Reviews written by Brian Robinson

165 results - showing 101 - 125
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     March 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A decent mid-range offering

Color: light green with hints of straw

Louche: using the lady fountain, I got some great layering. Louche was extremely thick: almost too thick.

Aroma: lots of anise with a touch of wormwood behind it. I can't make out much else due to the strength of the anise.

Flavor: First impression is nice, with a well rounded sweetness and bitterness playing out, but at the tail end, it does a 180 and has a bit of acridity.

Finish: There's something that I can't put my finger on, but I don't like it at all. Theres just a bit of lingering bitterness.

Overall: If the issue with the finish were to be corrected, this would be an enjoyable, mid-range absinthe that would probably work really well in an absinthe frappe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     March 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An interesting twist on the herb bill

Color: An inviting emerald green. Not as 'green' as most other Matter products.

Louche: wonderful layering produced by the fountain. Well formed, deep and opalescent.

Aroma: clean and fresh with lots of anise sweetness

Flavor: An interesting profile with an upfront sweetness that borders on cloying for me. I much more prefer a drier flavor. the taste evolves into a minty pepperiness that is enjoyable.

Finish: Extremely sweet, but enjoyable.

Overall: Not bad at all. A great insight into an absinthe made with non-traditional ingredients. I think most people could get away with not sugaring this one at all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     March 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A pretty decent offering, but could use some tweak

Color: An inviting deep green.

Louche: No real layering. Instead, more of a general build up. Turns out to be a very nice shade of light green.

Aroma: Very light and refreshing with hints of anise and fennel. Not as much wormwood as I'd expect in the nose. Undertones of fresh cut grass.

Flavor: More wormwood comes through in the flavor than in the nose. I'd like more anise and some earthy fennel to round it out a bit more. There's just a hint of some alcohol bite at the end.

Finish: The finish is enjoyable, but I had to penalize it because it recedes very quickly. I'd like it to hang around more.

Overall: Nice and spicy. An overall enjoyable beverage. Not a favorite of mine, but still good. There's no doubt its a quality brand.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     March 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

A typical Bohemian style profile

Color: An attractive, natural emerald hue.

Louche: Developes well. It ends up a tad thin, but still attractive. Still retains a greenish hue.

Aroma: Some anise and a uniquely distinctive black pepper aroma. Also a touch of alcohol heat at 3:1.

Flavor: It falls apart here. The anise starts of sweet and pleasant, but then you are assailed with the aggressive bitterness of what I can only take for macerated wormwood.

Finish: The same wormwood bitterness sticks at the back of the throat for longer than you'd like.

Overall: If Kyle would ever decide to start distilling his wormwood instead of macerating it, he could end up making some pretty decent stuff. Until then, I'll pass.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 13, 2009
Last updated: January 07, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Really good stuff

I was very pleased when I first pulled out this absinthe and poured a dose. First off, the packaging is great. The decanter style bottle adds a lot of class.

Color: A deep emerald/forest green. Maybe a bit too dark.

Louche: Using my fountain and Simon Pierce bubble glass, I got some remarkable trails and a nice thick (but not too thick) louche. It retains an inviting light green color when fully louched. I enjoyed it most at about 3.5:1.

Aroma: Lots of very nice anise and fennel with some minty wormwood in the background. Well balanced and refreshing.

Flavor and Finish: I really like how balanced this absinthe is. The fennel doux adds a nice light sweetness that plays well with the light anise and floral wormwood. The genepi adds a nice 'roundness' to the overall flavor and texture. The flavors linger on the tongue for quite a while.

Overall: It would be tough for people to not enjoy this absinthe. It's well balanced, light and still complex. Nothing out of the ordinary. I like that they used their first absinthe as a chance to represent a traditional flavor profile.

If you can pick up a bottle of this, I recommend doing so.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 08, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Refreshing and easy to drink.

I enjoy having a rouge every once in a while. The holidays are a perfect time, as is a hot summer day. It's a very refreshing, flowery beverage. Quite delicate.

The louche builds nicely. If done slow enough, a great layer will form along the top.

The aroma is light and interesting, but has just a tinge of funkiness, which reminds me a lot of other liquors that have flowers. It's not off putting, but not a normal aroma for an absinthe.

Flavor is light, sweet and delicate with hints of flowers and citrus mixed in with the normal absinthe flavors. The wormwood is a very flowery variety as well. Delicious.

The finish got a three only because it was SO light and receded quickly.


Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 08, 2009
Last updated: October 28, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

The US brands just keep getting better!

After trying a few of the prototypes, I was extremely excited to see this hit the shelves!

Color: A shade lighter than emerald. Similar to an unripened pear. Very attractive.

Louche: I got some significant layering using ice cold water and the fountain. Fully louched around 2.5:1. Well formed and deep.

Aroma: Powerful blending of herbs, with anise and wormwood at the forefront, with hints of citrus and flowers. It's a calming aroma.

Flavor: As others have mentioned, the wormwood is top notch. It adds a wonderful Alpine spiciness and floral boquet. The bitterness is just right. Not over the top, and not too far in the background. The great thing about this absinthe is that you can 'explore' its depth because it doesn't fall apart easily with overwatering. I tasted different things at each ratio, with all of them being enjoyable.

Finish: Creamy and smooth with touches of anise and allspice.

Overall: While this brand is very deep and complex, I can see it winning favor both with experienced absintheurs and newcomers alike. There isn't as much of a chance of screwing up the dilution ratio, which will make this brand very user friendly for novices. Very well done!

Vintage Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     October 02, 2008
Last updated: October 07, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Just plain fantastic

This was one of the most unique vintage absinthes I've ever tasted, mainly due to the louched color.

Color: Pre-louche, a deep dark fuille morte.

Louche: It louched up fairly quickly, but the most interesting part was how it changed color so dramatically. As it louched, it changed from the walnut brown color to a peach color. Intruiging to say the least. The layering was spot on. A beautiful sight to see.

Aroma: Lots and lots going on here. Fruity, with anise and top notch wormwood. You can also pick up some of that 'aged' old books smell that I adore.

Flavor: One of the most well balanced brands I've tried. The anise is dominant, but dances perfectly with the alpine freshness of the wormwood. It's aged wonderfully.

Finish: It stays with you for quite a while. The light astringence of the wormwood sits at the back of the tongue while the sweetness from the anise dominates the rest of the palate. You really just want to drink more.

Overall: All around, this is a top notch absinthe. I count myself extremely lucky not only to be able to taste this brand, but also to be able to see the wonderfully unique color of it as the louche built. I wish I had bought more.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

This absinthe is so easy to drink

This absinthe was extremely enjoyable.

Color: A very attractive deep green.

Louche: It didn't layer as much as I would hope, but it built up nicely and ended up deep and inviting.

Aroma: Very sweet, floral and inviting. The difference in the wormwood really does bring out the character in this absinthe. It's noticeably different from the aromas you'd get from Pontarlier wormwood. It's more floral and muted. Not as spicy. It works very well.

Flavor: The same relaxed, perfumey, floral character mentioned above brings itself over to the flavor as well. I think that even those people who think they must drink their absinthe with sugar would enjoy this without it. It's sweet, but not cloying, floral, but not overwhelmingly so. It ends with just a wisp of the wormwood bitterness.

Finish: It recedes a bit quicker than I would hope, but that's to be expected with the sublteness of the wormwood. It just makes you want to take that next sip all the more quicker.

Overall: I really like this absinthe. It's a departure from the normal, up-front bold abisnthes. This one is refined and glamorous. I can see myself drinking this seated at a sidewalk cafe in the dead of summer in Cortona. I couldn't ask for a better drink in that situation.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Needs a lot of work.

Color: Waaay too light. Almost a straw color.



Louche: I was happy with the louche. The layering is very pronounced. I think, due to the lightness of this absinthe, there may have been some tweaking to add this amount of louching.



Aroma: Not much there. Just a little anise, but it's so light.



Flavor: Unremarkable is the best I can say. It's so light, that after the tongue is numbed, it's almost like you're drinking flavored water.



Finish: The bitterness in the finish isn't as enjoyable as a well made absinthe should be. It's more astringent and acrid.



Overall: They really need to do some overhauling of the recipe if they want to make this competitive in the absinthe community. I hope they do, because the presentation creates a high expectation that isn't delivered upon.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 10, 2008
Last updated: May 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

I'm so happy drinking this...

Color: No sediment. A very intriguing and inviting deep green.

Louche: Much easier to coax out a louche than its cousin, Belle Amie. Great trails start immediately, bringing about a louche that starts at the bottom and creates a fantastic layering. An attractive opalescence with hints of greens, yellows, whites and blues.

Aroma: Not as complex as I was expecting, but very clean and crisp. Anise pairs nicely with a touch of minty wormwood.

Flavor: Sweet (even without sugar) but not cloying. The spiciness of the wormwood is preceded by the anise, with touches of white pepper and veronica in the end.

Finish: Nice finish that coats the tongue and lasts a long time. It stays with you, urging you to take another drink.

Overall: Another enjoyable addition to the line. One of my favorites.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Very nice stuff, indeed.

Color: I LOVE the color of this absinthe. A nice, dark, peridot. Very inviting.



Louche: The louche builds nice and thick with great trails. Not quite opalescent, but so so close.



Aroma: Clean and refreshing with floral and earth notes. Reminiscent of a forest after a spring rain. High quality anise comes through well.



Flavor: Vegetal and sweet rounded out with nice anise and minty wormwood. Herbaceous.



Finish: A tad bit hot, but I think that might be due more to underwatering than anything else. The refreshing bitterness from the wormwood stays on the tongue for a while. The sweetness of the anise recedes rather quickly, leaving only the wormwood.



Overall: I was very pleasantly surprised with this absinthe. Not having heard much about it, I think it's worthy of being in ANY absinthe collection.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 10, 2008
Last updated: September 24, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

At the top of Spanish offerings

I was very excited to try this absinthe, having a soft spot in my heart for Spanish absentas. The newest version, which I received on 9/24/08 is a dramatic improvement to the first release I tasted.



Color: A vibrant, attractive peridot green.



Louche: Very nice looking louche, building well, and ending thick and attractive.



Aroma: Floral and sweet with a nice hint of anise. The wormwood is somewhat subdued, but not in a bad way.



Flavor: The flavor is much more light and refreshing than the original Spanish offering. I really enjoy it. The anise is pleasantly sweet. Not cloying at all. The wormwood plays a nice supporting role, adding a light bitterness with pairs nicely with the mint. The mint is subtle, just lending a bit more assertiveness to the wormwood.



Finish: Here's where we see the most dramatic improvement. The finish is sweet and lingers in the back of your mouth. Again, just a touch of wormwood. I can see where they would call this a 'feminine' absinthe. This isn't an absinthe I'd turn to on a cold winter's night. It's more something I'd either drink in the summer, or with a meal.



Overall: It's nice to see an absinthe that Spain can proudly call their own. This is worthy of being in anyone's collection.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 06, 2008
Last updated: November 02, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Batch 28: A favorite of mine

This review has been edited tin include my thoughts on recent batches and how they compared to the original review of Batch 4.
UPDATED REVIEW:
Color: I was very excited to see the new color of this absinthe. Obviously the coloration step was cut down dramatically, leading to a much cleaner, brighter, vibrant emerald green. Very inviting.

Louche: As I expected, the louche has now become spot on. Very nice trails, good layering and a nice, milky green final product.

Aroma: This has also improved with the lighter coloration. The coloring herbs aren't as dominant. You can pick up more anise as well.

Flavor: Definitely more anise in this batch, while the wormwood still stay in the forefront. Packs a punch from the white pepper taste of coriander, but not at all in a bad way.

Finish: The anise lingers a bit more than last time and plays with the mintiness of the wormwood and the peppery coriander. Nice and refreshing.

Overall: This is leaps and bounds above the Batch 4. One of the top offerings in the US, without a doubt. I highly recommend picking up a bottle. It should be included in any absinthe tasting get-together.


ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I was lucky enough to get a couple of bottles of batch 4 this past week.

Presentation notes: I really like the label and the bottle. While the clear glass might lead to a quicker fuille morte, a comment made by the distiller suggests that they will be putting a small pamphlet on the neck of the bottle explaining the effects of sunlight on vertes. A nice history blurb on the back label as well.

Color: (2) The color is definitely too deep. They sat on the coloring herbs a bit too long. This is an acknowledged issue that should be corrected in future batches. While too dark, it is not unattractive.

Louche: (3) The louche builds up very nicely. It's a bit murky, due to the strong coloration, but it forms well. As the coloring step is corrected, the louche should be wonderful.

Aroma: (4) The aroma packs a nice punch of wormwood, veronica and melissa. I'd like to pick up some more anise, but that also is supposed to be adjusted in coming batches.

Flavor: (3) So far, this absinthe has the strongest wormwood profile of any of the US absinthes. I was very pleasantly suprised. It's an enjoyable flavor, but a bit off balance, as there is a lack of anise in this batch. Due to the coloration, you definitely pick up a lot of veronica as well.

Finish: (4) The finish is very fresh and clean with a pleasant minty wormwood bitterness.

Overall: (3) I see this absinthe as one with great promise. While this batch does have some faults to it, the distiller has already picked up on them and has adjusted the anise and coloration for future batches. It's a good start. I'm looking forward to seeing how the upcoming batches evolve. They should be quite good.
BATCH 4 FINAL SCORE: 3.1

Vintage Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     June 17, 2008
Last updated: June 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

A sumptuous artisinal offering

Thanks to MThuilli for making some of this offering available for sampling.



The color is a deep amber with no visible sediment. A truly beautiful fuille morte, as you can see in the photos.



The louche was created with a fountain set on about 2 drops per second. The ice cold water produced a fantastic layering which built up to a wonderful greenish opalescence. It was nice and thick, but not so thick as to take points away.



Aroma had a bit of an alcoholic bite, but not to its detriment. Lots of things going on in here. Everything has married very nicely. You've got some anise in the forefront with a noticable caramel-ly, raisin-y tinge. Some leather and old books are a pleasant addition as well. The base alcohol's age is quite evident, giving it a characteristic very similar to old cognac. I could sit here and smell it all day.



The flavor was extremely enjoyable as well. This again shows the benefits of almost a century of aging. Marriage lends it a very smooth and light flavor with wormwood at the forefront and lots of smooth anise sweetness with a bit of a spicy white pepper finish. I pick up some veronica as well, but it's a stretch. It definitely has some Edouard characteristics like MThuilli mentions.



The finish is long but I wish it could last all night. Although the mouthfeel is thick, it's not overly so. Silky and creamy without being overbearing. It invites you to drink more and more. It was over entirely too quickly.



Overall, this was a nice treat. I wish I'd have bought two samples instead of one. An interesting insight into small batch, artisinal distilling from the height of absinthe's popularity.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 31, 2008
Last updated: June 01, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Lots of promise here

Received a bottle of this today. Thanks Martin!



The color is too deep for me. Even my wife, who isn't in to absinthe mentioned that it didn't look like absinthe because it was too dark. It's attractive and enticing, but could be lightened up and would look much better.



The louche was almost non-existent to me without sugar. I think that may be due to the triple distillation, taking a lot of the anise out of the product.



The aroma is nice, but I'm not getting a lot of wormwood or anise. Mainly just veronica. It's refreshing and clean, but too light.



The flavor is enjoyable, but it certainly doesn't taste like absinthe. Too much distillation has lost a lot of the essential flavors of the holy trinity. This could be easily fixed. It lacks all of the overwhelming bitterness that you see with most Czech brands, which is a major plus, and shows some care in the product.



The finish lacks depth again due to the above issues, but it isn't bad. The veronica seems to be of high enough quality to keep it enjoyable, but I'd like to see more than just that.



Overall, this isn't much of an absinthe right now (still closer than anything else I've tried from the CR), but with just a few adjustments, this could easily end up being the best absinthe coming out of the Czech Republic. I'm really looking forward to seeing what the future changes bring to this. Seeing a Czech distiller actually taking care to produce a quality absinthe is refreshing. However, I'd like to see Martin remove the thujone content on the label.



All in all, shows promise.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 31, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Things are looking up in the US

Sonja was gracious enough to send me a sample of Sirene the week of its debut. I should have been more gracious in adding my review in a timely manner. However, by taking some time, it allowed me to become a bit more acquainted with it as it breathed.



The color is attractive, yet a bit too dark for me. I think going a little easier on the coloration step would make it a bit brighter. Overall, still nice.



The louche is very enjoyable. Starts with some nice layering and builds to a greenish opalescence.



The aroma is intriguing. I smell all of the normal things you would expect in a traditional absinthe, but also some citrus, juniper and mint. Quite clean and crisp.



The flavor is just as intriguing. I pick up orange zest and lemon as well as the aforementioned mint. This is all along with the well balanced wormwood and anise. This would certainly be an enjoyable absinthe to drink on a warm day. Even with all that's going on in the flavor, I wouldn't consider it overwhelming in regards to the traditional flavors. In a blind tasting, I don't see anyone categorizing this as 'non-traditional'.



Finish is clean and crisp, with the customary anethole tongue numbing, but I'd like to taste a bit more wormwood, and have the finish last a bit longer.



Overall, this is a top notch absinthe. So far, the most traditional of the absinthes produced and currently available in the states (as of May 08). I need to find a store close to me that stocks this, as it will be a staple. I look forward to seeing what improvements are made in the coming months. This absinthe is quite promising. Well done!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 13, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Unique, but not necessarily in a good way

Color: Thin and very light. Straw color.



Louche: VERY slow to form, only beginning to appear after about two measures of water. It ends up appealing, but a bit thin.



Aroma: Peculiar. Not necessarily unpleasant, just odd. You've got the normal aroma of anise and wormwood and then there's the pine, which is refreshing. But then there's an underlying mustiness that just doesn't fit.



Flavor: The flavor is totally unexpected. By how light the aroma and color are, you'd never expect such a powerful punch of intense flavors. There's a bit too much astringent bitterness which I didn't really care for. There's also a hint of alpiney crispness that you don't normally taste in absinthe. It's different from the alpine flavors of wormwood. It's a bit more piney. Surprise surprise. Overall, the bitterness is just too much to be able to enjoy a full glass.



Finish: Just too bitter and it lasts much longer than I would like.



Overall: I don't really care for it. The pine isn't correct in the flavor profile. It's less piney and more bitter and musty. I won't buy it again, but I think I will definitely try it will sugar next time.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 13, 2008
Last updated: September 25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not bad, but dated

This was a decent blanche back when it first came out, but has fallen behind the curve of late, with so many high quality products making appearances.



Color: Clean and bright without sediment



Louche: Nice milky white louche. A bit weak, but not weak enough to drop it to a 3.



Aroma: Not unpleasant but weak. Clean and crisp but lacking character.



Flavor: Not bad, but unremarkable. It's clean and crisp with just a bit of off-putting bitterness. The anise is surprisingly light. It's definitely dominated by the wormwood, which seems to be of acceptable but not exceptional quality. It would benefit from a higher quality AA.



Finish: Unremarkable.



Overall: Back when I bought this, I was glad that I did. At this point, I probably wouldn't buy another bottle because there are better blanches available at the same price.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 13, 2008
Last updated: July 09, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A very nice Blanche

Color: Unlike some bottles that I've seen with a yellow tinge to them, this bottle was clear and bright with no visible sediment.

Louche: Very well formed and thick. Deep and milky opalescence with just a hint of blueish hue. Very inviting.

Aroma: Nice, refreshing alpine aroma. The wormwood comes out well, and the anise plays a great supporting role.

Flavor: At first sip, the wormwood is prominant with vegetal undertones. The anise is well balanced and not cloying. Overall, the blending of the herbs creates a very nice marriage of sweetness and bitterness.

Finish: Clean and crisp with an enjoyable lingering taste of wormwood.

Overall: This is a very nice blanche. Whenever I am in the mood for a blanche, this is the first one I think of.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     April 19, 2008
Last updated: September 12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Ahh, good ole Serpis

This bottle is 9 years old, and still is as red as the day I bought it.



Color: It's Serpis. Need I say more?

Louche: Great louche with vivid trails that slowly build up to a peachy opalescence with pronounced layering. Quite beautiful actually.

Aroma: As expected, lots of anise with just a hint of wormwood. Quite fruity as well.

Flavor: Again, tons of anise, which is exactly what you'd expect from a popular Spanish brand. Fruity and refreshing. I'd never add sugar to this, as it's already quite sweet.

Finish: Lots of lingering sweetness from the anise along with a slightly fruity medicinal aftertaste on the back and sides of the tongue.

Overall, I'll always have a spot in my heart for Serpis. Other than the red/peach coloring, it's exactly what one should expect from a Spanish absenta.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     April 19, 2008
Last updated: September 25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Nice blanche

A very nice offering from Duplais.



Color is perfectly clear. No visible sediment.



Louche forms very nicely with beautiful trails and great layering.



The aroma brings forth a lot of fennel and coriander along with a nice hint of wormwood. The coriander has come forth quite a bit as it has aged.



The flavor is quite sweet, with a nice balance between the trinity. Very enjoyable. There's just a hint of dryness that balances out the anise nicely.



All in all, definitely in my top 5 blanches. A worthy addition to any liquor cabinet.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     April 13, 2008
Last updated: April 13, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not bad for a first Canadian offering!

Thanks to a big sky friend for sending a sample of this new release.



A nice well rounded green, but a tad light for me.



Louche came about rather quickly (but not in a bad way) and created some pretty decent layering and trails that ends in a nice opalescent green.



Aroma is tropical and intriguing. I'm sure that has to do with the choice in base alcohols. It's light and refreshing.



The flavor is what really differentiates this absinthe with others in its category. Again, due to the base alcohol as well as some of the herbs, it's very sweet and fruity. Almost peachy. Juicy Fruit is a good descriptor. I'd like to see a bit more wormwood come through, but then again, I like wormwood to be very forward in my absinthes.



Overall, this is an enjoyable beverage. Similar to St. George in that the flavors aren't what many would call a 'traditional' absinthe, it still is something that I can enjoy. This is an absinthe that would go well at the beach during a luau or tiki party.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     April 13, 2008
Last updated: September 25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Meh, not bad but forgetable

It's perfectly clear, so that gives it a 5.



The louche is a bit too quick. It's not off-putting, but it's too quick to be completely natural. It ends up being a tad too thick for my liking.



Before louching, there's an ethanol scent that's unpleasant, but the addition of water dissipates said aroma and leaves a decent anise scent with vegetal undertones. Not a lot of wormwood at all.



There's waaaay too much star anise, which along with the sugar added, lends a cloying sweetness. Not much other than anise and mint can be detected.



Overall, it's nothing special. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't be able to drink it often. It's entirely too sweet and one-dimensional.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     April 11, 2008
Last updated: April 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.4
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Ugh

The color needs major improvement. It's kind of a thin, urine yellow.



Absolutely no louche to speak of. You get some trails, but the louche is similar to diluting a tablespoon of skim milk in a pint of water. Not that I've ever done that...



The aroma isn't terrible, but it's forgetable. No anise obviously, but there's come vegetal fennel aroma and some floral notes, but they are very light.



The flavor is unbelievably bitter and astringent. This wouldn't be bad as a bitter, similar to Cynar, Campari or Bitter Kas, but it's totally inappropriate for an absinthe. The finish lingers much longer than one would like.



All in all, this is a pitiful showing from a company that seems to just be trying to get on the bandwagon of absinthe by offering a novely 'anise-free' beverage that is nothing like what true absinthe is supposed to be. Don't waste your time with this one. Buy some Campari. You'll enjoy it more.

165 results - showing 101 - 125
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo