Reviews written by Brian Robinson

165 results - showing 51 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 03, 2011
Last updated: June 06, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Quite tasty

Lot 1803-10 2009

Color: Not quite Peridot. More of a yellowish green, but still attractive.

Louche: Quick thick, but in a good way. Opalescent with touches of green and white.

Aroma: Citrusy and minty with hints of anise and very nice wormwood.

Flavor: At 3.5:1 - Quite interesting. Fruity with anise and just a hint of wormwood. Enjoyable, but lacking in depth. No harsh bitterness that some others had reported from prior batches.

Finish: Quite light on the finish, but tasty and enjoyable. Sweet and 'juicy fruity' but recedes a bit too quickly. Not so quick as to merit a 2 though.

Overall: If the flavor was a bit deeper and more complex, this could be really great. As it is, it's still quite enjoyable.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     December 15, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Another nice la bleue

Color: No visible defect.

Louche: Very quick to form. Not surprising at this abv. A bit too quick for my liking, but not faulty. Well formed and deep.

Aroma: nice anise, wormwood, and possibly hyssop. Sweet and fruity due to the base alcohol. Light and refreshing.

Flavor: Well balanced and smooth. The wine alcohol gives it a velvety texture. Sweet, but not overly so.

Finish: The finish is a bit astringent and dry, which plays nicely to round out the sweetness from the initial flavor. Quite enjoyable.

Overall: There's really nothing to complain about. A very nice addition. This can be used as a neat way to compare base alcohols. Well done!

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     November 10, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

There's a LOT of potential here.

I was lucky enough to get a couple of bottles of batch 4 this past week.

Presentation notes: I really like the label and the bottle. While the clear glass might lead to a quicker fuille morte, a comment made by the distiller suggests that they will be putting a small pamphlet on the neck of the bottle explaining the effects of sunlight on vertes. A nice history blurb on the back label as well.

Color: (2) The color is definitely too deep. They sat on the coloring herbs a bit too long. This is an acknowledged issue that should be corrected in future batches. While too dark, it is not unattractive.

Louche: (3) The louche builds up very nicely. It's a bit murky, due to the strong coloration, but it forms well. As the coloring step is corrected, the louche should be wonderful.

Aroma: (4) The aroma packs a nice punch of wormwood, veronica and melissa. I'd like to pick up some more anise, but that also is supposed to be adjusted in coming batches.

Flavor: (3) So far, this absinthe has the strongest wormwood profile of any of the US absinthes. I was very pleasantly suprised. It's an enjoyable flavor, but a bit off balance, as there is a lack of anise in this batch. Due to the coloration, you definitely pick up a lot of veronica as well.

Finish: (4) The finish is very fresh and clean with a pleasant minty wormwood bitterness.

Overall: (3) I see this absinthe as one with great promise. While this batch does have some faults to it, the distiller has already picked up on them and has adjusted the anise and coloration for future batches. It's a good start. I'm looking forward to seeing how the upcoming batches evolve. They should be quite good.
BATCH 4 FINAL SCORE: 3.1

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     October 23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Another very nice Matter offering

Color: Vibrant green. Quite attractive.

Louche: Great layering. Very enjoyable to watch as the trails slowly build up a nice opalescent greenish hue from the bottom up.

Aroma: Herbal with a nice balance of good wormwood and anise with underlying hints of fennel.

Flavor: Well balanced. Maybe leaning a bit more towards the anise, but still very well constructed. Like most other Matter products, it's very easy to drink.

Finish: It lingers nicely, but doesn't impose itself too strongly.

Overall: It's tough to complain about it. It's a very nice absinthe and is what I've come to expect from Matter. Well balanced, clean, and enjoyable. A good addition to any collection.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Heavy, but not terrible

This is an odd absinthe, both in flavor, and in how it's produced.

Color: Green, but a bit murky. Not quite inviting, but not quite off-putting either.

Louche: Wow. VERY thick. Inappropriately so. Almost as heavy as whole milk. Tough to drink with such a heavy mouthfeel.

Aroma: Not too bad. Herbal and floral with some wormwood and quite a bit of anise.

Flavor: Again, very thick, even at 4:1 water:absinthe. It's rather basic in its profile, but you can pick out the normal trinity, mainly anise and some wormwood. It's drinkable, but nothing special.

Finish: A bit dry and acrid due to the maceration of wormwood, but surprisingly, not entirely undrinkable. It makes me wonder how much actual wormwood is used, since in many situations the acridity of macerated wormwood is so strong that it's unberable.

Overall: Not too bad. My main issue is the thickness. Aside from that, it's a middle of the road brand. It's nothing I'd go out of my way to buy, but I wouldn't turn down a glass if someone bought it for me at a bar or restaurant.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not much of an improvement from the old version

This addition is apparently Absente with added wormwood.

Color: Artificial, but not totally uninviting.

Louche: Given the levels of anise, I'm not surprised to see a decent louche, but the artificial color kind of ruins things.

Aroma: Heat and licorice. That's about it. Not good.

Flavor: Cloying sweetness. I didn't add a sugar cube, but I guess they did that for me. It's way too sweet. Every else is bland. No herbal excitement at all.

Finish: Numbing and licorice. And no, I don't mean the good flavor that green anise imparts to a well-crafted absinthe. I mean acrid, heavy licorice flavor. Like a jelly bean.

Overall: It's hard to describe this as an authentic absinthe, since it is artificially colored and sugar has been added to it (presumably to offset the 'off flavors' that essences tend to add to spirits), but it's not completely terrible. I'd never turn to this if I wanted a properly prepared absinthe, but I guess I could see using this as a cocktail absinthe. Even then, it wouldn't contribute anything positive to whatever it's added to.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Wonderful!

After having been drinking this absinthe for quite a long time, I just now realized that I hadn't yet posted my review!

Color: A wonderful, light peridot. Bright and attractive. Age has mellowed the color a bit, but not detrimentally so.

Louche: An absolute pleasure to watch. Wonderful layering that builds into a light green finished product with white and baby blue hues.

Aroma: Both herbal and flowery with well layered hints of the holy trinity. Extremely inviting.

Flavor: Great balance of sweet, earthy, minty and dry from the anise, fennel and wormwood. Hints of the flowery, minerally flavor of voilette plays well with a touch of citrus. Mighty tasty.

Finish: Fantastic. I just wish it would last a tad bit longer.

Overall: A top quality absinthe. You really can't get much better than this. A must for any collection.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 04, 2010
Last updated: September 04, 2010
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Stay away

This is to absinthe what Mad Dog 20/20 is to wine. I would not recommend this product to anyone who is looking to buy authentic absinthe.

The taste is bitter and rancid with a terrible alcoholic and astringent bite in the finish. A punishing drink.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 26, 2010
Last updated: February 19, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Unbelievable. Right up my alley.

Original Review: 8/26/10.
Updated Review: 2/18/11
Updated Review: 9/1/12

2/18/11 Changes: Changed color from 5 to 4. Aside from that, it's just as good as my first review. Fantastic stuff. The color has faded a bit, but it is still very inviting.

9/1/12 Changes: Reduced flavor and aroma to 4.5 each to reflect the half-point system.

Color: (original) Very deep, attractive peridot Updated: A lighter shade of peridot, but still bright green and attractive.

Louche: Nice layering begins around 1:1 which transforms into an inviting green louche with hints of blue, white and yellow.

Aroma: lots and lots of wonderful wormwood with hints of anise and even honey. Wonderfully layered and complex. Room-filling.

Flavor: Spicy and peppery with lots of top notch wormwood. The WW shows through first with a less pronounced but still clearly identifiable anise flavor. Complex and remarkable. Tastes a bit young but it's likely that aging will only improve this absinthe.

Finish: Wormwood plays on the tongue for a good long time with a supporting hand of anise, with just a touch of refreshing alpine astringency at the very end. Peppery and bold.

Overall: A powerful and masculine absinthe that pulls no punches. If your average absinthe is like a Lowlands Scotch, then this is like a powerful Islay. An immediate addition to the list of my top favorites.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 14, 2010
Last updated: October 30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An enjoyable and interesting verte!

Color: A deep peridot with yellow tinges. Inviting.

Louche: Lots of anise lends a thick and milky quality (not in a bad way). I'd give it a 5 because the depth is nice, but the end color is just a tad pallid and yellow for me. Still very nice.

Aroma: Lots going on here. Anise, hints of wormwood, mint, rootbeer, orange peels, and confectioners sugar. Intriguing.

Flavor: As intriguing as the aroma! It's a bit heavier on the anise than I prefer, and a little lighter on the wormwood than I prefer, but it's still delicious. The levels of anise lend a very noticeable sweetness on the soft palate. There's a nice level of herbal spiciness as well, with hints of mint, genepy, licorice, and earth. Quite good.

Finish: Sweet with just a touch of mint. I'd love to taste a bit more wormwood here, as it would help to balance out the sweetness. It lingers nicely, without a lot of numbing.

Overall:This is a very well made and tasty verte. It's great to see it hit the U.S. shores.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not terrible, but not really desirable either

Color: A pleasant enough yellowish green. It's nice to see that they have gone the natural coloration route as opposed to the food coloring of the past.

Louche: Rather thin, but not alltogether unattractive.

Aroma: You get the hints of anise and wormwood, but then you also get some confectionary aromas like cinnamon, candy and powdered sugar. Odd and unique, but not what I'd consider 'intriguing'.

Flavor: Thin and earthy with very little anise or fennel. There is some bitterness and that underlying sweetness. Not really what I'd consider the flavor of an authentic absinthe. As DrinkBoy said below, it's tough to take it seriously.

Finish: Some bitterness and earthiness again, with some cinnamon.

Overall: I really have a hard time calling this absinthe. It tastes more like an aperitif wine or an herbal liqueur.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 11, 2010
Last updated: August 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not well known, but tasty enough

It was tough finding a lot of information about this absinthe. Even the AbsinthExplore site I got it from didn't have a main page for it.

Color: No visible defect.

Louche: quite quick with a nice layering effect.

Aroma: Wormwood mintiness and fresh. Like a mountain stream.

Flavor: Quite thin and watery at 4:1 with not a lot of flavor at all. At 3:1, some more wormwood pops out, but it's still rather basic. I gave it a 2 because I'd say it's unbalanced and lacking.

Finish: Practically no finish at 4:1. At 3:1 you get some decent wormwood. In fact, you taste more of it in the finish than in the actual action of drinking.

Overall: It's a rather basic and very lightly flavored absinthe. If you get it, don't go above 3:1. In fact, maybe try 2:1 first.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Another Le Bleue that blends in with the others

Color: Clear with no visible defect

Louche: very quick to form. Attractive.

Aroma: Mainly anise and wormwood with hints of earthiness.

Flavor: Light and refreshing, but kind of like most of the other La Bleues. Really nothing stands out. Kind of is what it is.

Finish: Lingers nicely. Refreshing with mainly anise.

Overall: It really doesn't stand out much from the other Swiss La Bleues I have in the bar, but it's good, like most of the others. Refreshing and pleasant.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Decent but unremarkable

Color: Clear, no defect

Louche: Very thick and turbulent trails that build up to a very well formed, deep louche.

Aroma: Based on the criteria, I must give it a 2 because the aroma is SO weak. It's barely there. Hints of honey.

Flavor: Very light and a bit peppery. This one falls apart with too much water. Quite light on the anise, but there's not much else there to take its place.

Finish: Receded extremely quickly. Annoyingly so.

Overall: I need more flavor!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A drier version of La Valote - yummy

Color: Clear with no visible defect.

Louche: Nicely formed. Deep and opaque.

Aroma: Very nicely balanced with lots of wormwood. A great alpine freshness.

Flavor: A refreshing bitterness at the beginning, then anise, then a pleasant dryness with a touch of heat at 4:1. Unlike many Swiss Le Bleues which are more anise forward, this absinthe is noticeably drier and wormwood forward. Just how I like them!

Finish: A bit hot, but nicely balanced between anise and wormwood that lingers pleasantly.

Overall: Quite enjoyable. This would certainly be something that I'd like to encounter in a secret box in a mountain pass.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Enjoyable

I obtained a sample of this absinthe from the Rue Verte AbsinthExplore set.

Color: Clear with no visible flaws

Louche: VERY quick to form. Deep and thick, with a white film left on the glass after drinking.

Aroma: Intriguing with hints of peppermint and wormwood.

Flavor: Light but crisp and clean and enjoyable. The mintiness doesn't come over into the flavor, which is made up mainly of anise and wormwood. Fairly well balanced.

Finish: Clean and lingering but a bit hot. Quite a bit of numbing.

Overall: Not bad. Nothing outstanding, but definitely one of the better offerings from the Lemercier distillery.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 09, 2010
Last updated: July 09, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

My kind of blanche!

Color: Clear with no visible sediment. The bottle presentation is very nice as well. Sophisticated.

Louche: The louche forms very nicely, with a vivid layering effect, ending milky white with touches of iridescent blue. Very inviting. Not too thick and not too thin.

Aroma: Before water, there is a subtle anise aroma that is dominated by the unmistakable aroma of Pontarlier wormwood. Very inviting. After water, the wormwood is still there, but the anise comes out more and is balanced out with the slight earthiness of fennel.

Flavor: Anise at the forefront, followed by a velvet-gloved slap of Pontarlier wormwood. While the sweetness is there, it's not cloying, like how I find a lot of blanche style absinthes. The bitterness and enjoyable astringency of the wormwood is right up my alley, and is much more a feature of the flavor map than with other comparable absinthes. Aside from Blanchette, I can't think of another blanche that has as refreshing of a flavor.

Finish: Velvety and smooth with lingering wormwood and just a touch of anise. I even get hints of violet and baby powder. Very enjoyable.

Overall: Try as I might (I don't like to be overly complimentary!), I can't find anything complain about unless I really want to nitpick. This is a very well made absinthe. For those of you who like blanches, but are looking for one that's a little less sweet, with a more forward wormwood profile, this is for you. This ranks in my top two favorite blanches. Well done.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Decent, but nothing to write home about

Color: Clear and attractive. No visible sedimant or flaw.

Louche: Quick and turbulent, leading to a nicely formed, yet still a bit translucent finish product.

Aroma: Fresh, with touches of mint, fennel and anise. Not a lot of wormwood detectable.

Flavor: Muted, but enjoyable. Well balanced, but nothing notable.

Finish: As with the flavor, it's just 'there'. Good, but unremarkable.

Overall: What can I say. It's nice. It's enjoyable. It's just not very unique or attention grabbing. Would go great in cocktails I imagine. But it's really not anything I'd go out of my way to try to buy, especially with so many other good products available in the states.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

I wish I could say I liked it, but...

Color: For a guy who mainly makes Le Bleus, this is colored very nicely. An attractive peridot.

Louche: I was impressed by the louche. It builds well and ends up being thicker than most CAB offerings. Ends light green with touches of yellow and blue.

Aroma: Nice herbal notes with anise, angelica and wormwood. I almost get hints of violette.

Flavor: Whoa. Lots of macerated grand wormwood from the beginning. It's well beyond the bitterness level that I enjoy. I can't drink much of it. NOTE: This sample is from AbsinthExplore, so I'm not sure if it was the first or second version.

Finish: The macerated wormwood used in the coloration just sits on your tongue and in the back of your throat forever. I can't review any more absinthes in this sitting because of it.

Overall: All of the other qualities of this brand are enjoyable, but the flavor and finish (the most important qualities IMO) just are not acceptable to me.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Add another nice offering to the CAB portfolio

color: Again, perfectly clear

Louche: Nice build up to a louche that's a bit thinner than ClB, but still attractive.

Aroma: Clean and enjoyable, but a bit light for me, which is surprising since I was expecting something a bit more bold from this brand.

Flavor: A bit more peppermint (I think) than ClB, and less earthy fennel. Very clean and refreshing.

Finish: A bit watery and thin for me, but still nice. Definitely recedes quicker than I'd like.

Overall: A good offering, and one that I'll certainly keep and would be willing to recommend, but I'd choose ClB if I had the choice between the two.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Another good offering from CAB

Color: Clear and attractive

Louche: As with ClB, a very nice cloudy louche leading up to a milky white finished product with pink and blue hues.

Aroma: Clean, crisp and alpine. Nicely balanced, although there is a bit of heat.

Flavor: Nice balance of wormwood and anise, with the wormwood astringency coming out a bit stronger than the other herbs. In a good way.

Finish: The anise and wormwood linger very nicely.

Overall: Not a whole heck of a lot different than La Clandestine, aside from being stronger. But I couldn't find many other blanches that I'd rather be similar too.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 03, 2010
Last updated: July 03, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Very nice offering

Batch 9-15, Bottle 47

Color: This bottle is about a year old, so the color has faded a bit, but it's still a very nice golden green, almost like olive oil. Some Fuille Morte has obviously occured, but the bottle has been stored in a cool dark cabinet since I got it, so it's from aging, not improper storage.

Louche: Very nice layering that ends with a wonderful green opalescence.

Aroma: Clean and crisp with a nice balance of herbs. Anise is well balanced with wormwood. Inviting.

Flavor: I see why Peridot mentions this as an almost savory absinthe. While the sweetness from the anise is there, there is also an earty and marine like quality that is intriguing and enjoyable. The herbs are well balanced, with nothing being too dominant.

Finish: A nice, well rounded finish as well. Not a lot of numbing, which I find to be a good thing. Too much numbing and you can't enjoy it anymore. My only complaint with the finish is that I'd like to have it hang around a bit more.

Overall: An obviously well made absinthe. It's going to be hard to find anyone that won't enjoy it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

An enjoyable blanche

Color: No visible defect.

Louche: Very slow to louche, but finishes nicely. Opaque with hints of blue and even some yellow.

Aroma: Crisp wormwood and sweet anise with just a touch of alcohol heat.

Flavor: Spicy with a bit of heat at 3:1. Anice and wormwood balance out nicely. Nothing really stands out though. I'm left a bit disappointed with the lack of complexity.

Finish: Wormwood and light anise. The spiciness lingers, but not much flavor.

Overall, it's a decent blanche. While I'd wish it success, the US has a bit of a 'blanche glut', so I don't see many people being intrigued enough to buy a bottle unless they add it to an order they are already placing. There's not really anything to complain about with it, but there's not much to praise either.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Arguably the best Alandia offering

Color: A bright, attractive peridot.

Louche: Very attractive, opalescent louche that retains a nice green color with touches of gold and white.

Aroma: Lots of character with wormwood and anise at the forefront with an interesting hint of something that resembles cumin.

Flavor: complex with high quality wormwood balanced well with anise. Dry and refreshing with a nice bitterness.

Finish: Bracing like splashing your face with water from an alpine stream. Nice and refreshing. definitely enjoyable.

Overall: This is a dramatically different absinthe from the first version of Angelique (SVC is the Alandia offering of Angelique). I like this quite a bit. It's definitely at the top of the Alandia offerings.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 24, 2010
Last updated: May 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not good...

OK, so we know that this is a gimmicky brand. It's supposed to be. Color is a midnight blue, that louches into a deep royal blue. Aroma smells of heavy pine and anise. Flavor is a thick anise bomb mainly.

Overall, everything about this brand screams 'I will punish you'. It kind of hits the mark...

It will sell well with the goths who are looking for a show, but it will never be appreciated by lovers of true absinthe.

165 results - showing 51 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo