Reviews written by marlow

35 results - showing 26 - 35
1 2  
 
Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     September 15, 2008
Last updated: December 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

A sound offering...

This was my first time trying a Spanish absinthe, and I went into it a bit concerned about the purported "mint" flavor of this drink. In that regard, however, my concerns were misplaced.

The color before water was a nice but unremarkable green, somewhere between peridot and olive. After water, the drink louches to an equally unremarkable yellow jade. The louche itself forms very rapidly, without the thick, rope-like oil trails of other brands, and my sense was the louche developed somewhat too quickly to be entirely proper.

The aroma, flavor, and finish are all good. I found this absinthe heavier on wormwood and with less emphasis on anise than other varieties I've tried. In that regard, it is like Lucid, though overall it's better and does not have Lucid's peppery notes. The finish is also good: a nice, lingering bitterness.

Overall, a good offering and one I'll continue to enjoy.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     February 22, 2008
Last updated: April 05, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Alabaster perfection...

As with the Kubler, I found myself at first struggling with how to rate the color of a blanche, but in the end, the beautiful crystal clarity of La Ptite convinced me to give it full marks. From that initial sparkling clarity, it louches rapidly to a creamy alabaster, with intriguing, heavy oil trails coalescing to a thick, uniform louche. The aroma and flavor and very, very nice. The scent is fresh and leafy: very herbal but not overly grassy. The flavor is predominantly bitter, especially in the finish, the but herbal freshness is present as well. La Ptite does not have the "spicy" character of many of the vertes I've tried, but it does not suffer for that. Instead, it's smooth and layered, and very satisfying. This is one that I will order again and again. Wonderful!

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 31, 2007
Last updated: April 22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Another excellent Jade absinthe

As is typical of Jades, the Edouard pours a beautiful, clear, natural peridot, and then louches to a very pleasing jade green, with undertones of amber and blue. The aroma is also excellent -- refreshing and spicy -- as is the flavor (though I do find the spiciness of the Edouard to be almost too much). The finish is very good with the emphasis again on spiciness, though some bitterness is discernable as well. Overall, I think it's just one short rung down from its cousin the PF 1901 -- a very excellent absinthe.

Update: Tasting this absinthe again (for the first time in almost 2 years) I had to raise the score for the finish. There really is a lot going on: a gradual fading of the spices in the flavor and aroma, accompanied by a very slight numbing sensation. I still prefer the 1901, but it is a photo finish.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 29, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Refreshing and spicy

I'm very fond of Jade's Nouvelle Orleans. It pours out an attractive peridot green and louches to a pleasing jade. The color and louche are perhaps not as excellent as PF 1901, but are still very good. However, the aroma of the Nouvelle Orleans is truly outstanding. It's crisp, refreshing, spicy, and complex, and to my mind not a single note is out of place. The flavor is almost as good: there is bitterness and spice, but if those represent bass and treble, then there is perhaps less in the "mid-range" that would be ideal. The finish is good if not extraordinary, with the spice and bitterness lingering and some numbing of the tongue as well. Overall, I think the Nouvelle Orleans is a worthy cousin of the other Jade offerings, and it's definitely one I'll order again.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 25, 2007
Last updated: December 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Not a Chopin Nocturne, but still pretty good

This is an absinthe that I genuinely enjoy drinking, even though I would not list it among my very favorites. Visually, it's unremarkable. It begins a pale peridot, natural but not extraordinary, and it louches to a substantial jade green (with a slightly yellowish-grey undertone). The aroma is clean and refreshing and maybe just a little peppery, but though not bad I do think it is a bit unusual. The taste is an enjoyable mix of sweeter herbs and bitterness. It's not as complex as the various Jades are, but it is nonetheless pleasing. The finish is likewise good and interesting, and there is no obtrusive bitterness in the aftertaste. The numbing quality is comparatively strong, however.

Overall, I feel Lucid shows a lot of promise and is a worthy introductory absinthe for the US market. And there is no denying it: it's as affordable as absinthes get.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0

I think we have a winner....

I'm very, very impressed with the 1797. To begin with, it's a gorgeous peridot green: clear and bright, but perfectly natural. With a slow drip of ice cold water, it louches to a pleasing jade green. Yes, the louche is a little on the thin side, but really only very slightly, and the lava lamp-like oil trails by which the louche builds are nothing short of mesmerizing. The aroma is clean and spicy and very pleasing, but could perhaps be a little more intense. The flavor, however, is absolutely delightful: an exquisite blend of spiciness and bitterness, with an arresting herbal intensity that nevertheless is never intrusive. The finish is slightly bitter but complex; this is where the "tonic" really comes through, but it only adds interest. There is nothing intrusive or distracting about this absinthe.



Yes, I'll have another, thank you. Christmas just got happier!

Reviewed by marlow     December 24, 2007
Last updated: January 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

My first blanche...

Like others, I struggled with how to rate the color of a blanche. Before water, it's perfectly clear, but I felt that awarding it a "5" would skew the rest of the review, so I settled on a "4." As water is added, the Kubler 53 gradually becomes a translucent, milky white, and the aroma is fresh and crisp and quite pleasing. However, I found the flavor to be a little one-dimensional, although it is nevertheless good and very acceptable. The finish is interestingly bitter but not overly so, and is pleasant enough even if not as complex as other absinthes. If Kubler's flavor matched its aroma and finish, I believe this absinthe would border on the excellent. Overall, I found the Kubler enjoyable, but I think there is room for improvement.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 24, 2007
Last updated: January 04, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0

Good, but not great...

I had heard a lot about the Belle Amie and was expecting "wonderful things," but I found that while good, this absinthe left me wanting more. The color seemed natural but was an unremarkable olive green, and although I slowly added very cold water in a 3:1 ratio, the louche seemed a bit on the thin side. The color after water was a transluscent, yellowish jade, but there was a certain lack of uniformity that surprised me. Nevertheless, the Belle Amie does get points for aroma and flavor, both of which were very good. In particular, the scent was delightfully clean and refined. The flavor was a pleasing mix of spice and herbal bitterness. To me, the finish seemed a bit off...not unpleasant, but the bitterness almost reaches the point of being obtrusive as one swallows a mouthful. Perhaps it will smooth out with age?

So, overall I like it, but I would not rate it in the top tier.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 22, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0

Very nearly perfect...

As of this writing, the PF 1901 is the best absinthe I've tasted. To begin, it's a lovely peridot green, very natural and yet a perfect hue and intensity. After water, it becomes a creamy jade green, with hints of amber and blue, and in passing I'll note that the transition is most entertaining to observe. However, it's in the tasting that this absinthe really comes into its own. The aroma is herbal and complex, but also refined and subtle, and the flavor is a perfect balance of spice and the slightest bitterness. The finish is good and slightly numbing. Overall, a delectable spirit -- the best of a very excellent family of absinthes.

Traditional Absinthe
Reviewed by marlow     December 12, 2007
Last updated: December 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0

Verte de Fougerolles 72

Before water, the Verte de Fougerolles looks like an unusually clear olive oil, and it is perhaps not the most attractive absinthe on the market (especially if one is expecting a bright, peridot green). However, it louches to a pleasing, yellowish jade and when tasted proves a fragrant and flavorful drink. I would describe it as "herbal" and "leafy" and even a little wild. It is far from the most subtle absinthe I've tried, and it's one of the few I prefer with sugar. But if one is in the mood for a bold and arresting absinthe, I think this is a very good choice.

35 results - showing 26 - 35
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo