Reviews written by Le Diable Bleu

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Le Diable Bleu     January 14, 2012
Last updated: January 14, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Sirene down the water or up the sky?

Sirene, the alternative in Canada to verte through LCBO. At least, from the last infos I got. I'm kind of out of date, stopped absinthe for more than a year now. As I'm craving to return to my fairy, I thought of this notes I took when making the review of Sirene, so here it is (sadly not-that-much-detailed-due-to-too-much-time-passed-before-I-wrote-it)..:

--------

I felt bad these days... Left alone by a star that looked like a sirene and made me drown (or a sirene that tried to looked like a star and drowned me, depends of the point of view you take). One of these days, I was at my big appartment and the holy Father came by. My brother was there too. And Led Zep and Bowie were there too with the Black Dog and the China Girl.

So I decided to introduce them to absinthe, since I had some Sirene left from Toronto and some Taboo too. We tasted them side by side. My brother and the Father too prefered Sirene over taboo. There's a lot of of too and other double o in this review, boo hoo hoo!..

Color : Nice color, although quite yellowish.

Louche : A nice louche effect, interesting to look at, but too light to fully appreciate.

Aroma : I noted citrus-ish and cinamon-ish odors as others noted before.

Flavour : No suprises, but very good. Tastes as it smells, not very traditional but quite good still. The best I had, but I had not that much absinthes to compare and am (or not?) influenced by the opinions of the blood of my blood and want to balance my others notes too.

Finish : The finish lacks bitterness to my taste, it is a bit weak. Could be better for some people, though.

Overall : A nice absinthe and more traditional tasting choice for Canadian or Quebecer-passing-by-Ontario buyers.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Le Diable Bleu     April 12, 2010
Last updated: April 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Mister sandman, bring me a dream

He's not... So let's hope the Fée Verte does! Anyway, love this song, Mr Sandman. Long time since I didn't listen to it. It was this song, the cover from Blind Guardian, that made me love metal when I was a young teen. And we could say that all my teen years took a corrner when I heard that song. It's what it started that made me grow my hear, turn gothic, etc. Seems so long ago, while it isn't really. When I look at it now, considering I'm a rock fan and that this « teen spirit » that I « smelled » last summer when discovering the fairy was also me taking a corner in my adulthood. I suppose it's also the fairy inspiration that pushed me to think of it now, instead of my ordinary rocky lullaby. Yeah it's not my first glass this night... Anyway, the review :

Color
The color is a bit weak, quite clear. When you look at it quickly, it seems like minty/cold-green tone, but when looking more closely and through the light you can see a yellowish tint. Not flashy, but beautiful.

Louche
The louche is quite beautiful as far as my little experience can tell. At 2:1 the « tourment » is still there, with a beautiful layering of anise cloud, a line of wormwood green and a fresh water layer on top of it. After it though, the swift oil swirls quickly pale at a green-translucent white and settle at about 3:1.

Aroma
The pre-louched aroma is in my opinion the bad side of this absinthe. It smells alcohol, with maybe some mint far behind. While the alcohol smell is not cheap, it's not what we could hope from a topsinthe. Until 3:1. When fully louched, you can smell a mix of minty anise with some wormwood crisp. There's also something, a « je ne sais quoi », that could be linked to the fruit-base alcohol used. Maybe the color plays on my mind but I cannot tell something other than white grape. Also, lemon (or even grapefruit I could say) and a « cinamonny » undertone.

Flavor
Like the louched aroma, I would say minty anise with wormwood, a bit of lemon and cinammon. While the wormwood is good and crispy, the alcohol flavor is a bit straightforward. While my water is iced, I can still feel it warming my throat. Could be more subtle. Can be good unsugared to, somewhat like blanche.

Finish
The finish is long lasting, crispy, minty... so very nice, but still it has a strong alcohol flavor lingering.

Overall
A quite good absinthe and one that Canadians can be proud of. I think the major thing to upgrade is the aroma and color, as far as I'm concerned with my not very keen smell and the fact that this is the only natural green available in Montreal, these two are OK. Still, I'm curious about what fruit they use for their alcohol and I think a lot of the unsettling things about this absinthe are linked to that. I'll have to re-review it when more experienced in « verte ».

So I'll boost the overall rating a bit for now. Even if it feels a bit odd with the Blind tune. 'cause this song is all about getting from nice and light to loud and heavy, and the Taboo feels a bit like the contrary. Tell her that my lonesome nights are over, Miss Green Fairy. I'm so alone, don't have nobody to call my own. Please turn on your magic bean, miss Green Fairy, bring me a dream.

P. S. :Done with one dose, sugared with a drop of simple syrup, at 3-3,5:1. And I don't like the bottle, which while beautiful, is not practical for storing and pouring.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by Le Diable Bleu     September 06, 2009
Last updated: September 06, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Fresher but bad-er memories than with Pernod...

The worse yet the most marketed and accessible absinthe (without an e)... I had some with friends at different time, always when I was already fairly drunk... The last time I took one shot of it flame-style and all I had already drunk about ten pints of beer and I think this is what made me decorate in a very personal way my cab on return home!

OK let's be nice, this thing might make a good bitter in certain situations I suppose, but it's far to pricey for what it is (a funky, commercial and artificial bitter) and more importantly, it's not absinthe. Period.

Absinthe Substitutes
Reviewed by Le Diable Bleu     September 06, 2009
Last updated: January 16, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

From what I remember...

Not a bad product, but a bad absinthe in the sense of tradition, since it's artificially-colored. There's also a lack of quality and compplexity, but from what I understand you could say that from a lot of absentas also, and people still like them... I am not enough experienced to comment a lot, but it tastes a lot of anis, and that could be far worse (by far I mean, as far as by the Hills and further if you understand;).

Positive : The color, while unnatural, is very nice! I would have granted a 5 to color if ingredients where not taken into accounts or in blind tasting.

Negative : The taste is to simple, nearly no aroma except anis, the color fake and all that for the cost of a fine absinthe!

All in all, I think if this product was sold at the 2/3 or half of it's price, it could make a fine cocktail or routine (for the less fortunate) absinthe.

Edit:I just noticed there was Pernod extrait d'absinthe and regular Pernod. I think I tasted regular Pernod, so altough I revised my review (since it just doesn't taste wormwood, it doesn't have any!), I could add that it's quite cheap. It the extrait d'absinthe version which cost a lot. So regular Pernod is just a yellowish green, probably less sugared version of pastis. As such, it's a good product, but not as an absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Le Diable Bleu     August 05, 2009
Last updated: August 05, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Le Diable Bleu Blue Night with Clandestine!

As I'm writing this first review, I'm a bit excited. This night is a night of victory in revenge, there's music and chattering around me that makes me shake (at least, more thant normally) This is my first review, from my bi-mensual Clandestine and since I didn't tried other real absinthes (Pernod and Hill's doesn't count and I doesn't have the courage to retake them just for your reviews!) my comparison is very limited. I base myself a lot on your comments. But maybe I could rereview it when I'm more experienced. I also may be a bit rough since it's my new standard and my review is based on my current experience, as I'm sipping it. Anyway...

Color : All clear, no sediments... I suppose it's a 5, which is unfair for verte since there's more variety in them.. A white is always clear, and gets a 4-5, or is not, and get a 1! Maybe when louched you can see some details that I miss, but it's a nice white and the lights gives it some orange hue but it's the lights, so... A nice cloudy white!

Louche : Man, I did miss that part in a dumb way, by pouring to quickly my water in it. Maybe it was those damn hands, the excitation, or just the water jar they gave me... Anyway, it was a bit to quick so I'll give it a 3. But when fully louched, it is a nice, pale, milky white, with some transperency on the top. Very nice, with the lights...

Aroma : A lot of anise, makes me think of a pastis. When unlouched, it was a bit "spiky" (don't know if it's green or star anis but if it's the later it must be those star point getting at your nose!), but when you start louching it, the aroma develop slowly in a more floral scent. Cannot smell the details... A bit of alcohol, and something I have some difficulty to describe. Defnitiely flowery, I'll say!

Flavor : Taste like it smells but with a little amertume and a little crisp. Might be the wormwood. The fennel for the amertume? It's also creamy, in a way.

Finish : A little numbness, somewhat huggish, like the caress of a cruel women. A bit unpleasant, but saliva come in your mouth and you want to repeat. It lasts longly, hitting in the middle with some crispiness, then lowering itself on a more floral-I-don't-know-what note, with the amertume (fennel?) of the flavor.

Overall : I give it a 5 instead of a 4 because I assume to be to hard on her, ma belle bleue à moi, and because from what I saw, it's one of the best commercial brand of bleue.

P.S. : Was prepared with something like a 3.5 water, 2 little piece of sugar (equivalent of a cube) for 1 dose (30ml) of Clandestine. At a bar. In Mtl, Quebec... I will try it without sugar next time, it would surely farthers it away from pastis, since it's quite anisée. I like anis a lot, but I suppose to taste the subtilities it would be better to make it without sugar. Now the music is better, less loud, and my absinthe is nearly finished, I'm sad but happy at the same time, I don't want to finish it. Have to go but want another. To poor... The music is becoming louder, I should go away and leave with the souvenir of my bleue and of this night. Now.

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo