Reviews written by Brian Robinson

165 results - showing 26 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 05, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Needs a lot of help

Appearance: I know it's meant to be a reproduction of a vintage brand, so we should expect a dead leaf color, but it's more yellowish than fuille morte.

Louche: Louche builds nicely. Decent opalescence. End color isn't very appetizing, but it's not terrible.

Aroma: Appealing aroma. Lots of anise and other medicinal herbs. Quite fresh.

Flavor: Quite bitter. Hot an unbalanced at 3:1. At 4:1 the heat goes away, but everything else other than bitterness now tastes watered down.

Finish: Not much other than an unpleasant bitterness. Not as acrid as something like Stromu, but not really drinkable for me.

Overall: The louche and aroma work well, but then the rest falls apart. Needs major work.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 05, 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
2.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Not absinthe

Appearance: A very deep, clear peridot. Quite attractive.

Louche: Odd, foamy bubbles around the edge of the glass. Not really a lot of louching at all. Very thin. Practically non-existant.

Aroma: Unlouched, the only real aroma you can detect is a huge wine base. Louched, the wine base is still there along with hints of green tea and lychee. It smells good, but not like absinthe.

Flavor: It kind of tastes like over-steeped green tea with lychee. Bitter and piney with no noticeable anise.

Finish: Hardly any to speak of. Tannic astringency.

Overall: There's nothing aside from the unlouched color that even remotely resembles absinthe. Lots of work needs to be done. It's almost as if they used a Czech brand as an example.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     December 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A very nice start!

Appearance: A very pale peridot.

Louche: A lovely, light louche. Amber, green and white hues.

Aroma: Earthy and sweet with a hint of fresh lettuce (like opening a well maintained produce drawer in your fridge). I know that might seem odd to many readers, but it isn't off-putting. It's actually quite clean, interesting and appealing.

Flavor: Fairly light on the anise. Same goes for the wormwood. I get some spiciness and a hint of astringency, with some subtle underlying sweetness from anise. I look at this as being on the feminine side of absinthe. Cool and refreshing.

Finish: Vegetal with mint and anise. Not much numbing. A little warm at 3:1. 4:1 works better.

Overall: This would be a good absinthe to drink while eating, if you're in to pairing spirits with food. It's light flavors will work well, by not overpowering the flavors of the dishes it's paired with. It's not an envelope pusher by any means, but it could be a good 'go-to' standard absinthe. A good first effort from Overland. I look forward to seeing how their production progresses.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     December 19, 2011
Last updated: December 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

The mellow cousin of Berthe de Joux

Appearance: A darker shade of green than normal, but not in a bad way. Kind of a mix between peridot and forest green. Attractive.

Louche: A very nice, bright, white and green louche. Not too thick, not too thin. Just right. The heavier coloration helps retain quite a bit of green color in the fully louched product.

Aroma: Herbal, spicy and clean. Spice, anise, and some minty wormwood. Complex and inviting.

Flavor: Surprisingly subdued for the amount of aroma. It's very smooth and easy to drink. The herbs meld well with each other, with the anise and wormwood appearing equally, without sparring for superiority. Hints of spearmint.

Finish: The anise plays a supporting role, while the wormwood comes out a bit more, but without much astringency. It lingers on the tongue for quite a while and provides a noticeable amount (not in a bad way) of numbing.

Overall: Another winner from Emile Pernot. Unlike products like Berthe de Joux, Maison Fontaine, Roquette or Sauvage, which work hard to bring out the massive wormwood flavors, this absinthe is more balanced and a bit less medicinal. Quite enjoyable as a traditionally flavored absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 25, 2011
Last updated: September 26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Not liking this at all.

Appearance: Not a bad appearance. A little too dark though. It must be noted that the lable states that this brand of absinthe was colored with caramel...

Louche: As with the initial color, it looks a bit murky, but not disagreeably so.

Aroma: It's extremely weak. Hard to smell much, although there was a hint of cinnamon.

Flavor: A strikingly bitter flavor. Hints of sweetness, but it plays a very inferior role to the biting bitterness. I couldn't finish the 3 ounce mini-glass that I use to do sample tastings.

Finish: Bitterness again shows through. Quite acrid. Tough to believe that this is a 100% distilled beverage. I can't believe that it really is.

Overall: I can't say many good things about this product. Artificially colored, acrid bitterness, murky louche, weak aroma. I can't in good conscience endorse this product. It's unbelieveable that this brand boasts championship medals from spirits competitions. I think that goes to show the lack of education in the panels of tasters for many of those events.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An enjoyable offering

Appearance: An attractive light green.

Louche: Nicely built with a delicate milkiness. Inviting.

Aroma: Very nice herbal aroma slightly dominated by sweet anise.

Flavor: Quite sweet but counterpointed with a bite reminiscent of white pepper. Enjoyable, but a bit simplistic.

Finish: Finish is 'ok', but not overly enjoyable. There was a strange touch of what I can only describe as the aftertaste you get when you try artificial sweetener. However, it was barely there. Hardly perceptable.

Overall: An enjoyable absinthe. I don't know if I'd go out on a limb to buy a new bottle, but I'd never turn down a glass if offered to me.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Cloying as is, but has great potential

Appearance: Clear and bright.

Louche: Not unlike the finished louche of your average Swiss Le Bleue. A bit thin, but not thin enough to be penalized.

Aroma: Minty and herbal. Refreshing and light.

Flavor: Way to sweet for me. Upon tasting how sweet it was, I took a closer look at the label and saw that it includes added sugar. That's too bad, as it seems to have quite a bit of potential. I understand that Phil was apparently staying true to the original recipe by adding the sugar, but it just doesn't sit well with me.

Finish: Quite a bit of sweetness with herbal undertones.

Overall: I'd love to try this without sugar. I can see it tasting quite nice. I believe there is quite a bit of potential with this brand, but absintheurs who do not use sugar will probably find this too cloying as it is now.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A decent, but rudimentary absinthe

Appearance: Clear, clean and bright. A nice peridot.

Louche: The addition of ice cold water via fountain produced a nicely built louche. quite attractive.

Aroma: Herbal and enticing with hints of mint, wormwood, and confectioner's sugar.

Flavor: spicy and peppery with only a touch of anise sweetness. Pretty tasty, yet rudimentary.

Finish: Decent herbal follow through, but it recedes too quickly.

Overall: A decent offering from the Frenchman, but not much to write home about. It would be difficult to rationalize buying it when there are so many more complex absinthes available. I could see this working well as a starter brand though.

Faux Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     September 25, 2011
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
1.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

Oh, the humanity!

Appearance: A frightening listerine green. Obviously fake.

Louche: No louche to speak of.

Aroma: Smells of cheap whiskey. Seriously.

Flavor: I have to take a few deep breaths while recollecting my experiences just to calm down. It's times like these that make me seriously question why I choose to review brands like this. I've never tasted anything so vile, and I've tasted a lot of very nasty absinth. Like drinking drain cleaner. It is the most bitter fake absinth I have ever come across. Instant stomach ache.

Finish: Overwhelming, gag-inducing bitterness.

Overall: Never, ever, EVER drink this. Ever. Seriously. Don't even give it to people you hate. This stuff is evil. The company who makes it should be paying other people simply to stay away from it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     August 01, 2011
Last updated: August 01, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Wild and beautiful

Appearance: The greenish yellow hue of first press extra virgin olive oil. The aging has obviously taken out some of the fresh peridot colors, but it still looks attractive.

Louche: I didn't get the clear line mentioned in the other review, but I believe I louche with a bit more turbulence based on the distance between fountain and glass. A nice even build ending up in a somewhat thin yet still attractive louche with whites and several shades of yellow. Thicker than the previous experiment, Roquette.

Aroma: room filling scent of herbal, minty wormwood. It retains the normal scent of what many would describe as the characteristic 'Pontarlier wormwood' aroma, but there's also a bit of teas leaf aroma that denotes the wild character of this wormwood. Slight scent of anise as well. Very enticing.

Flavor: Like another recent Emile Pernot release (Berthe de Joux), the flavor is bold and herbal with huge wormwood notes that are nicely complimented by the sweet anise. The aging has married the individual herbs' flavors beautifully.

Finish: The wormwood exerts more force here, but in a minty, not bitter way. Pleasant warming. Hints of anise, fennel, and white pepper.

Overall: Yet another intriguing antique absinthe recipe from David Nathan-Maister with the wild wormwood twist. This is an absinthe that is for the experienced absintheur, as it is quite complex and bold. Simply wonderful. I'm glad I ordered multiple bottles, as this will go quickly.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not your average VdT product

Color: A nice, bright, inviting peridot green.

Louche: Very nice opalescence. Greens, yellows and white. Bright and attractive.

Aroma: Sweet, light, herbal and refreshing. Nice hints of wormwood with fresh and bright anise.

Flavor: Much more flavor than your average Vdt le Bleue. Herbal and (again) bright. The level of bitterness is more acceptable than with its cousin, Angelique.

Finish: Herbal and pleasant but needs to stick around a bit more.

Overall: Quite a pleasant departure from your average Vdt product. Many of them seem to blend in together, but this one stands out by being much more complex and interesting.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Surprisingly light and bright

Color: Amber with hints of Earl Grey tea.

Louche: The thickness is quite nice, but the color looks a little dirty. Not like your normal vintage fuille morte, but a close approximation.

Aroma:Piney and herbal. Very bright and enticing. Watering brings out just a hint of plastic, but it's extremely faint compared to the other nice aromas. Pungent wormwood with nice anise undertones.

Flavor: At 3:1, surprisingly light. I was expecting more of a punch of flavor based on my previous experience with Boggy products, and also based on the aroma. Light wormwood and a little anise. I'm surprised to say that I'd call it a bit flat. Not bad though.

A peppery bite with some sweetness and a nice wormwood astringence. I pick up the plastic just a little bit, but not to the point where it would affect the score.

Overall: Not a bad absinthe! I'd actually prefer a bit more 'umph' in the up front entry, but not bad at all. The finish won't be evryone's cup of tea, but I didn't mind it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     July 09, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Absinthe light

Appearance: Thin and pale, but not unattractive.

Louche: Good color, but also thin. Could use more anethol.

Aroma: Very nice wormwood aroma balanced with a hint of anise.

Flavor: Rooty with just a hint of wormwood and anise. Not a bad flavor, but I kept sipping, hoping to taste more. It's thin, even at 2:1.

Finish: Again, I can't keep from mentioning thinness. Watered down anise with a bit of spiciness.

Overall: Very basic, but shows promise. Quality ingredients are obviously there, but everything seems to be used sparingly. I don't think this could be used in a cocktail, as there really wouldn't be much flavor coming through, so keep this one strictly for the normal preparation.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 14, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Scarily similar to pre-ban

I was quite surprised when I opened the bottle up and poured out a sample. It truly was remarkable how similar this was to a pre-ban absinthe.

Color: a deep buttery amber with a very nice appearance of fuille morte.

Louche: Thick and creamy amber with streaks of peach and white.

Aroma: Herbal and peppery/spicy with hints of mustiness and leather.

Flavor: Spicy and herbal on entry with a very faint irony tinge. A hint of vanilla along with the normal anise and wormwood. This absinthe isn't as light as Stefano's other offering. It's a bit heavier; in line with what one would expect from a pre-ban. Not quite as heavy as many of the popular marques of the Belle Epoque, but it certainly posesses many of the same characteristics.

Finish: Astringent and spicy with anise and faint wormwood.

Overall: It's truly a wonder how Stefano got this absinthe to seem so old. Well done. I feel very lucky to have been able to try it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     May 08, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Stands out among its VdT peers

Color: Clear. No visible defect.

Louche: Very quick to form. Deep and luscious with an intriguing lavender hue.

Aroma: Very herbal with hints of anise and fennel, mity wormwood and roots. Complex and intriguing.

Flavor: At about 2.5:1, the flavor is quite nice. Lots of sweet anise. Almost bordering on the sweetness of licorice, but without the acrid bite that's normally associated with licorice. Wormwood is light, not unlike many VdT brands, but it's detectable and enjoyable.

Finish: Clean, crisp and refreshing. Sweetness lingers on the sides of the tongue while a pleasant, light bitterness hangs out at the back of the throat. It certainly makes you want to take another drink. A slight bit of numbing.

Overall: Out of everything that comes out of the region, it's one of my favorites. Duvallon has stepped up his game and made a winner. Politics aside, this is a very good absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Intruiguing stuff

Color: A bit of a yellowish tinge, but not unattractive.

Louche: Very quick to form but ends in a nice opalescent final product.

Aroma: Earthy and piney with underlying sweetness of anise ans the spiciness of wormwood. The juniper stands out, but it's attractive and not off-putting.

Flavor: Intruiguing to say the least. A mix of nice spicy wormwood, sweet anise undertones, citrusy and piney. Confusing at first, but then it grows on you.

Finish: The finish is more of hin than absinthe, but that makes for a very refreshing end.

Overall: I see this being a very versatile spirit in bars. Soemthing that would work well in the traditional absinthe service, but also in cocktails that call for absinthe OR gin. Try it as a substitute for both gin and absinthe in a Monkey Gland.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

An amazing blanche

Appearance: Clear and bright. Very inviting.

Louche: Attractive, but much thinner than the verte. Still very inviting.

Aroma: Very clean with nice earthy and rooty characteristics, presumably from the genepi. I love that aroma.

Flavor: Very nicely balanced between sweet, earthy, and spicy. Quite enjoyable. Sweet on the tip of the tongue, then as it warms in the mouth the earthiness comes out. Upon swalling, the spiciness is felt in the throat and sides of the tongue. Really nice.

Finish: Sweet anise and spicy coriander. I wish it would last a bit longer, but that's because it's so tasty.

Overall: As someone who's not really a blanche guy, i'm very impressed by this. An easy drinking absinthe that works as well on its own as it does in a cocktail.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     February 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

tastes good but has flaws

Color: The rose color has faded into more of an orange.

Louche: The thickness and transformation is quite nice, but the end product is a bit dingey and gray. It's an unfortunate thing that happens to almost all naturally colored rouge absinthes. It's not a distiller's flaw, but just an inherent trait of the flower, I guess.

Aroma: Very nice with anise at the forefront and a flowery and earthy undertone. Enjoyable and inviting.

Flavor: A little hotter than I expected at 3:1. Much nicer at 3.5:1. Sweet anise plays with a peppery flavor that makes for a nice contrast. I could use a bit more depth though.

Finish: Quite light with mainly sweetness from the anise. Recedes rather quickly.

Overall: It's got a lot of potential. More depth and stronger flavors would improve this tremendously.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 12, 2011
Last updated: January 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Needs some time in the bottle; will be a stunner

Color: Just a shade darker than the original. Quite inviting.

Louche: Looks pretty much the same as the original, not surprisingly. Very attractive. The final product is much lighter than one might expect.

Aroma: Spicy and woody, but herbal and sweet at the same time.

Flavor: The wormwood gets spicier, but the anise is toned down a bit, compared to the original. Everything gets an added layer of 'bourbony' woodiness.

Finish: The wood is a bit intense in the finish, but it's still enjoyable.

Overall: I think it needs a bit of time to rest in the bottle to let some things round out. I'll give it a few months and try it again. My guess is that it's going to be much improved, although it's still good now.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

VERY tasty!

Color: Deep and dark fuille morte. Darker than your normal 'fresh' absinthe, but not murky.

Louche: Thick, turbulent and opalescent. It brightens up quite a bit. Browns, greens and yellows. Quite attractive.

Aroma: Sweet, herbacious and wonderful. Anise, wormwood, tropical fruits, and strong wine base. Complex and room filling.

Flavor: Very complex. Lots of wormwood balanced by smooth anise. The wine base asserts itself, but it not obtrusive. Spicy, herbaceous, delicious.

Finish: Herbal and spicy. Lingers just long enough.

Overall: Along the lines of the other Parisiennes, it's a strong flavored absinthe. Quite enjoyable. A very nice addition to the collection.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

A powerful, assertive absinthe!

Color: Similar to other Parisiennes. Dark and mysterious.

Louche: Thick and turbulent. A real treat to watch. A pleasant green when finished.

Aroma: Sweet and almost 'cinnamony', with the wine base showing through along with anise, wormwood, and baking spices.

Flavor: Powerful and spicy at 3:1. Mouthfilling and intense. White pepper and wormwood followed up by the smoothness of anise. At 4:1, the spiciness tones down a bit and the anise comes through more. Floral and citrussy.

Finish: Spice and wormwood linger nicely with a pleasant astringency. Dense and rich, coating the tongue.

Overall: A dense and assertive absinthe. Certainly not for the faint of heart, but absolutely delicious if you're into strong, herbaceous flavors highlighted by the big flavors of the base alcohol. For me, a winter absinthe. Definitely a keeper!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A step in the right direction

Color: Pleasant and attractive. No sediment in this bottle, but it was just a tad too dark.

Louche: Attractive and correct. A bit too thin, but not thin enough to give it a 3. (note: I typically use a fountain with ice cold water and a moderate/slow drip, which tends to bring out the louche moreso than what some other people would do.)

Aroma: Fruity and fresh, but again, a bit light. Not a lot of anise. Still inviting though.

Flavor: Very light and a touch citrusy. I could use more of both anise and wormwood. It's still tasty and refreshing, but it's not really pushing any envelopes.

Finish: I think a bit more anise would add both a greater depth of flavor, but also a finish that would linger more.

Overall: A perfectly adequate offering, but there's not a lot that distinguishes it from its peers. Enjoyable enough, and certainly a good 'starter absinthe'. I'm a bit surprised at how safe they played it, given the strong flavors of their other products. A step in the right direction though. Lots of promise.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Fantastic stuff

Color: Wonderfully deep and jewel-like. Quite attractive.

Louche: Deep and rich. Almost silky. Nice opalescence.

Aroma: Rich and herbacious. Spicy with hints of citrus. Room filling and enticing.

Flavor: Well balanced and complex. Earthy, sweet, spicy, and overall refreshing. The quality of the herbs shows through nicely. Very enjoyable.

Finish: Lots of great layers. Sweet, saline, peppery, minty. Lingers a long time. Simply excellent.

Overall: It's really nice to see so many U.S. producers take such care in producing high quality absinthes like this one. This absinthe should age quite nicely.

Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Even better than the original!

Color: The 7 months in the barrel hasn't taken away from the beauty of the coloration. Still bright and attractive.

Louche: The same as the original. Just as well formed and inviting.

Aroma: The anise is a bit more muted that the original, as is the wormwood. The aging has rounded it out quite nicely. There's just a touch of wood, but it's not at all intrusive.

Flavor: Rounded out, like the aroma. Not quite as 'hot' as the original. The anise has been toned down, maybe a bit too much. The wormwood isn't quite as spicy anymore either. If the wormwood levels stayed the same, but the anise was bumped up just a tad, it would be better balanced.

Finish: Sweet and (again) more balanced than the original. Quite nice. The wood doesn't appear on the finish as much as in the entry. The aging has definitely added some nice depth and smoothed it out.

Overall: Comparing the two versions is an intriguing experiment. Something I'd suggest for any absintheur. The aging process has certainly proven beneficial.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by Brian Robinson     January 03, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Very nice, but can be improved upon

Appearance: Very pleasant, light, bright peridot.

Louche: Opalescent and bright, with blue, yellow, white and green hues. A pleasure to look at.

Aroma: A very pleasing balance of sweet anise and spicy wormwood.

Flavor: Lightly sweet from the anise, but the astringency of the high quality wormwood is more pronounced. Night quite balanced, but minty, fresh, and very enjoyable.

Finish: Mostly wormwood on the tongue and throat. Herbaceous and assertive, and lingers quite a bit.

Overall: Very enjoyable and refreshing. Could be a bit more full in the flavor department (depth), but I'd certainly buy another bottle when mine runs out!

165 results - showing 26 - 50
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo