Pacifique Absinthe Verte Superieure http://www.wormwoodsociety.org/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/3c/a4/e8/493_PICT0118_1236876143.jpg

 
4.4 (3)
 
4.4 (18)
18 results - showing 1 - 18
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by josephlabrecque September 13, 2013
Last updated: August 22, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (27)

Pacific Gem

Unlouched, Pacifique is a fairly complex green/yellow with a clean scent a bit reminiscent of fir trees. Once tempered with water, these hints are still present alongside a nice balance of the expected absinthe herbs. The louche itself takes a bit to form and is a bit thin – but is entertaining to view and builds into a solid yellowish-green milkiness.

As for flavor – the aromas do not lie and much of the strong herbal character is also quite present in the mouth. Again – very balanced. This is one of the more bitter absinthes I’ve had but I love them this way. Good with or without sugar – though I normally take this one without.

Something I really appreciate about this absinthe is that all of the botanicals are listed on the bottle. Grain neutral spirits with; anise, angelica, coriander, fennel, hyssop, melissa, grand wormwood, and roman wormwood. You know exactly what goes into this elixir.

08/22/2014 UPDATE: Corrected score to account for what I consider a thinner louche. Not as bad as some - but this bottle I have is quite thinner than I remember. Water must be VERY COLD. Slow drip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
3.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
3.5
Reviewed by coasterguy June 05, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Solid and interesting

Appearance: Clear, jewel-like green with a hint of yellow

Louche: Dramatic trails lead to a rolling fog very quickly. Completely louched by 2:1. Greenish-yellow tint, thick.

Aroma: Spicy sandalwood notes with an earthy base. Very pleasant, but tended to stay in the glass rather than fill the room. Still aromatic at 3:1, much less so at 4:1

Flavor: Wormwood bitterness right up front followed by spicy, more complex flavors. Nicely balanced after the initial sip. The first sip always seems to be more bitter than the ones that follow.

Finish: Dry and spicy with some numbing. Lasts quite awhile.

Overall: This is one of the few brands I prefer sugared. I also find it best at around 4:1, which eliminates the alcohol burn still present at 3:1. It's a good go-to absinthe when you want something interesting, but not too gimmicky.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Neorebel January 27, 2013
Last updated: January 27, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

The next step up in American absinthe distilling

Date: 7/4/11

Appearance: A light crystal green. Slightly yellow, depending on viewing angle... reminds me of green glass and honey.

Louche: Opalescent trails begin the process, as the absinthe begins to turn a cloudy lime color from the bottom up. Good overall, but it could be thicker.

Aroma: A Soapy perfume-like citrus, with an earthy spice dominates before water. After louching, it becomes more balanced as the initial punch fades into the complex nose which contains the expected alpine herb aroma. There is also a hint of white pepper & earthiness in the background.

Flavor: Initial zap of wormwood. Powdery & silky. Overall very balanced and relatively light. It has the taste of a refined absinthe everyone can enjoy.

Finish: Pacifique has a nice dry fade and medium mouth feel. Leaves me wanting more.

Overall: The next step up in American distilled absinthe. This is a more feminine type of flavor. At the top of the mid range/priced absinthe. Lives up to the hype!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
3.5
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by discosheets May 27, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Just gets better and better!

Pacifique is a really great verte absinthe! I have had it two different times now and the one thing I have to say about it is that it will really improve after opening and the flavor is very sensitive to the water ratio, but once you get it right it is quite delicious so don't judge it too harshly based on your first glass.

Appearance (4) : Pacifique comes in a very simple but fancy looking bottle, dark glass that keeps the eerie olive oil green color of the absinthe from fading. More neat looking than inviting, but a 4 nonetheless.
Louche (3.5) : The louche is great, but underwhelming compared the the thick cloudy louche other verte absinthes are capable of. Not disapointing, but could be better.
Aroma (4) : Pacifique smells spicy, inviting and deceptively complex. I personally loved the burning sweet vapor that comes out of the new bottle.
Flavor / Mouthfeel (4) : The flavor is very unique, which I love about quality absinthe. The holy trinity is working its magic, but there is an extra spiciness to the flavor that is exotic and tempting. Very refreshing and numbing.
Finish (4) : The finish is great, and the numbing effect lingers so slightly that it leaves you wanting more. Would have received a 5 if the spicy flavor lingered rather than the bitter.
Overall (4.5) : I had to give Pacifique an overall rating of 4.5 because each category was so close to being a 5. It really is a delicious and unique absinthe that is definitely worth trying, experimenting with, and then trying again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Miguel July 12, 2011
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

My favorite absinthe.

Color is a nice peridot

Louche is gorgeous and jewel like.

The neat aroma is balanced herbal and heavenly, louched it is still there but a bit subdued.

Flavor and finish are complex, balanced, and delicious.

overall. This is my favorite absinthe, the one I reach for by default, and the one I buy by the box full. I love the way it looks, smells, and most importantly, I love the flavor and finish on a hot summer day. I prefer it without sugar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by baubel June 04, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

One of the best vertes commercially available...(t

This is truly an excellent absinthe and I'm kicking myself for not buying a bottle sooner. It has a lot of really great things going on with it. I didn't use sugar with the class that I'm reviewing now. It's one of the very few commercial absinthes that I think might benefit from a little sugar, if one prefers a sweeter glass of absinthe. It's very good without the sugar if a slightly bitter glass of absinthe is desired. I like that flexibility, as moods and desires can change from day to day.

The color straight from the bottle is a little bit lighter than what I was expecting, it was almost clear. I was surprised by this, and have no idea how long the bottle was sitting on the shelf, so that may have been a factor. After water has been added it's a light cloudy green, just like an excellent absinthe should be.

The louche is excellent, one of the best I've seen and has a beautiful mouthfeel. It is thickest around 3:1, and lightens just a little bit by 4.5:1, but it is still thick enough to prevent me from seeing through the glass.

The pre-water aroma is herbal, but there is some strong alcohol there as well, which quickly disappears once water begins to be added. The resulting aroma is very pleasant and relaxing, very herbal, not strong or harsh, just there in the background.

Pacifique has one of the the best flavor profiles I've tasted in a commercial verte. It's a little wormwood heavy, hence my prior suggestion for adding sugar if a sweeter drink is preferred. The wormwood flavor itself is excellent, leafy and floral, but not too much. The anise, hyssop, melissa and fennel come through supporting the flavor in the back, after the wormwood has done it's bit. This is easily going to be a go-to absinthe for me, and I think based on the flavor alone it's a perfect introductory and standard absinthe for new and experienced absinthe drinkers. Although the flavor is a little bit wormwood heavy, it's not overdone, and the rest of the herbs and spices are very balanced and supportive in all the right ways.

The finish has some melissa and a little wormwood, but it's perfectly harmonious with what an excellent abisnthe should be.

This absinthe rocks. I'm very excited about it and glad it's done so well and see how it can easily continue to do so for quite some time. Excellent work Pacific Distillery!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Evan Camomile May 06, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (69)

Now THIS is Absinthe!

Color: Pacifique starts with a very clear and natural green coloration. This is just a tad too light but otherwise perfect.

Louche: The louche is slow to start and is turbulent with slight oil traces. Later on the louche blooms really well and is a wonderful gradient with a clear top and milky bottom. When finished the louche is near perfect in terms of translucent to milky. Pacifique is incredibly beautiful when it is ready to drink.

Aroma: The aroma is right up my alley! This is a complex and herbaceous smell with not one scent overpowering another. I may be caught wearing this as cologne in the near future!

Flavor: This is an extremely balanced drink. The mixture of herbs is present and although the traditional herbal flavors are definitely there, they do not mask the other ingredients too much. The balance and mixture definitely make this a unique absinthe. Pacifique is an herb-strong drink that is slightly bitter, and I could understand where one would want to add a bit of sugar, but not me.

Finish: The finish is warm and has a slightly numbing sensation. The complexity stays and dances around just a bit. Not too much of a change but very refreshing.

Overall: This is an amazing herbal absinthe that is about as balanced as it gets. The drink is very prone to ratio modifications and doesn't do too well lighter than 1:4 whereas any stronger would be too strong.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Amber Peter May 03, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (58)

Wow.

Color: Very pretty. It's not too yellow or dark, but a pure, clean peridot.

Louche: Turbulent and rolling. Once it's fully louched, it becomes creamy and lovely with peach-gold reflections.

Aroma: Pre-louched strongly of coriander, but was greatly lessened when louched. Not too strong and not particularly room-filling. Sweet and balanced.

Flavor: Good. Great even. The flavor is executed very well...I feel like each sip tasted wonderful, each bringing on a new flavor to contemplate and explore. I certainly can't find any complaints regarding the flavor.

Finish: Warm and spicy, herbal and very fresh, with a lingering mintyness.

Overall: The more I drink this, the more I'm impressed. I tend to pour myself a glass and after a sip or two, I have to sit back and go "wow, this is really nice." I always avoid sugar because I enjoy the flavor of absinthe without it, but I was curious to try this absinthe with a little sugar: it's full-on, indulgent, naughty good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Anstis LaPointe April 12, 2010
Last updated: April 12, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

The True 'French'-Style Absinthe I Was Waiting For

Color: Pacifique Absinthe Verte Superieure has a nice clear green color with yellow hints pre-louche; nice greenish opalescent color when louched, some pepper (?) sediment on top. Looks perfectly like a glass of fine, classic French absinthe.

Louche: Very nice oil trails take their time for a fine show. Once clouds start to form it louches quickly, but there's still some complexity there. Classic layer of clear green liquor on top of louche. Quite nice.

Aroma: Once you get passed the alcohol odor the "trinity" has a fresh fragrance. Other herbs are noticeable, too. Some pepper, light vanilla notes, add to a quality fragrance. Pacifique Absinthe Verte Superieure also contains angelica, coriander, hyssop, melissa and petite wormwood imparting a well-rounded herbal flavor.

Flavor: Nice grain spirit imparts no bad taste or aftertaste. "Trinity" is good and balanced, what most reasonable people would want from a French-style absinthe. Perfectly good, herbs taste fresh ... but could the "trinity" benefit from being be slightly stronger? I haven't tasted a better French-style verte, so I stand by my rating here.

Finish: Very fine, wormwood coats the tongue nicely but is not overwhelming. Other ingredients come together nicely. No ill aftereffects. Another good, clean grain spirit base that does not interfere with the stars of the show, the fresh herbs, some of which are allegedly organically grown at the distiller's estate.

Overall: Pacifique has earned a fan. I would like to have some of this on hand at all times. It is THE absinthe now commercially available in the USA that is closest to the true 19th century French style — and the herb complex is most fresh. "Il est sans parallèle." Once again, with this absinthe there is no hangover after drinking reasonable quantities because of "clean" quality of the grain alchohol base. Thank you Pacifique for a superior experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Scott M. January 30, 2010
Last updated: January 05, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (64)

Pacifique Is Wonderful Stuff



The color is that of natural lime juice. Natural and clear.

The aroma is inviting. Somebody worked hard on this one. The word elegant comes to mind. A warm rich anise, alpine florals and light spice. During the louche, it opens up, and the wormwood becomes more clear. Very nice.

The louche develops evenly and slowly, creamy greens and whites are lovely to watch. Modest trails give way to smoky clouds and billows in a slow dramatic display. A really lovely shade of creamy green that has just a slight translucency. Very pretty.

The flavor profile is well balanced and gentle, there is a lot going on in this absinthe. Nothing overpowers, all elements working together for a delicious experience. Soft quality wormwood, anise and fennel in harmony, with a light spice, and pepper on the edges.

Finish is very nice. Gentle floral and herbal elements, lingering fennel...Soft and sophisticated. It stays with you just right, with the gentlest of bitter, ending in a nice light powder that makes you want more.

I love that they use organic herbs, and grow much of their own. I have used Pacifique to introduce many to absinthe, and it has never failed to entice people to want to try more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by oglala56 November 14, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (17)

Surprising Pacifique

Color is a medium peridot. It's radiant refractive and appealing. The louche is an excellent gradual development with lots of delicate snowy cloud action, and ending up with a delightful thickness, with lovely opalescence. Color after water is peridot with white shades, with excellent reflection of a creamy gradient green. The aroma neat is of an alpine meadow and louched it opens up with a balanced scent of anise, fennel and wormwood. It is extremely balanced with a fresh clean nose. Mouth feel is creamy soft and full. The taste is balanced with soft delicious herbal notes. Slight spiciness with a sweet fruity tinge..a nice balanced wormwood finish. An excellent, delightful, fresh absinthe. The alpine herbal, sweet tinged flavor with the excellent wormwood finish is superb.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by bksmithey August 14, 2009
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

Beautiful Pacifique

very cold water drip to 3.5:1 and then additional water to probably 4:1, no sugar

color: beautiful clear green, slightest hint of yellow/gold. Not the deepest color I've seen but by no means pale. Very attractive, natural, and appropriate.

nose (neat): soft and clean, nothing sharp or funky. You wouldn't guess this is 62% alc. it's so pleasant and easy to smell. Nicely herbal, you can find the anise in there and maybe I'm getting a notion of citrus. I'll get into the aroma more after the louche.

louche: not a super thick louche, but use very cold water and take your time and you will be rewarded. Nice swirling, slow building cloudiness with good layering. At 3:1 or so appears fairly thin and more translucent than most, but color is very nice and the glass is attractive. Hints of blue, I'm still trying to get a handle on "opalescence" and this may be it.

aroma: my (in)experience is letting me down here. The aroma is wonderful and inviting. Maybe I picked up some mint and citrus, thought once there was a hint of cut celery, but really, just an extremely pleasant anise and herbal aroma. It's the kind of thing where rather than trying to critically analyze the aroma, you just want to smell it and smile. I'm unable to pick out any individual aromas beyond the familiar anise/fennel.

flavor: wonderful. This is an anise drink, as absinthe should be, but by no means one-dimensional; there's very nice herbal character supporting the anise, and a good balancing wormwood bitterness. Very nice mouthfeel, feels richer than the post-louche appearance led me to believe.

finish: long and well balanced. Mildy pleasant tongue clinging and numbing. Leaves a refreshed feeling in the mouth. Cool, sweet, and clean.

overall: Pacifique is incredible, nothing more needs to be said. To my taste it leans towards the delicate/feminine side, and seems to be an amazing feat of balancing complexity and restraint. This is easily up there in the top tier of absinthes I've tasted.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by accountant May 31, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

High Quality US Absinthe

Color- Very nice green. Not a true peridot but closer to a more pale ‘green amethyst’ like color. There are a few sprinkles of sediment at the bottom of the glass.

Louche- Oil trail action starts at about 1/1. Nothing too crazy in terms of cascading explosions. A little weak but I’m really nitpicking. There are pretty gold and blue refractions under natural light.

Aroma- I get a sweet, candy-like vanilla scent. Very refined and not cheap smelling at all. Deeper aromas of anise, fennel and melissa invite you to start drinking this stuff.

Flavor- Anise, fennel and a mid-palate wormwood bite are all in harmony here. Different depths of melissa are present depending on the sip. Some mint and hyssop round out the flavors and linger on to the finish. This absinthe is both savory and fresh at the same time. Very pleasant and extremely complex- I’m having trouble picking out all of the flavors and describing them.

Finish- I primarily get anise and melissa with some quality wormwood bite. One of the longest finishes I’ve experienced.

Overall- This is a top-tier absinthe. A few improvements in the color or louche would put this in the elite category. This is a great value, at least in the ‘absinthe world.’ Pick it up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by jaysthename May 29, 2009
Last updated: July 22, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

Pacifique is nearly perfect

Color: Pacifique has a natural-looking peridot color that is a little bit lighter than what I believe could be considered 'perfect' for a verte. Nevertheless, it is very appealing, with no visible sediment nor much in the way of haziness. The green edges toward a golden straw color as it is louched.

Louche: Oily curls evolve into bell-shaped cascades about the time that the water-to-absinthe ratio reaches 1:1. After that, the bells thicken and blossom briefly into opalescent clouds which beatifully refract blue and green hues, remaining active until nearly 3:1. The entire process is engaging, but not easily seen without good lighting.

Aroma: The green anise in Pacifique is most notable for its restraint, with herbs such as fennel and coriander being more prominent. The overall aroma is complex but unified, with no simple scent of alcohol to distract from it.

Flavor: Pacifique has an excellent, well-balanced flavor. The bitterness of the wormwood and (to a lesser extent) the hyssop blends wonderfully with the comparitively subdued anise and fennel, with hints of melissa. There is a slight mintiness that I would also attribute to the hyssop, with coriander acting as the fulcrum over which the entirety hinges.

Finish: The mouthfeel leaves a pleasant aftertaste of coriander that lingers just long enough to make you want another sip.

Overall: Pacifique is a marvelous absinthe full of subtle complexity that I would heartily recommend to anyone. The fact that it is produced using organic botanicals is a testimony to the dedication to quality that is apparent in every sip. I've sampled this on three separate occasions over the past three days, and am still working on the full flavor profile, but that's partly because I'm new at tasting absinthe. To date, though, this is the best absinthe I've had, being noticeably better than Lucid and Obsello.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
3.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by marlow May 29, 2009
Last updated: January 23, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

A good, delicate flavor.

I found the Pacifique to be well done, but it probably will never be a favorite of mine. It begins a pale shade of peridot. The color before water is attractive but not as intense as some other absinthes. With the addition of water, a pleasant louche forms. The final color is a very slightly greenish white, not very different from a typical blanche. The louche is a bit on the thin side.

The aroma of the Pacifique is its best feature. There is a nice, clean and delicate spice which is very pleasing. One detects a hint of pepper in the aroma, but nothing too intense or distracting. In the flavor and finish, the pepper comes through even more, and I was reminded a bit of Lucid, though Pacifique's flavor is more subtle and refined. The finish is very similar to the overall taste, with pepper being the predominant note.

Overall, I like this absinthe fairly well, and its certainly a good value for the money. However, it falls a bit short of the standard set by the top-tier absinthes available in the US.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Green Baron May 16, 2009
Last updated: May 29, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (26)

Magnifique Pacifique!

-Color-
Before Water: Pale, amber with just a hint of green. Perhaps on the side of too pale, but still vibrant. Most doses are perfectly clear, but some do have tiny specks of particulate.

After Water: The green comes out a bit more in a light lime straw hue. To me this is a perfect balance between opaque and translucent- truly opalescent, has a way of glowing with whatever light is in the room.

-Louche-
Trails are not thick, but finely detailed, forming mini layers of clear jellies. A slow forming, but well defined fog-bank displays a nice bit of bounce and grows at a perfect measured pace. With good light, I can actually see the louche action roiling away UNDERNEATH the fog at the bottom of the glass. From start to finish, the louche is on the delicate side- but in a complex and pleasing way.

-Aroma-
Before Water: A brisk sweetness with earthy, vaguely cinnamon notes.

After Water: The alpine briskness is here, but there are also fruity herbal notes and a big background of powdery floral sweetness that I believe comes from the hyssop. It’s clean, refreshing and rich all at the same time.

-Flavor-
Not knowing what Pacifique or what the Montpelier style tasted like before this release, I was expecting a wormwood bomb. However I was also surprised by the initially powerful and strident, yet paradoxically transparent anethole section of the trio.

With only a short period of breathing, the supporting herbal hymns and baby powder hyssop come forth. It is amazing how well balanced the ingredients are, yet I am constantly getting glints of nuances from each of the flavors. This is also one of the freshest, most “alpine” tasting absinthes I’ve had.

Not the creamiest mouthfeel, but very smooth and refined, it has more of a satin character. Seamlessly transitions into the softly dry finish.

-Finish-
The wonderful lingering finish caries the alpine and floral notes for a long time. Here the excellent wormwood blend is showcased not only as minty on the high end with a savory bitterness in the back, but also a tasty herbaceous quality right before the bitter kicks in.

-Overall-
A learned colleague of mine described this absinthe as elegant. I could not agree more- alpine elegance in a glass. With the possible exception of pre-ban vintage, it doesn’t getter better than this folks.

Notes: Various ratios from 3:1 to 4:1. Multiple glasses louched with fountain and brouille drips, as well as poors via sports bottle, carafe and pitcher; no sugar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by absinthist March 14, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (60)

Pacific breeze

Pacifique

Color: limey green, assuming its low strength its initial beauty has survived the dilution.

Louche: really spectacular, haven’t seen such a beautiful louche for ages.

Aroma: very crisp and inviting, fennely.

Flavor: robust and bold, the herbs themselves present in a staccato sequence that finishes as
a soft balance.

Finish: long-lingering, not to too heavy, spicy-dry-bitter in that order.

Overall impression:

Perfect representation of Montpellier. Has a character and very strong, concentrated personality. Reasonably-priced it should become an absinthe chosen over others on the American market.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Absomphe March 12, 2009
Last updated: August 13, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (26)

The Epitome of the Montpelier Style

Where to begin?

Although just a wee bit on the pale side, the color is a vibrant, refractive peridot green that I find immensely appealing.

The louche is a beauteous unfolding thing with lots of delicate snow globe action, which eventually clouds over to a fairly thick luminescent opalescence.

The aroma neat is like an alpine meadow with relatively soft alcohol showing through. As the louche commences, this fragrance opens up wonderfully, revealing an incredibly balanced, and rounded herbal perfume (not a literal perfume, as in L'Italienne), and one can discern beautiful Andalusian (and somewhat fruity) anise, fruity fennel, a good hint of angelica, and an absolutely amazing soft talc-like hyssop. These aromatics carry over into the flavor almost seamlessly, and while each herb can be savored on its own, one has to taste "hard" because the flavors quickly blend back into a (at the risk of repeating myself) seamless whole. The finish is long, but could have a bit more duration and intensity. The mouth feel is not the creamiest I've ever experienced, but it is perfect for the flavors that it supports, and there's an exquisite "softness"to the Pacifique that I find adds even more to its appeal.

This would be my idea of the perfect absinthe, if it were only a bit less delicate. It is like sipping, and savoring a bright, happy, alpine meadow in May, and every time I louche a glass, it awakens my senses teasingly, and leaves me quite happy, but for the slight desire that it was a tad fuller, and richer.

Thank you, Marc, for bringing this elegant and beautiful rendition of the Montpelier style to fabulous fruition!

Edit...Having recently tried the latest run of Pacifique, I must upgrade my score to a 5.0. The color has become a more vibrant peridot, the louche is definitely fuller (not quite thick, but perfect for the style), and the flavor is livelier, and richer while also being smoother, and even more seamless. If I had to choose between the superlative Edourd Pernods I have tasted, or this latest bottling of Pacifique, I would honestly choose the latter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 18
 
Ordering 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo