other flavors around it such as menthol, herbaceous, earthy etc… In this absenta the bitterness is just simply bitterness

Finish: Mouth feel is ok, perhaps a little thin. Long bitter finish, with some menthol and soap

Overall: Not a horrible Absenta. It is very simple and drinkable. I like to drink it with crushed ice and soda on a hot day. With a price like this (14.04 euro for a liter bottle which, at the time of this review, is ~$20US) you don’t have to feel guilty about purchasing a bottle. I like to always keep a bottle of this or a similar absenta on hand

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     April 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

One of the Best

I usually drink this around 3/4:1, no sugar. I first tried this before it was legal, when it was sold by Betty. Betty's La Bleue's. I now regularly keep this in stock, partly because it has been readily available in Quebec for the past several years.

Color: Perfectly Clear

Louche: Opalescent white with blue around the edges. Finishes quickly

Aroma: Anise, spice, white pepper, herbs, wormwood, a bit of earth, pine. Alpinely, crisp and cold. Very complex. Amazing.

Flavor: Matches aroma. Anise, white pepper, menthol. Crisp, clean and very refreshing. Sweetness and bitterness in perfect balance. A bit tongue-numbing

Finish: Excellent mouth feel, not thin at all, has some weight, but also not too thick. Sweetness fades fast, then long bitter tongue-numbing. Piney and bitter til the end. Lasts a long time. In no way unpleasant.

Overall: A top-notch absinthe. Sweet enough to not require sugar (I sugar most of my absinthes). The bitterness of the wormwood matches the sweetness perfectly. A perfect balance.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     February 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Cinnamon!

The most noticeable difference of the 2012 release is the addition of Cinnamon Bark. Here are some notes from the distiller about this 2012 release:
Taboo Gold is produced by macerating the herbs in a fine blend of our double distilled fruit and wine alcohols.

Kirsch (cherry alcohol) was an important contributor in the 2012 Taboo Gold. Herbs selected were Grand Wormwood, Anise, Fennel, Angelica, Coriander and a new glimpse of select Cinnamon Bark.

A separate collection of fine herbs added further aromas and were the base for the beautiful gold colour in the Absinthe. These were Lemon Balm, Hyssop, Roman Wormwood, and Veronica.

COLOR Feuille-mort. Dark golden brown like autumn leaves. This color is intentional and their goal has been fully achieved.

LOUCHE Light to dark golden hues with some light green. A bit thin. On their website they claim that the louche is not as dominant as their main Taboo absinthe. I believe there was less anise used in this batch.

AROMA Spicy, fruity and sweet. Cinnamon. Very nice.

FLAVOR Cinnamon and fruit on a bitter and spicy wormwood base. Very strong (aggressive?) flavor. A bit grassy. The fruit brandy base is not as sharp as the previous release. Overall the traditional absinthe flavors are there but with the cinnamon bark it becomes a different flavor. I enjoy it.

FINISH Fruity, spiciness lingers long. A bit soapy at the end.

OVERALL This is a different absinthe but it is enjoyable. The fruit brandy base is more subdued than their previous offerings. This is an improvement. I find it difficult to rate an absinthe that is very good but is different than a traditional absinthe. I have decided to choose my scoring based on a traditional absinthe. Because of this the scores are a bit low. Even though it has a low score it is still a good absinthe and worth a try.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     February 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
2.5
Overall 
 
3.0

1st Relase (2009-2011)

Take note that this is the first release of Taboo Gold. After 2011 it was unavailable for a bit then around 2012 a new batch came out that was quite a bit different than the first. I'll post a separate review of the 2012 release.

Louched 4:1 with sugar.

COLOR is dark and deep. Golden yellow and green tints. Clear

LOUCHE Dark olive green with yellow/gold highlights. Creamy but not too thick. Perfect louche.

AROMA A bit peculiar. Anise, tangy, minty, lemony, herbaceous, grassy. A bit sharp like fruit eau-de-vie. All Taboo absinthe's are made with a fruit brandy base.

FLAVOR Bitter, spicy and tangy fruit. The fruit brandy base really comes through and gives it a flavor that is a bit peculiar for an absinthe. The overall flavor is pleasant but not a traditional absinthe flavor.

FINISH Spicy, bitter long finish. The spiciness goes away and a soapy flavor develops and stay with the bitterness.

OVERALL It's an enjoyable absinthe but definitely needs some tweaks in the flavor department.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     May 29, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Blühend instead of Bloodletting

Color: Deep brilliant green. Clear. Hints of yellow. Bright and natural

Louche: Louched by a thin stream from a glass dripper full of cracked ice. Comes on slow. Beautiful billowing smoky thick clouds. Color is a lighter opalescent green. Various shades of green, blue and yellow. Very pleasing.

Aroma: Fresh and clean. Floral and a tad bit soapy. Very similar to Mansinthe but the floral, baby powderish smell is much more present. I like it but I wouldn’t be surprised if some people find it to be a bit too prominent.

Flavor: Flavor is soft, sweet and flowery. Hint of mentholated bitterness. Slightly soapy. A little bit candy like. All in all it’s a soft and subtle flavour. Does not have the earthiness found in Mansinthe.

Finish: Has a lingering bitterness. A bit thin. Does not linger as much as I would like it to.

Overall: A high quality absinthe that is very enjoyable to drink. I think everyone should give this a try. Similar to Mansinthe in a lot of ways but softer and more flowery sweet. Also the baby powder/soapy flavour that I detect in Mansinthe is much more present in this absinthe. Some may like that, some may not. This is a perfect absinthe for a picnic or other event that involves sun, nature and the sweet smell of flowers, which is quite contrary to the name of this absinthe which in English is “bloodletting”.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     April 08, 2011
Last updated: June 02, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
5.0

O ya Canada

Color: Bright emerald green, I mean very bright and very emerald. Seems to have been tweaked since the last time I purchased a bottle. It's perfectly clear. Although the ingredient list on the label lists only natural ingredients, the color of this absinthe is a bit too close to turquoise. I will give it a 3 though because apparently it is natural and it is rather appealing.

Louche: A nice thick louche that leads to a creamy opalescent green with lots of nuance. Definitely star anise in there.

Aroma: Beautiful sweet perfume aroma. Fruity and candy like. Also lemony. Wormwood is there and anise smells good. I believe this is the new formulation because I can notice a huge difference. It has a much fuller flowery aroma.

Flavor: Anise up front. Whereas the old formulation was more star anise this one seems to be more balanced between the star anise, green anise and fennel. This is an improvement. Other than anise flavour is very fruity and sweet with a mild mentholated bitterness from the wormwood. Make sure not to overwater this one. I feel it does best around 2.5 to 3.5 parts water, more flavour comes out. More than 4 parts water is too much. I think the fruit based alcohol contributes much to the fruity sweetness. This is definitely a summer aperitif absinthe.

Finish: The weakest link in this absinthe. Don’t get me wrong though, it’s good, mentholated tongue numbing sweetness but does not linger long. The less water you add the more bitter it is and the longer it lingers. The more water you water you add the thinner and less lingering it becomes. Perhaps a perfect middle can be reached.

Overall: This has turned out to be an excellent absinthe. The new formulation is noticeable and an excellent improvement in my opinion. This has always been a unique absinthe and I’m glad that they continued to go in that direction with the new formulation. I’m proud that Okanagan Spirits, being a Canadian company, has created such a unique and high quality absinthe that easily stands on its own in today’s absinthe market.

Edit 06/02/2011:

After letting this absinthe sit and breathe for a bit I have noticed a few changes. The pre-louche color has toned down a bit. It's still bright and very green but the artificial tones have toned down. Not so much turquoise now but just cyan-like nuance. Further proof it is naturally colored but I will leave the score at 3 since it still has unnatural nuance.

The candylike aroma's and flavor's have toned down to a more herbal and earthy mix. I believe I added a bit more water than normal to this glass as well. I really like how this absinthe is turning out. It seems to get better every time I pour myself a glass.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     March 22, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Better in the summer

Color: Nice dark olivey green. Perfectly clear and natural looking.

Louche: Louche came on very fast but was thick and dense. Amber and gold highlights with light olive green. The liquid in the glass now looks thick and creamy just like in the old pictures. 4
Aroma: Lemony and floral. Minty spice. Anise is very present but not overpowering. Very citrusy and unique.

Flavor: Right off the bat its mint and lemon. Very refreshing but perhaps a bit overpowering. Anise is there but wormwood is difficult to detect. To me wormwood has a slight mentholated with mild bitterness flavor so the mint could be masking the wormwood. There is another flavor in there that is difficult to put my finger on. It reminds me of Agwa a coca leaf liqueur and perhaps not too far off from tea. It’s not a bad flavour just untraditional for an absinthe. It tastes very good but I will give it a 3 due to the fact that mint and lemon are the predominant flavours.

Finish: This is where the wormwood shows up. Finish is light (a bit thin perhaps) but also smooth, fresh and crisp. Slight bitterness from the wormwood and slight tongue numbing from the anise. The bitterness and mint linger for a while but not in an unpleasant way. A very good finish overall. Smooth, fresh and crisp.

Overall: This is one of best absinthes to come out of Spain. It is distilled from grape spirits and is naturally coloured. Compared to other authentic absinthes it has a very unique flavour profile. It is very refreshing. A perfect absinthe for sitting outside in the early evening of a hot summer day. I could also see this being used in cocktails that call for mint or mint liqueur. I want to give some extra points here for the value of this absinthe. For the money it is an excellent absinthe. Even someone with a college budget could afford to always have a bottle on hand.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Babel     March 13, 2011
Last updated: October 08, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Holysinthe!

Color: Pale but very bright emerald green. Natural and clear.

Louche: Beautiful trails, nice billowing clouds. Good separation line at the top. More thin than thick but not too much. Various shades of green and shots of blue throughout. Color after water is a nice pale natural green color, lots of nuance and depth.

Aroma: Bit of alcohol at first. Very light and perfumy but fills up the room when water is added. Aroma is mostly anise with an earthy element. Very appealing.

Flavor: While the flowery sweet perfume that came out in the aroma remains, tasting this absinthe brings out a much more complex flavour. It is spicier and softly bitter with more mentholated bitterness coming out. Balanced and complex. It’s floral, perfumy, spicy and mildly bitter. I wouldn’t want to change anything.

Finish: Mouthfeel could be a bit thicker. Slight tongue-numbing and a lingering bitterness that is not at all unpleasant. The sweet flowery notes disappear a bit in the finish while more bitterness comes out. This leads to spicy earthy tones. Lingers well.

Overall: I have to say that Mansinthe is an excellent commercial offering from the Matter distillery. Marilyn Manson obviously knows his absinthe and I am not surprised. There’s not much I would want to change about this absinthe. Excellent colour for a naturally coloured absinthe. If you’re not a fan of Mr. Manson do not let that keep you from buying this. I think a lot of people do not take him seriously based on his appearance but he is a serious artist and a very talented person. That also goes for Oliver Matter.

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo