Reviews written by accountant

25 results - showing 1 - 25
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     January 06, 2011
Last updated: January 06, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Full Monty

Color- Dark peridot that is very vibrant- no sediment but there is just a hint of haze

Louche- Slow transition to a louche. Rather weak. Ends in green and gold refractions with light blue streaks.

Aroma- Wormwood & spice, some vanilla and mint. Very medicinal rather than herbaceous. I can’t detect much anise or fennel. Hints of Chinese five spice as well.

Flavor- Wormwood, flowery citrus and baking spices. Again, it appears to be missing some anise and fennel. All of these flavors come together to remind me of Angostura bitters.

Finish- Lingering wormwood, spice. At the same time the finish is soft and fruity. Very nice.

Overall- Enjoyable, even though the absinthe doesn’t take on a traditional profile. I can enjoy the idiosyncrasies and still know I’m actually drinking absinthe. I’m thinking this would be best consumed around the holidays due to the spicy attributes.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     November 03, 2010
Last updated: November 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Wormwood forward- Awesome

Color- Deep peridot- spot on with no sediment
Louche- Light green and gold refractions. Not overly thick and some green & gold refractions are present under natural sunlight

Aroma- Wormwood first and foremost. Crisp with hints of fennel. Some flowery notes. I think it’s very expansive though I would like more complexity in my opinion.

Flavor- Wormwood and tea-like hints. Masculine but includes some flowery tones that remind me of L’Italienne. Fruity and velvety at first, then it dies down more crisp and spicy. Not sure if it’s coriander or not but I like it. Extremely complex and rich (with correct watering)

Finish- The finish lasts forever. Fruity wormwood remains concentrated on the middle of the tongue with spicy notes. Very impressive as I’ve found most finishes in other absinthes are anise-heavy to my palate.

Overall- Powerpbacked absinthe. One of the best I’ve tried. I’ll let the bottle age a bit and re-review. I’d recommend picking up a few more bottles for the absinthe cellar.

I’d recommend no more than a 3 to 1 water ratio. It’s still a great absinthe at higher dilutions, but the herbal ‘pop’ might be lost, as indicated by other reviewers.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     August 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Another winner from Matter

Color- Deep inviting forest green. No Sediment
Louche- Slow transition with a defined meniscus. Green blue refractions under natural sunlight. The louche might be a tad too thick at the end.

Aroma- Anise with a carmely/powdery smell. Certainly reminds me of some Jade products. Well balanced and savory.

Flavor- Comingling of sweet anise and wormwood is perfect . Powdery hyssop mixes with the carmel flavors and herbaceous notes and is unique. I would rate the taste as more robust than fresh. Very complex and enjoyable.

Finish- Wormwood and hyssop leads into anise. Medium lasting but complex while it lasts.

Overall- A fine addition to the Matter line up of absinthes. AO Spare reminds me of a Jade in a lot of ways but is definitely unique in the combination of flavors. Well done.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     June 16, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Needs revision

Color- Bright green but something about it makes it too artificial. No sediment.

Louche- Thick oil trails. Meniscus present until about a 2 to 1 ration. Too thick when completed. Extremely green for a fully louched absinthe.

Aroma- Anise with cucumbers and pine. A fair amount of alcohol heat. Not much else going on and it’s quite imbalanced.

Flavor- Cucumbers, pine and astringent wormwood/alcohol. It’s not the worst tasting thing in the world; just way too peculiar and one-dimensional for an absinthe.

Finish- Very basic with a candy-like anise aftertaste. No other lingering flavors to be found. I didn’t find the wormwood to be too harsh as others have noted.

Overall- Not very enjoyable in a typical absinthe drip. If you happen to procure a bottle I would recommend using it in cocktails.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     May 05, 2010
Last updated: May 08, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Fantastic Blanche

Color- Perfectly clear. No tint or sediment
Louche- Slow forming; blues, grays, and gold opalescence when fully louched. When louched under natural sunlight purple streaks are formed

Aroma- Lemon balm with wormwood. This absinthe is both fresh and earthy at the same time. The interesting aspect of this absinthe is the addition of a baking spice scent. It reminds me of ginger snap cookies of all things. This all creates a very interesting combination

Flavor- Pungent and flavorful wormwood. Green anise with a slight alcohol bite. Again, there is an accumulation of baking spices that adds a new dimension compared to other blanches I’ve tried. Powdery flavors and fennel also add to the complexity.

Finish- The finish is dominated by the a bouquet of floral wormwood. This slowly gives way to some citrus notes

Overall- I’ve tried about four blanches so far and this is by far the best. Interesting take on such a traditional product yet manages to stay classy.

Note- From 'Essai #5' July 2009 distillation

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     April 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Surprisingly Great

Color- Inviting peridot. A tad too weak but attractive.

Louche- Not too many oil trails but more of a slow transformation of cloudiness with a sizable miniscus until about a 2:1 ratio. Correct opalescense when fully louched.

Aroma- Very rounded aroma of Wormwood & fennel. Multi-layered with herbacousnes that's covered with powdery hyssop and other herbs that I can't decipher. Interestingly, this reminds me a lot of PF 1901.

Flavor- Rounded just like the aroma. Expansive in the mouth. Wormwood and hyssop mix with flavors that are carmely and woody. Full bodied and balanced with nuanced flavors.

Finish- A bit of alcohol heat with the wormwood bite. Anise lens it's presence towards the end of the finish.

Overall- It appears to me that although almost everyone can agree that it's a well made absinthe some just don't like the flavor profile. I happen to enjoy it a great deal.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     March 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Highly complex absinthe

Color: Clear peridot that edges towards gold under certain types of light. No sediment.

Louche: Impressive layering right away but it ends completely opaque after a 1:1 ratio which is pretty fast. Pearly opalescence at the end. Color retains a nice jade green in the middle with gold refractions at the edges under lamp light.

Aroma: Very herbaceous with anise and fennel up front. Wormwood and spices come next. Aroma is not particularly strong but it’s appropriate and sets up the flavor nicely.

Flavor: Highly concentrated flavor on the middle of your tongue. Fennel and anise lend a sweetness while wormwood spiciness (with some dill) pulls your palate in another direction. Slightly powdery at the end of the drink.

Finish: Dill, which I believe
comes from the wormwood is mixed with anise for a candy like finish. The wormwood finish lasts quite a while and is a welcome change of pace where absinthe finishes are merely anise.

Overall: Another winner from Jade. I’d rank this behind PF 1901 for my own personal tastes but Edouard is a bit more complex. This is an intense and satisfying absinthe.

Notes: September 2009 bottling used for review

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     February 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Tastes Ok- less filling?

Color: attractive bright emerald green. There was a decent amount of sediment at the bottom of the bottle.

Louche: Cascading oil trails develop at first but I can never coax out a good louche. It is much too thin. Looks like soapy dish water or something.

Aroma: Fresh and wormwood forward with alcohol. Hints of vanilla and some chlorine every now and then. I can’t detect any anise or fennel.

Flavor: Flavor is wormwood but here I can detect a bit of anise. There’s just not much else going on. Any herbal tendencies are much too subdued for me to notice. Nothing stands out as peculiar; however I just wished it had more personality.

Finish: Pretty decent but dies down quickly. Wormwood lingers but changes to a more flower and fruity taste. It actually kind of reminds me of cotton candy

Overall: I feel like the producers played it safe and have made an ‘absinthe-light’ product. Again, there is nothing off-putting but there is a lack of complexity and robustness. I think they’re going in the right direction but they need to tweak it and add some character.

Notes: I would advise not to water pass a 3 to 1 ratio. If you do you’ll probably ruin the drink and it will taste like flavored water.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     February 04, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Solid, better than average Verte

Color: Very attractive peridot. Deep and inviting with perfect clarity.

Louche: Thick billowing trails starting from the top of the glass. A very bright green meniscus that ends at around 3/1 water ratio. A cross between jade and lime juice when fully louched. I haven’t seen it yet in natural sunlight however.

Aroma: Very powerful sweet/fruity anise which is followed by an earthy undertone of wormwood. Every now and then I smell a slight funk but this is tough to distinguish from the earthy characters. I also get hints of dill in this absinthe.

Flavor: Assertive wormwood wrapped in more ‘Juicy Fruit’ anise. I again detect a decent dill presence in the flavor with some fennel. Towards the end the flavor is earthier. I like how the earthiness and fruitiness come and go; they intertwine well and make for an interesting drink

Finish: Candy-like anise once more. Very interesting that it includes fennel as well. It doesn’t last long enough which is surprising for such a robust flavored absinthe.

Overall: I think this is a very good absinthe. It has all of the characteristics of a quality verte. It’s a pretty good value for folks looking to enjoy a traditional verte.

I enjoyed this best with a 3.5 to 1 water ratio and a sugar cube.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     January 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Distinctive Berger Clone

Distinctive Berger Clone

Color- Clear and inviting green that is edging more towards a straw-like color. A tad light compared to other Jade’s. No sediment in any of the glasses I’ve been pouring.

Louche- Good billowing oil trails starting at the bottom of my Pontarlier glass. It louches fast but ends with really nice blue refractions when looking at it in natural sunlight.

Aroma- Robust and creamy hyssop and fennel. The wormwood pokes out every now and than too and adds a great layer of complexity. Everything intertwines perfectly.

Flavor- Wormwood first and foremost. It lends a heavy but appropriate earthy/green bite. Candy-like anise towards the back of the throat is nice. The mouth feel may be just a tad too thin.

Finish- The wormwood starts off and eventually dies down to anise and reminds me of confectioners sugar. The anise stays for a while.

Overall- Extremely well crafted absinthe. Verte Suisse is really multi-faceted. A glass without sugar really brings out the complexities of the wormwood but when some sugar is used other herbs are brought out and the mouth feel is much more robust. I’d like to compare this to the original Berger pre-ban!

Reviewed by accountant     December 02, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Artisanal Quality

Color: Inviting and clear emerald. No sediment in the pour or bottom of the bottle.

Louche: Attractive louche when completed. Decent opalescence and oil trails when louching.

Aroma: Prominent fennel anise & hyssop. Nicely rounded and fresh smelling. The aroma actually reminds me of Meadow of Love but without the flowery overtones.

Flavor: Bright cheery and crisp that is heavy on the lemon balm. Hyssop and crisp wormwood round out the flavors. I think the lemon was a tad too aggressive for my taste.

Finish: Lemony and crisp finish reminded me of the flavor.

Overall: Another quality offering from Delaware Phoenix. I guess I’m a little spoiled with the Meadow of Love but this is still a well-constructed absinthe; you can taste the quality in every sip.

Note: I noticed that this absinthe is quite ‘durable.’ The herbal complexities are still especially present when louched with 5+ parts water.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     November 03, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Crisp

Color- Nice amber with golden highlights. No sediment

Louche- Oil trails were good. Very good coloring that includes a rainbow of light green, golds & blues. I have to deduct a point since it was much too thin.

Aroma- A melding of mint & genepy takes centerstage. It’s hard to pick out anything else but it’s very pleasant.

Flavor- The tea-like genepy, anise & fennel are prominent. The taste is crisp and refreshing with the wormwood & mint.

Finish- Genepy & anise die down to a crisp wormwood/mint finish after an initial sweetness. Very nice.

Overall- I don’t think the genepy taste is really my thing, but this is still a nicely formulated absinthe nonetheless.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     October 02, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

v.3 - Nice mid-range verte

Color- Inviting peridot with light gold edges under natural light. No sediment at all in the sample bottle.

Louche- Very nice think cascading trails right off the bat with a slow pour but it ends too soon and may be a tad too thick when finished.

Aroma- Sweet anise & fennel with some herbs I’ve never smelled before. It’s nice but some points need to be deducted since it’s undetectable after a minute.

Flavor- Overall I would say this is both fresh and flowery- probably due to the wormwood. There’s a decent amount of quality anise & fennel mid palate and ends with a creamy finish. There’s an herb in here that I can’t pick out (probably veronica as Brian points out) that lends a tea-like creaminess to the flavor.

Finish- Minty & fresh with a bit of fennel. I would describe the finish as a tad drying/bitter as opposed to sweet. Somewhat long lasting as well.

Overall- Congrats to Martin for putting together a quality absinthe from the Czech Republic. I’m looking forward to this being available in the states. Hopefully other Czech ‘absinthe producers’ can take note.

Reviewed by accountant     August 25, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

I'll be getting more of this

Color- Crystal clear forest green with no sediment. Natural and bright.

Louche- Oil trails billowing down then back up after hitting the bottom of my glass. Perfect opalescence at around 3.5 parts water to 1 part absinthe.

Aroma- The anise combines with some flowery overtones when louching. I get some vanilla notes too. I would have liked it to be stronger.

Flavor- Flavor is soft and powdery. Hyssop nicely cradles the holy trinity of herbs. The wormwood is assertive but soft/floral notes take over. It reminds me of a quality blanche in some ways. I think mouth feel is just a tad thin but the addition of sugar helps round things out.

Finish- It tastes like a mixture of mint and Juicey Fruit gum then leads to a more straightforward anise/fennel taste.

Overall- Awesome absinthe. I’ll have to agree with others that this is a ‘dessert’ absinthe. More floral then herbaceous. More soft then pungent. I’m looking forward to trying the Walton Waters next.

Notes- I liked this most with 3.5 parts water and a bit of sugar.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     July 21, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Great Starter Absinthe

Color- Thin green. A little bit hazy as well. No sediment and it’s leaning towards a nice peridot.

Louche- It takes a while to develop and is a welcome change from some ‘premature’ star anise louches that are over in an instant. Decent refractions and a nice green tinge at the edge of the glass.

Aroma- Fennel and anise dominate with a bit of ‘dirty sock’ funk that brings it down a notch

Flavor- Heavy on the fennel with the anise in equal measure. Decent wormwood bite mid palate. A nice creamy mouth feel is interrupted by some peppery aftertastes that are kind of annoying. I can detect the ‘saltiness’ as others have noted.

Finish- Lingers for a while but is nothing but pure anise. Doesn’t leave a sense of complexity in the mouth.

Overall- This is a decent verte and is a good place to start absinthe tasting. Decent value depending on where you buy it.

Reviewed by accountant     May 31, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

High Quality US Absinthe

Color- Very nice green. Not a true peridot but closer to a more pale ‘green amethyst’ like color. There are a few sprinkles of sediment at the bottom of the glass.

Louche- Oil trail action starts at about 1/1. Nothing too crazy in terms of cascading explosions. A little weak but I’m really nitpicking. There are pretty gold and blue refractions under natural light.

Aroma- I get a sweet, candy-like vanilla scent. Very refined and not cheap smelling at all. Deeper aromas of anise, fennel and melissa invite you to start drinking this stuff.

Flavor- Anise, fennel and a mid-palate wormwood bite are all in harmony here. Different depths of melissa are present depending on the sip. Some mint and hyssop round out the flavors and linger on to the finish. This absinthe is both savory and fresh at the same time. Very pleasant and extremely complex- I’m having trouble picking out all of the flavors and describing them.

Finish- I primarily get anise and melissa with some quality wormwood bite. One of the longest finishes I’ve experienced.

Overall- This is a top-tier absinthe. A few improvements in the color or louche would put this in the elite category. This is a great value, at least in the ‘absinthe world.’ Pick it up.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     May 20, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Solid go-to absinthe

Color- Very natural. Close to a deep green with some tendencies towards gold. Some haziness is preventing a 5.

Louche- Gets cloudy really quickly and is quite thick until the louche is finished. I couldn’t see any oil trails and such but my lighting was kinda dark too.

Aroma- Essences of sweet anise and mint. It reminds me of mint gum. Some hints of tropical fruit and powdery overtones add some complexity.

Flavor- Great mixture of anise and tropical fruit notes right away. Wormwood towards the back of the tongue is paired with mint. That is a very nice combination. The mouth feel is pretty decent as well.

Finish- Fruity anise lingers for a long time. Wormwood bitterness sets in and again is paired with mint. Really quality finish.

Overall- Extremely drinkable absinthe. Very solid in all areas. It misses the “wow” factor but would be great as a “go-to” addition to the cabinet. A great summer absinthe as others here have stated. I’m thinking the mint notes may make this perfect to adding to a mojito? The price is right on this absinthe as well. Terrific value.

Notes- Minor complaint but I agree regarding the wax covering. It took me a while to chisel off the wax using a steak knife…. I just wanna drink it!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     May 17, 2009
Last updated: May 18, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Original and tasty blanche!

Color- Clear, no tint or sediment.

Louche- Billowing clouds that start from the top. Becomes opaque rather quick but later watering includes refractory highlights of blues, purples and greys. Yellows are also present under natural light at the meniscus.

Aroma- room filling with a slow and extremely cold drip from my fountain. I get hints of anise, wormwood and lemon balm.

Flavor- Lemon balm, anise and wormwood all at the forefront. Fennel appears later on. This blanche doesn’t seem to be as “fresh” as other blanches but seems more in line with vertes with more “savory” tastes. However, towards the bottom of the glass Kallnacher more closely resembles a blanche with a significant fennel presence that is clean. Mouth feel is just right in my opinion.

Finish- Really nice off the bat with anise rounded out with lemon balm but it recedes too quickly. I put lots of significance in a quality finish.

Overall- really tasty, a bit different then your typical blanche. I’m really glad I gave it a try. Pick it up, or order it online.

Note- I really recommend letting this breathe for a while. Initial tastings had significant “funkiness” that wasn’t present after about six tastings. Tasting done with a 3 to 1 water ratio with a half sugar cube.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     May 10, 2009
Last updated: February 21, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Pretty woman..... walking down the flowerpath

Color- Very rich golden green with slight amber tones. Deep and inviting with no sediment.

Louche- No swirly clouds or crazy layering. Extremely slow transition due to the use of quality green anise, in my opinion. Beautiful color when louched. It consists of gold and greens.

Aroma- Very flowery and perfumy. It’s like nothing I’ve ever smelled before. I get a whiff of anise, fennel and a Chinese spice I can’t quite put my finger on. It’s lavender and velvety throughout. This is outstanding.

Flavor- I get a good dose of green anise and a mixture of more flowers and perfume. Not an overpowering floral taste but a flavor that compliments the basic flavors of absinthe. It has a real feminine taste but it maintains assertiveness as others have noted. Powdery flavors transition to a peppery wormwood bite at the back of the tongue. The wormwood used is quality and the flavor is crisp.

Finish- This drink makes my mouth happy. Anise, flower and spicy notes are in full bloom at finish. They last pretty long. Only a small amount of tongue numbing.

Overall- I really like this absinthe. Definitely in my top 3. Everything is in balance. The transitioning of flavors is very unique. However, this may not appeal to everyone as it’s unconventional compared to most others on the market. If you’re looking for more floral flavors check this out. It is very distinctive and classy.

Notes- Louched with 3.5 parts water. This is the 1st edition of L'Italienne. Use a REALLY slow and cold drip in order to coax out the louche.

Score update on 2/21/10- In fairness, I changed the 'overall' score from 5 to 4.

Absinthe Substitutes
Reviewed by accountant     May 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Meh....

Color- Fake Looking. Attractive but just too neon. No sediment. No surprises considering artificial coloring is utilized.

Louche- Decent swirling clouds dropping form the top of the glass. I didn’t expect that.

Aroma- Just a small amount of anise and its almost undetectable.

Flavor- All that I detect is star anise. Really one-dimensional. There isn’t anything offensive about the taste but we can say the same thing about water.

Finish- Slight numbing. The finish is really bitter and drying. Unpleasant with the one-dimensional anise note.

Overall- If you get stuck with a bottle (I did for my birthday- thanks anyway bro) use it for some anise based drinks. No need to buy with all of the quality offerings available.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     May 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Nice, creative absinthe!

Color- Light brown, looks slightly like watered-down brandy. Darker then any absinthe I've seen. No sediment. Probably not to everyone's liking but I think it's pretty nice.

Louche- Thick, swirling clouds developing from the top. Thin meniscus lasts till about 1.5 OZ of water.

Aroma- Very very bad representation of this absinthe. There is a decent mixture of herbs but I continually take in a fake "plasticy" cinnamon-like smell. This may be to the extensive amount of herbs used.

Flavor- Much improved over the aroma. Anise starts off on the tip of your tongue and a multitude of vegetable spiciness coats your mouth during the finish. A bit of wormwood pinch at the end. I like this.

Finish- Basil, fennel and a mixture of other herbs are present. There is a bit of tongue numbing and the finish is VERY savory. Kind of like a quality mixture of spices on a roast. What didn’t work well for the aroma and flavor worked perfectly for the finish. Very long. I’m impressed.

Overall- This is a good American-made absinthe. It is very unique and the flavor profile is creative. However, this stuff is way overpriced compared to other offerings available on the internet. If you find it for a good price add it to your cabinet.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     April 07, 2009
Last updated: May 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Time to restock

This tasting occured in April with a bottle purchased in March. The batch # is 18.

Color- Similar to an olive oil & slightly lighter then La Coquette when looking at both side by side. No sediment in this bottle. I like the natural look.

Louche- Slight trails, slow to develop but once it does it reaches opacity fast. The most intriguing louche occured with a fast fountain drip of ice cold water.

Aroma- Alpine, very gin-like. Fennel and anise in the background. Kinda simple for my taste.

Flavor- Again, alpine and gin-like. Wormwood is front and center. Anise shows up here and there. Citrus notes as well. It tastes like juniper was mixed with melissa. Very tasty, if just a tad unbalanced.

Finish- Similar to the flavor but much more flowery/fruity. It really opens up and shows more complexity then the flavor. My favorite part of this absinthe!

Overall- Decent verte. Tasty and available locally here in the windy city. Give this some time to air out though; initial tastings were too gin-like as others here have noted. They subdued in a week or so of continuous opening/drinking! Time to purchase a few more bottles....

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     March 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

I want a refund- Really

Wow this stuff sucks big time. I got suckered into buying Mythe from the guy at Sam's Wine & Spirits. He owes me about $100. $30 for the small bottle and the other $70 for pain and suffering. Seriously- I was second-guessing every drink of absinthe I had for a few weeks because of this poo.

Color- Not too bad actually- some sediment, however it is natural looking. It's not a very deep & inviting olive color either.

Louche- Very slow and translucent like the other reviewer states. No trails whatsoever.

Aroma- Very off-putting chemical/vinegar smell. The smell starts off interesting but ends with a funky incense that is really weird and reminds me of the smell of spit. Disgusting

Flavor- Just like the aroma. Need I say more?

Finish- Ok right off the bat, but continues to be extremely peppery and bitter- really bad and rancid bitter that is just annoying and continues... and continues........

Overall, this is the first absinthe that I have had to dump- I should have heeded the advice of fellow Wormwood Society members.... sorry....

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     March 19, 2009
Last updated: May 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Writing This Review Makes Me Want to Have Another

Color- Very natural Green/yellow color. Deeper than an olive oil. Of coarse it's not a vivid peridot but I like the change of pace from the PF1901.

Louche- Great oil trails. At about 1/1 the reservoir is thick yellow/white & the top of the glass has thick white tendrils falling through the original unlouched color of green/yellow. Very nice.

Aroma- Citrusy with a medicinal wormwood smell. Light amounts of fennel, anise & other herbs I can't make out are present. Maybe the Citrus comes from coriander?

Flavor- Again it tastes like it smells. Fennel and anise in the background rounded out with the wormwood. Citrusy right off the top. I think the flavors could have been more 'rounded' or 'soft'. Maybe I'm just not as familiar with this flavor profile type.

The finish is probably the best part of this absinthe. The flavor stays on my tongue for what seems like forever. Citrusy (again) with a slight tongue numbing and 'bite'. The bite is just perfect however.

I really enjoyed this absinthe. I could see myself continuing to drink it on special occasions. Actually I'd like to drink it daily if the Visa balance wasn't so high..........

La Coquette was enjoyed with 3.5 parts water and a sugar cube.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by accountant     February 05, 2009
Last updated: September 17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Sure, I'll have another

The color is a beautiful peridot green. Clear, no sediment

The louche is probably the best I've seen. It starts off with a slow, snow-globe like flurry and the particles begin to explode like fireworks from the bottom of the glass (Ok I just miss the summer time 4th. of July festivities here in the windy city- it's freezing right now)

The anise is not as dominant as in other absinthes I've enjoyed. I love the aroma. I really get the fennel and I get this Italian sausage reminder when I smell it. Is it room filling? No I don’t think so but I don’t have a sensitive nose either.

The anise is slightly more in the forefront during tasting- along with a delicate arrangement of fennel & wormwood. I totally get the "baby powder" thing too! I like that. Pretty creamy mouthfeel. Just right.

The finish is quite similar to the flavor. It then dies down to some tongue numbing; just enough to remind you that you're drinking booze. I really get coriander on the finish as well. The finish may be a tad quick. I love the flavors that linger in this after indulging- I wish it would last longer.

Overall, I'd like to say that after getting this, I get home from work on a Friday night, started to pour and it made my week. This puts a big smile on my face. Quality

Note:
I’m still developing my palette for absinthe; I’ve tried about six decent brands so far. The tastings were enjoyed with 3 parts water and a half sugar cube.

Update: 9/17/09

I just cracked open another bottle of this and there may be some aging improvement from my first bottle. The aroma is a lot more tobacco-like and chocolaty/vanilla like a crème brulee. No difference that I can tell from the taste. Still #1 in my book, even after the other 14 or so absinthes I’ve tried. No change in scoring.

25 results - showing 1 - 25
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo