Reviews written by dakini_painter

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by dakini_painter     May 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A very good absinthe

I bought a 4 oz sample of the first release of the Sirène through the generosity of Poor. This is the third glass I've had from my sample, diluted at 4:1 without sugar. The synopsis is that Sirène is a very well crafted absinthe very much in the traditional manner with the lead role played by various citrus notes backed up with traditional herbs. It's a very drinkable absinthe.



The color before water seems a little darker than expected and a bit towards the yellow end of the spectrum. It's totally natural, nothing artificial about it at all. There's some brown notes (not the amber of feuille mort) that make the color a little less pleasant than it could be. The color after water seems lighter than it would otherwise be given where it starts. So it ends up with a nice pale white-green color.



The louche is fine. It could be a bit thicker and have more interesting appearance. But I'm being picky.



The aroma is dominated by the citrus notes. I don't find much in the way of coloring herb aroma, or it's just subsumed under the dominant aroma. There's nothing unpleasant, not sign of funk or anything like that. Very clean. I can't give it a 4 as it seems so dominant in one direction.



The flavor, is like the aroma dominated by the citrus. But there's much more going on here. There's the orange and lemon flavors with hints of grapefruit, anise and fennel sweetness, with balm and mint. Some wormwood is there as well. Being clean and light, it's a very refreshing and very easily drinkable absinthe. The flavor is the best part of this absinthe, and that's the way it should be.



The finish is nice and clean, leaves a bit a numbing on the tongue, but because the citrus dominates to my taste it's less interesting than it could be.



I don't see this as an "almost perfect" absinthe, so I can't give it a 4. But it's beyond the mere "acceptable, shows promise" of a 3. Personally I'd rate it 3.5. It's quite good and worth considering. I like it.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by dakini_painter     April 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Not like an absinthe

I received a sample of LTV from a friend. It was sent in an amber bottle, so I couldn't see the color. I poured out a 20 ml dose, and watered 4:1.

I actually laughed out loud at the color when I poured it into the glass. It's completely artificial. On that basis perhaps I should have rated it a "2", however the color wasn't green, but some kind of blue green, a turquoise color. After some thought, I'll keep it at a 1 simply because I actually laughed.

LTV louches, but ends up being kind of transparent in some ways, but in others it seems opaque. Like I can't actually see through it. If I hold an absinthe spoon in the middle of the glass of louched absinthe it is hazy, and on the far side of the glass I only see the spoon a little. There is no opaline character to the louche, but there was a nice band separating the louched from unlouched drink that went on for a while.

The aroma begins to tell you that something isn't right. Room filling but with a minty mouthwash aroma. There's no detectable alcohol aroma, just this head cleaning mint (eucalyptus I believe).

The taste. Laughing again. The flavors are very thin. Like a lightly flavored vodka perhaps. That mint aroma is very strongly there in the flavor of course. There are at least two other flavors that I notice, but they aren't familiar to me. A strong citrus note, lemony comes to mind. I can't give this a "1" as the taste isn't unpleasant per se. It really seems more like a mouthwash. There isn't any harsh alcohol burn, so that's good. Now it's effecting my nasal passages. Yes it's eucalyptus. I can see I'm not going to finish this glass of "absinthe". I am going to rate this a "1" as I drink a bit more the flavors become more unpleasant.

The finish recedes quickly (thankfully) but not quickly enough, so I had to rate this a "1" because it's so wrong. It's not like a finish of absinthe. There ends up being some bitter notes on the tongue. Not AA like bitterness, but more like you bit on a lemon peel. After a while there's some numbing on the outer gums which is definitely not normal. The mintiness of the eucalyptus gets on the tongue and into the nose. Now I hope the finish will go away because it's just not what it's supposed to be.

I don't detect any wormwood. Not much anise, or the eucalyptus so overpowers everything else in this drink that it's really eucalypte not absinthe. This beverage could be fixed. If the other qualities had been more absinthe-like, I could forgive the funny color. I kept wanting to give a "2" in a rating, but as I drank it, it became more and more unpleasant. This was true with the aroma, taste and finish. If the finish didn't linger so long (over the course of drinking it) it would be more tolerable.

I'd say overall it doesn't qualify as absinthe. As an absinthe it's unacceptable = "1". As an unusual beverage there may be people who will find the eucalyptus/mint flavor pleasant I presume. I did not. In the end I poured my drink out. I doubt I drank even 1/3rd of it. If you're looking for absinthe, you'll have to try another brand.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by dakini_painter     April 08, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

drinkable, but anise dominant

I received a 4 oz sample of the St George from a friend. I think it is the second batch. It was diluted 4:1.



The color out of the bottle was a nice amber feuille mort, very nice. Clear, clean, without sediment.



I'm only rating the louche a "3" as it was far too fast, and too heavy. Looking at the finished louche there are some golden highlights within it, and some blueness at the air-water interface. But I just didn't find the louche action itself very interesting. It just went very quickly to a heavy opaque cloud rising from the bottom.



I rated the aroma only "3" again as it really wasn't very strong, or floral. Definitely seems like some alcohol on the aroma and some other notes. But it wasn't something to make you say oh, that's nice, and promise something for when you drink it.



On the flavor, a "3" again. It's mostly star anise, which is much less interesting than green anise, with some brandy notes, and a bit of the other herbs. There's no wormwood to speak of that I can tell. When I took the first sip, swirled it around, chewed it, my response was "That's it?" Lots of tongue numbing from the star anise, but at least it doesn't scrape across the tongue leaving incisions in it's wake like star anise can do. There's no sense of tails, and the drink is quite smooth. So it's very drinkable.



Again a "3" for the finish. Too much star anise, some tingling, a little bit of the mouth saying "yes that's nice". But I can feel that it's fading already. In a couple minutes it may be gone.



Overall a "3". I couldn't find myself giving it a "2" as I did finish my drink. I didn't find it as terrible as my friend. It's somewhat unusual, but I really find the major flaw to be too much reliance on star anise. More AA would be good, but it really seems more like what pastis might be like. Maybe a very good one. I'm not so familiar with pastis so I can't comment further.



If I was going to buy just absinthes available on my local store shelves, I would keep this around. It's certainly well made, and a pleasant, easy to consume drink. If the flavor and finish were more like absinthe, and there were more of those qualities, I'd probably rate it a "4". Because it's so anethole dominant, it probably doesn't seem as weird as some have said. At least not to me.

Reviewed by dakini_painter     October 11, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

A great absinthe

As others have said, this is a wonderful absinthe. This glass was from the 1914 cache and was watered at 3.5:1 without sugar, using a brouilleur.



Wow. The color is a delicate dead leaf amber, perfectly clear and bright. Once water is added the green hints become apparent and the spectacle of what a louche should be appears. An amazing sight beginning with oil trails, then a beautiful hazy ball of milky absinthe at the bottom, followed by greater milkiness with very distinct banding between the louched and unlouched absinthe. At last, the louche wins. While appearing to be fairly dense, the louche has an opalescence that puts the current batch of modern absinthes to shame.



Truly, the colors of a glass of this absinthe are equal to the sunset.



The aroma was very nice, but compared to the flavor, the aroma is not why one wants a glass of this absinthe.



The flavor is quite magical and goes well beyond the dual Trinities of a mere text. This is the work of a master craftsman, and has only benefitted from the effects of Time. The tongue numbing is pleasant from both fennel and wormwood and perhaps more. A delicate mintiness teases and lingers long in the finish. There is a wonderful candy-like flavor pairing sweetly with a hint of licorice. I'm sorry if I've failed to convey all the taste and pleasure this absinthe brings, for my skills with words are pathetic and weak.



I'm glad they banned this absinthe. Otherwise, I'd wander the streets gathering what coin I could find - or steal - just so I could have another glass.



(Just kidding on the stealing part.)

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by dakini_painter     October 10, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Jade Absinthe Edouard

Jade Absinthe Edouard from Feb 2006. Diluted at 3.5:1, without sugar, using a brouilleur.



The color is a very clear and bright pale green, leaning towards the blue. In other words, it is not an olive green, but more of an emerald green. There is no trace of "dead leaf" color. After 20 months the color before water is a little paler than I remember, but the change is slight. The color after water maintains it's emerald green within the milkiness of the louched absinthe. It's a very nice shade of green.



Using a brouilleur means that my comments regarding the louche are less than perfect. It's difficult to control the drip to really see the louche develop as one can using a fountain. Regardless, the louche is very nicely done. Beginning with a grand display of oil trails, slowly transitioning to milkiness. The result really isn't as opalescent as you'd like it to be. Perhaps the lighting in my house is not so good. As I approached the bottom of the glass the opalescence really started to show itself. So I'd guess that bit more transparency in the louche would have allowed that to shine forth.



The aroma is very nice. I've never noticed the so-called "funk" in the Edouard that others say they notice. There's no real alcohol bite that I can tell.



The flavor is one of the Edouard's strong points. A rich mouthfeel, with a number of flavors mingling and separating it's quite a delight. The sweet fennel is a bit over the top though.



I never really noticed this before with the Edouard, but the tongue numbing (from the fennel) is quite strong. At least it is tonight, for me. I actually deducted a point for it.



I've always enjoyed the Jade Edouard, and tonight is no exception. It is one of the best absinthes available today (Oct 2007). I always pull it out when I am looking to drink something special. The Edouard was my first absinthe, and one I always suggest to friends new to absinthe to try.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by dakini_painter     September 26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

La Ptite

This particular bottle was perhaps a year old. The dilution was 4:1 (water:absinthe).



This absinthe is a blanche, and it is very clear, bright and transparent. No sediment was visible. This absinthe was louched using a brouilleur. The louche began with a nice display of oil trails and soon the characteristic milkiness developed. There are nice highlights of opal, but perhaps this could be a bit stronger. The aroma was delightful; truly the "Alpine meadow".



The flavor is very nice. Obviously there is anise, but also hyssop, chamomile, and several other notes that I didn't recognise. Perhaps the fennel is a local one?



The finish was nice. I kept thinking was this a "3" or a "4"? The numbing from star anise was a bit annoying, but the wormwood bitterness (distilled, not macerated) was present in the finish. It teased one into having another sip.



Soon, much too soon, my absinthe was gone. La Ptite is a very refreshing drink. And one I really enjoyed.

6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo