Reviews written by Leichenwagen

7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     January 03, 2013
Last updated: January 04, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.5

Absinthe Soixante Cinq or 55 for 65 to win!

I enjoy the absinthes offered by the Devoille distillery but they are unique tastewise in comparison to other distillers. I know of no other brand with a similar taste profile but one thing is certain they do offer a decent absinthe experience at a reasonable price often lower than most other brands.

Absinthe Soixante Cinq is no exception. For a modest 55$ US you get an interesting absinthe experience with artisan expertise .

The Tasting : 4:1 dilution with one sugar cube

Appearance: Organic and attractive but almost cognac-like in its coloration. Still green but appraoaching brown

Louche: brown-green roiling tendrils extend from the top as the louche works its way from the bottom of the glass end coloration not as attractive as it could be due to its original dark hues.

Aroma: Nice honeyed vanilla notes that become more pronounced with the addition of water. A tinge of mint with stronger notes of fennel and anise.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: At 4:1 there was a bit of alcohol sting at first but later subsided. The vanilla-honeyed tones really are quite nice and are reminicent of Defougerolle Verte though not as strong. Enjoyable overall and expect to like it more over time.

Finish: Lingers well and the honey vanilla overtones really invite a second glass. I would like to taste more wormwood coming through in the profile but Soixante Cinq's herbal sweetness is quite pronounced.

Overall: Enjoyable and as mentioned before the taste is unique to Devoille absinthe offerings. I would still prefer the complexity of the Defougerolle Blanche though the 65% ABV provides a milder aternative.

A quality absinthe at a good price. It may not be the most memorable of the absinthes i've tasted but is enjoyable nonetheless. Considering the price to quality ratio. I'd recommend it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     December 12, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5

Sauvage: One for the Ages

Really wish I could get my hands on more of this!!!
I bought 3 bottles and thus far have managed to store one which I plan to drink with my youngest daughter when she is drinking age ( She's 7 now so its going to be hard wait). Unfortunately, I had better get that bottle out of sight because its too much of a temptation.

Color: Sunkissed yellow honey, very nice and attractive.

Louche: builds slow and best with the coldest of mountain spring water. Take your time don't rush this for both the louche and the flavor.

Aroma: Wormwood forward waves of scent nicely balanced by fennel and a spicy mintiness.

Flavor/mouthfeel: A tad on the bitter side but not as much as the Roquette 1797, infact it grows on you but likely not for the novice to absinthe unless they are prepared for it. Upon tasting just great vibrant wormwood flavors.

Finish: Complex, and wild and lingers nicely for some time.

Overall: A great product with an exciting marketing campaign that delivers on many levels. The distillation is unique and reveals the very best in special artisinal attention creating a truly unforgettable absinthe experience. The label and bottle design completes the entire package. If you can get a hold of a bottle somewhere somehow please send it my way. I miss this stuff!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     December 12, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Bland Authentique

Not very exciting for such a lovely bottle and label. I like Pernot products and services very much but this absinthe really missed the mark with me though it does carry the hallmarks of a good absinthe. Spoiler Alert: I've come to realize that no two absintheurs seem to see the same absinthe alike and individual tastes can count for alot in rendering a review but personally I like an absinthe whose botanicals really stand out and sadly I found Authentique rather understated in that department.

Color wise a light peridot with yellow highlights and while adequate personally I prefer deeper natural hues of green. The louche was rather thin and color and louche reminded me of a past bottle of Mansinthe which though not bad in itself is not one of the better absinthes one can purchase.

Aroma: Not room-fillling, just there with a nice wormwood anise blend with perhaps a mintiness as well.

Flavor/Mouthfeel: As I said before everything just seems a bit understaed. While the wormwood comes forward a bit and is quite tasty it all just feels too light in my mouth. Overall rather thin. The flavor is good but nothing there that really stands out.

Finish: The finish and after taste was the best part which seems to say to me that it is almost memorable but somehow misses the mark as nothing stands out and with its own identity.

Overall: Something to build on is there but frankly I was glad when the bottle was empty so I could enjoy and think about something else. Ultimately the real test is whether I'd buy this one again and I'd have to say most assuredly not. That said, I'm always looking forward to future products from the Pernot distillery ( The Sauvage was great!) though Authentique was not up to my expectations.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     November 10, 2010
Last updated: November 10, 2010
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Too many other good absinthes out there to bother

Color: Could be real but looks a little off on the yellow side.
Louche: slow weak and uninteresting
Aroma: candyish and a nasty alcohol sting (good and plenty meets alcool). No room filling aromas like a good absinthe should have.
Flavor: Not bad but there really is nothing herbal going on at all so nothing of interest to stimulate the palate.
Finish: I didn't notice.
Overall: much worse out there but so many better absinthes to choose from. This bottle will remain a cocktail ingredient for me because of its heavy anise properties.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     January 21, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

My favorite Duplais

Color: I really liked the color although i would have enjoyed a darker shade of green.
Louche: Was quickforming and a little on the light side
Aroma: Pleasant anise and citrus scent with little alcohol aroma
Flavor: I like this one much better than the stronger verte and as its name implies seems a great balance of wormwood and other herbs with the alcohol
Finish: Sweet anise and wormwood finish. Very nice.

I like this one best of the 3 duplais I have tried. Verte had a strong alcoholic kick but this seems just right.

* Recommended!!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     January 28, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Serpis! Better Red than dead!

This was one of the first absinthes I tried and is a nice satisfying drink at a decent cost. Whatever your opinion is about unnatural colors I still find it quite nice to have a red option in the cabinet. The louche is one of the most interesting points of this absinthe. It builds from the bottom and tendrils its way in interesting swirls. It finishes in a peach tint. Very strong on the anise with some striking fruity overtones its quite different from NS70 ( another Spanish offering) that uses mint. This is a good absinthe to introduce to beginners without breaking the bank in the process. At 30 Euros a liter, its a value. It does lack a herbal complexity but the fruity overtones gives it some of its own special merit. I liked it and I'd buy it again.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Leichenwagen     January 28, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A quality absinthe at a decent price.

The color of this absinthe can't quite be called a verte as its more of a pale yellow. The louche forms almost immediately so there really isn't much of a display to enjoy at all. Now that we have the crtitiques over with its all pretty good from here on with the aroma spreading nicely throughout the room . I didn't like the taste at first but I had only tried Spanish absinthes.I really grew to like this one though it would have been better if it was a little stronger. The anise is not so strong as one woould expect and the wormwood really gives it a bitter kick. There is something interesting going on as the absinthe had an almost rooty nutty quality I hadn't expected and this is what turned me off at the start. Very interesting and complex.I'd buy it again. The bottle also has a nice classic design that is a nice keeper.

7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo