Jade PF 1901 http://www.wormwoodsociety.org/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/b6/c0/29/173_173jadepf19011186439410_1210356356.jpg

 
4.6 (3)
 
4.5 (21)
21 results - showing 1 - 21
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by josephlabrecque August 22, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (31)

PerFection 1901

So much has been said about this absinthe - and it's really that good. I'd give Eddy a nudge up on the PF for complexity... but she is still a stunner and deserves the 5 star sweep I'm providing. Serious perfection in a glass.

Mid-2013 bottling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by shady2001 March 19, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

The True Heir to Pernod Fils

PF 1901, 2013 Bottling

I had great expectations for the 1901 even before tasting it, but suffice to say that they were well and truly vindicated: It is truly the smoothest, most balanced modern absinthe I have ever tasted.

The louche and aroma are its strongest points, with the floral aroma filling the room and whetting the appetite. With the addition of ice cold water, the light greenish product starts to develop billowing clouds and swirls, eventually setting into a completely opaque, light greenish concoction. It seems to be just right at 1:4 to 1:4.5 dilution, with half a cube of sugar.

The PF 1901 is deceptively refreshing: it is far too easy to go through two to three glasses without feeling any alcohol heat - it is THAT smooth thanks to the superb quality of the marc base, it almost seems non-alcoholic - an incredible feat for a 68% ABV distillate. The mouthfeel is rounded, like drinking liquid silk. As for the taste, it is laced with moderate spice on the head, but rapidly mellows into anise and a particularly pronounced fennel body, segueing into slight bitterness of a distinctive wormwood finish. The perfect holy trinity, no one herb predominates; all key ingredients can be tasted in equal portion - it's nothing especially unorthodox, but goes back to the basics, albeit leaps and bounds better than any other marque today.

Although I have not yet had a sample of vintage Pernod Fils, the Jade, when judged by its own merits, is the contemporary iteration of a traditional absinthe par excellence, with everything as it should be. The paragon of refinement.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Songcatcher November 03, 2012
Last updated: September 13, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

JL 1901 2012

JL 1901 March 2012 bottling

Appearance neat is a beautiful golden shade of amber green.
Louched it becomes a very antique looking yellow green opaque light jade.

The louche is a nicely layering display coming up slowly from the bottom of the glass dancing in rythym with the Lucid balancier with the darker neat layer lying on top. By 2/1 is fully opaque.

Aroma neat is the smooth base shining through with a hint of vanilla and spices. The addition of ice cold water brings heavy anise and hearty florals. With a minty herbal goodness and a musky scent that cannot be mistaken for anything but a Jade. Powerful and smooth. Superb.

Flavor of the JL 01 neat is slightly similar to Lucid, but much, much cleaner and pronounced. With cucumber, peppermint and the aforementioned heavenly base. Absolutely inviting.
Fully prepared the flavor is an excellent herbal bliss with nice hot pepper and powdery overtones. And something akin to butternut squash with the everdeveloping aroma surrounding it all. A very puntuated and smooth mouthfeel. This is one you can really sink your teeth into.
Couldn't be happier.

The finish is rich and smooth with a lingering 'afterglow' that is pleasant and prickly and fills your senses with a good dose of happy. Slight numbing on the tongue after a minute or so but just enough to remind you that you have more waiting in the glass.

Overall the JL 1901 is a wonderful absinthe that takes you back in time to what i believe absinthe of a hundred years ago would taste like. A very pleasant beverage that I believe most would enjoy.
I have found that because of the smoothness of the Jade line, I usually prefer this one at lower dilutions. 3/1 or lower. It's that good. Although it is beautiful at any dilution above that to at least 5.5/1. Or just whatever you're in the mood for.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Miguel September 23, 2011
Last updated: March 17, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

1901 meets and exceeds the hype and hoopla

kinda pale neat.

Great Louche (must be a Ted thing)

Nice, bold aroma

Delicious flavor, bold, creamy, balanced, and very tasty

Great finish, creamy and complex.

I could have sworn I had tasted this already because of of the great detailed reviews here. It more than lives up to the hype and adoration.

Edited to bump appearance to 4, since it is clear, bright and natural. wish i could give aroma a 4.5, or 4.49. Better than just good, but I've encountered enough abstinthes with a more enticing aroma to give it a 5. Still over all this absinthe is great, and among my favorites.

Gave the aroma a desreved 4.5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Evan Camomile June 20, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (69)

PF 1901

Color: PF 1901 is a light green and a bit yellow-gold at the edges. It is very clear and bright. It seems a little too pale but otherwise perfect.

Louche: This has a quick louche and is very active with early oil swirls. There is a nice gradient and also a unique final pop when the louche finishes. It has a nice thickness and is yellow-gold with a apparent translucence when held up to the light.

Aroma: PF 1901 smells a bit flowery and spiced but not too complex. It appears to be very well balanced and not too heated at all.

Flavor: There is a nice balance of flavor here. The wormwood is up front first leading to other flavors. It is earthy and robust but also simple. At a higher ratio a bit of floral flavor is noted but nothing game changing. It's not weak in flavor at all but it is a tad simple.

Finish: There is a good length to this finish and it sweetens up a lot. The wormwood rounds out the flavor and it numbs the tongue just a bit but not too heavily. Very pleasing and relaxing.

Overall: This is a simple yet deep absinthe. The finish is a high point and the louche is very pretty. This is not complex or surprising in any way but still a very solid offering.

Bottled on Date Sept. 2010.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Amber Peter June 13, 2011
Last updated: June 13, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (58)

Good, but not unbelievable

Color: Nice, natural green with hints of gold and amber. It’s a little pale, but not at all unpleasant.

Louche: Beautiful, opalescent louche, very turbulent and rolly. The color is lovely, with pale yellows and turquoise.

Aroma: Somewhat spicy, lightly flowery with something that reminds me of jello mix. Somewhat citrusy, with an earthy dirt scent.

Flavor: The flavor is smooth and very rounded, with a nice wormwood taste. It’s very reminiscent of something but I can’t place just what that something is. It feels familiar, like I’m about to remember something, and then the feeling fades, much like the flavor, disappearing a bit too quick.

Finish: The finish gets very sweet, and lingers for a long while. It feels like it’s going somewhere, but it never quite reaches where it was headed, like a story that trails off.

Overall: I like this absinthe, but it gives me the sensation of nostalgia of something…I just can’t place what that something is…it’s like trying to remember a song or place. It tastes nice, but I wasn’t blown away, and the quality certainly wasn’t leaps and bounds above other absinthes also trying to emulate this style that I’ve tried. It definitely gave me good bearing on the other attempts at the Pernod Fils style absinthes enough to appreciate how near/far they were also able to get to that style. I do feel that either my bottle was not very good or that it’s been a bit too overhyped, as it is not the most incredible absinthe I have ever tasted.

This is from the Sept. 2010 bottling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Scott M. February 21, 2010
Last updated: September 06, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (64)

You Won't Be Jaded!

I've spent a lot of time trying various ratios, and I've settled on 4:1 for my personal favorite. At less than this, I find the stronger elements overwhelming. With more water however, a sophisticated balance is reached.

Color: Natural, a lovely touch of light peridot green. Crystal clear.

Louche: Trails gave way slowly to clouds whisping up from the bottom in well defined layers. An inviting nice light green and white with flirty copper highlights. A wonderful opalescent louche.

Aroma: lovely, subtle, balanced and delicate. It filled the room as the louche formed. All elements blended so well together I couldn't wait to taste it.

Flavor: Strong earthy wormwood, anise and fennel are in a good balance. This is a masculine yet elegant absinthe. Spice and pepper mingled with a slight earthy flavor.

Finish: Lingering flavor elements build to a peak, pulling gently at you, opening up to a full delicious anise with feathery fading fennel on the exhale. Very very nice.

Overall: This is a solid, well-crafted absinthe. I find one sugar and 5:1 open it up and allow for the more subtle elements to reveal themselves. I've found it takes a bit of aging to be at its best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by oglala56 November 06, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (17)

Jade PF 1901

Natural green, bright and clear color. The louch is slow, and milky green, rising slowly from the bottom like a cloud of smoke, gradually thickening to opaque. After drip the color is pale but unmistakably green, great shading, opaque. The aroma is very smooth and well balanced. Lightly herbal, and manages to blossom very effectively. A smooth balance of creaminess with bite from the base. A soft, lingering numbness follows every sip that rolls over the tongue, without affecting the taste. It has a smooth, well balanced taste.
Overall this is obviously a benchmark absinthe. Well crafted with quality ingredients. It’s worth drinking just to watch the louche, and enjoy the taste. While not my favorite Jade it is a worthy addition.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by pt447 April 01, 2009
Last updated: April 03, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

My first Jade

This taste has been sponsored by a generous sample, louched with slowly dripped, ice cold water and no sugar.

Aroma pre-louche: A nice, smooth blend of wormwood and fennel. Very soft and floral. In the glass the nose is slightly of alcohol, but not unpleasant, with a sweetness that tames it.

Color: Perfect crystal peridot. Very natural. Perfect.

Louche: The water trails dance around very slowly. Much slower than any absinthe I've had previously. This lasts for a minute or so before the whole volume just cascades into complete opalescence, leaving a thing layer at the top that eventually melts away. The aroma is weak during the louche, but provides the room with a cleansing sweetness that is not overpowering but noticeable. The aroma when finished and sniffed right from the rim of the glass is very sweet and well supported from within, if that makes any sense. The color on completion is a perfectly authentic shade of pale, milky jade.

Flavor: First off, the mouth feel is exceptional. Very creamy. At first something very "woody" jumps out, and I presume this might be the best example of a forward wormwood flavor I've had yet. This lingers on the tongue and throughout the mouth as a very subtly sweet character appears and quickly cuts off any hint of bitterness. I find the anise to be only a supporting character here, allowing fennel and wormwood to bring their unique qualities to the front and sit on the tip of the tongue.

Overall: There is something nostalgic about this absinthe. This is the most balanced and well formed absinthe I've had. It really emphasizes the importance of each ingredient to the overall flavor. This is a fantastic absinthe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by accountant February 05, 2009
Last updated: September 17, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

Sure, I'll have another

The color is a beautiful peridot green. Clear, no sediment

The louche is probably the best I've seen. It starts off with a slow, snow-globe like flurry and the particles begin to explode like fireworks from the bottom of the glass (Ok I just miss the summer time 4th. of July festivities here in the windy city- it's freezing right now)

The anise is not as dominant as in other absinthes I've enjoyed. I love the aroma. I really get the fennel and I get this Italian sausage reminder when I smell it. Is it room filling? No I don’t think so but I don’t have a sensitive nose either.

The anise is slightly more in the forefront during tasting- along with a delicate arrangement of fennel & wormwood. I totally get the "baby powder" thing too! I like that. Pretty creamy mouthfeel. Just right.

The finish is quite similar to the flavor. It then dies down to some tongue numbing; just enough to remind you that you're drinking booze. I really get coriander on the finish as well. The finish may be a tad quick. I love the flavors that linger in this after indulging- I wish it would last longer.

Overall, I'd like to say that after getting this, I get home from work on a Friday night, started to pour and it made my week. This puts a big smile on my face. Quality

Note:
I’m still developing my palette for absinthe; I’ve tried about six decent brands so far. The tastings were enjoyed with 3 parts water and a half sugar cube.

Update: 9/17/09

I just cracked open another bottle of this and there may be some aging improvement from my first bottle. The aroma is a lot more tobacco-like and chocolaty/vanilla like a crème brulee. No difference that I can tell from the taste. Still #1 in my book, even after the other 14 or so absinthes I’ve tried. No change in scoring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
2.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
3.0
Reviewed by absinthist August 11, 2008
Last updated: August 11, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (60)

Myth unmasked

Colour: pleasant to look at, striving towards Duplais’ jaune, could be darker or getting amber.



Louche: decent, slowly-forming but ends up too chalky and whitish.



Aroma: strong, funky at times, anisy



Flavour: spicy, balanced but not creamy, lacks initial wormwood attack.



Finish: too spicy, gets a bit blunt towards end.



Overall: apart from louche-action there is no resemblance to Pernod fils whatsoever. That batch from which the sample has been given to me lacks definitely something.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by buddhasynth July 05, 2008
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (13)

Thank You Sir, May I Have Another?

This was the first CO I had the pleasure of sampling, and I have always had at LEAST one unopened bottle in stock since that time. I've loved it since the first taste so hopefully we won't have TOO biased a review.



Color---clear peridot green. A bit of variance from bottle to bottle. Not enough for it to be an issue for me.



Aroma--delicious, the grape base is fairly prominent. After water, opening up and revealing a compelling complexity. Makes the room smell delicious.



Louche--very nice. Fairly quick to form, but still possessed of the theatrical buildup I have come to expect. (Actually this is the stuff that showed me what to expect!) Nice opalescence, green turning to almost white with blue overtones. Amber as well if you look at it right......



Flavor--nicer than very nice. A few things going on, spiciness, floralness, and just a bit of bite. Sweet, but not much like candy--well, not enough to put me off. The aforementioned complexity reaches its full level of compellingness, provoking one to sniff ever deeper. Despite said Complexity, this is one smooth ride. I like to slosh it around in my mouth before swallowing. Nice Mouthfeel, just creamy enough without getting all tonguenumb and heavy.



Finish--long and lingering. Crisp and clean and an invitation to another Glass. I'll have one!



Overall-- This Absinthe is an excellent example of the Distillers' Art. It is like taking a scenic ride in a vintage auto (deusenberg..?) with leather seats and burl wood dashboard thru a verdant valley in full bloom. Buy it, drink it, stockpile it, and then move next to me. In that order.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by PeterL May 09, 2008
Last updated: May 09, 2008
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

Jade PF 1901 - Living up To Expectations

Sadly my two bottles of Jade 1901, now sit bone dry on my shelf. However, the memory lingers and it's a sweet and delicious one. I know the Jades have many reviews, but as my experience is limited I thought I would try my first review here, with the Absinthe I have been, to date - the most impressed with.



Preparation



I filled my fountain with ice cold spring water and the store bought ice, one because I find the ice in my freezer picks up flavors and two, it's quite beautiful in the fountain. After getting the wax off and un corking the bottle I gave the bottle a good half hour to breathe while I set up. I used a very slow drip of about one drop every two seconds. No sugar and I stopped the drip when I had a nice demarcation line of the of the Absinthe green on top. I then sped up the drip a bit until the line was gone, stopped the water and gave a quick stir.



Color Before Water





Like a crow, I'm attracted to pretty shiny things and have to say my first impression of the 1901 was the absolutely spectacular color. Just a gorgeous, crystal clear Peridot, Anyway I digress. Both bottles which in back were labeled 2006 so maybe aging and the dark glass helped to enhance or preserve the color. But out of each bottle poured this exquisite Peridot Green. In fact, I held up an actual Peridot stone and the color was identical. It's clear of any sediment, and sparkled beautifully in the dose reservoir of the glasses.



Aroma Before Water



Not the strong bolt of Anise I find with the Lucid, and at first I was a bit disappointed as it seemed weak and a little washed out. However, given time there was a wonderfully complex perfume of Anise and Fennel. I detected what I can only describe as "flowers" in the background, faint but there ~ and oh so alluring. Inhaling the Peridot elixir, much like a fine brandy I found it made my brain a little fuzzy with delightful and soothing vapors. There's heat from the alcohol but a coolness as well, crisp and luscious with a delectable complexity I had never experienced with the Lucid or St George.



Louche





Now this was interesting, as the water splashed down I could see these wonderfully icy looking trails, at first very subtle and they seemed to spread out like an amoeba from the center out. Totally intriguing. After a few minutes, perhaps five at best, maybe six the Louche formed in a swirl of a puffy white cloud that seemed surprisingly dense and turbulent, just fabulous to watch. When I got to a 2.5 to one ratio, I added a bit more water which made the Louche take hold of any remaining green at the top of the glass. The Louche finished at a beautiful whitish Jade ~ and the texture upon first sip was silky smooth and luscious.



Aroma After Water





It seemed to encompass all the complex and lovely notes I detected prior to adding water but without any real heat at all of alcohol. Like a bouquet the fragrance is layered and subtle. Certainly different from what I've had in the past. I had thought the Aroma was too weak to really fill the room - however my neighbor stopped by and announced "My God you're place smells wonderful" My guess is I had gotten used to the fragrance and really was past the point of detecting just how impressive it was.



Flavor





Simply put gorgeous. An up front dazzle of Anise sweet but by no means candy sweet. a Bite of bitter but nothing you would call sharp or unpleasant by any means. The after taste leaves an herbal and almost floral like complexity of subtle notes and tones. It's a perfect delicate balance of faint flavors and powerful ones without any one flavor blocking out another. Just an absolutely delicious and refreshing drink.



The Finish





Crisp and wonderful. I found no funky or strange aftertaste. The Louche while it looks much thicker than it really is has a nice light body to it and ever so slight of a creamy texture. As I mentioned earlier it's silky and smooth and an absolute delight to drink.





Final Impression





The Jade 1901 was pretty close to what I imagined Absinthe to be. Wonderfully complex without being obtrusive, delicate and yet filled with defiant and so many background notes of flavors I really again, can only describe as floral that it's an absolute pleasure to both prepare and enjoy.



Peter

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Doctor Love April 28, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Jade PF1901 Review

This is my first review of an absinthe, and I have only had 3 or 4 brands before this consisting of what was available locally. The Jade PF1901 is my first import as well, and I'm satisfied with my decision to order, although it was certainly not inexpensive. I chose the brand as I heard it was a good example of a traditional absinthe flavor, something that I didn't have access to locally.



What first struck me with this absinthe was the aroma, I immediately knew I was in for something different than what I had known so far. Complex, with the anise being very soft yet present, like the canvas for a painting. The wormwood was most noticeable to me as it was a rich smell that was not as prevalent in the other brands I had tried.



The color before louche is a very nice, bright, but natural green. No sediment or cloudiness whatsoever.



The louche was a bit slow in coming but once it finally arrived it was full and appetizing.



The flavor was much more complex and subtle than what I expected. The anise is softer and more mellow than what I've had before, which more easily allows the other flavors to come out. I've yet to identify all of them specifically but together they are a very pleasing and evenly distributed combination.



The mouth feel is nice, and the finish ends with a slight tingling of the tongue.



I rated it a 5 overall, as it was definitely a substantial step above what I have had before. And while I still have somewhat limited experience, Jade PF1901 has definitely changed my perspective on what absinthe in general should taste like.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Z for Zendetta February 14, 2008
Last updated: February 14, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Valentine's Day '08

We tried this absinthe on Valentine's Day 2008, and to set the mood lit candles and read from Blackwood's "The Man Whom the Trees Loved."



The color is a perfectly natural-looking light emerald, bright and translucent (5/5). The louche is the most beautiful I have seen, you can really understand why Ted named the company Jade Liqueurs when you hold this absinthe up to candlelight. Its color fades from green in the darkness to yellow-tinged where the light is strongest, and the louching sugar at the bottom of the glass looks like the swirling souls from Fantasia's Night on Bald Mountain (5/5).



I had opened the bottle and recorked it, then let it sit for about a week, and it developed a subtle, mentholish smell, like warm fields after rain. The louche releases the hidden aromas very nicely, yielding an aroma much heavier on the anise and fennel, although the green fairy didn't really "fill up the room" as much as some other brands I have tried, and to really smell it you had to hold the glass up to your nose (4/5).



The taste is finely balanced. There are at least five simultaneous sensations - a subtle anise-fennel sweetness, a distinct and bitter undercurrent of wormwood, something citrusy (perhaps melissa?), something floral (coriander?), and a mouthfeel that I can only describe as crisp and silky (5/5). What really makes this absinthe stand out to me, however, is the finish - there is a crisp bitter dryness in the end that lingers pleasantly, and makes that next sip only partially voluntary (5/5). It all produces a very warm-feeling drunk, when consumed in excess, but for the first time since sampling high-quality absinthe I did not dream.



Having finally tried this absinthe after reading all the rave reviews, it only makes me more eager to go out and try other varieties. After sipping it, the main impression I have is that it is very finely crafted, but it makes me realize that there can be no thing such as a "be all and end all" of absinthes. This is the absinthe to pick if you're looking for something subtle, crisp and delectable, and in that category it scores top marks (5/5). If you're looking for something thick, creamy and more pungently herbal, then you might prefer a different variety.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by techdiver February 10, 2008
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

My first Jade, and best absinthe yet

Clear peridot color. Louche develops nicely with some golden opalescence as it progresses. Aroma is balanced, fresh and clean. Not overpowering in any way. Flavor is delectable, balanced and complex, with an enjoyable wormwood finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Derrick January 17, 2008
  -   View all my reviews (2)

PF1901 Review

An amazing absinthe. Certainly among my top 5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by marlow December 22, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Very nearly perfect...

As of this writing, the PF 1901 is the best absinthe I've tasted. To begin, it's a lovely peridot green, very natural and yet a perfect hue and intensity. After water, it becomes a creamy jade green, with hints of amber and blue, and in passing I'll note that the transition is most entertaining to observe. However, it's in the tasting that this absinthe really comes into its own. The aroma is herbal and complex, but also refined and subtle, and the flavor is a perfect balance of spice and the slightest bitterness. The finish is good and slightly numbing. Overall, a delectable spirit -- the best of a very excellent family of absinthes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Absomphe November 16, 2007
Last updated: November 27, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (26)

Best yet,, Ted.

There is no question, to me at least, that this is Ted's best effort, to date. Although the marc base that he uses is still a tad more evident than I'd like, there is certainly none of the funkiness that I had a hard time getting past in a few of his previous releases.

The color is a lovely, and vibrant peridot green (although not quite as impressive as I remember it in the Edouard), and enough of it carries over into the full blooming louche to create a bright and minty colored drink.

The aroma is excellent, but there is still a little too much of the base present for me to rate it any higher. High quality green anise, fennel, and hyssop are obviously present, although the wormwood seems a bit muted, and this is also true regarding the flavor. There is a fine marriage of flavors, and the finish is clean, rich, and long.

Overall, this is a top notch recreation of its antecedent, except for the somewhat toned down wormwood, particularly in the finish, and the alcohol base, which doesn't match the level of Pernod Fils...of course, to be fair, what absinthe's base today could?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by ShaiHulud September 25, 2007
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

A Jewel of a Jade

It is often said that the crafter of the Jades is attempting to replicate historic Absinthes and Absinthe styles rather than simply crafting a scratch Absinthe for the modern palate. If this is the case, then the PF 1901 is a near masterpiece in my book. Having been lucky enough to sample a pre-ban or two, it is my opinion that no other commercial offering comes closer to the PF 1914.



The color is a beautiful light green that looks as though it could easily age into the dead leaf color of a vintage PF. The louche was the "beauty in a glass" that is expected from all the Jades at this point, wonderful oil trails, good layering, opalescent, etc... The aroma and flavor were very similar to the PF 1914. The flavor components were warm and complex, spicy, floral, minty, with a good strong wormwood finish. Many Absinthes have two to three flavor stages, the PF 1901 has many.



PF 1901 is one of the most solid Absinthes available today. It is not quirky or controversial. Anyone who enjoys Absinthe will like it from the newbie to the Ph.D. Absintheologist.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by hyperlunch September 21, 2007
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

My favorite of the Jades

From the bottle the PF 1901 pours a sharp, clear, light spring green. No discernable sediment or haze whatsoever. A slow icewater drip swirls into wonderfully thick oil trails, which appear almost suspended midstream until overtaken by the louche rising from below. The louche itself, while not spectacular, builds well -- pale green, with transients of blue and gold, as it fills the glass. The pre-dilution aroma is evocative of wet tree roots and beckons with earthy tarragon and marjoram, along with hints of allspice. After water the aroma relinquishes floral notes, and additional nuances of vanilla and dry mustard unfold. A 4:1 dilution, no sugar, yields a mellow and rich mouth, not too watery, and not tongue-numbing at all. The first sip is where it all comes to life for me, however, with the requisite sweet anise and fresh wormwood at the fore, smooth citrus filling in, and more of that dry herbal tarragon and marjoram emerging at the end. Just beautiful. The wormwood is deeply entrenched, and hangs on the tongue long after the glass is finished. Even so, one is left with no choice but to drip another immediately, so that one may continue the experience well past one's bedtime. This is by far my favorite of the Jades.

Was this review helpful to you? 
21 results - showing 1 - 21
 
Ordering 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo