Delaware Phoenix "Meadow Of Love" Absinthe Superieure http://www.wormwoodsociety.org/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/6a/9f/61/503_DelawarePhoenixMoLphoto2800_1242013007.jpg

 
4.6 (3)
 
4.5 (19)
19 results - showing 1 - 19
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by josephlabrecque September 06, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (31)

Meadow of Deliciousness

My appreciation for this closely matches that of another Delaware Phoenix absinthe - Walton Waters. I'm always blown away by how flavorful and balanced MoL is. It's one of those absinthes which I keep to the back of my stash so as to prolong its stay in my cupboard. Everything about it is quite correct; from the louche, to the flavours and aroma. Really quite excellent.

Overall one of my absolute favorites for just how creamy and simply delicious it is!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Appearance 
 
3.5
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Amber Peter September 24, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (58)

Delicious garden.

Appearance: A fairly light green once it's in the glass, but it's a decently old sample. Once I get a new bottle I may adjust for this.

Louche: Pale, pale green with some almost buttery golds and hints of blues. This is just the right thickness.

Aroma: Floral and sweet, while being fresh, cool, and fragrant. VERY inviting.

Flavor: Cool and smooth, with a "petal"-like taste. Also reminiscent of fresh cut herbs; green and spicy.

Finish: There's a lovely mouth-numbing effect and the diminishing flavors are extremely refreshing.

Overall: This is a really excellent, impressive absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.5
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Evan Camomile May 18, 2012
Last updated: May 18, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (69)

Impressive

Appearance: A thin peridot green that is slightly on the yellower side. I should note that the sample I am reviewing is 3 years old by now.

Louche: Near perfect opalesque louche. A tad thick but it also display a myriad of beautiful hues much like a good Blanche.

Aroma: This is heavy on the trinity of herbs but also well balanced in the background with a decent citrus note a spice harmony. This really just makes me want to stop smelling and take a drink right away.

Flavor: At first it is wormwood forward and surprisingly floral. This gives way to a nice balance of the herbs and flavors mentioned above all on stage at the same time. The texture is creamy and just slightly sticky. The end result is a masterful play with a wonderful cast of characters and quality execution.

Finish: The finish is strong with the floral notes coming out once again and perfuming the mouth. The flavor otherwise stays the same and not too terribly interesting, but I am glad that the finish is strong instead of a weak lingering.

Overall: A very well structured and balanced absinthe. There is a complexity here reaching a carefully balanced harmony where all the parts work together amazingly well. This is unlike so many other top-tier absinthes that I have tried where the complex flavors all seem to compete instead of work together. The initial presentation and finish are the only points where I could see much a flaw, but those are more than worth it for such a great flavor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.5
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by discosheets April 06, 2012
Last updated: May 27, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Lost in the Meadow of Love!

What a treat! Meadow of Love instantly became my favorite absinthe at the first sip! Meadow of Love is an overwhelmingly (in a good way) fragrant and aromatic absinthe, that has a wonderfully blended mix of classic absinthe herbs that will explode in your mouth, leaving you gagging for more! I really can't express how much I love this absinthe. Meadow of Love was docked .5 for appearance because it was delivered to us, still a lovely verte absinthe, but had maybe had too much sun exposure because it was slightly amber. I also gave it a .5 dock on aroma, only because the aroma doesn't do the flavor justice. Fennel overpowers the aroma, but tasting the absinthe there is such an amazing balance of all the herbs and fennel definitely isn't the overpowering flavor. Not only is this absinthe at the top of my list, but it comes from a small distillery in upstate New York, Cheryl Lins distiller, and sipping on this absinthe gives you the feel that you are sipping it with Cheryl herself. Meadow of Love is a MUST try for any absinthe connoisseur.

Updated 27 May 2012 ---

Appearance (5) : Previously a 4.5, I changed this to a 5 after recieving a BEAUTIFUL green glowing bottle of Meadow of Love. Absolutely the most inviting looking bottle out there, but careful the clear glass lets the color fade really quickly.
Louche (5) : Outstanding, beautiful, thick and glowing. Magical.
Aroma (4.5) : This is now the only non 5 star rating I give meadow of love, and only because it just doesn't do the incredible and dynamic flavor justice.
Flavor / Mouthfeel (5) : Flavor is indescribably delicious, and so well balanced. Mouth is delightfully numb, but just enough so that you can still enjoy the complex and complimentary flavors.
Finish (5) : All the best flavors remain on your tongue and you get such a refreshing cool numbing effect for a few minutes after each sip. It is really amazing.
Overall (5) : Still my favorite absinthe. The flavors are incredibly satisfying and there isn't a single quality about great absinthe that is missing, or lacking here. 5 stars!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by meatbag21 March 28, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

I've been sent to the Meadow of Love!

Appearance: The coloring of this absinthe is absolutely beautiful! It has a beautiful green color that is achieved without looking artificial nor does it have any artificial ingredients in it

Louche: Excellent louche that comes in like billowing clouds. It reminds me of a summer day and laying out in the grass and watching the clouds rolling by in the sky (not storm clouds mind you)

Aroma: A very heavenly aroma that fills the room and very fragrant, closing my eyes while the water is dripping and the aroma is being released sends me off into a relaxing place

Flavor/Mouthfeel: It has such an excellent taste to it. There's a tiny hint of anise to it with the herbs taking center stage making it a very pleasant taste experience.

Finish: It leaves a tingling sensation in the roof of my mouth and on my tongue. It's note too much of a tingle and not too small of one, it's just right. The tingle doesn't fad real quickly either, it pleasantly lingers

Overall: This is a very excellent and sophisticated absinthe! I take my hat off to Cheryl Lins for making such a wonderful absinthe! It is great to have such a great absinthe here in the US market and not have to deal with mediocre absinthes that you get at a large liquor store chain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Miguel October 09, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Awesomeness from Cheryl!

Classic Peridot color, bright and clear
Great louche, even when power louched with 80F water. Opaque on top, translucent at the bottom of the glass.
Nice aroma, with a sweet bit of violet
Flavor is amazing, and complex, with just the right balance of flavors.
Finish is a wonderful cascade of well coordinated notes.

I humbly bow in the direction of NY state, this is truly an outstanding product.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by marlow July 08, 2011
Last updated: July 09, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Marvelous

Well, here we have another wonderful absinthe from Delaware Phoenix. It pours an attractive peridot green, tending toward the yellow-gold, and louches to an attractive, yellow jade. The louche forms correctly, with "oil trails" and billowing clouds. It is pretty, though perhaps not quite as pleasing as its cousin Walton Waters.

The aroma is delightful. Before water, it is mild and fresh, with a touch of alcohol in the mix. After water, it is mild and floral, with delicate spicy notes.

The flavor is similarly floral and delicate, but with a pleasing underlying bitterness which lingers in a long and complex finish.

There is nothing here I would change. I slightly prefer the more boldly herbal Walton Waters, but Meadow of Love represents a different style, executed to perfection.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
4.5
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.5
Overall 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Scott M. February 26, 2010
Last updated: January 05, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (64)

Pastoral meadow

Modified the review after several batches and bottles over almost 3 years.

I tried it at 3.5:1 and added no sugar as suggested by the maker, and a 2nd glass with 1/2 a sugar cube. Delicious both ways.

After over two months open, the color is shifting to a slightly less vibrant green, which is of course not a problem at all. The absinthe if anything, is improving with age.

Appearance: A vibrant, clear and natural light peridot. One of the nicest colors I've seen.
It fades very fast in the bottle, as the glass is clear with no UV coating, this does not affect the absinthe in an adverse way however.

Louche: Strong wisps of smoke building to rolling clouds. A slow steady build, with distinct crystal clear layer at the top right to the very end. When full, it was just the perfect thickness in a opalescent cloud of mild greens and whites. A dramatic louche to watch.

Aroma: Wonderful; clean, herbal and floral. Delicate, inviting and so well balanced.

Flavor: Man, this was good. Gentle, balanced and delicious. Clean, sharp, herbal and floral. There is a floral edge that I assume was impacted by the violet, and a well defined, clean light spice to this as well.

Finish....just wonderful. The mouthfeel is round and smooth, with a powdery light tingle and linger. Wormwood, anise and fennel roll around each other in a light blanket of spice that fades away slowly. At the very end the lightest tang of citrus hangs on the tip of the tongue and back of the mouth. It seems to linger forever between sips, reminding you that there is no hurry here...you can take your time and enjy this glass for a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by oglala56 November 12, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (17)

Impressive Meadow

The color is light peridot, crystal clear and stunning. The Louche has thick, expanding clouds that seem to move to their own pace, and then billowing into soft vibrant color. The color after water is a beautiful soft peridot green. The aroma before water is of a anise and herbal quality, with a enticing floral background. After water the glass explodes with notes of anise, fennel, and wormwood with a citrus tinge. Very balanced and floral. The mouth feel is thick, creamy and very smooth, with a pleasant numbing of the tongue at the end. The taste is of soft anise with a herbal floral sweetness, with slight hints of citrus. Excellent alpine meadow type association. This absinthe has a long finish with delicious wormwood balance.
This is a simply excellent absinthe. It is one of my top three commercial absinthe. Alpine meadow floral, soft, clean taste, with outstanding wormwood presence with an abundance of flavor. I would recommend without hesitation. Very impressive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Stevolution October 12, 2009
Last updated: October 15, 2009
  -   View all my reviews (1)

Captivating

I've spent some time with this and settled to a dilution I like best, 5:1 brilliantly cold water (shaken with ice and strained) with no sugar necessary.

Color from my bottle (the 7th 2009 batch, if I interpret correctly) is a beautiful but natural green. Color softens in a wide glass; I prefer to serve this in a flute or bubble glass rather than a wine or wide reservoir.

Louche: Extraordinary. Dramatic louche even when fed a steady stream of water which is remarkable. Holds up well to a wide range of dilutions.

Aroma: Anise and fennel are noticeable but not dominating. There's a wonderful herbaceous lushness that I find unique. The addition of water releases scent that is light and subtle while still room-filling.

Flavor: More anise here, but in a dance with the other herbs. Each time I drink it I get a slightly different impression. There's a remarkable body, similar to the character of a malolactic fermentation in wine, smooth and round without being oily. The mouth-feel is round and full and easily stands up to 5 parts water.

Finish: Pleasant and not clingy. Fades relatively quickly but that just makes me crave another sip.

Overall: Brilliant. Easily the best of the 5 absinthes I've tried, including Meadow's brasher sister, WW. I like it so much that I ration it from myself, lest I run out before I can get a new bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Appearance 
 
3.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by tayker October 10, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Meadow of Love

This review was conducted with 1 sugar cube, a 4-to-1 ratio, and per the Absinthe Evaluation Instructions.

Color: I don't know if my eyes were playing tricks on me, but looking at the absinthe through the side of the glass the color was there. Looking inside it seemed thin, darker closer to the center.

Louche: Really nice louche that started pretty quickly and didn't get too thick.

Aroma: Nice aroma and noticeable at first whiff.

Flavor: Nice flavor, which seemed different from the aroma. I definitely like the citrus back end.

Finish: It's definitely interesting. I definitely like the citrus feel to it.

Overall: It's one of the first absinthes that has challenged me on picking out the nuances. The flavors are not muddy but very complimentary, which made it a challenge for me to see, for example, which nuance went with the wormwood and which was related to the lemon balm.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by accountant August 25, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

I'll be getting more of this

Color- Crystal clear forest green with no sediment. Natural and bright.

Louche- Oil trails billowing down then back up after hitting the bottom of my glass. Perfect opalescence at around 3.5 parts water to 1 part absinthe.

Aroma- The anise combines with some flowery overtones when louching. I get some vanilla notes too. I would have liked it to be stronger.

Flavor- Flavor is soft and powdery. Hyssop nicely cradles the holy trinity of herbs. The wormwood is assertive but soft/floral notes take over. It reminds me of a quality blanche in some ways. I think mouth feel is just a tad thin but the addition of sugar helps round things out.

Finish- It tastes like a mixture of mint and Juicey Fruit gum then leads to a more straightforward anise/fennel taste.

Overall- Awesome absinthe. I’ll have to agree with others that this is a ‘dessert’ absinthe. More floral then herbaceous. More soft then pungent. I’m looking forward to trying the Walton Waters next.

Notes- I liked this most with 3.5 parts water and a bit of sugar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
3.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
3.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by baubel July 05, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

Very good!

I waited until I was nearly at the end of my first bottle to review it. I believe it to be very balanced, and smoother than when I tried it at the beginning of the bottle. The initial pre-louche aroma still has some hot alcohol to it, but once louched, that vanishes.
I did not add any sugar, and find the balance with the anise and the wormwood to be very good.
Color: I found the color to be very natural and appealing.
Louche: The louche seemed ready and willing, but appropriate at the same time. I louched the review dose to 3.5-4:1, and find that it has a light jade stone look to it. I prepared this dose by pouring from a bottled water bottle with the lid slightly unscrewed, and the louche came out strong.
Aroma: The aroma had some strong alcohol when I initially poured it from the bottle, and during the louche I could smell the aromas as they were released into the air while standing from the glass. The post-louche aroma though, is very light and almost hard to distinguish for me.
Flavor:I like the citrus flavors that come from the lemon balm and the flavors from the violet. I decided to try Meadow of Love before Walton Waters because of the Violet, because the non-traditional aspect intrigued me. I would like to see this brought out some more, but not overdone.
Finish: The finish is good and balanced, not overwhelming, but not terribly weakened. I like the finish. When initially louched the mouth feel was very thick and creamy.
Overall: I like Meadow of Love quite a bit. I'll be trying Walton Waters Next to see how it compares, but It is up there with a select few of the absinthes I will purchase again in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by jaysthename July 01, 2009
Last updated: August 18, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

Beautifully bitter

Color: The vivid green peridot color of Meadow Of Love is even brighter than that of it's close relative, Walton Waters, although there is a bit of haze. When louched, it retains very light greenish hues and never veers into yellow. As with my bottle of WW, this is a new bottle (I bought mine in mid-June, and the bottle is marked as batch 09-7, bottle 33). Since it is clear it may not retain the same color indefinitely without transfering it to a dark bottle.


Louche: The louche begins as soon as the water is added, and it slowly builds from cascades into clouds. Interestingly enough, the activity travels from the bottom to the top, with billowing clouds forming into a colored meniscus at the top well after the louche has all but finished on the bottom half of the glass. The entire process is enjoyable to watch.

Aroma: The initial aroma has a bite to it, with slight bitterness and a hint of sourness. While not as floral or
initially accessible to me as WW, I found that with each new glass (on different days) I became more acclimated to it, and may now appreciate it more thoroughly for what it offers.

Flavor: Meadow Of Love is everything I expected it to be -- a slightly bitter (and spicier) cousin to WW that is every bit as enjoyable, but in different way. The flavor is outstanding, and while I cannot yet determine all the herbs individually, I believe the distinct uniqueness it offers is probably a result of the violet other reviewers have mentioned.

Unlike the WW, I found the ideal balance for my tastes at 4.5:1 or even 5:1, where the bitterness and spice is tempered a bit. Those who enjoy the bitterness will likely find a 4:1 ratio to be most appealing. Sweetening is not absolutlely necessary, but half a teaspoon of agave nectar fills the flavor out quite nicely.

Finish: The mouthfeel is full, rich and creamy, with a lasting finish that edges out the WW just slightly here. The aftertaste is wonderful, with a medium amount of numbing to prickle your tongue with.

Overall: Meadow Of Love is an extraordinary offering from Delaware Phoenix, which has rapidly cornered the market on my favored absinthes. Admittedly, I have a ways to go in my absinthe taste tests, but it will be difficult to top these two. While I still prefer WW a bit, the high quality of Meadow Of Love is evident in every sip, and those of you with a bitter tooth will love it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Absomphe June 10, 2009
Last updated: July 23, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (26)

Just When I thought They Couldn't Get Any Better..

This is my new favorite commercial absinthe. Everything about it is incredibly appealing to me, from the medium peridot color, to its hyssop-y, violet-y aroma, and its creamy body, and rich mouth feel.

There is a genuine upper echelon HG quality to this absinthe which is very immediate in nature, and makes the drinker feel as though he (or she) is sitting down with Cheryl in her little distillery, and being treated to a special alchemical glass from her secret stash.

The vibrancy of this absinthe is quite remarkable, and the drinker is pulled in almost opposing directions (very sweet, and yet even more dry), and the especiallly floral aftertaste is quite remarkable, and created by the wonderful wonderful violet segueing into that fragrant, juicy Virginia wormwood.

What's even more amazing is that this wonder is only a few weeks old! I truly look forward to aging a couple of bottles to see if it can possibly improve even more...only time will tell the tale.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
5.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
4.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Doctor Love May 17, 2009
Last updated: May 17, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Meadow of Love, Delicate Verte with Floral Poetry

Presentation (no points): The bottle is a clear glass bell, nicely labelled. Clear glass is not ideal for protecting the absinthe from light, so dark storage is ideal. The cork popped out easily despite the wax seal, could probably use more wax if a tight seal was desired.

Color (5 points): Lovely natural green, clear and free of any sediment. Very appetizing. Looks a touch young, but I couldn't wait any longer to open it!

Louche (5 points): Excellent louche, thick, full, and rich.

Aroma (5 points): Anise and herbs are first, followed by a touch of floral aroma, smells like springtime. Wonderful.

Flavor (4 points): Nicely balanced flavors, herbal softness throughout, I found myself craving to taste a bit more of the floral character I can smell.

Finish (4 points): Soft finish, slight numbing in the middle of the tongue. The herbal flavors remain and once again I would only wish to taste a bit more of the floral character.

Overall (4 points): The U.S. domestic absinthe market is beginning to have an embarrassment of riches with such high quality yet subtlely crafted absinthes being made available for us to enjoy. Meadow of Love is a wonderful addition to the absinthe cabinet, it is distinct enough from it's sister absinthe, Walton Waters, to merit getting both. If I had any request it would be to introduce more of the lovely floral hints that were a bit of a tease at their current levels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Appearance 
 
4.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Green Baron May 16, 2009
Last updated: May 18, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (26)

Sweet Bloom

-Color-
Before Water: Vibrant light peridot. Very green, but I know this absinthe is a little young, so I hesitate to give it full points before I can see it aged a few more months.

After Water: Pleasing lime green, the final louche is a little on thick side, but with good depth and highlights.

-Louche-
Thick, layering trails that move of their own accord when the pour is paused. A nice swirling, yet very well defined fog bank forms at a good pace and slowly infiltrates the clear top layer, bouncing with every drop of water.

-Aroma-
Before Water: A bit of alcohol sharpness, sweet floral perfume, lightly herbaceous.

After Water: As water is added, the perfume issues forth. Not the most “room filling”, but definitely enticing from a couple feet away. The perfume I picked up neat develops into refreshing floral notes in the high range and at the bottom range is a nice herbaceous petite wormwood (pontica).

-Flavor-
Floral sweetness, soft anise, refined spice, and hints of citrus, with the pontica again contributing to a really great herbal flavor. Refined but deliciously bitter grand wormwood completes the excellent balance, and continues with us through the finish.

The mouthfeel is not as thick and creamy as found in the Pontarlier and other absinthe styles, but falls more into a nice, smooth satin (similar to the mouthfeel of Pacifique) with mild tongue numbing.

-Finish-
The delightful finish echoes the flavor and lets the tasty wormwood come through. It lingers in a way that is not “crisp” like in some absinthes, but is perfectly clean with an understated smooth dryness.

-Overall-
This is a wonderful, flowery (this is the 4th time I’ve mentioned a floral characteristic for good reason), feminine absinthe. This gal is soft, clean and wonderfully balanced, but she has plenty of flavor power. I think this absinthe can be equally appreciated by newcomers (possibly even the anise adverse) and experienced absintheurs. I happily welcome this fine example of liquid art into my top 10 favorites.

Notes: Tasted at aprox 3.5:1 and 4:1 with fountain drip and pitcher pour respectively, no sugar. Batch# 09-2, Bottle 10.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
4.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
4.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by retrogarde May 15, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

I love this meadow

colour:

A darker green than Walton Waters, but this just makes it more enticing. Truly a beautiful color

louche:

Superb louche with a little over a 3:1 cold water ratio. Plenty of interesting changes in the glass, and a nice amount of that beautiful color remains in the finished product.

aroma:

I have no sense of smell, so I can't comment on this.

flavour and finish:

What a fantastic mix of herbs! No funk, no over the top aspects. The mouthfeel is delightfully creamy, and a pleasant numbing of the tongue towards the end doesn't detract. I've always sugared my absinthes, but this is one I intend to try with just water. Not that it is sweet, just that the herbs seem to be creating a distinct experience that my sugar may be masking. Perhaps it is knowing that this absinthe is made in small batches, but everything points towards a lovingly prepared, "hand made" flavor. It makes me think of absinthe's origins as a tonic. Meadow of Love will cure what ails you.

overall:

This is an excellent entry in the market, and another feather in the cap of American-made absinthes. Great flavor and a real surprise are in store for anyone who buys a bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Appearance 
 
5.0
Louche 
 
5.0
Aroma 
 
4.0
Flavor / Mouthfeel 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Overall 
 
4.0
Reviewed by bksmithey May 13, 2009
Last updated: May 14, 2009
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

I think I have a new favorite

Very cold water drip to about 3.5:1, no sugar

color: clear, perfect green, no hint of olive/brown. Seriously, all I could think while looking at the liquid in the reservoir of my glass is "perfect".

nose (neat): good anise, herbal, lightly spicy. Well balanced, anise a little forward. Very clean, no hint of anything musty/funky/whatever, just herbal and enticing.

louche: beautiful trails, good layering, a typically good louche. Color after water is a gorgeous creamy green, it holds its color very well.

nose: herbal, wormwoody, anise has moved back just a bit which surprises me, anise usually moves more forward with water. It's not a huge room-filler, but it's not hiding in the glass, either. Water is very cold, I suspect aroma will get bigger as it warms. But again, very clean, the absinthe herbs are all coming through beautifully with nothing in their way.

flavor: great creamy mouthfeel, excellent balance of spicy-bitter-anise. I was expecting a little heavier anise after initial nose, but I'm not disappointed, the flavor is fantastic. I have seen comments in the forum describing this absinthe as "dry", and I agree with that, but I was also getting a very nice sweet anise flavor mid-way, which I enjoy. Again I'm thinking "clean", nothing distracting from the herbs. This is one where the "alpine meadow" impression really comes through -- thoughts of herbs, cool, clear water, and crisp, fresh air are all conjured -- springtime in the Rockies, captured in a bottle.

finish: spicy, some light tongue numbing as appropriate, ending with nice bitterness. Finish is very long and all of the flavors hang around, great complexity.

overall: everything about this is a winner. The color is spectacular, both before and after water. The flavor and finish are top notch, and the only thing I could think would have improved the experience is if the aroma had jumped from the glass and wrapped around my head. Now I need to crack open the piggy bank and get a bottle of the Walton Waters ordered ...

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 19
 
Ordering 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

We Recommend ...

Banner
f logo twitter logo flickr button in logo