Reviews written by absinthist

60 results - showing 26 - 50
1 2 3  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     April 18, 2010
Last updated: November 16, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

do not get fooled again

Time of seduction has come.

I have been given the following absinthe upon my arrival in Switzerland. I had lotsa expectations, which failed.

What will fool you? The vintage coloure revered by the Extrait d'absinthe worshippers of the yore, the turbulent louche of Pernods, Bergers and beyond.

And here the game is over. Apart that, it is just stronger version of Soixante cinq whih seems to be just the diluted version of L'E.

Crappy wine alcohol, obtrusive pontica, grassy amd one dimensional in the vein of Devoille's works.

Better get La Coquette or Verte de Fougerolles. Better get Verte de Fougerellose at all.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     July 07, 2009
Last updated: July 07, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Pontica feast

I have had the opportunity of tasting 1st batch of that absinthe as well as the newest one that is not for sale so far.

Colour is deep enough and nice

Louche is gradual, desirable

Aroma is superb with very strong pontica, wormwood notes, some coriander with aniseed swirling around.

Flavour is bold, pontica goodness at its best, not heavy on the palate, refreshing and crisp. Finish is long with well-placed wormwood.

I really liked it. Although from the label and aura that surrounds it, it might have ended like Mansinthe or Duplais Balance, this one is a good, even very good, nicely-crafted traditional absinthe. Good work, Oliver!

Retired Brands
Reviewed by absinthist     July 07, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

W stands for Wormwood!

Thanks to the courtesy of Nico I have had the pleasure of reveling in that tipple.

This is the orgy of wormwood, and very good one, almost as powerful as Polish. The wormwood is like weed growing everywhere in the glass, from the glass.

Since wormwood is so upfront and bold, it was obvious that louche will be so-so, otherwise the anethole buddies would ruin the divine aroma.

As a matter of fact, the wormwood used in that extrait is not the typical floral, yet delicate wormwood of Pontarlier we know from current absinthes.

In a sense it is very wormwoody, even too much, it is bitter, powerful and penetrating. Definitely something for very experienced absintheurs. If you happen to get it somewhere, do not hesitate drinking it. If you happen to be at Nico's Den in Boveresse, tell that Boggy sends you and maybe Nico will pour you one.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     July 07, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
1.0

What was that?

Apart from louche action-still too quick, it is flawed in every direction. taste is as weird as possible, very unbalanced and surprisingly harsh for that weak abv.

Another example Paul Devoille used to be good absinthe maker with Verte de Fougerolles and should have stay with that brand instead of developing that thing and other stuff.

Shame it exists and no wonder the Swiss are so tough with it being sold in Switzerlnad as absinthe.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     July 07, 2009
Last updated: July 07, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Liquid cake

While in Switzerland I have had the opportunity of trying 1st Montmartre and 2nd Montmartre editions.

Whereas the 1st was highly idiosyncratic, 2nd one was better, yet not that good.

Colour is very pale and weak since absinthe is 65%, it is a serious flaw. Louche is very quick, thanks to badiane, yet not that tragic-not too quick.

Aroma is not bad, but not absinthe akin at all, it smells like freshly baked very spicy cake. Flavour is dull, slightly spicy with accentuated coriander and some unusual notes. The rest is not interesting. Although i liked 2nd than 1st edition, I am far from calling it a really good product. It is drinkable, interesting but owning to its idiosyncracity it is still some very unusual absinthe in the making.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     June 24, 2009
Last updated: June 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0

La Bleue the way it should be

I have met with Francois in person during the fondue party, little talk and he was coming back to me with a bottle of his stuff so that I could have a taste and tell him my opinion.

Colour typical, but nothing to whine about, louche perfect, nice layering, aroma really nuanceful, instead of the typical anisette aroma we have come across in most of les bleues in Boveresse, that one packs a superb fennel, discrete anise and powerful wormwoodiness with little herbal additions on the edges. And upon addition of water, these feautres stand fast.

Finish might be a bit worked on, but this is absinthe, tasty absinthe, and definitely an Artist makes it.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     June 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

not the usual Eich

Colour too pale, louche alright, a bit of badiane presence too prominent. Aroma is nice, but overbalanced, there is nothing that would catch attention as coming forward. Flavour was discrete, abundance of herbs made it flat. Same about the finish, slightly spice and that is all.

The best Eich I have had to date is Eich brut 83.2%, the 78% version is not actually needed in the full range.

Vintage Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     May 29, 2009
Last updated: May 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

THE Edouard

Thanks to one kind person I was able to embrace the sun hidden in this famous absinthe.

The colour is the equivalence of feuille morte expressed within minute details. Golden-yellow with appropriate depth of the tinge.

Louche is an orchestra of oil swirls, unlouched banding line that slowly sinks into the liquid.

Clean aroma of discrete pontica, superb hyssop and wormwood bite is very inviting.

Spicy, very bitter with prominent anise and fennel smoothens out into very subtle if accentuated enough melissa-so citrusy but not overpowering. A bit heavy at times. Finish is long-lasting and meticulous pontica eating the tongue.

A rare and unforgettable treat. I wish it would come back.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     May 29, 2009
Last updated: May 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
1.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Overall 
 
2.0

The Saint in question should be offended


colour is right, some golden reflections, ends gray green that is helluva opaque

Louche is THICK as hell, badiane excess's evident
Aroma:

Huh? Sage, pine, nothing like absinthe

Tasting:

Ewww, cloying, not alcoholic, but very grassy and heavy. There is everything we know from kitchen, but not from absinthe.

Interesting herbal liqueur, but too weird and too sweet for a herbal liqueur even. Have no idea whjat in reality it is

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     May 29, 2009
Last updated: May 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Worthy its name

And so comes the time when Americans learnt how to colour absinthe, once louched it is too green at the edges but nonetheless fine.

Louche is delicate and persistent

The aroma is built of Kirk's hyssop, some anise, very complex. The absinthe itself is herbal and balanced.

tasting:
Pleasant and with nicely accentuated genepi, pontica, wormwood, what not, and unique, yet not striving towards any style, long-lasting in the aftertaste, different as much as Leopold

Walton Waters and Pacifique are the front, just after them comes VC and Leopold, so not bad, not bad

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     May 29, 2009
Last updated: May 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Absenta and so what?

Colour is Too pale

Louche is too quick, but once upon a time for absenta it was a norm

After water, the colour is pleasant if whitish

Aroma is minty and nothing sadly else. It is not off-putting, but too flat.

tasting:
minty, a bit spicy, weakish, though not heavy-badiane stricken, Mint and anise, not a trace of wormwood.

Being not a fan of Spanish absenta, I won't be definitely a fan of Obsello, either

Edit:
After the night of re-visits, at 1:1 wormwood appears, hence some points shall be raised. Still, as much as it is pleasant and refreshing, it lacks complexity and the power. I will give it some time rest and we shall see.

Reviewed by absinthist     May 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Thanks God, someone is making Waves

colour:

Lime green, not too neon, not undercoloured, indication of young absinthe. What to whine about? Walton Waters is darker warm green, cadmium green than Meadow of Love I haven’t had yet.

Ends opalescent green. The yellowishness it was what IMO it might have benefited from and so it have after some time.

louche:

Not too hasty, delicate, almost opaque but without striving towards too much of translucency. Note, my water is not frozen, it is just cold, so even at the level I like it, with frozen one should end much thicker.

aroma:

Herbal, clean, citrusy, flowery, at 1:3 no alcohol harshness.

flavour and finish:

Spicy, feminine and light, doesn't pack a wallop but is not dull or one-dimensional.

Intriguing, bolder than mouthfeel and aroma suggest, spicier with a perceptible wormwood and some note I am trying to pin down, like calamus, maybe elecampane or very aggressive Roman chamomile, it builds up in the middle of the palate and then fades away-now I know it is lemon thyme.

overall:

Extrait d'absinthe-no doubt about, has the personality, has its own kick and is pleasant. When kept longer in the mouth, gets divine bitterness. Lacks funkiness or one-dimensionality of some overestimated brands. This is a completely different league of what is being offered in Europe and is completely different from American notable brands like Pacifique or Leopold.

Can't wait to try Meadow of Love since it is so much of a goodness.

I have reviewed it on 12/17/2008 and once again on 04/20/2009

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     April 30, 2009
Last updated: April 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Mars 2008 batch-not a good year

If you remember the beutifully deep and vibrant colour of the early Jadedouards, that batch, that rose so many controversies at FV, will be a great disappointment. It looks exactly like strongly undercoloured Swiss les bleues turned verte at 55%, but that is 72%!

Louche is alright, exactly the one the pre-ban should produce.

If the spirit smells of glue, it means that that is high in ethyl acetate, so seems to be the case, first glue, then herbs. What has happened?

Flavour is spicy, there is wormwood in it, but the glue aftertaste and marc base have their predominant say spoiling the goodness it might offer once we go past the glueiness.

I haven't had the pleasure of tasting pre-ban Edouard, but that particular batch seems to be far, far away from what has been offered previously under that very name.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     April 30, 2009
Last updated: April 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
2.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not the absenta you know

Although the colour is natural, it is straw, so nothing in the range of absinthe tinges.

Starts like burnt sienna then develops a whitish, beige louche. Not bad, surprisingly the colour of the louched Segarra is very warm, hence pleasant to look at.

Although its herb-bill is as limited as possible, the aroma is a feast for the senses.

Flavour is pastis-alike and for my palate too heavy at times. Unlike in absentas, wormwood upfront, without the obstrusiveness of citrusy or anisy nuances.

Overall, it is much better than regular absentas like Deva or Montana, what not. On the other hand, it needs the herb-bill to be enhanced and the price to be lowered-note, it is just a mere 45%!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     April 29, 2009
Last updated: April 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Willy the Artist

It is a typical la bleue which wins the attention of an absintheur due to superb fennel, creaminess and discrete anise.

Louche is gradual, good layering, with unlouched line staying for while, not too hasty, but ends too opaque, hence the star anise is very dominant in that department. It is not a flaw, yet could be lighter.

Aroma is very clean and crisp, really inviting, of all the 6 Valotes, only Martin 54 is as inviting as that one.

Flavour, although reveals the abundance of herbs used in that absinthe is balanced with fennel upfront, some wormwoodiness, slightly accentuated mint and very tiny dose of licorice. Since it is distilled licorice, it tastes very different from the one that had been used in vintage Berger or some other absinthes from 1900 on. Despite the use of such ingredients as licorice, star anise, coriander, Bovet is not heavy at all.

Finish is bitter and pleasant.

Unlike other les bleues, it is not star anise bomb, it is not in the vein of French blanches, either. Has personality and is much better than the more recent Bovet's offer, i.e. Tradition.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     April 28, 2009
Last updated: April 28, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Gold deserves Gold

At that strength the colour is accurate, greenish and deep enough.

Louche is very gradual, very slow and doesn't reach the full opacity, maybe the herb-bill is responsible for such a louche. Still, quite nice and not too hasty.

Aroma is the Great Unknown, and thus so greatly inviting to take the first sip. Aroma is musky in a sense and definitely not absinthe-y. Again, it is so unique that cannot be considered a flaw, rather a great virtue.

Flavour is particularly rich-melissa, some unknown nuances, not a slight trace of anethole buddies, bitterness from pontica that simply eats your tongue and it is so pleasant, that it is not a problem that too much of pontica might have been used what the taste clearly suggests.

Traditional absinthe it is not, is it absinthe? Yes, it is, very unusual, very untraditional, a cosmic one that seduces with great, mature personality. Whenever I re-visit it, it is a pleasure.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     March 14, 2009
Last updated: December 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Appearance 
 
1.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not that Vieux, rather Jeune

The colour is too pale, although there were pics of a batches where it was quite nice green.

Louche is alright. However, the aroma is very flat, if it was the absinthe to surpass Lucid, it did, as they are both relatively one-dimensional. An everyday absinthe, maybe, but rather in the vein of the finest absinthes inferieures of the yore. Misplaced wormwood, wet anise profile, terribly stinking wrongly-processed alcohol, no factual aging or mellowing.

Flavour is better as wormwood note, if still too discrete, is quite pleasant.

Finish is short, tailsy and typically for the style it "thrives"-absinthe inferieure.

Overall, there are much better absinthes in the US to be savoured; there are absolutely much better absinthes in Europe as well.



Reviewed by absinthist     March 14, 2009
Last updated: March 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

enhanced Ponty

Color: The pics show an olive green goodie that I would definitely score highly, the one I have is pale green. What is going on?

Louche: delicate, nice and natural. Could be thicker just a bit.

Aroma: intriguing, interesting is the word. Not off-putting. Something new and unique. It might be the orris root-something like woody/rooty veronica with a dash of melissa

Flavor: initially, it is a bit too heavy, but then opens up. Wormwood is accentuated enough, so is hyssop, anethole have their discrete say, so it is good that it is not anise bomb, after all.

Finish: spiciness, rounded, slowly developing.

Overall: Traditional Pontarlier it is not, but a Pontarlier with some intriguing enhancements. If that was Gwydion’s aspiration, then it has been achieved. Of course, people will appreciate of it more, when its price is not that prohibitive.


Reviewed by absinthist     March 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Pacific breeze

Pacifique

Color: limey green, assuming its low strength its initial beauty has survived the dilution.

Louche: really spectacular, haven’t seen such a beautiful louche for ages.

Aroma: very crisp and inviting, fennely.

Flavor: robust and bold, the herbs themselves present in a staccato sequence that finishes as
a soft balance.

Finish: long-lingering, not to too heavy, spicy-dry-bitter in that order.

Overall impression:

Perfect representation of Montpellier. Has a character and very strong, concentrated personality. Reasonably-priced it should become an absinthe chosen over others on the American market.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     February 12, 2009
Last updated: February 12, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Overall 
 
2.0

Les bleues are best at 53-54%

Although I consider Martin absinthes to rank among the finest of Les Valotes, that one is a disappointment.

The first flaw is the inproportionate ratio of herb-bill to the alcohol level, it should use definitely twice the amount of what has been used, especially wormwood.

Not sure about which alcohol is used, however it is very harsh and if you want to smoothen it you are adding more water and as a result you over-water it and the herbs get lost. The louche is too quick, could be more gradual.

Aroma is generally nice, but doesn't get near that in the taste department where everything gets overbalanced and in fact not a slight pleasant nuance is to be savoured.

All in all, it is as good as Bovet Tradition, so not that much if still drinkable, there is a lot of work to be done, or just better switch to Martin 54-much promising product from the same maker.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     February 06, 2009
Last updated: February 06, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

2nd batch-the pinnacle of European absinthe Art

Colour is beautiful and flawless. Sadly, L'Italienne belongs to small minority of absinthes being so properly coloured and having such a traditional tinge.

It contains enough of anethole buddies to louche in a nice semi-translucent manner, so let it be.

Aroma is really intense, both neat and louche, very fragrant, strong, assertive but delicate at the same time. And it smells of herbs, not of anise foremost.

Flavour is very complex, at 1:2.5 (the perfect ratio for that batch), builds gradually and everythings is slowly revealing its charm.

Finish is long, spicy, wormwoody and citrusy.

Overall, that particular batch needs neither critique nor feedback. Those who happen to have it, should re-think why absinthes they had in such a high regard previously, are simply weak when compared to L'Italienne #2

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     September 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

The first real deal verte from Switzerland

Before I write the review I have to admit I have had two Promethee, one that was not released commercially and the other that I am reviewing now. I won’t hide that I like Promethee #1 better than Promethee #2, if the latter is such:

Colour: lime yellow with greenish tinge. Not pronounced enough

Louche: Very good, slowly-forming, sans hate, very pleasant.

Aroma: Herbal, balanced and interesting, alcohol is not overpowering. The base looks rather clean.

Flavour: Angelica could be more profound, but the rest is very nicely-paired. The wormwoody note is evident.

Finish: Colouring herbs have their say here but do not get too snitty, so nothing wrong with that. Finish is long and crisp.

Overall: Very well made absinthe. Not that exceptional as Promethee #1 but still very nice.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by absinthist     August 14, 2008
Last updated: August 14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

That one shines like a pearl

Colour: perfectly clear.



Louche: similar as in verte but quicker and more spectacular.



Aroma: Roman chamomile, wormwood, very, very herbal, pleasant and really inviting.



Flavour: bold, decisive, with long-lingering wormwoodiness and neverending dance of herbacousness. Roman chamomile is evident and provides a strong, masculine attack on the palate.



Finish: slightly anisy with herbal goodness. Kinda bitter and floral at the same time.



Overall: Exceptional blanche coming from the hands of an artist.

Retired Brands
Reviewed by absinthist     August 13, 2008
Last updated: August 13, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Vincent would like it

Although I prefer Helfrich blanche more than verte I like visiting the old friend from time to time.



Colour: the bottle Serge sent me was from Aug’07, at the very moment it is nice feuille morte.



Louche: that I really like looking at: 1:1-oil trails, 1:2-oil trails, 1:3-gets suddenly opaque but not too thick.



Aroma: inviting, clean base, citrusy, wormwoody.



Flavour: balanced, spicy, the fight between wormwood, coriander, hyssop, pontica is prevalent.



Finish: spiciness takes over to transform into very pleasant wormwoodiness with just a touch of citrus.



Overall: I am not changing my opinion, absinthe with strong personality and crazy taste.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by absinthist     August 11, 2008
Last updated: August 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Myth unmasked

Colour: pleasant to look at, striving towards Duplais’ jaune, could be darker or getting amber.



Louche: decent, slowly-forming but ends up too chalky and whitish.



Aroma: strong, funky at times, anisy



Flavour: spicy, balanced but not creamy, lacks initial wormwood attack.



Finish: too spicy, gets a bit blunt towards end.



Overall: apart from louche-action there is no resemblance to Pernod fils whatsoever. That batch from which the sample has been given to me lacks definitely something.

60 results - showing 26 - 50
1 2 3  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo